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                                   Steelcase

Statement Under Oath of Principal Financial Officer Regarding Facts and Circumstances Relating to Exchange Act Filings

I, James P. Keane, state and attest that:

(1) To the best of my knowledge, based upon a review of the covered reports of Steelcase Inc., and, except as corrected or supplemented in a subsequent covered report:

    .   no covered report contained an untrue statement of a material fact as of
        the end of the period covered by such report (or in the case of a report on Form 8-K or definitive proxy materials, as of the date on which it was filed); and

    .   no covered report omitted to state a material fact necessary to make the
        statements in the covered report, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading as of the end of the period covered by such report (or in the case of a report on Form 8-K or definitive proxy materials, as of the date on which it was filed).

(2) I have reviewed the contents of this statement with the Company's audit committee.

(3) In this statement under oath, each of the following, if filed on or before the date of this statement, is a "covered report":

    .   the Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 22,
        2002 of Steelcase Inc.;

    .   all reports on Form 10-Q, all reports on Form 8-K and all definitive
        proxy materials of Steelcase Inc. filed with the Commission subsequent to the filing of the Form 10-K identified above; and

    .   any amendments to any of the foregoing.


                                        Subscribed and sworn to
                                        before me this 16th day of
                                        August 2002.
/s/ James P. Keane
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James P. Keane
August 16, 2002
                                        /s/ Cynthia A. Gwinn
                                        ------------------------------------
                                        Notary Public Cynthia A. Gwinn
                                        My Commission Expires: 12-15-05