W R GRACE & CO (CIK 1045309)
Form 10-Q
period 2004-09-30
filed 2004-11-05

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

66,000,159 shares of Common Stock, $0.01 par value, were outstanding at October
31, 2004.

================================================================================

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

                    Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements                                     I - 6 to I - 24

Item 2.             Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and
                    Results of Operations                                                         I - 25 to I - 37

Item 3.             Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures About Market Risk                         I - 38

Item 4.             Controls and Procedures                                                            I - 38

PART II.   OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1.             Legal Proceedings                                                            II - 1 to II - 2

Item 6.             Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K                                                   II - 2

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
ended September 30, 2004 and September 30, 2003, and the consolidated statements
of cash flows for the nine-month periods ended September 30, 2004 and September
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
financial statements referred to above, as to which the date is August 6, 2004).
In our opinion, the information set forth in the accompanying consolidated
balance sheet as of December 31, 2003, is fairly stated in all material respects
in relation to the consolidated balance sheet from which it has been derived.

/s/ PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
McLean, Virginia
November 1, 2004

                                      I-1

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
W. R. GRACE & CO. AND SUBSIDIARIES                                          THREE MONTHS ENDED             NINE MONTHS ENDED
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS (UNAUDITED)                              SEPTEMBER 30,                  SEPTEMBER 30,
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In millions, except per share amounts                                      2004            2003           2004           2003
                                                                     ---------------------------------------------------------------

Net sales.........................................................     $    579.9      $   521.0     $   1,670.8    $  1,469.2
                                                                     ---------------------------------------------------------------
Cost of goods sold, exclusive of depreciation and
    amortization shown separately below...........................          361.3          336.5         1,050.6         962.9
Selling, general and administrative expenses, exclusive of
    net pension expense shown separately below....................          106.7           90.0           321.1         276.4
Depreciation and amortization ....................................           26.9           26.1            80.4          76.1
Research and development expenses ................................           13.1           11.9            38.8          40.2
Net pension expense ..............................................           14.3           13.2            41.5          39.9
Interest expense and related financing costs .....................            4.5            4.1            12.3          12.4
Provision for environmental remediation ..........................           20.0           50.0            20.0          52.5
Other (income) expense............................................          (50.5)          (3.1)          (49.1)        (11.0)
                                                                     ---------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                            496.3          528.7         1,515.6       1,449.4
                                                                     ---------------------------------------------------------------
Income (loss) before Chapter 11 expenses, income taxes, and
    minority interest.............................................           83.6           (7.7)          155.2          19.8
Chapter 11 expenses, net .........................................           (4.3)          (2.2)          (11.8)        (11.7)
Provision for income taxes........................................          (28.0)          (0.7)          (51.9)        (14.0)
Minority interest in consolidated entities........................           (3.3)           0.7            (6.4)          0.2
                                                                     ---------------------------------------------------------------
    NET INCOME (LOSS) ............................................     $     48.0      $    (9.9)     $     85.1     $    (5.7)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BASIC EARNINGS (LOSS) PER COMMON SHARE............................     $     0.73      $   (0.15)     $     1.30     $   (0.09)

     Average number of basic shares ..............................           65.8           65.6            65.7          65.5

DILUTED EARNINGS (LOSS) PER COMMON SHARE..........................     $     0.72      $   (0.15)     $     1.29     $   (0.09)

     Average number of diluted shares.............................           66.3           65.6            66.0          65.5
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

              The Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements are an
                       integral part of these statements.

                                      I-2

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
W. R. GRACE & CO. AND SUBSIDIARIES                                                                     NINE MONTHS ENDED
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS (UNAUDITED)                                                        SEPTEMBER 30,
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In millions                                                                                         2004               2003
                                                                                             ---------------------------------------

OPERATING ACTIVITIES
Income before Chapter 11 expenses, income taxes, and minority interest...................    $      155.2       $         19.8
Reconciliation to net cash provided by operating activities:
     Depreciation and amortization ......................................................            80.4                 76.1
     Interest accrued on pre-petition debt subject to compromise.........................             8.7                  8.5
     Loss on sales of investments and disposals of assets................................             0.1                  1.0
     Net pension expense.................................................................            41.5                 39.9
     Net gain on litigation settlement...................................................           (50.0)                  --
     Provision for environmental remediation.............................................            20.0                 52.5
     Income from life insurance policies, net............................................            (1.8)                (4.1)
     Changes in assets and liabilities, excluding effect of businesses
        acquired/divested and foreign currency translation:
         Working capital items...........................................................           (18.7)               (55.7)
         Payments to fund defined benefit pension arrangements...........................           (26.7)               (37.3)
         Payments under postretirement benefit programs..................................            (9.2)                (8.8)
         Expenditures for asbestos-related litigation ...................................            (5.6)                (8.1)
         Proceeds from asbestos-related insurance .......................................             6.0                 11.0
         Expenditures for environmental remediation .....................................            (6.1)                (9.1)
         Expenditures for retained obligations of divested businesses ...................            (0.9)                (1.1)
         Changes in other accruals and non-cash items....................................             3.8                 10.1
                                                                                             ---------------------------------------
     NET CASH PROVIDED BY OPERATING ACTIVITIES BEFORE INCOME TAXES AND CHAPTER
        11 EXPENSES......................................................................           196.7                 94.7
Chapter 11 expenses paid, net ...........................................................            (8.0)               (14.4)
Income taxes paid, net of refunds .......................................................           (21.3)               (16.4)
                                                                                             ---------------------------------------
     NET CASH PROVIDED BY OPERATING ACTIVITIES ..........................................           167.4                 63.9
                                                                                             ---------------------------------------

