MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING III LP (CIK 1051827)
Form 10-Q
period 2011-09-30
filed 2011-11-10

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
Indicate by check mark whether the Registrants are large accelerated filers, accelerated filers, non-accelerated filers, or smaller reporting companies. See definition of “accelerated filer”, “large accelerated filer” and “smaller reporting company” in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act. (Check one):

Large accelerated filer o	Accelerated filer o	Non-accelerated filer þ (Do not check if a smaller reporting company)	Smaller reporting company o
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
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF EARNINGS (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)

	FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
	September 30, 2011	September 30, 2010

EARNINGS
Interest on affiliate partnership preferred securities	$13,531	$13,531

	FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
	September 30, 2011	September 30, 2010

EARNINGS
Interest on affiliate partnership preferred securities	$40,593	$40,593

See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST III
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CHANGES IN STOCKHOLDERS’ EQUITY (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)

	FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
	September 30, 2011	September 30, 2010

PREFERRED SECURITIES
Balance, beginning and end of period	$750,000	$750,000

COMMON SECURITIES
Balance, beginning and end of period	23,196	23,196

UNDISTRIBUTED EARNINGS
Balance, beginning of period	—	—
Earnings	40,593	40,593
Distributions	(40,593)	(40,593)

Balance, end of period	—	—

Total Stockholders’ Equity	$773,196	$773,196

See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST III
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)

	FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
	September 30, 2011	September 30, 2010

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
Earnings	$40,593	$40,593

Cash provided by operating activities	40,593	40,593

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
Distributions	(40,593)	(40,593)

Cash used for financing activities	(40,593)	(40,593)

NET CHANGE IN CASH	—	—

CASH, BEGINNING OF PERIOD	—	—

CASH, END OF PERIOD	$—	$—

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

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING III, L.P.
CONDENSED BALANCE SHEETS (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)

	September 30, 2011	December 31, 2010

ASSETS
Investments:
Affiliate debentures	$900,547	$900,547
U.S. Government and agencies	9,096	9,101

Total investments	909,643	909,648

Total Assets	$909,643	$909,648

PARTNERS’ CAPITAL
Limited partnership interest	$773,196	$773,196
General partnership interest	136,447	136,452

Total Partners’ Capital	$909,643	$909,648

See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING III, L.P.
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF EARNINGS (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)

	FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
	September 30, 2011	September 30, 2010

EARNINGS

Interest income:

Affiliate debentures	$15,760	$15,760

U.S. Government and agencies	6	3

Earnings	$15,766	$15,763

	FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
	September 30, 2011	September 30, 2010

EARNINGS

Interest income:

Affiliate debentures	$47,279	$47,279

U.S. Government and agencies	17	12

Earnings	$47,296	$47,291

See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING III, L.P.
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CHANGES IN PARTNERS’ CAPITAL (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)

	FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
	September 30, 2011	September 30, 2010
LIMITED PARTNER’S CAPITAL
Balance, beginning of period	$773,196	$773,196
Earnings allocated to limited partner	40,593	40,593
Distributions	(40,593)	(40,593)

Balance, end of period	773,196	773,196

GENERAL PARTNER’S CAPITAL
Balance, beginning of period	136,452	136,456
Earnings allocated to general partner	6,703	6,698
Distributions	(6,708)	(6,707)

Balance, end of period	136,447	136,447

TOTAL PARTNERS’ CAPITAL	$909,643	$909,643

See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING III, L.P.
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)

	FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
	September 30, 2011	September 30, 2010
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
Earnings	$47,296	$47,291
Accretion of interest on securities issued by U.S. Government and agencies	(17)	(12)

Cash provided by operating activities	47,279	47,279

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
Purchase of investment securities	(9,096)	(18,190)
Maturities of investment securities	9,118	18,211

Cash provided by investing activities	22	21

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
Distributions to limited partner	(40,593)	(40,593)
Distributions to general partner	(6,708)	(6,707)

Cash used for financing activities	(47,301)	(47,300)

NET CHANGE IN CASH	—	—

CASH, BEGINNING OF PERIOD	—	—

CASH, END OF PERIOD	$—	$—

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
INVESTMENTS
The Partnership’s investment in affiliate debentures is recorded at cost. Its investment in U.S. Government and agency securities is recorded at accreted cost and matures within one year. At September 30, 2011, the estimated fair value of the investment in affiliate debentures was approximately $710 million. The fair value of the investment in U.S. Government and agency securities approximated its carrying value.

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
In addition, no change in the Trust’s internal control over financial reporting (as defined in Rule 13a-15(f) under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934) occurred during the three months ended September 30, 2011 that has materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially affect, the Trust’s internal control over financial reporting.
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
In addition, no change in the Partnership’s internal control over financial reporting (as defined in Rule 13a-15(f) under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934) occurred during the three months ended September 30, 2011 that has materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially affect, the Partnership’s internal control over financial reporting.

PART II — OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1A.	Risk Factors
There are no material changes from the risk factors set forth under Part I, Item 1A. “Risk Factors” in the Trust’s and the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2010 and in Part II, Item 1A. “Risk Factors” in the Trust’s and the Partnership’s Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended June 30, 2011.

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
Date: November 10, 2011

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

101
The following materials from Merrill Lynch Preferred Capital Trust III and Merrill Lynch Preferred Funding III, L.P. Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q for the three- and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2011, formatted in XBRL (Extensible Business Reporting Language):(i) the Condensed Balance Sheets, (ii) the Condensed Statements of Earnings, (iii) the Condensed Statements of Changes in Stockholders’ Equity, (iv) the Condensed Statements of Cash Flows, and (v) the Note to Condensed Financial Statements, tagged as blocks of text.(1,2)

(1)	Included herewith.

(2)	These interactive data files shall not be deemed filed for purposes of Section 11 or 12 of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, or Section 18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, or otherwise subject to liability under those sections.