EXHIBIT 99.1

Contacts:

Dov A. Goldstein, M.D.	E. Blair Schoeb	Heather May
Vicuron Pharmaceuticals Inc.	WeissComm Partners	Burns McClellan Inc.
610-205-2312	212-331-7813	212-213-0006

dgoldstein@vicuron.com	Blair@weisscommpartners.com	hmay@burnsmc.com

VICURON PHARMACEUTICALS RECEIVES ISSUED PATENT FOR DALBAVANCIN DOSING

BY U.S. PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE

King of Prussia, Penn., June 2, 2005— Vicuron Pharmaceuticals Inc. (NASDAQ: MICU; Nuovo Mercato) today announced that the United States Patent and Trademark Office issued patent number 6,900,175 entitled “Methods of Administrating Dalbavancin For Treatment Of Bacterial Infections.” The patent, which will expire in December 2023, relates to a novel dosing regimen for dalbavancin. The dalbavancin New Drug Application (NDA) for the treatment of complicated skin and soft tissue infections (cSSTIs) including the most difficult to treat strain of staphylococcus, methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) is currently under review with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

About Dalbavancin

Dalbavancin is a novel second-generation lipoglycopeptide agent that belongs to the same class as vancomycin. Vancomycin is one of the few treatments available to hospital patients infected with difficult-to-treat strains of Staphylococcus bacteria, or Staph known as MRSA (methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus) and MRSE (methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus epidermidis). Dalbavancin has been specifically designed as an improved alternative to vancomycin.

About Vicuron Pharmaceuticals

Vicuron Pharmaceuticals is a biopharmaceutical company focused on discovering, developing, manufacturing and commercializing vital medicine for seriously ill patients. The company has two New Drug Applications pending with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for its lead products, dalbavancin, a novel intravenous antibiotic for the treatment of serious Gram-positive infections, and anidulafungin, a novel antifungal agent. Vicuron’s versatile research engine

integrates industry-leading expertise in functional genomics, mechanism-based drug design and combinatorial and medicinal chemistry. These approaches are yielding promising novel and next-generation compounds, many of which are in the later stages of preclinical development. In addition, the company has research collaborations with leading pharmaceutical companies, such as Pfizer.

Forward-Looking Statements

This news release contains forward-looking statements that predict or describe future events or trends. The matters described in these forward-looking statements are subject to known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other unpredictable factors, many of which are beyond Vicuron’s control. Vicuron faces many risks that could cause its actual performance to differ materially from the results predicted by its forward-looking statements, including the possibilities that clinical trials and the results thereof might be delayed or unsuccessful, that the timing of the filing of any new drug application or any amendment to a new drug application might be delayed, that clinical trials might indicate that a product candidate is unsafe or ineffective, that the FDA might require additional information to be submitted and additional actions to be taken before it will make any decision, that any filed new drug application may not be approved by the FDA, that ongoing proprietary and collaborative research might not occur or yield useful results, that the pipeline may not yield a new clinical candidate or a commercial product, that a third party may not be willing to license product candidates on terms acceptable to us or at all, that competitors might develop superior substitutes for Vicuron’s products or market these competitive products more effectively, that a sales force may not be developed as contemplated and that one or more of Vicuron’s product candidates may not be commercialized successfully. The reports that Vicuron files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission contain a fuller description of these and many other risks to which Vicuron is subject. Because of those risks, Vicuron’s actual results, performance or achievements may differ materially from the results, performance or achievements contemplated by its forward-looking statements. The information set forth in this news release represents management’s current expectations and intentions. Vicuron assumes no responsibility to issue updates to the forward-looking matters discussed in this news release.