INVESTING ACTIVITIES
Capital expenditures for property and equipment..........................................           (40.0)               (65.7)
Businesses acquired, net of cash acquired ...............................................           (53.0)                (3.6)
Investment in life insurance policies....................................................           (13.8)               (11.4)
Proceeds from life insurance policies....................................................            12.5                 10.0
Proceeds from sales of investments and disposals of assets...............................             1.7                  3.7
                                                                                             ---------------------------------------
     NET CASH USED FOR INVESTING ACTIVITIES .............................................           (92.6)               (67.0)
                                                                                             ---------------------------------------

FINANCING ACTIVITIES
Net change in loans secured by cash value of life insurance policies ....................            (3.2)                (2.6)
Borrowings under credit facilities, net of repayments....................................             6.0                  6.5
Borrowings under debtor-in-possession facility, net of fees .............................            (1.6)                46.7
Repayment of borrowings under debtor-in-possession facility..............................              --                (50.0)
Exercise of stock options................................................................             0.8                   --
                                                                                             ---------------------------------------
     NET CASH PROVIDED BY FINANCING ACTIVITIES ..........................................             2.0                  0.6
                                                                                             ---------------------------------------
Effect of currency exchange rate changes on cash and cash equivalents ...................            (0.9)                18.8
                                                                                             ---------------------------------------
     INCREASE IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS ..............................................            75.9                 16.3
Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period ..........................................           309.2                283.6
                                                                                             ---------------------------------------
Cash and cash equivalents, end of period ................................................    $      385.1       $        299.9
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

              The Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements are an
                       integral part of these statements.

                                      I-3

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
W. R. GRACE & CO. AND SUBSIDIARIES                                                     SEPTEMBER 30,       DECEMBER 31,
CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS (UNAUDITED)                                                    2004                2003
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In millions, except par value and shares

ASSETS
CURRENT ASSETS
Cash and cash equivalents..........................................................   $        385.1     $        309.2
Trade accounts receivable, less allowance of $5.2 (2003 - $4.6)....................            391.7              331.5
Inventories........................................................................            237.8              214.6
Deferred income taxes..............................................................             14.1               30.8
Other current assets...............................................................            111.4               43.8
                                                                                      --------------------------------------
     TOTAL CURRENT ASSETS .........................................................          1,140.1              929.9

Properties and equipment, net of accumulated depreciation and
     amortization of $1,276.5 (2003 - $1,216.9)....................................            623.9              656.6
Goodwill ..........................................................................             87.5               85.2
Cash value of life insurance policies, net of policy loans.........................             97.1               90.8
Deferred income taxes..............................................................            589.4              587.1
Asbestos-related insurance expected to be realized after one year..................            263.4              269.4
Other assets.......................................................................            285.1              256.2
                                                                                      --------------------------------------
     TOTAL ASSETS .................................................................   $      3,086.5     $      2,875.2
                                                                                      ======================================

LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY (DEFICIT)
LIABILITIES NOT SUBJECT TO COMPROMISE
CURRENT LIABILITIES
Debt payable within one year.......................................................   $         16.4     $          6.8
Accounts payable...................................................................            127.7              101.8
Income taxes payable...............................................................             25.0               16.6
Other current liabilities..........................................................            197.1              130.2
                                                                                      --------------------------------------
     TOTAL CURRENT LIABILITIES ....................................................            366.2              255.4

Debt payable after one year........................................................              1.3                 --
Deferred income taxes..............................................................             34.1               35.3
Unfunded defined benefit pension liability.........................................            295.9              263.7
Other liabilities..................................................................             73.0               32.3
                                                                                      --------------------------------------
     TOTAL LIABILITIES NOT SUBJECT TO COMPROMISE...................................            770.5              586.7

LIABILITIES SUBJECT TO COMPROMISE - NOTE 2.........................................          2,433.7            2,452.3
                                                                                      --------------------------------------
     TOTAL LIABILITIES.............................................................          3,204.2            3,039.0
                                                                                      --------------------------------------

COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES

SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY (DEFICIT)
Common stock issued, par value $0.01; 300,000,000 shares authorized;
     outstanding: 2004 - 65,901,655 (2003 - 65,558,510)............................              0.8                0.8
Paid-in capital....................................................................            428.9              432.1
Accumulated deficit................................................................            (85.8)            (170.9)
Treasury stock, at cost:  shares: 2004 - 11,078,105 (2003 - 11,421,250)............           (131.8)            (135.9)
Accumulated other comprehensive loss...............................................           (329.8)            (289.9)
                                                                                      --------------------------------------
     TOTAL SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY (DEFICIT)..........................................           (117.7)            (163.8)
                                                                                      --------------------------------------
     TOTAL LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY (DEFICIT)..........................   $      3,086.5     $      2,875.2
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

              The Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements are an
                       integral part of these statements.

                                      I-4

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
W. R. GRACE & CO. AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY (DEFICIT) (UNAUDITED)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                           ACCUMULATED           TOTAL
                                        COMMON STOCK                                          OTHER           SHAREHOLDERS'
                                             AND          ACCUMULATED       TREASURY      COMPREHENSIVE          EQUITY
IN MILLIONS                            PAID-IN CAPITAL      DEFICIT          STOCK             LOSS             (DEFICIT)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BALANCE, JUNE 30, 2004...............  $        431.3   $      (133.8)     $   (133.9)    $     (332.7)      $       (169.1)
Net income...........................            --              48.0            --               --                   48.0
Stock plan activity..................            (1.6)           --               2.1             --                    0.5
Other comprehensive income (loss)....            --              --              --                2.9                  2.9
                                       ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BALANCE, SEPTEMBER 30, 2004..........  $        429.7   $       (85.8)     $   (131.8)    $     (329.8)      $       (117.7)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BALANCE, DECEMBER 31, 2003...........  $        432.9   $      (170.9)     $   (135.9)    $     (289.9)      $       (163.8)
Net income...........................            --              85.1            --               --                   85.1
Stock plan activity..................            (3.2)           --               4.1             --                    0.9
Other comprehensive income (loss)....            --              --              --              (39.9)               (39.9)
                                       ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BALANCE, SEPTEMBER 30, 2004..........  $        429.7   $       (85.8)     $   (131.8)    $     (329.8)      $       (117.7)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
W. R. GRACE & CO. AND SUBSIDIARIES                                         THREE MONTHS ENDED            NINE MONTHS ENDED
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF COMPREHENSIVE INCOME (LOSS) (UNAUDITED)            SEPTEMBER 30,                SEPTEMBER 30,
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In millions                                                              2004           2003          2004           2003
                                                                      ---------------------------------------------------------

