
                                                                    Exhibit 99.1

             Circuit City Stores, Inc. Reports First Quarter Results
     - Company Exceeds Pre-tax Guidance and Reaffirms Fiscal 2009 Outlook -

Richmond,  Va.,  June 19,  2008 - Circuit  City  Stores,  Inc.  (NYSE:CC)  today
reported results for the first quarter ended May 31, 2008.

"In the first quarter,  we continued to see improvement in many of our operating
performance measures," said Philip J. Schoonover,  chairman, president and chief
executive  officer of Circuit City Stores,  Inc. "We are  rebuilding our selling
culture  and  focusing  on  creating a good first and last  impression  with the
customer.  We have  seen  improved  trends in our  store  close  rate and in our
services and  accessories  attachments,  and we are delivering a better customer
experience  in our stores as evidenced by the upward  trends in our  third-party
mystery shop scores. In short, the quarter  represented  improved  execution and
solid,  steady  progress  towards  our  goals,  and we  expect  to  start to see
year-over-year  improvements  in our financial  results  beginning in the second
half of the year. I want to thank our associates  for  maintaining a sharp focus
on expense  controls,  in order to build a more competitive  cost structure,  as
well as for their hard work and dedication throughout the quarter."

Statements of Operations Highlights

                                                                  Three Months Ended May 31
                                                                2008                       2007
(Dollar amounts in millions                                            % of                      % of
except per share data)                                      $          Sales            $        Sales
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net sales............................................  $2,301.1       100.0%        $2,485.5    100.0%
Gross profit.........................................  $  478.7        20.8%        $  560.2     22.5%
Selling, general and administrative expenses.........  $  640.0        27.8%        $  648.4     26.1%
Loss from continuing operations
   before income taxes...............................  $ (161.8)       (7.0)%       $  (82.5)    (3.3)%
Net loss from continuing operations..................  $ (164.8)       (7.2)%       $  (54.8)    (2.2)%
Net loss.............................................  $ (164.8)       (7.2)%       $  (54.6)    (2.2)%
Loss from continuing operations per share............  $  (1.00)          -         $  (0.33)       -
Loss per share.......................................  $  (1.00)          -         $  (0.33)       -

Balance Sheets Highlights

                                                                          May 31
(Dollar amounts in millions)                                        2008           2007        % Change
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  ------------
Cash, cash equivalents and short-term investments...............   $   92.2     $  364.1          (75)%
Merchandise inventory...........................................   $1,686.3     $1,745.9           (3)%
Merchandise payable.............................................   $  933.2     $  923.0            1%
Long-term debt, including current installments..................   $   72.6     $   55.9           30%
Stockholders' equity............................................   $1,332.7     $1,700.2          (22)%

Schoonover added, "As we previously announced, the board of directors is leading
a process to explore strategic  alternatives to enhance  shareholder  value, and
that review  continues.  The board has not determined  any course of action.  As
part of that process,  today we filed a shelf  registration  statement  with the
Securities  and Exchange  Commission in order to give us greater  flexibility to
respond  to  strategic  opportunities  as they  arise.  Separately,  during  the
quarter, we settled the potential proxy contest with Wattles Capital Management.

"In addition,  the board of directors has suspended future dividend payments. We
continue to believe that we have adequate  liquidity to fund our  turnaround but
would prefer to conserve capital.

"Crisp execution of our retail turnaround efforts remains our primary focus. The
outcome of those efforts will position Circuit City well for the future and help
us to capitalize on the  anticipated  improvement in the  macroeconomic  climate
during the second half of the fiscal year," concluded Schoonover.

A summary of results by segment is shown in Table 1.

Sales
For the first  quarter  ended May 31, 2008,  net sales  decreased 7.4 percent to
$2.30 billion from $2.49 billion in the same period last year, with consolidated
comparable store sales  decreasing 11.3 percent.  A summary of net sales results
is shown in Table 2.

