Announcement








                  CompanyBarclays Global Investors Ltd
                  TIDM
                  HeadlineRule 8 - Oxford Glycosciences
                  Released10:33 3 Feb 2003
                  Number9428G






FORM 8.1/8.3

Lodge with a RIS or Newstrack if appropriate and the Takeover Panel. Use a separate form for each class of securities in which dealings have been made.

Date of Disclosure

      03/02/2003


DISCLOSURE UNDER RULES 8.1(a), 8.1(b)(i) and 8.3 OF THE CITY CODE ON TAKEOVERS AND MERGERS

Date of dealing

      31/01/2003


Dealing in (name of company)

      Oxford Glycosciences Plc Ord GBP 0.05


1. Class of securities (eg ordinary shares)

      Ordinary Shares


2.

      Amount boughtAmount soldPrice per unit
       502501.67









      Take on
      Take off


3. Resultant total of the same class owned or controlled (and percentage of
class)

      9636441.746%


4. Party making disclosure

      Barclays Global Investors




5. EITHER (a) Name of purchaser / vendor (Note 1)




OR (b) if dealing for discretionary client(s), name of fund
management organisation

      Barclays Global Investors


6. Reason for disclosure (Note 2)

      Rule 8


(a) associate of

(i)  offeror (Note 3)

NO

(ii) offeree company

NO

Specify which category or categories of associate (1-8 overleaf)

      NO


If category (8), explain




(b) Rule 8.3 (ie disclosure because of ownership or control of 1 per cent or more of the class of relevant securities dealt in)

YES

Signed, for and on behalf of the party named in (4) above

YES


(Also print name of signatory)

      Georgina Fogo


Telephone and Extension number






Note 1.

Specify owner, not nominee or vehicle company. If relevant, also identify controller of owner, eg where an owner normally acts on instructions of a controller

Note 2.

Disclosure might be made for more than one reason; if so, state all reasons.

Note 3.

Specify which offeror if there is more than one.

Note 4.

When an arrangement exists with any offeror, with the offeree company or with an associate of any offeror or of the offeree company in relation to relevant securities, details of such arrangement must be disclosed, as required by Note 6 on Rule 8.

Note 5.

It may be necessary, particularly when disclosing derivative transactions, to append a sheet to this disclosure form so that all relevant information can be given.

Note 6.

In the case of an average price bargain, each underlying trade should be disclosed.
For full details of disclosure requirements, see Rule 8 of the Code. If in doubt, contact the Panel on Takeovers and Mergers, Monitoring Section, Tel.
No: 020 7638 0129. Email: monitoring@disclosure.org.uk

DEFINITION OF ASSOCIATE
It is not practicable to define associate in terms which would cover all the different relationships which may exist in an offer. The term associate is intended to cover all persons (whether or not acting in concert) who directly or indirectly own or deal in the shares of an offeror or the offeree company in an offer and who have (in addition to their normal interests as shareholders) an
interest or potential interest, whether commercial, financial or personal, in the outcome of the offer.
Without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing, the term associate will normally include the following:-
(1) an offeror's or the offeree company's parent, subsidiaries and fellow subsidiaries, and their associated companies, and companies of which such companies are associated companies (for this purpose ownership or control of 20% or more of the equity share capital of a company is regarded as the test of associated company status);
(2) banks and financial and other professional advisers (including stockbrokers)* to an offeror, the offeree company or any company covered in (1), including persons controlling#, controlled by or under the same control as such banks, financial and other professional advisers;
(3) the directors (together with their close relatives and related trusts) of an offeror, the offeree company or any company covered in (1);
(4) the pension funds of an offeror, the offeree company or any company covered in (1);
(5) any investment company, unit trust or other person whose investments an associate manages on a discretionary basis, in respect of the relevant investment accounts;
(6) a person who owns or controls 5% or more of any class of relevant securities (as defined in paragraphs (a) to (d) in Note 2 on Rule 8) issued by an offeror or an offeree company, including a person who as
a result of any transaction owns or controls 5% or more. When two or
more persons act pursuant to an agreement or understanding (formal or informal) to acquire or control such securities, they will be deemed
to be a single person for the purpose of this paragraph. Such securities managed on a discretionary basis by an investment management group will, unless otherwise agreed by the Panel, also be deemed to be those of a single person (see Note 8 on Rule 8); and(7) a company having a material trading arrangement with an offeror or the offeree company.
Paragraphs (1)-(7) are typical cases. Paragraph (8) below is a category
to cover associate status not within (1)-(7).
(8)   Other.

Notes
* References to a "bank" do not apply to a bank whose sole relationship with a party to an offer is the provision of normal commercial banking services or such activities in connection with the offer as confirming that cash is available, handling acceptances and other registration work. References to "financial and other professional advisers (including stockbrokers)", in relation to a party to an offer, do not include an organisation which has stood down, because of a conflict of interest or otherwise, from acting for that party in connection with the offer. If the organisation is to have a continuing involvement with that party during the offer, the Panel must be consulted. Unless the Panel is satisfied that the involvement is entirely unconnected with the offer, the above exclusion will not normally apply.
# The normal test for whether a person is controlled by, controls or
is under the same control as another person will be by reference to the definition of control contained in the Code. There may be other circumstances which the Panel will regard as giving rise to such a relationship (eg where a majority of the equity share capital is owned
by another person who does not have a majority of the voting rights);
in cases of doubt, the Panel should be consulted.