NET INCOME (LOSS).................................................    $    48.0     $    (9.9)     $    85.1     $    (5.7)
                                                                      ---------------------------------------------------------

OTHER COMPREHENSIVE INCOME (LOSS):
Foreign currency translation adjustments..........................          2.9           4.2           (4.6)         53.6
Minimum pension liability adjustments, net of income taxes........           --            --          (35.3)           --
                                                                      ---------------------------------------------------------
Total other comprehensive income (loss)...........................          2.9           4.2          (39.9)         53.6
                                                                      ---------------------------------------------------------
COMPREHENSIVE INCOME (LOSS).......................................    $    50.9     $    (5.7)     $    45.2     $    47.9
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

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
with this most recent extension, the Debtors were required to file a proposed
plan of reorganization by October 14, 2004. On October 25, 2004, the Bankruptcy
Court approved the Debtors' motion to delay filing its proposed plan of
reorganization until November 15, 2004. (See "Plan of Reorganization" for more
information.)

Three creditors' committees, two representing asbestos claimants and the third
representing other unsecured creditors, and a committee representing
shareholders have been appointed in the Chapter 11 Cases. These committees, and
a legal representative of future

                                      I-6

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
senior U.S. District Court Judge who sat in Newark, New Jersey. Judge Wolin was
presiding over asbestos bodily injury matters and the fraudulent conveyance
litigation described below. He assigned the Debtors' other bankruptcy matters to
Judge Judith Fitzgerald, a U.S. bankruptcy judge from the Western District of
Pennsylvania, sitting in Wilmington, Delaware. On May 17, 2004, a federal
appeals court recused Judge Wolin and on May 27, 2004, Judge Ronald L.
Buckwalter, a U.S. District Court Judge from the Eastern District of
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

Approximately 14,900 proofs of claim were filed by the bar date. Of these
claims, approximately 9,400 were non-asbestos related, approximately 4,300 were
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
expects to propose a plan of reorganization that would retain such benefits. The
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
(duplicates, no supporting documentation, late filed claims, etc.). Of such
claims, 1,025 have been expunged, 31 have been withdrawn, and the remainder are
being addressed through dispute resolution procedures approved by the Bankruptcy
Court. The Debtors expect to file objections to a substantial number of
additional claims and revise their Filing Date liabilities each quarter to
reflect their analysis and evaluation of the claims.

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
value of the claim. However, because of the uncertainties of the Chapter 11 and
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
regarding ZAI. On October 18, 2004, the Bankruptcy Court heard oral arguments

                                      I-7

from the Debtors and the counsel representing the ZAI claimants. The Court
indicated that it may require additional proceedings before a decision is
issued.

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
2002) and nine million shares of Sealed Air common stock (valued at $417.2
million as of September 30, 2004), as directed by the Bankruptcy Court upon
confirmation of the Debtors' plan of reorganization. The Sealed Air settlement
has not been agreed to by the Debtors and remains subject to the approval of the
Bankruptcy Court and the fulfillment of specified conditions.

Plan of Reorganization - As noted under "Status of Chapter 11 Proceedings," the
Debtors' were required to submit a proposed plan of reorganization (the "Plan")
by October 14, 2004. In a meeting held on October 14, 2004 among Grace and
representatives of the members of the asbestos claimants' committees and the
representative for future asbestos claimants (the "FCR"), sufficient progress
was made for the parties to conclude that additional negotiations could lead to
a consensual Chapter 11 Plan. On October 15, 2004, Grace filed a motion with the
Bankruptcy Court to delay filing the Plan until November 15, 2004. On October
25, 2004, the Bankruptcy Court granted Grace's motion and extended the deadline
for filing a Plan until November 15, 2004. During this period, Grace expects to
continue negotiations with the FCR, committees representing asbestos claimants,
the general unsecured creditors committee, and the committee of equity holders
toward a consensual Plan. If negotiations do not lead to the filing of a
consensual Plan, Grace is prepared to file its own Plan which would provide for
the Bankruptcy Court to determine Grace's asbestos-related liability using
litigation and estimation protocols.

Whether Grace proposes its own Plan or a consensual Plan with the support of
creditors and equity holders, Grace is likely to make use of Section 524(g) of
the Bankruptcy Code to resolve its asbestos-related liabilities. Section 524(g)
requires, among other things, that a trust be established through which all
current and future claims would be channeled for resolution, and that at least a
majority of the voting securities of the reorganized Grace be owned by, or
contingently available to, the trust to resolve such claims.

Grace is reevaluating its asbestos-related liability in light of the requirement
to propose a Plan as discussed above. The measure of such liability, and the
ultimate net cost to Grace, depends on the resolution of a number of issues
that, in the absence of a consensual Plan, must be resolved through Bankruptcy
Court proceedings such as: the definition of an allowed claim; the actual or
estimated claims that meet such definition; the value of allowed claims for a
variety of medical conditions; the value, if any, of ZAI property damage claims;
the number of properties qualifying for asbestos abatement and the cost of
remediation; the method of funding an asbestos trust; the availability of funds
under litigation settlement agreements with Sealed Air and Fresenius; and, the
availability of insurance and timing of insurance recovery. Grace will address
these matters as part of a Plan. Because of these uncertainties, Grace's
estimate of the value of its asbestos-related liability may change materially as
the bankruptcy process progresses.