Domestic Segment Sales
For the first quarter,  net sales for the domestic segment decreased 8.8 percent
to  $2.17  billion  from  $2.38  billion  in the same  period  last  year,  with
comparable store sales decreasing 12.2 percent. For the quarter,  direct channel
sales,  including Web- and call  center-originated  sales, grew 3.0 percent. The
direct channel sales growth was lower than historical  year-over-year growth due
primarily  to a less  aggressive  promotional  stance in  categories  such as PC
hardware and televisions as the company seeks to maximize gross profit.

During  the  first  quarter,   the  domestic  segment  opened  five  incremental
Superstores  and closed two other  locations.  Of these  incremental  Superstore
openings, three were in the company's the cityTM format.

The net sales  represented  by each major category for the periods ended May 31,
2008 and 2007, are shown in Table 3.

In the video category,  Circuit City generated a slight double-digit  comparable
store sales decrease in the first quarter.  Comparable store sales of flat panel
televisions  increased by a high-single digit. Total television comparable store
sales experienced a single-digit decrease, as significant comparable store sales
decreases in  projection  and tube  televisions  more than offset the flat panel
television  increase.  Comparable  store sales of digital  imaging  products and
accessories and camcorders decreased by double digits.

In   the   information   technology   category,   Circuit   City   generated   a
high-single-digit   comparable  store  sales  decrease  in  the  first  quarter.
Comparable  store  sales of desktop  computers  declined by double  digits,  and
comparable store sales of notebook computers increased by a low-single digit.

In the audio category,  Circuit City generated a double-digit  comparable  store
sales  decrease  in the first  quarter.  Comparable  store  sales of  navigation
products  increased by a low-single  digit.  Comparable  store sales of portable
digital audio, mobile and home audio products declined by strong double digits.

In the  entertainment  category,  Circuit  City  generated  a  high-single-digit
comparable store sales decrease in the first quarter.  Comparable store sales of
video gaming  products  increased by double  digits.  Comparable  store sales of
video software and music software declined by double digits.

Domestic segment extended warranty net sales were $53.8 million,  or 2.5 percent
of  domestic  segment  net  sales,  in the first  quarter,  compared  with $73.7
million,  or 3.1 percent of domestic  segment net sales, in the same period last
year. FiredogSM PC services and home theater installation  revenues decreased 16
percent to $54.3  million in the first  quarter  from $64.4  million  last year.
FiredogSM PC services and home theater  installation  revenue performance in the
prior year period was the second highest  year-over-year  dollar increase in the
company's history due primarily to an effective home theater installation bundle
offer and the benefits of the launch of Microsoft Windows Vista.

International Segment Sales
For the first quarter,  net sales for the  international  segment increased 23.6
percent to $134.3  million  from  $108.6  million in the same period last fiscal
year. The increase was driven by the favorable impact of fluctuations in foreign
currency  exchanges rates of 14 percent and the comparable  store sales increase
of 10.5 percent in local currency.  These increases were partially offset by the
impact of the  year-over-year  net  decrease  of 25  retail  stores  and  dealer
outlets.

Gross Profit
The  consolidated  gross  profit  margin was 20.8  percent in the first  quarter
compared with 22.5 percent in the same period last fiscal year, a decline of 174
basis points.

Domestic  segment gross profit margin  decreased 186 basis points from the prior
year. A decrease in product margins was driven  primarily by negative mix shifts
within  imaging and notebook  computers as well as clearance  activities  and an
increase in the mix of sales of notebook  computers.  Also  contributing  to the
gross profit margin decrease was a decrease in extended  warranty net sales. The
year-over-year  change in the gross margin rate was the smallest decline in five
quarters as we saw improved  performance in the television  category,  primarily
driven by assortment and  promotional  mix shifts within the category as well as
better retail execution.

The international segment's first quarter gross profit margin declined 337 basis
points from the prior year  period.  The  decrease  resulted  primarily  from an
increased mix of sales from clearance  product across many categories as well as
a mix shift from higher-margin categories.

