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                                                                    Exhibit 99.1


SOVEREIGN SPECIALTY CHEMICALS UPDATES FIRST QUARTER OPERATING RESULTS

Chicago, IL May 1, 2002 -- Sovereign Specialty Chemicals, Inc. updated its outlook for operating results for the quarter ended March 31, 2002.

 Commenting on the results for the first quarter, Robert Covalt, Sovereign's Chairman and CEO, said: "During our last earnings call, we indicated that we expected first quarter operating results to be improved over the fourth quarter of 2001, but not as good as the first quarter of 2001. Our sales for the first quarter of 2002 will be between $86.5 and $87.0 million, and EBITDA will be between $8.4 and $8.9 million excluding $.4 million of one-time costs associated with hiring a senior executive."

     Mr. Covalt added: "Our first quarter results were encouraging given the mixed economic environment we experienced during the quarter. Compared to the fourth quarter, revenues were up almost 4%, and EBITDA was up sharply reflecting lower raw material costs, better operating performance and lower one-time expenses. Compared to the first quarter of 2001, sales were down about 2.5% from last year, but our profitability held up as a result of our earlier actions to reduce costs. Our Construction segment continued to perform well with sales and EBITDA up year-to-year reflecting the benefit of a stable housing market and lower raw material costs. The Commercial segment showed solid improvement over the fourth quarter with higher sales, lower raw
material costs and lower operating expenses.

     We continue to expect our operating income and EBITDA to show solid year-to-year improvement during the remaining quarters of 2002. Order and shipment actively in April strengthened in line with our normal seasonal pattern of the June and September quarters being our strongest periods."

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     At March 31, 2002 Sovereign had $3.6 million of cash, $245.2 million of
total debt and $28.5 million utilized under our revolving credit facility.

     Any forward-looking statements made in this release involve potential risks and uncertainties and are based on management's beliefs, information currently available to management and a number of management assumptions concerning future events. Actual results may vary materially due to changes in sales volumes, raw material and energy costs, foreign currency exchange rates, global economic demand, selling prices, competitive pressures, and changes in technology. Additional factors that may cause our actual results to vary are detailed in Sovereign's filings with the SEC, including the Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2001 and exhibit 99.1 to that report.

     Sovereign Specialty Chemicals, Inc. is a leading developer and supplier of high-performance specialty adhesives, coatings and sealants serving three markets: Packaging and Converting, Industrial, and Construction. Since 1996, Sovereign has grown rapidly-through the strategic acquisition of established niche leaders -- to become the largest privately owned adhesives manufacturer in the United States and one of the largest adhesives manufacturers in the world, public or private. Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, USA, Sovereign comprises over 1,000 employees working in 20 manufacturing and sales facilities worldwide to support thousands of customers. In 2001, Sovereign's revenues were $357 million.

Sovereign's controlling Investor is AEA Investors Inc., one of the most experienced private equity investment firms in the world. AEA's group of investors includes a global network of important business leaders, family groups, endowment funds, and select institutions.