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

                                      I-8

liabilities. Furthermore, the proposed legislation is unlikely to apply to the
Debtors' asbestos-related property damage or ZAI claims, which the Debtors still
would expect to resolve through the Chapter 11 process.

The Chapter 11 proceedings, including the proposed Plan due in November or any
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
eliminated.

The results of operations for the nine-month interim period ended September 30,
2004 are not necessarily indicative of the results of operations that may be
realized for the year ending December 31, 2004.

RECLASSIFICATIONS: Certain amounts in prior years' Consolidated Financial
Statements have been reclassified to conform to the 2004 presentation.

FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS: Grace periodically enters into foreign exchange forward
contracts to manage exposure to fluctuations in foreign currency exchange rates.
Such contracts are viewed as risk management tools by Grace and are not used for
trading or

                                      I-9

speculative purposes. All such instruments are recorded on the balance sheet at
fair value with any gain or loss recognized in earnings. The ineffective portion
of all hedges, if any, is recognized currently in earnings. (See Note 5.)

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
nine-month periods ended September 30, 2004 and 2003 would have been reduced to
the pro forma amounts indicated below:

----------------------------------------------------------------------
PRO FORMA EARNINGS
  UNDER SFAS NO. 123             THREE MONTHS          NINE MONTHS
(In millions, except                ENDED                 ENDED
per share amounts)              SEPTEMBER 30,         SEPTEMBER 30,
----------------------------------------------------------------------
                                2004     2003        2004      2003
                              ----------------------------------------
Net income (loss), as
   reported...........        $  48.0   $  (9.9)   $   85.1  $   (5.7)
Deduct:
Total stock-based
  employee
  compensation, net
  of tax effects......             --      (0.4)       (0.1)     (1.1)
                              ----------------------------------------
Pro forma net
  income (loss) (1)...        $  48.0   $ (10.3)   $   85.0  $   (6.8)
                              ========================================
Basic earnings (loss)
  per share:
As reported...........        $   0.73  $ (0.15)   $   1.30  $  (0.09)
Pro forma net
  income (loss) (1) ..        $   0.73  $ (0.16)   $   1.29  $  (0.10)
Diluted earnings (loss)
  per share:
As reported...........        $   0.72  $ (0.15)   $   1.29  $  (0.09)
Pro forma net
  income (loss) (1) ..        $   0.72  $ (0.16)   $   1.29  $  (0.10)
----------------------------------------------------------------------

(1)  Due to Grace's Chapter 11 Filing, these pro forma amounts may not be
     indicative of future income and earnings per share.

To determine compensation cost under SFAS No. 123, the fair value of each option
is estimated on the date of grant using the Black-Scholes option pricing model.
There were no option grants in the nine months ended September 30, 2004 and the
year ended December 31, 2003.

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
identify the liabilities that are "subject to compromise." In Grace's case,
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

Components of liabilities subject to compromise are as follows:

-------------------------------------------------------------
(In millions)                  SEPTEMBER 30,    DECEMBER 31,
(Unaudited)                        2004            2003
-------------------------------------------------------------
Debt, pre-petition plus
  accrued interest..........  $      572.8    $      565.2
Asbestos-related liability           986.6           992.3
Income taxes................         201.9           217.9
Environmental remediation            346.3           332.4
Postretirement benefits
  other than pension........         122.9           134.3
Unfunded special pension
  arrangements..............          70.9            69.5
Retained obligations of
  divested businesses.......          56.3            57.0
Accounts payable ...........          31.4            31.9
Other accrued liabilities             44.6            51.8
                              -------------------------------
TOTAL LIABILITIES SUBJECT
  TO COMPROMISE ............  $    2,433.7    $    2,452.3
-------------------------------------------------------------

Set forth below is a reconciliation of the changes in pre-Filing Date liability
balances for the period from the Filing Date through September 30, 2004.

-------------------------------------------------------------
(In millions)                                  Cumulative
(Unaudited)                                   Since Filing
-------------------------------------------------------------
Balance, Filing Date......................    $    2,366.0
Cash disbursements and/or reclassifications
  under Bankruptcy Court orders:
      Freight and distribution order......            (5.7)
      Trade accounts payable order........            (9.1)
      Other court orders including employee
         wages and benefits, sales and use
         tax, and customer programs.......          (221.6)
Expense/(income) items:
   Interest on pre-petition debt..........            55.4
   Employee-related accruals..............            13.1
   Change in estimate of asbestos-related
     property damage contingencies........            30.0
   Change in estimate of environmental
     contingencies........................           239.0
   Change in estimate of income tax
     contingencies.......................             (7.7)
  Balance sheet reclassifications.........           (25.7)
                                              ---------------
Balance, end of period....................    $    2,433.7
-------------------------------------------------------------

Additional liabilities subject to compromise may arise due to the rejection of
executory contracts or unexpired leases, or as a result of the allowance of
contingent or disputed claims.

                                      I-11

The Debtors' Chapter 11 expenses for the three-month and nine-month periods
ended September 30, 2004 and 2003 consist of:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                    THREE MONTHS ENDED        NINE MONTHS ENDED
  (In millions)                        SEPTEMBER 30,            SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                     2004         2003        2004         2003
                                  ----------------------------------------------
Legal and financial advisory
   fees.....................      $    4.9     $   2.3     $   13.0     $  12.0
Interest income ............          (0.6)       (0.1)        (1.2)       (0.3)
                                  ----------------------------------------------
Chapter 11 expenses,
   net......................      $    4.3     $    2.2    $   11.8     $  11.7
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pursuant to SOP 90-7, interest income earned on the Debtors' cash balances must
be offset against Chapter 11 expenses.