Selling, General and Administrative Expenses
Selling,  general  and  administrative  (SG&A)  expenses  were 27.8  percent  of
consolidated  net sales in the first quarter,  compared with 26.1 percent in the
same period last year, an increase of 173 basis points.

The domestic  segment's  expense-to-sales  ratio increased 162 basis points from
the prior year's rate. The increase primarily reflects the overall de-leveraging
impact of lower sales.  Also contributing to the increase was an increase of 124
basis points in expenses  related to the 65 domestic  segment  Superstores  that
have opened during the past twelve months.  Partially offsetting these increases
was a decrease of 81 basis points in compensation  costs that resulted primarily
from the company's expense reduction initiatives.

The  international  segment's SG&A  expense-to-sales  ratio  increased 171 basis
points primarily due to a $7.5 million  recovery related to a former  subsidiary
that was recorded in fiscal 2008. The recovery, which was not repeated in fiscal
2009,  negatively  impacted  the  expense-to-sales  ratio  increase by 691 basis
points of international segment net sales.

A summary of SG&A expenses by category is shown in Table 4.

Income Tax Expense (Benefit)
For the first quarter of fiscal 2009, the company recorded an income tax expense
of $3.0  million  primarily  related to  discrete  items.  Due to the  company's
valuation allowance against the deferred tax assets of its U.S. operations,  the
company  does not expect to incur  income  tax  expense  or  benefit,  excluding
discrete items, associated with the domestic segment during fiscal 2009.

Net Loss from Continuing Operations
The fiscal 2009 first quarter net loss from continuing operations totaled $164.8
million,  or $1.00 per diluted share,  compared with $54.8 million,  or 33 cents
per diluted share, for the first quarter of fiscal 2008.

Financial Condition
At May 31,  2008,  Circuit  City  had  cash,  cash  equivalents  and  short-term
investments of $92.2 million,  compared with $364.1 million at May 31, 2007. The
$271.9 million  year-over-year  decline in the cash position  primarily reflects
purchases of property and equipment and cash used in operations.

Merchandise  inventory decreased 3.4 percent to $1.69 billion from $1.75 billion
last year,  driven primarily by continued focus on matching  inventory levels to
sales trends.  Merchandise  payable increased 1.1 percent to $933.2 million from
$923.0 million.  Consolidated and domestic segment net-owned inventory decreased
by $69.8 million and $83.6 million, respectively, from the prior year.

At May 31, 2008,  Circuit City had $72.6  million in long-term  debt,  primarily
related to  capital  leases,  and $55.0  million  in  short-term  debt under the
asset-based credit facility.

Capital  expenditures,  net of landlord  reimbursements,  for the first  quarter
totaled $38.1 million.

Stock Buyback
Circuit City did not repurchase  stock during the first  quarter.  As of May 31,
2008,  $233.7  million  remained  available  for  repurchase  under the  current
authorization.

Fiscal 2009 Outlook
The company reaffirmed the following expectations for fiscal 2009:
o    Consolidated  net  sales  relatively  unchanged  from  the  prior  year
o    A mid-single digit domestic segment comparable store sales decline
o    Improvement  in earnings  from  continuing  operations  before income taxes
     (EBT) as a percentage of  consolidated  net sales of 50 basis points to 100
     basis points
o    No tax expense or benefit,  excluding  discrete items,  associated with the
     domestic segment
o    Depreciation and amortization expense of approximately $185 million
o    A reduction in domestic segment net-owned inventory from February 29, 2008,
     to February 28, 2009, of $50 million to $100 million
o    45 to 55 domestic segment Superstore openings, including 6 to 8 relocations

The company  updated its  forecast  for  capital  expenditures,  net of landlord
reimbursements,  to $120 million to $140 million, down from $130 million to $150
million.

