Announcement








                  Company GoldmanSachs International
                  TIDM TTP
                  Headline EMM Disclosure
                  Released 11:42 31 Mar 2003
                  Number 4115J






EMM DISCLOSURE
FORM 38.5 (SUMMARY)

Lodge with a RIS and the Takeover Panel. Use a separate form for each class of securities in which dealings have been made.


CONNECTED EXEMPT MARKET- MAKERS:
DISCLOSURE UNDER RULE 38.5 OF THE CITY CODE ON TAKEOVERS AND MERGERS


Name of EMM
      Goldman Sachs International


Date of disclosure
      31 March 2003


Contact name
      Peter Highton


Telephone number
      +44 207-774-1935


Please see attached disclosure of dealings under Rule 38.5 in the
securities of the following companies:
Oxford Glycosciences plc


AMENDMENT
If the attached Rule 38.5 disclosure is to amend a previous disclosure, please state which element(s) of previous disclosure was incorrect:



In the case of option business or dealings in derivatives full details should be given on a separate sheet so that the nature of the dealings can be fully understood. For options this should include the number of securities under option, the exercise period (or in the case of exercise, the exercise date), the exercise price and any option money paid or received. For derivatives this should include, at least, the number of reference securities to which they relate (when relevant), the maturity date (or if applicable the closing out date) and the reference price.

For full details of the disclosure requirements see Rules 8 and 38 of
the Code.
If in doubt contact the Monitoring Section of the Panel, Tel. No:
020 7638 0129.
Email: monitoring@disclosure.org.uk




CONNECTED EXEMPT MARKET-MAKERS/EXEMPT PRINCIPAL TRADERS:
DISCLOSURE UNDER RULE 38.5 OF THE CITY CODE ON TAKEOVERS AND MERGERS


Dealing in Contract for Difference ("CFD") referenced to
      Oxford Glycosciences plc Ordinary Shares


Date of disclosure
      31 March 2003


Date of dealing
      28 March 2003


Name of EMM/EPT
      Goldman Sachs International


Name of offeree/offeror with whom connected
      Oxford Glycosciences plc


Product Type
      Short CFD


Maturity Date
      18 February 2013



Writing of CFD

Number of ordinary shares to which the CFD is referenced
      0


CFD reference price
      0.00 GBP Sterling



Closing out of CFD

Number of ordinary shares to which the CFD is referenced
      75,000 (customer bought to close)


CFD closing out price
      1.8731 GBP Sterling




Further disclosure should be made where necessary so that the nature of the dealings can be fully understood.

END