Condensed financial information of the Debtors is presented below:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
W. R. GRACE & CO. - CHAPTER 11 FILING ENTITIES
   DEBTOR-IN-POSSESSION STATEMENTS OF
   OPERATIONS                                         NINE MONTHS ENDED
(In millions) (Unaudited)                               SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                    2004              2003
                                              ----------------------------------
Net sales, including intercompany..........   $       865.3     $       761.5
                                              ----------------------------------
Cost of goods sold, including intercompany,
   exclusive of depreciation and amortization
   shown separately below..................           583.5             525.6
Selling, general and administrative expenses,
   exclusive of net pension expense shown
   separately below........................           191.2             165.7
Research and development
    expenses...............................            26.2              29.6
Depreciation and amortization..............            42.4              46.2
Net pension expense........................            36.5              36.1
Interest expense and related financing costs           11.9              12.2
Other (income) expense.....................           (79.7)            (44.3)
Provision for environmental remediation....            20.0              52.5
                                              ----------------------------------
                                                      832.0             823.6
                                              ----------------------------------
Income (loss) before Chapter 11 expenses,
   income taxes, and equity in net income of
   non-filing entities.....................            33.3             (62.1)
Chapter 11 expenses, net...................           (11.8)            (11.7)
Benefit from (provision for)
   income taxes............................           (21.7)              6.1
                                              ----------------------------------
Income (loss) before equity in net income of           (0.2)            (67.7)
   non-filing entities.....................
Equity in net income of non-filing entities            85.3              62.0
                                              ----------------------------------
NET INCOME (LOSS) .........................   $        85.1     $        (5.7)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
W. R. GRACE & CO. - CHAPTER 11 FILING ENTITIES
    DEBTOR-IN-POSSESSION CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF
    CASH FLOWS                                            NINE MONTHS ENDED
(In millions) (Unaudited)                                   SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                       2004             2003
                                                  ------------------------------
OPERATING ACTIVITIES
Income (loss) before Chapter 11 expenses, income
   taxes, and equity in net income of non-filing
   entities...................................... $     33.3       $    (62.1)
Reconciliation to net cash provided by (used for)
   operating activities:
    Non-cash items, net..........................       19.4            104.1
    Contributions to defined benefit pension
       plans.....................................      (23.1)           (32.8)
    Changes in other assets and liabilities,
       excluding the effect of businesses
       acquired/divested.........................      (14.6)            78.1
                                                  ------------------------------
NET CASH PROVIDED BY (USED FOR) OPERATING
   ACTIVITIES....................................       15.0             87.3

NET CASH PROVIDED BY (USED FOR) INVESTING
   ACTIVITIES....................................       41.1(1)         (32.9)

NET CASH PROVIDED BY (USED FOR) FINANCING
   ACTIVITIES....................................       (4.0)            (5.9)
                                                  ------------------------------

NET INCREASE (DECREASE) IN CASH AND CASH
   EQUIVALENTS...................................       52.1             48.5
Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period...      120.5             56.8
                                                  ------------------------------
Cash and cash equivalents, end of period......... $    172.6       $    105.3
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(1)  Includes $97.4 million of principal payments on a loan from the Debtors to
     a Grace subsidiary in Germany (see Note 5) and a $49.4 million investment
     to fund the acquisition of Alltech International Holdings, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
W. R. GRACE & CO. -
    CHAPTER 11 FILING ENTITIES
    DEBTOR-IN-POSSESSION BALANCE SHEETS       SEPTEMBER 30,      DECEMBER 31,
(In millions) (Unaudited)                         2004                2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ASSETS
CURRENT ASSETS
Cash and cash equivalents .................   $      172.6      $       120.5
Trade accounts receivable, net ............          117.0               99.6
Receivables from non-filing entities, net..           66.8               46.2
Inventories................................           76.7               81.2
Other current assets.......................           93.2               53.9
                                              ----------------------------------
TOTAL CURRENT ASSETS.......................          526.3              401.4

Properties and equipment, net..............          359.9              383.9
Cash value of life insurance
    policies, net of policy loans..........           97.1               90.8
Deferred income taxes .....................          589.0              587.9
Asbestos-related insurance expected to be
    realized after one year................          263.4              269.4
Loans receivable from non-filing entities,
    net....................................          390.6              448.0
Investment in non-filing entities..........          417.0              303.6
Other assets...............................           93.5               92.7
                                              ----------------------------------
TOTAL ASSETS...............................   $    2,736.8      $     2,577.7
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                      I-12

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                             SEPTEMBER 30,       DECEMBER 31,
(In millions) (Unaudited)                        2004                2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
(DEFICIT)
LIABILITIES NOT SUBJECT TO COMPROMISE
Current liabilities..................     $       158.6        $        98.0
Other liabilities....................             262.2                191.2
                                          --------------------------------------
 TOTAL LIABILITIES NOT SUBJECT TO
  COMPROMISE.........................             420.8                289.2

LIABILITIES SUBJECT TO
  COMPROMISE.........................           2,433.7              2,452.3
                                          --------------------------------------
TOTAL LIABILITIES....................           2,854.5              2,741.5

SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY (DEFICIT) ......            (117.7)              (163.8)
                                          --------------------------------------
TOTAL LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS'
  EQUITY (DEFICIT) ..................     $     2,736.8        $     2,577.7
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

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

Approximately 4,300 additional property damage claims were filed prior to the
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

                                      I-13

Eight of the ZAI cases were filed as class action lawsuits in 2000 and 2001. In
addition, two class action lawsuits were filed in October 2004 with respect to
homes in Canada. These cases seek damages and equitable relief, including the
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
factual issues regarding the ZAI claims. On October 18, 2004, the Bankruptcy
Court heard oral arguments from the Debtors and the counsel representing the ZAI
claimants. The Court indicated that it may require additional proceedings before
a decision is issued.