The fiscal 2009 outlook is based on the following assumptions:
o    A continuation of current operating trends through the first half of fiscal
     2009 and an improvement in second half trends
o    A continuation of weak macroeconomic trends, particularly in the first half
     of the fiscal year
o    Improved  retail  execution,  leading to higher  close  rates and  improved
     basket, offsetting a decline in store traffic
o    Sales  growth in key product  areas  including  LCD  televisions,  notebook
     computers and video gaming products, offset by sales declines in projection
     and tube televisions, desktop computers and portable audio products
o    Improvements in merchandise margins, shrink and markdowns
o    Low-single-digit  percentage  growth in SG&A dollars  compared  with fiscal
     2008 driven by  incremental  and  relocated  store  openings and  increased
     compensation costs

For the second  quarter,  the company  expects to record a loss from  continuing
operations before income taxes of $170 million to $185 million,  compared with a
loss of $128.2 million in the prior year second quarter. While the expected loss
is larger than the prior year period, the year-over-year increase in the loss is
significantly  smaller than the increase in the first quarter loss.  The primary
driver of the difference in expected  second  quarter  results from actual first
quarter results is higher expenses associated with more store openings.

Due to  operating  improvements,  traction  against  current  sales-  and  gross
margin-driving initiatives,  and more favorable year-over-year comparisons,  the
company  expects a gradual  recovery  in the  second  half of fiscal  2009.  The
company  expects  to  see  year-over-year   improvements  in  operating  results
beginning  in the third  quarter and  improved  pre-tax  profit from  continuing
operations in the fourth quarter as compared to fiscal 2008 results. The company
believes that it has adequate  cash and borrowing  capacity to complete the next
phase of the turnaround plan.

Domestic segment  Superstore  opening estimates are shown in Table 5. The timing
of store  openings  depends  upon a number of factors and can change  during the
year. All of the company's remaining openings for fiscal 2009 will be in the new
the cityTM format.

Conference Call Information
Circuit City will host a conference  call for investors at 10:00 a.m. EDT today.
Investors in the United States and Canada may access the call at (800) 399-0127.
Other  investors may access the call at (706)  634-7512.  A live Web cast of the
conference  call will be available on the company's  investor  information  home
page at http://investor.circuitcity.com.

A replay of the call will be available by approximately  noon EDT today and will
remain available  through June 26. Investors in the United States and Canada may
access the  recording  at (800)  642-1687,  and other  investors  may dial (706)
645-9291.  The access code for the replay is 48433262. A replay of the call also
will be available on the Circuit City investor information home page.

About Circuit City Stores, Inc.
Circuit City Stores,  Inc. (NYSE:CC) is a leading specialty retailer of consumer
electronics and related  services.  At May 31, the domestic segment operated 687
Superstores  and 9 outlet  stores  in 158 U.S.  media  markets.  At May 31,  the
international  segment  operated through 775 retail stores and dealer outlets in
Canada.   Circuit  City  also   operates   Web  sites  at   www.circuitcity.com,
www.thesource.ca and www.firedog.com.

Forward-Looking Statements
Statements  made  in  this  release,  other  than  those  concerning  historical
financial information,  may be considered forward-looking statements,  which are
subject to risks and uncertainties, including without limitation: (1) the impact
of pricing and  promotional  activities  of the  company's  competitors  and the
company's response to those actions, (2) the pace of commoditization of consumer
electronics,  (3) the  ability  of vendors  to  fulfill  merchandise  orders and
allocation  commitments,   (4)  the  impact  of  a  significant  change  in  the
relationships  with key  vendors,  (5) the  company's  ability  to  control  and
leverage  expenses as a percentage of sales,  (6) general  economic  conditions,
including, without limitation, changes in interest rates, consumer sentiment and
commodity pricing, (7) the company's ability to generate sales and margin growth
through expanded  service  offerings,  (8) the company's  ability to continue to
generate  strong sales growth in key product  categories  and through its direct
sales channel,  (9) the impact of  initiatives  related to  transforming  retail
processes and upgrading merchandising,  point-of-sale and information systems on
revenue and margin and the costs  associated  with these  investments,  (10) the
availability  of real  estate  that  meets the  company's  criteria  for new and
relocating stores, (11) regulatory and litigation matters, (12) the availability
of sources of liquidity to fund capital  expenditures and working capital,  (13)
the company's strategic evaluation of the international  segment,  including the
impact of changes in credit markets,  (14) the company's  ability to recover its
deferred  tax assets  through  future  profitability  and (15) the impact of any
strategic  alternatives  that the company may pursue.  Discussion  of additional
factors that could cause actual results to differ  materially from  management's
projections,   forecasts,   estimates  and   expectations  is  set  forth  under
Management's  Discussion  and Analysis of Results of  Operations  and  Financial
Condition in the Circuit City Stores,  Inc.  annual  report on Form 10-K for the
fiscal year ended February 29, 2008, and in the company's  other SEC filings.  A
copy of the annual report is available on the company's investor information Web
site at http://investor.circuitcity.com.

