Exhibit 99.1

News Release

LASALLE HOTEL PROPERTIES ANNOUNCES CONTRACT TO
SELL INDIANAPOLIS MARRIOTT DOWNTOWN

BETHESDA, MD, June 2, 2016 -- LaSalle Hotel Properties (NYSE: LHO) today announced that it has entered into a definitive contract to sell Indianapolis Marriott Downtown to affiliates of White Lodging Services Corporation and REI Investments for $165 million. The Company acquired the hotel in February 2004 for $106 million.

The Company expects the transaction to close early in the third quarter 2016. The transaction is subject to customary closing conditions. Proceeds from the transaction will be used to reduce borrowings on the Company’s senior unsecured credit facility.

LaSalle Hotel Properties is a leading multi-operator real estate investment trust. When this transaction closes, the Company will own 46 hotels and a mezzanine loan secured by two hotels in Santa Monica, California. The properties are upscale, full-service hotels, totaling more than 11,400 guest rooms in 13 markets in 9 states and the District of Columbia. The Company focuses on owning, redeveloping and repositioning upscale, full-service hotels located in urban, resort and convention markets. LaSalle Hotel Properties seeks to grow through strategic relationships with premier lodging companies, including Westin Hotels and Resorts, Hilton Hotels Corporation, Outrigger Lodging Services, Noble House Hotels & Resorts, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Benchmark Hospitality, Commune Hotels and Resorts, Destination Hotels, Davidson Hotel Company, Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants, Accor, HEI Hotels & Resorts, JRK Hotel Group, Inc., Viceroy Hotel Group, Highgate Hotels and Access Hotels & Resorts.

This press release, together with other statements and information publicly disseminated by the Company, contains certain forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended. The Company intends such forward-looking statements to be covered by the safe harbor provisions for forward-looking statements contained in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and includes this statement for purposes of complying with these safe harbor provisions. Forward-looking statements, which are based on certain assumptions and describe the Company's future plans, strategies and expectations, are generally identifiable by use of the words “will,” "believe," "expect," "intend," "anticipate," "estimate," "project," “may,” “plan,” “seek,” “should,” or similar expressions. Forward-looking statements in this press release include, among others, statements about the Company’s plan to sell Indianapolis Marriott Downtown. You should not rely on

forward-looking statements since they involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that are, in some cases, beyond the Company's control and which could materially affect actual results, performances or achievements. Factors that may cause actual results to differ materially from current expectations include, but are not limited to, (i) risks associated with the hotel industry, including competition for guests and meetings from other hotels and alternative lodging companies, increases in wages, energy costs and other operating costs, potential unionization or union disruption, actual or threatened terrorist attacks, any type of flu or disease-related pandemic and downturns in general and local economic conditions, (ii) the availability and terms of financing and capital and the general volatility of securities markets, (iii) the Company’s dependence on third-party managers of its hotels, including its inability to implement strategic business decisions directly, (iv) risks associated with the real estate industry, including environmental contamination and costs of complying with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended, and similar laws, (v) interest rate increases, (vi) the possible failure of the Company to maintain its qualification as a REIT and the risk of changes in laws affecting REITs, (vii) the possibility of uninsured losses, (viii) risks associated with redevelopment and repositioning projects, including delays and cost overruns, (ix) the risk of a material failure, inadequacy, interruption or security failure of the Company’s or the hotel managers’ information technology networks and systems, and (x) the risk factors discussed in the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K as updated in its Quarterly Reports. Accordingly, there is no assurance that the Company's expectations will be realized. Except as otherwise required by the federal securities laws, the Company disclaims any obligation or undertaking to publicly release any updates or revisions to any forward-looking statement contained herein (or elsewhere) to reflect any change in the Company’s expectations with regard thereto or any change in events, conditions or circumstances on which any such statement is based.

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Additional Contacts:
Kenneth G. Fuller or Max D. Leinweber - 301/941-1500
For additional information or to receive press releases via e-mail, please visit our website at www.lasallehotels.com.