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
Consolidated Financial Statements.

ASBESTOS-RELATED LIABILITY

The total asbestos-related liability balances as of September 30, 2004 and
December 31, 2003 were $986.6 million and $992.3 million, respectively. The
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
efforts to prepare a plan of reorganization, and, absent a negotiated
settlement, Grace will likely propose a litigation and estimation protocol for
measuring the allowed claims under Chapter 11. Accordingly, the actual amount of
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
with and has been paid by all but one of its primary insurance carriers with
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

In 2004, Grace completed three business combinations for a total cash cost of
$53.0 million as follows:

o    In July 2004, Grace, through its German subsidiary, acquired GROM ANALYTIK
     + HPLC GmbH, a leader in column packing technology and services designed
     for high performance small molecule applications.

o    In August 2004, Grace, through its subsidiary The Separations Group,
     acquired Alltech International Holdings, Inc., a global manufacturer and
     supplier of chromatography products.

o    In August 2004, Grace, through its Belgium subsidiary, acquired Pieri
     Benelux NV. Pieri Benelux had been the exclusive distributor of Grace's
     line of Pieri products for architectural concrete in Benelux since the
     early 1980s.

Goodwill recognized in those transactions amounted to $5.1 million, of which
$3.6 million was assigned to Davison Chemicals and $1.5 million was assigned to
Performance Chemicals.

In 2003, Grace completed two business combinations for a total cash cost of $3.6
million as follows:

o    In April 2003, Grace, through its subsidiary The Separations Group,
     acquired the business and assets of MODcol Corporation, a manufacturer of
     preparative chromatography columns and provider of custom column packaging
     services.

o    In July 2003, Grace, through its subsidiary The Separations Group, acquired
     the chromatography business of Argonaut Technologies, Inc., which had been
     marketed under the Jones Chromatography name.

Goodwill recognized in those transactions amounted to $0.7 million, which was
assigned to Davison Chemicals.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5.   OTHER (INCOME) EXPENSE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Components of other (income) expense are as follows:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OTHER (INCOME)                       THREE MONTHS              NINE MONTHS
   EXPENSE                               ENDED                    ENDED
(In millions)                        SEPTEMBER 30,            SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                   2004         2003        2004         2003
                                ------------------------------------------------
Investment loss (income)....    $    0.4     $   0.2     $   (1.8)    $  (4.1)
Interest income ............        (0.7)       (0.9)        (3.0)       (3.4)
Net loss (income) on sale of
   investments and disposals
   of assets................        (0.2)        0.1          0.1         1.0
Tolling revenue.............        (0.2)       (0.2)        (0.7)       (0.9)
Translation effects -
   intercompany loan ........       (2.3)         --         (1.2)         --
Value of currency hedges ....        2.3          --         11.6          --
Foreign currency transaction
   effects ..................        2.8        (0.4)         2.2         2.9
Net gain on litigation
   settlement ...............      (50.0)         --        (50.0)         --
Other miscellaneous loss
   (income) .................       (2.6)       (1.9)        (6.3)       (6.5)
                                ------------------------------------------------
Total other (income) expense.   $  (50.5)    $  (3.1)    $  (49.1)    $ (11.0)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                      I-15

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
to this loan for the three months and nine months ended September 30, 2004 was
$2.3 million and $1.2 million favorable, respectively.

In May 2004, Grace entered into a series of foreign currency hedge agreements to
mitigate future currency fluctuations on the remaining loan balance. These hedge
agreements have varying rates on notional amounts that coincide with loan
repayments due periodically through June 2005. In 2004, Euro 81 million of loan
principal was repaid. For the nine months ended September 30, 2004, an $11.6
million hedge loss was recognized, offset by a $1.2 million foreign currency
gain.

In September 2004, Grace recorded a net gain of $50.0 million as a result of the
settlement of litigation with Honeywell International, Inc. related to
environmental contamination of a non-operating parcel of land.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
6.   OTHER BALANCE SHEET ACCOUNTS
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                               SEPTEMBER 30,     DECEMBER 31,
(In millions)                                      2004              2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
INVENTORIES
Raw materials...............................   $      57.2       $      53.5
In process..................................          36.4              35.8
Finished products...........................         152.4             134.0
General merchandise.........................          30.1              29.4
Less:  Adjustment of certain inventories to
   a last-in/first-out (LIFO) basis.........         (38.3)            (38.1)
                                               ---------------------------------
                                               $     237.8       $     214.6
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OTHER ASSETS
Deferred pension costs......................   $     113.1       $     115.9
Deferred charges ...........................          47.5              45.7
Long-term receivables, less  allowances
   of $0.7 (2003 - $0.7)....................           9.0               9.2
Patents, licenses and other intangible
   assets, net..............................          94.1              65.1
Pension-unamortized prior service
   cost.....................................          20.7              19.8
Investments in unconsolidated
   affiliates and other.....................           0.7               0.5
                                               ---------------------------------
                                               $     285.1       $     256.2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OTHER CURRENT LIABILITIES
Accrued compensation........................   $      80.5       $      48.5
Deferred tax liability......................           1.5               1.5
Customer volume rebates.....................          24.5              28.1
Accrued commissions.........................          10.0               9.8
Accrued reorganization fees.................          10.7               6.9
Other accrued liabilities ..................          69.9              35.4
                                               ---------------------------------
                                               $     197.1       $     130.2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
7.   LIFE INSURANCE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grace is the beneficiary of life insurance policies on certain current and
former employees with a net cash surrender value of $97.1 million and $90.8
million at September 30, 2004 and December 31, 2003, respectively. The policies
were acquired to fund various employee benefit programs and other long-term
liabilities and are structured to provide cash flow (primarily tax-free) over an
extended number of years.