Contact:     Bill Cimino, Director of Corporate Communications, (804) 418-8163
             Jessica Clarke, Investor Relations, (804) 527-4038
             Patty Whitten, Investor Relations, (804) 527-4033




                            CIRCUIT CITY STORES, INC.
                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                        PERIODS ENDED MAY 31 (UNAUDITED)
                  (Amounts in thousands except per share data)

                                                                                           Three Months
                                                                                      2008                2007
                                                                                      ----                ----

NET SALES                                                                       $    2,301,074     $    2,485,537
Cost of sales, buying and warehousing                                                1,822,400          1,925,352
                                                                                 --------------      -------------

GROSS PROFIT                                                                           478,674            560,185

Selling, general and administrative expenses                                           640,009            648,354
                                                                                 --------------      -------------

OPERATING LOSS                                                                        (161,335)           (88,169)

Interest income                                                                          1,168              5,737

Interest expense                                                                         1,682                 43
                                                                                 --------------      -------------

Loss from continuing operations before income taxes                                   (161,849)           (82,475)

Income tax expense (benefit)                                                             2,966            (27,663)
                                                                                 --------------      -------------

NET LOSS FROM CONTINUING OPERATIONS                                                   (164,815)           (54,812)

EARNINGS FROM DISCONTINUED OPERATIONS, NET OF TAX                                            -                246
                                                                                 --------------      -------------

NET LOSS                                                                        $     (164,815)    $      (54,566)
                                                                                 ==============      =============

Weighted average common shares:
        Basic                                                                          164,949            165,842
                                                                                 ==============      =============

        Diluted                                                                        164,949            165,842
                                                                                 ==============      =============

LOSS PER SHARE:
     Basic:
        Continuing operations                                                   $        (1.00)    $        (0.33)
        Discontinued operations                                                 $            -     $         0.00
        Basic loss per share                                                    $        (1.00)    $        (0.33)


     Diluted:
        Continuing operations                                                   $        (1.00)    $        (0.33)
        Discontinued operations                                                 $            -     $         0.00
        Diluted loss per share                                                  $        (1.00)    $        (0.33)






                            CIRCUIT CITY STORES, INC.
                     CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS (UNAUDITED)
                             (Amounts in thousands)
                                                                                    May 31
                                                                                    ------
                                                                       2008                        2007
                                                                  ---------------            ---------------
ASSETS

Current Assets:
Cash and cash equivalents                                       $         90,848            $        112,309
Short-term investments                                                     1,329                     251,789
Accounts receivable, net of allowance for doubtful accounts              307,033                     342,243
Merchandise inventory                                                  1,686,314                   1,745,934
Deferred income taxes, net of valuation allowance                         28,571                      28,210
Income tax receivable                                                    161,765                     107,179
Prepaid expenses and other current assets                                 73,698                      80,619
                                                                  ---------------            ---------------

Total Current Assets                                                   2,349,558                   2,668,283

