Exhibit 99.1

4500 NE Evangeline Thruway — Carencro, LA 70520 — Phone — 337-896-6664 — Fax 337-896-6655

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE	No. 10-14

For more information contact: Ronald D. Mogel, Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Phone: (337) 896-6664

OMNI ANNOUNCES EARLY TERMINATION OF HART-SCOTT-RODINO WAITING

PERIOD IN CONNECTION WITH PROPOSED ACQUISITION BY WELLSPRING

CARENCRO, LA – August 3, 2010 – OMNI ENERGY SERVICES CORP. (NASDAQ GM: OMNI) today announced that the Federal Trade Commission has granted early termination of the waiting period under the Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvement Act of 1976, as amended, in connection with the previously announced merger agreement under which an affiliate of Wellspring Capital Management LLC will acquire all of OMNI’s outstanding shares for $2.75 per share in cash.

Completion of the proposed transaction remains subject to OMNI shareholder approval and other customary closing conditions. The parties continue to expect the transaction to close in the second half of 2010.

About OMNI Energy Services Corp.

Headquartered in Carencro, LA, OMNI Energy Services Corp. offers a broad range of integrated services to geophysical companies engaged in the acquisition of on-shore seismic data and to oil and gas companies operating primarily in the Gulf of Mexico. OMNI provides its services through three business segments: Seismic Services (including drilling, survey and permitting services), Environmental and Other Services, and Equipment Leasing. OMNI’s services play a significant role with geophysical companies who have operations in marsh, swamp, shallow water and the U.S. Gulf Coast also called transition zones and contiguous dry land areas also called highland zones.

About Wellspring Capital Management

Wellspring Capital Management, founded in 1995, is a leading middle-market private equity firm that manages more than $2 billion of private equity capital. The firm’s objective is to bring partnership, experience and value creation to each investment. By teaming up with strong management, Wellspring is able to unlock underlying value and pursue new growth opportunities through strategic initiatives, operating improvements and add-on acquisitions. The firm functions as a strategic rather than tactical partner, providing management teams with top-line support, M&A experience and financial expertise, and access to resources.

Safe Harbor Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

Forward-looking statements in this release are made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Investors are cautioned that all forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties associated with the non-compliance with NASDAQ listing requirements and the possible delisting of OMNI’s securities, the impact of the current economic climate, the efficacy of the I.M.P.A.C.T. ™ cleaning technology and receipt of its patent, the timely conversion of seismic drilling backlog into revenue, the acceptance and use of OMNI’s environmental cleaning services, OMNI’s dependence on activity in the oil and gas industry, labor shortages, permit delays, dependence on significant customers, seasonality and weather risks, competition, technological evolution, the ultimate outcome of pending litigation, the continued growth of our environmental and other services and equipment leasing business segments, and other risks detailed in OMNI’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”). In addition, there are a number of important factors that could cause actual results or events to differ materially from those indicated by such forward-looking statements including, but not limited to, the ability of OMNI to obtain shareholder approval of the merger, the possibility that the merger will not close or that the closing will be delayed, the merger transaction could involve unexpected costs, liabilities or delays, OMNI’s business could suffer as a result of uncertainty, if any, surrounding the merger transaction, contractual restrictions on the conduct of OMNI’s business set forth in the merger agreement, the potential loss of key personnel, the outcome of, or expenses associated with, any litigation which may arise in connection with the merger transaction. OMNI disclaims any intention or obligation to update any forward-looking statements as a result of developments occurring after the date of this release.

Important Additional Information Will be Filed With the SEC

This communication is not a solicitation of a proxy from any security holder of OMNI. In connection with the proposed transactions contemplated by the merger agreement, OMNI has filed a preliminary proxy statement and Schedule 13E-3 and OMNI intends to file with the SEC and mail to its shareholders a definitive proxy statement and Schedule 13E-3. OMNI SHAREHOLDERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO READ THE PROXY STATEMENT AND SCHEDULE 13E-3 AND ANY OTHER RELEVANT DOCUMENTS FILED WITH THE SEC CAREFULLY AND IN THEIR ENTIRETY AS THEY BECOME AVAILABLE BECAUSE THEY WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE TRANSACTION AND THE PARTIES TO THE TRANSACTION.

Investors and security holders will be able to obtain free copies of the Proxy Statement, the Schedule 13E-3 and other documents filed with the SEC by OMNI (when available) through the website maintained by the SEC at www.sec.gov. In addition, investors and security holders will be able to obtain free copies of such documents from OMNI by contacting OMNI Energy Services Corp., 4500 N.E. Evangeline Thruway, Carencro, LA 70520, Attn: Corporate Secretary, telephone 337-896-6664.

OMNI and its directors and officers may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies with respect to the transactions contemplated by the merger agreement. Information regarding OMNI’s directors and executive officers is contained in OMNI’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2009 and its proxy statement dated April 30, 2010, each of which is filed with the SEC. You can obtain free copies of these documents from OMNI using the contact information set forth above. Additional information regarding interests of such participants will be included in the Proxy Statement and the Schedule 13E-3 that will be filed with the SEC and available free of charge as indicated above.

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