                                      I-16

The following table summarizes activity in these policies for the nine months
ended September 30, 2004 and 2003, and components of the net cash value at
September 30, 2004 and December 31, 2003:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
LIFE INSURANCE -
   ACTIVITY SUMMARY                                 NINE MONTHS ENDED
(In millions)                                         SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                              2004                 2003
                                         ---------------------------------------
Earnings on policy assets...........     $        24.0        $         28.9
Interest on policy loans............             (22.2)                (24.8)
Premiums............................               2.4                   2.4
Policy loan repayments..............               3.2                   2.6
Net investing activity..............              (1.1)                 (1.0)
                                         ---------------------------------------
Change in net cash value............     $         6.3        $          8.1
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tax-free proceeds received..........     $        12.5        $         10.0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
COMPONENTS OF                              SEPTEMBER 30,        December 31,
   NET CASH VALUE                              2004                2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gross cash value....................     $       478.8        $        478.5
Principal - policy loans............            (368.7)               (365.3)
Accrued interest - policy
   loans............................             (13.0)                (22.4)
                                         ---------------------------------------
Net cash value......................     $        97.1        $         90.8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Insurance benefits in force.........     $     2,191.3        $      2,213.1
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grace's financial statements display income statement activity and balance sheet
amounts on a net basis, reflecting the contractual interdependency of policy
assets and liabilities.

Grace has reached an agreement with the Internal Revenue Service (the "IRS") to
settle tax contingencies with respect to certain of these life insurance
policies and, as part of that agreement, to terminate such policies in early
2005. If termination had occurred as of September 30, 2004, Grace would have
received approximately $20 million in net cash value (gross cash value would
have been reduced by approximately $378 million and policy loans of
approximately $358 million would have been satisfied). In addition, Grace's
insurance benefits in force would have been reduced by approximately $2,002
million to approximately $190 million. (See Note 12 for additional information
on the agreement.)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
8.   DEBT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
COMPONENTS OF DEBT                         SEPTEMBER 30,       DECEMBER 31,
(In millions)                                  2004                2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEBT PAYABLE WITHIN ONE YEAR
DIP facility.........................   $         --          $         --
Other short-term borrowings..........             16.4                  6.8
                                      ------------------------------------------
                                        $         16.4        $         6.8
                                      ==========================================
DEBT PAYABLE AFTER ONE YEAR
DIP facility ........................   $         --          $         --
Other long-term borrowings..........               1.3                  --
                                      ------------------------------------------
                                        $          1.3        $         --
                                      ==========================================
DEBT SUBJECT TO COMPROMISE
Bank borrowings......................   $        500.0        $       500.0
Other borrowings.....................             15.1                 16.2
Accrued interest.....................             57.7                 49.0
                                      ------------------------------------------
                                        $        572.8        $       565.2
                                      ==========================================
Annualized weighted average interest
   rates on total debt...............              2.4%                 2.1%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In April 2001, the Debtors entered into the DIP facility for a two-year term in
the aggregate amount of $250 million. The DIP facility is secured by a priority
lien on substantially all assets of the Debtors, and bears interest based on
LIBOR. The Debtors have extended the term of the DIP facility through April 1,
2006. Grace had no outstanding borrowings under the DIP facility as of September
30, 2004; however, $27.9 million of standby letters of credit were issued and
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
common stock unissued on September 30, 2004, approximately 8,175,798 shares were
reserved for issuance pursuant to stock option and other stock incentive plans.
In the nine months ended September 30, 2004 and the year ended December 31,
2003, Grace did not grant any stock options.

For additional information, see Notes 15 and 17 to the Consolidated Financial
Statements in Grace's 2003 Form 10-K/A.

                                      I-17

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
10.  EARNINGS PER SHARE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following table shows a reconciliation of the numerators and denominators
used in calculating basic and diluted earnings per share.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EARNINGS (LOSS)
  PER SHARE
(In millions, except per share      THREE MONTHS ENDED      NINE MONTHS ENDED
amounts)                              SEPTEMBER 30,           SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                     2004        2003        2004        2003
                                 -----------------------------------------------
NUMERATORS
  Net income (loss).............  $   48.0    $  (9.9)    $   85.1    $  (5.7)
                                 ===============================================
DENOMINATORS
  Weighted average
   common shares -
   basic calculation ...........      65.8       65.6         65.7       65.5