Property and equipment, net of accumulated depreciation                1,037,808                     941,662
Deferred income taxes                                                          -                      27,345
Goodwill                                                                 116,928                     133,299
Other intangible assets, net of accumulated amortization                  17,551                      19,839
Other assets                                                             127,478                      37,486
                                                                  ---------------            ---------------

TOTAL ASSETS                                                    $      3,649,323            $      3,827,914
                                                                  ===============            ===============

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

Current Liabilities:
Merchandise payable                                             $        933,190            $        923,032
Expenses payable                                                         287,448                     242,810
Accrued expenses and other current liabilities                           325,270                     358,292
Accrued compensation                                                      60,558                      52,007
Accrued income taxes                                                      17,427                      10,782
Short-term debt                                                           55,000                       4,675
Current installments of long-term debt                                    11,801                       6,905
                                                                  ---------------            ---------------

Total Current Liabilities                                              1,690,694                   1,598,503

Long-term debt, excluding current installments                            60,831                      48,961
Accrued straight-line rent                                               150,241                     135,471
Deferred rent credits                                                    163,893                     142,271
Accrued lease termination costs                                           75,640                      71,694
Deferred income taxes, net of valuation allowance                         25,543                           -
Other liabilities                                                        149,750                     130,825
                                                                  ---------------            ---------------

TOTAL LIABILITIES                                                      2,316,592                   2,127,725
                                                                  ---------------            ---------------

Stockholders' Equity:
Common stock                                                              84,256                      84,261
Additional paid-in capital                                               322,929                     307,335
Retained earnings                                                        809,624                   1,266,534
Accumulated other comprehensive income                                   115,922                      42,059
                                                                  ---------------            ---------------

TOTAL STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY                                             1,332,731                   1,700,189
                                                                  ---------------            ---------------

TOTAL LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY                      $      3,649,323            $      3,827,914
                                                                  ===============            ===============




Table 1: Segment Performance Summary

Domestic Segment
                                                          Three Months Ended May 31
                                                          2008                   2007
                                                           % of                   % of
(Dollar amounts in millions)                       $       Sales         $        Sales
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net sales                                      $2,166.8   100.0%     $2,376.9    100.0%
Gross profit                                   $  434.1    20.0%     $  520.5     21.9%
Selling, general and administrative expenses   $  593.4    27.4%     $  612.5     25.8%
Loss from continuing operations
  before income taxes                          $ (159.9)   (7.4)%    $  (86.4)    (3.6)%

International Segment
                                                      Three Months Ended May 31
                                                      2008                 2007
                                                          % of                   % of
(Dollar amounts in millions)                       $      Sales         $        Sales
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Net sales                                        $134.3   100.0%      $108.6    100.0%
Gross profit                                     $ 44.6    33.2%      $ 39.7     36.6%
Selling, general and administrative expenses     $ 46.6    34.7%      $ 35.9     33.0%
(Loss) earnings from continuing operations
  before income taxes                            $ (1.9)   (1.5)%     $  3.9      3.6%

Table 2: Net Sales Summary
                                                        Three Months Ended May 31
                                                                                     Comparable
                                                                      Year-Over-     Store Sales
(Dollar amounts in millions)                   2008      2007        Year Change      Change(a)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Domestic segment net sales                   $2,166.8   $2,376.9        (8.8)%        (12.2)%
International segment net sales                 134.3      108.6        23.6%          10.5%
                                             -------------------
Net sales                                    $2,301.1   $2,485.5        (7.4)%        (11.3)%
                                             ===================

(a) A store's sales are included in  comparable  store sales after the store has
been open for a full 12 months. In addition, comparable store sales include Web-
and call center-originated  sales and sales from relocated and remodeled stores.
The calculation of comparable store sales excludes the impact of fluctuations in
foreign currency exchange rates.

