MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST V (CIK 1052636)
Form 10-Q
period 2000-09-29
filed 2000-11-09

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

                  For the quarterly period ended September 29, 2000

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

As of November 9, 2000 no voting stock was held by non-affiliates of the Registrants.
================================================================================

                         PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION
                         ------------------------------

ITEM 1.   FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
          --------------------

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST V
BALANCE SHEETS  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands, except per security amounts)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



                                                                                  SEPTEMBER 29, 2000  DECEMBER 31, 1999
                                                                                  ------------------  -----------------
ASSETS

Investment in partnership preferred securities                                            $  876,300         $  876,300
Income receivable                                                                             15,949                  -
                                                                                          ----------         ----------
Total Assets                                                                              $  892,249         $  876,300
                                                                                          ==========         ==========

LIABILITY AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

Distributions payable                                                                     $   15,949         $        -

Stockholders' equity:

   Preferred  securities (7.28% Trust Originated Preferred Securities;
      34,000,000 authorized, issued, and outstanding; $25 liquidation
      amount per security)                                                                   850,000            850,000

   Common securities (7.28% Trust Common Securities;
      1,052,000 authorized, issued, and outstanding;
      $25 liquidation amount per security)                                                    26,300             26,300
                                                                                          ----------         ----------
   Total stockholders' equity                                                                876,300            876,300
                                                                                          ----------         ----------

Total Liability and Stockholders' Equity                                                  $  892,249         $  876,300
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

                                                                           FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                     ---------------------------------------

                                                                     SEPTEMBER 29, 2000   SEPTEMBER 24, 1999
                                                                     ------------------   ------------------
EARNINGS

Income on partnership preferred securities                                    $  15,949            $  15,949
                                                                              =========            =========




                                                                           FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                     ---------------------------------------

                                                                     SEPTEMBER 29, 2000   SEPTEMBER 24, 1999
                                                                     ------------------   ------------------
EARNINGS

Income on partnership preferred securities                                    $  47,846            $  47,846
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

                                                                  FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                          ---------------------------------------

                                                          SEPTEMBER 29, 2000   SEPTEMBER 24, 1999
                                                          ------------------   ------------------
PREFERRED SECURITIES

Balance, beginning and end of period                              $  850,000           $  850,000
                                                                  ----------           ----------

COMMON SECURITIES

Balance, beginning and end of period                                  26,300               26,300
                                                                  ----------           ----------

UNDISTRIBUTED EARNINGS

Balance, beginning of period                                               -                    -
Earnings                                                              47,846               47,846
Distributions                                                        (31,897)             (31,897)
Distributions payable                                                (15,949)             (15,949)
                                                                  ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                                     -                    -
                                                                  ----------           ----------


Total Stockholders' Equity                                        $  876,300           $  876,300
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

                                                                                    FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                            ---------------------------------------

                                                                            SEPTEMBER 29, 2000   SEPTEMBER 24, 1999
                                                                            ------------------   ------------------
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Earnings                                                                          $  47,846            $  47,846
   Increase in income receivable                                                       (15,949)              (5,848)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash provided by operating activities                                             31,897               41,998
                                                                                     ---------            ---------

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Distributions                                                                       (31,897)             (41,998)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash used for financing activities                                               (31,897)             (41,998)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------

NET CHANGE IN CASH                                                                           -                    -

CASH, BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                                                    -                    -
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
CASH, END OF PERIOD                                                                  $       -            $       -
                                                                                     =========            =========



SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOWS:

Preferred and common distributions of $15,470 and $479, respectively, were
accrued at September 29, 2000 and September 24, 1999.


See Note to Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST V
NOTE TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  (unaudited)
SEPTEMBER 29, 2000
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


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
(dollars in thousands)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



                                                                          SEPTEMBER 29, 2000   DECEMBER 31, 1999
                                                                          ------------------   -----------------
ASSETS

Cash                                                                              $        1          $        1

Investments:
   Affiliate debentures                                                            1,020,640           1,020,640
   U.S. Treasury bills                                                                10,574              10,406
                                                                                  ----------          ----------
   Total investments                                                               1,031,214           1,031,046

Interest receivable                                                                   18,576                   -
                                                                                  ----------          ----------
Total Assets                                                                      $1,049,791          $1,031,047
                                                                                  ==========          ==========

LIABILITY AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL

Distributions payable                                                             $   18,576          $        -

Partners' capital:
   Limited partnership interest                                                      876,300             876,300
   General partnership interest                                                      154,915             154,747
                                                                                  ----------          ----------
   Total partners' capital                                                         1,031,215           1,031,047
                                                                                  ----------          ----------

Total Liability and Partners' Capital                                             $1,049,791          $1,031,047
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


                                                               FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                        ---------------------------------------

                                                        SEPTEMBER 29, 2000   SEPTEMBER 24, 1999
                                                        ------------------   ------------------
EARNINGS

Interest income:
   Affiliate debentures                                         $   18,576           $   18,576
   U.S. Treasury bills                                                 154                  122
                                                                ----------           ----------
Earnings                                                        $   18,730           $   18,698
                                                                ==========           ==========



                                                                FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                        ---------------------------------------

                                                        SEPTEMBER 29, 2000   SEPTEMBER 24, 1999
                                                        ------------------   ------------------
EARNINGS

Interest income:
   Affiliate debentures                                         $   55,727           $   55,727
   U.S. Treasury bills                                                 439                  360
                                                                ----------           ----------
Earnings                                                        $   56,166           $   56,087
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


                                                                FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                         ---------------------------------------

                                                         SEPTEMBER 29, 2000   SEPTEMBER 24, 1999
                                                         ------------------   ------------------
LIMITED PARTNER'S CAPITAL

Balance, beginning of period                                     $  876,300           $  876,300
Net income allocated to limited partner                              47,846               47,846
Distributions                                                       (31,897)             (31,897)
Distributions payable                                               (15,949)             (15,949)
                                                                 ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                              876,300              876,300
                                                                 ----------           ----------


GENERAL PARTNER'S CAPITAL

Balance, beginning of period                                        154,747              154,714
Net income allocated to general partner                               8,320                8,241
Distributions                                                        (5,525)              (5,481)
Distributions payable                                                (2,627)              (2,627)
                                                                 ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                              154,915              154,847
                                                                 ----------           ----------

TOTAL PARTNERS' CAPITAL                                          $1,031,215           $1,031,147
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


                                                                                    FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                            ---------------------------------------

                                                                            SEPTEMBER 29, 2000   SEPTEMBER 24, 1999
                                                                            ------------------   ------------------

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Earnings                                                                          $  56,166             $ 56,087
   Accretion of U.S. Treasury bills                                                       (439)                (360)
   Increase in interest receivable                                                     (18,576)              (6,811)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash provided by operating activities                                             37,151               48,916
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
   Purchases of investment securities                                                  (10,310)             (10,309)
   Maturities of investment securities                                                  10,581               10,537
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash provided by investing activities                                                271                  228
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Distributions to limited partner                                                    (31,897)             (41,998)
   Distributions to general partner                                                     (5,525)              (7,145)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash used for financing activities                                               (37,422)             (49,143)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------

NET CHANGE IN CASH                                                                           -                    1

CASH, BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                                                    1                    -
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
CASH, END OF PERIOD                                                                  $       1            $       1
                                                                                     =========            =========



SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOWS:

Distributions of $18,576 were accrued at September 29, 2000 and September 24, 1999.


See Note to Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING V, L.P.
NOTE TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  (unaudited)
SEPTEMBER 29, 2000
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



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