NEW R-LINE FORMAT DEFINITION                           U S WEST, INC.

Commencing with the first quarter of 1999, the revenue lines on the
income statement have been recast to more accurately depict the
point of origin of revenue by customer.  The revenue lines now in
use and the types of revenue contained in each revenue
line are as follows:

Local services revenue     Access services     Long-distance services
-----------------------    ---------------     ----------------------
Basic local               Interstate access    Intralata long-
 telephone services                             distance services

Vertical services         Intrastate access    Long-distance
 (caller ID,                                    calling cards (1)
 call waiting, etc.)

Wireless services (1)     Directory services   Other services
                          ------------------   --------------
Carrier access line       <C>                  <C>
 charge (2)               Yellow page          Unregulated products
                           services             sales
Inside wire installation
 and maintenance (1)                           Billing and collection
                                                services
Megabit services (2)

Enhanced white pages
 directory listings (1)

Public payphone services (1)

<F1>
(1) Previously included in Other Services.
<F2>
(2) Previously included in Interstate and Intrastate Access Services.

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