MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING V LP (CIK 1052635)
Form 10-Q
period 2006-06-30
filed 2006-08-09

UNITED STATES
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549
                             ----------------------

                                    FORM 10-Q

(Mark One)
[X]     QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
        EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
        For the quarterly period ended June 30, 2006

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

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a large accelerated filer, an accelerated filer, or a non-accelerated filer. See definition of "accelerated filer and large accelerated filer" in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act.
(Check one):

Large Accelerated Filer___   Accelerated Filer ___   Non-Accelerated Filer _X__

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a shell company (as defined in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act).

YES ___    NO _X__

As of August 9, 2006 no common stock was held by non-affiliates of the Registrants.
================================================================================
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



                                                                                       June 30, 2006      December 30, 2005
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

                                                                                       June 30, 2006        July 1, 2005
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

                                                                                       June 30, 2006        July 1, 2005
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

                                                                                            FOR THE SIX MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                     -----------------------------------

                                                                                        June 30, 2006       July 1, 2005
                                                                                       --------------     --------------
PREFERRED SECURITIES

Balance, beginning and end of period                                                       $  850,000         $  850,000
                                                                                           ----------         ----------

COMMON SECURITIES

Balance, beginning and end of period                                                           26,300             26,300
                                                                                           ----------         ----------

UNDISTRIBUTED EARNINGS

Balance, beginning of period                                                                        -                  -
Earnings                                                                                       31,897             31,897
Distributions                                                                                 (31,897)           (31,897)
Distributions payable                                                                               -                  -
                                                                                           ----------         ----------
Balance, end of period                                                                              -                  -
                                                                                           ----------         ----------


Total Stockholders' Equity                                                                 $  876,300         $  876,300
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

                                                                                  June 30, 2006        July 1, 2005
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
                                                                                      =========           =========



SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOWS:

No distributions were accrued at June 30, 2006 or at July 1, 2005.


See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST V
NOTE TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  (unaudited)
June 30, 2006
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


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
(dollars in thousands)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



                                                                                  June 30, 2006     December 30, 2005
                                                                                 --------------      ----------------
ASSETS

Investments:
   Affiliate debentures                                                              $1,020,640            $1,020,640
   U.S. Government and agencies                                                          10,360                10,353
                                                                                     ----------            ----------
   Total investments                                                                  1,031,000             1,030,993
                                                                                      ---------            ----------
Total Assets                                                                         $1,031,000            $1,030,993
                                                                                     ==========            ==========

PARTNERS' CAPITAL

Partners' capital:
   Limited partnership interest                                                      $  876,300            $  876,300
   General partnership interest                                                         154,700               154,693
                                                                                     ----------            ----------
Total Partners' Capital                                                              $1,031,000            $1,030,993
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


                                                                                          FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                   -----------------------------------

                                                                                   June 30, 2006          July 1, 2005
                                                                                  --------------        --------------
EARNINGS

Interest income:
   Affiliate debentures                                                                $  18,575            $   18,575
   U.S. Government and agencies                                                              116                    69
                                                                                       ---------            ----------
Earnings                                                                              $   18,691            $   18,644
                                                                                      ==========            ==========



                                                                                          FOR THE SIX MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                   -----------------------------------

                                                                                   June 30, 2006          July 1, 2005
                                                                                  --------------        --------------

EARNINGS

Interest income:
   Affiliate debentures                                                               $   37,151            $   37,151
   U.S. Government and agencies                                                              223                   129
                                                                                       ---------            ----------
Earnings                                                                              $   37,374            $   37,280
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


                                                                                          FOR THE SIX MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                   -----------------------------------

                                                                                   June 30, 2006          July 1, 2005
                                                                                   -------------        --------------
LIMITED PARTNER'S CAPITAL

Balance, beginning of period                                                           $ 876,300            $  876,300
Net income allocated to limited partner                                                   31,897                31,897
Distributions                                                                            (31,897)              (31,897)
Distributions payable                                                                          -                     -
                                                                                       ---------            ----------
Balance, end of period                                                                   876,300               876,300
                                                                                      ----------            ----------


GENERAL PARTNER'S CAPITAL

Balance, beginning of period                                                             154,693               154,673
Net income allocated to general partner                                                    5,477                 5,383
Distributions                                                                             (5,470)               (5,373)
Distributions payable                                                                          -                     -
                                                                                       ---------            ----------
Balance, end of period                                                                   154,700               154,683
                                                                                       ---------            ----------

TOTAL PARTNERS' CAPITAL                                                               $1,031,000            $1,030,983
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


                                                                                     FOR THE SIX MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                -----------------------------------

                                                                                June 30, 2006          July 1, 2005
                                                                                --------------       --------------

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Earnings                                                                          $  37,374            $  37,280
   Accretion of interest on securities issued by U.S. Government and agencies             (223)                (129)
                                                                                     ---------             --------
      Cash provided by operating activities                                             37,151               37,151
                                                                                     ---------             --------

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
   Purchase of investment securities                                                $  (10,310)            $(10,310)
   Naturities of investment securities                                                  10,526               10,429
                                                                                     ---------             --------
      Cash provided by investing activities                                                216                  119
                                                                                     ---------             --------
CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:

   Distributions to limited partner                                                    (31,897)             (31,897)
   Distributions to general partner                                                     (5,470)              (5,373)
                                                                                     ---------             --------
      Cash used for financing activities                                               (37,367)             (37,270)
                                                                                     ---------             --------

NET CHANGE IN CASH                                                                           -                    -

CASH, BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                                                    -                    -
                                                                                     ---------             --------
CASH, END OF PERIOD                                                                  $       -             $      -
                                                                                     =========             ========



SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOWS:

No distributions were accrued at June 30, 2006 or at July 1, 2005.

See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING V, L.P.
NOTE TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  (unaudited)
June 30, 2006
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



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

INVESTMENTS

The Partnership's investment in affiliate debentures, which is recorded at cost, and its investment in securities issued by U.S. Government and agencies, which are recorded at accreted cost and which mature within one year, are classified as available-for-sale, which both approximate fair value.

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



Date: August 9, 2006
-----------------

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