Table 3: Net Sales by Category

Domestic Segment
                                                    Three Months Ended May 31
                                                    2008                 2007
                                                         % of                   % of
(Dollar amounts in millions)                     $      sales         $        sales
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Video                                         $  889.4    41.0%     $ 934.0     39.3%
Information technology                           591.4     27.3       628.6      26.4
Audio                                            262.6     12.1       334.9      14.1
Entertainment                                    262.1     12.1       272.5      11.5
Warranty, services and other(a)                  161.3      7.5       206.9       8.7
                                             -------------------  --------------------
Total net sales                               $2,166.8    100.0%    $2,376.9    100.0%
                                             ===================  ====================
(a) Warranty,  services and other includes extended warranty net sales; revenues
from PC services,  mobile installations,  home theater installations and product
repairs;   net   financing;   and  revenues  from  third  parties  for  services
subscriptions.


International Segment
                                                    Three Months Ended May 31
                                                    2008                 2007
                                                         % of                   % of
(Dollar amounts in millions)                     $      sales         $        sales
----------------------------------------------------------------  --------------------
Video                                           $ 25.6    19.0%      $ 20.0     18.5%
Information technology                            47.3     35.3        39.8      36.6
Audio                                             44.0     32.8        36.5      33.6
Entertainment                                      9.3      7.0         5.0       4.6
Warranty, services and other(a)                    8.0      5.9         7.3       6.7
                                             -------------------  --------------------
Total net sales                                 $134.3   100.0%      $108.6    100.0%
                                             ===================  ====================
(a) Warranty,  services and other includes  extended  warranty sales and product
repair revenue.




Table 4: Selling, General and Administrative Expenses

Consolidated                                   Three Months Ended May 31
                                              2008                 2007
                                                  % of                   % of
(Dollar amounts in millions)                 $    Sales          $       Sales
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Store expenses                            $529.7  23.0%        $556.7   22.4%
General and administrative expenses         99.1   4.3           85.5    3.4
Stock-based compensation expense             3.7   0.2            4.5    0.2
Remodel expenses                             0.0   0.0           (0.0)  (0.0)
Relocation expenses                          1.0   0.0            1.1    0.0
Pre-opening expenses                         6.4   0.3            0.5    0.0
                                       -----------------------------------------
Total                                     $640.0  27.8%        $648.4   26.1%
                                       =========================================

Domestic Segment                               Three Months Ended May 31
                                              2008                  2007
                                                   % of                   % of
(Dollar amounts in millions)               $      Sales           $       Sales
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Store expenses                            $492.1   22.7%        $524.2   22.1%
General and administrative expenses         90.3    4.2           82.4    3.5
Stock-based compensation expense             3.5    0.2            4.3    0.2
Remodel expenses                             0.0    0.0           (0.0)  (0.0)
Relocation expenses                          1.0    0.0            1.1    0.0
Pre-opening expenses                         6.4    0.3            0.5    0.0
                                       -----------------------------------------
 Total                                     $593.4   27.4%       $612.5   25.8%
                                       =========================================

International Segment                          Three Months Ended May 31
                                             2008                    2007
                                                   % of                  % of
(Dollar amounts in millions)               $      Sales            $     Sales
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Store expenses                             $37.6   28.0%         $32.6   30.0%
General and administrative expenses          8.8    6.6            3.1    2.9
Stock-based compensation expense             0.2    0.1            0.2    0.1
                                       -----------------------------------------
Total                                      $46.6   34.7%         $35.9   33.0%
                                       =========================================

Table 5: Domestic Segment Superstore Openings Estimates

                                        Q1 (a)      Q2         Q3        Q4        FY09
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Incremental Superstores                    5      13-17       21-23      0-2       39-47
Relocated Superstores                      -       6-7         0-1         -        6-8
                                       -----------------------------------------------------
Total Superstore openings                  5      19-24       21-24      0-2       45-55
                                       =====================================================

(a) First quarter openings are actual.  In February 2008, the company closed one
store in advance of opening a replacement  store in the second quarter of fiscal
2009. The replacement store is included in relocations for the second quarter of
fiscal 2009.