  Dilutive effect
   of employee
   stock options ...............       0.5       --            0.3       --
                                 -----------------------------------------------
  Weighted average
   common shares
   diluted calculation..........      66.3       65.6         66.0       65.5
                                 ===============================================
BASIC EARNINGS (LOSS)
    PER  SHARE..................  $   0.73    $ (0.15)    $   1.30   $  (0.09)
                                 ===============================================
DILUTED EARNINGS (LOSS)
   PER SHARE....................  $   0.72    $ (0.15)    $   1.29   $  (0.09)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As a result of loss incurred during the three months and nine months ended
September 30, 2003, employee compensation shares of approximately 200,000 and
100,000, respectively, were excluded from the diluted loss per share calculation
because their effect would have been antidilutive.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
11.  COMPREHENSIVE INCOME (LOSS)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The table below presents the pre-tax, tax and after tax amounts of Grace's other
comprehensive income (loss) for the three months and nine months ended September
30, 2004 and 2003:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
THREE MONTHS ENDED                                                   AFTER-
  SEPTEMBER 30, 2004                  PRE-TAX          TAX             TAX
  (In millions)                       AMOUNT         BENEFIT         AMOUNT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Foreign currency translation
  adjustments...................   $      2.9     $      --       $      2.9
                                  ----------------------------------------------
Other comprehensive income (loss)  $      2.9     $      --       $      2.9
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NINE MONTHS ENDED                                                    AFTER-
  SEPTEMBER 30, 2004                  PRE-TAX          TAX             TAX
  (In millions)                       AMOUNT         BENEFIT         AMOUNT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Minimum pension
  liability.....................   $    (54.3)    $     19.0      $    (35.3)
Foreign currency translation
  adjustments...................         (4.6)          --              (4.6)
                                  ----------------------------------------------
Other comprehensive income (loss)  $    (58.9)    $     19.0      $    (39.9)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
THREE MONTHS ENDED                                                   AFTER-
  SEPTEMBER 30, 2003                  PRE-TAX          TAX             TAX
  (In millions)                       AMOUNT         BENEFIT         AMOUNT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Foreign currency translation       $      4.2     $     --        $      4.2
  adjustments...................
                                  ----------------------------------------------
Other comprehensive income (loss)  $      4.2     $     --        $      4.2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NINE MONTHS ENDED                                                    AFTER-
  SEPTEMBER 30, 2003                  PRE-TAX          TAX             TAX
  (In millions)                       AMOUNT         BENEFIT         AMOUNT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Foreign currency translation
  adjustments...................   $     53.6     $     --        $     53.6
                                  ----------------------------------------------
Other comprehensive income (loss)  $     53.6     $     --        $     53.6
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The table below presents the components of Grace's accumulated other
comprehensive loss at September 30, 2004 and December 31, 2003:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
COMPONENTS OF ACCUMULATED OTHER
   COMPREHENSIVE LOSS                     SEPTEMBER 30,         DECEMBER 31,
(In millions)                                 2004                 2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Minimum pension liability .........     $      (300.7)        $      (265.4)
Foreign currency translation ......             (29.1)                (24.5)
                                      ------------------------------------------
Accumulated other comprehensive
   loss............................     $      (329.8)        $      (289.9)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grace is a global enterprise that operates in over 40 countries with local
currency generally deemed to be the functional currency for accounting purposes.
The foreign currency translation amount represents the adjustment necessary to
translate the balance sheets valued in local currencies to the U.S. dollar as of
the end of each period presented. The change in foreign currency translation at
September 30, 2004 compared

                                      I-18

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
subject to compromise" as of September 30, 2004. At September 30, 2004, Grace's
estimated liability for environmental investigative and remediation costs
totaled $346.3 million, compared with $332.4 million at December 31, 2003. This
liability covers both vermiculite and non-vermiculite related matters. The
amount is based on funding and/or remediation agreements in place and Grace's
best estimate of the cost to remediate sites not subject to a formal remediation
plan.

During the three-month period ended September 30, 2004, Grace recorded a $20.0
million increase in its estimated liability for vermiculite-related
environmental costs to reflect Grace's current understanding of the timeframe
and related costs necessary to remediate properties in and around Libby,
Montana.

Grace's net expenditures charged against previously established reserves for the
nine months ended September 30, 2004 and 2003 were $6.1 million and $9.1
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

                                      I-19

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
estimates its total liability for vermiculite-related matters to be $205.3
million at September 30, 2004. Grace's estimate of expected costs is based on
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

Non-Vermiculite Related Matters

At September 30, 2004, Grace's estimated liability for remediation of sites not
related to its former vermiculite mining and processing activities, which
includes approximately 20 owned and 50 non-owned sites, was $141.0 million. This
liability relates to Grace's current and former operations, including its share
of liability for off-site disposal at facilities where it has been identified as
a potentially responsible party. This liability also reflects Grace's evaluation
of environmental-related claims submitted as part of the Chapter 11 process for
which sufficient information was available to evaluate the extent of any
possible liability. As Grace receives new information and continues its claims
evaluation process, its estimated liability may change materially. Grace's
liability for these matters is included in "liabilities subject to compromise."

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
September 30, 2004. Any cash payment as a result of such adjustment would be
subject to Grace's Chapter 11 proceedings.

In 1988 and 1990, Grace acquired COLI policies on the lives of certain of its
employees as part of a strategy to fund the cost of postretirement employee
health care benefits and other long-term liabilities. COLI premiums have been
funded in part by loans issued against the cash surrender value of the COLI
policies. The IRS challenged deductions of interest on loans secured by COLI
policies for years prior to 1999. In 2000, Grace paid $21.2 million of tax and
interest related to this issue for tax years 1990 through 1992. Subsequent to
1992, Grace deducted $163.2 million in interest attributable to COLI policy
loans.

Grace has agreed with the IRS on a settlement amount and certain other terms
pertaining to this matter (the "COLI Settlement"), and on October 13, 2004 the
Bankruptcy Court authorized Grace to enter into a settlement agreement. Grace
anticipates executing a closing agreement (the "Closing Agreement") with the

                                      I-20

IRS in the first quarter of 2005. Pursuant to the Closing Agreement, the
government will allow 20% of the aggregate amount of the COLI interest
deductions and Grace will owe federal income tax and interest with respect to
the remaining 80% of the COLI interest deductions disallowed. In addition, Grace
will terminate the COLI policies and include 20% of the gain realized in taxable
income, with the government exempting 80% of such gain from tax. As a result of
the settlement, Grace adjusted its 2004 expected tax rate to reflect (1) the
release of $18.2 million of tax reserves and (2) the addition of $20.8 million
in tax expense on the additional income that will be generated by the
termination of COLI policies. In addition, assuming that the COLI policies were
terminated on September 30, 2004, Grace would have recorded taxable income of
$59 million and received $20 million in cash proceeds. It is anticipated that
Grace will apply its net operating loss carryforwards to offset the taxable
income generated from terminating the COLI policies, although alternative
minimum taxes may apply.

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

                                      I-21

FINANCIAL ASSURANCES

At September 30, 2004, Grace had gross financial assurances issued and
outstanding of $252.5 million, comprised of $137.1 million of gross surety bonds
issued by various insurance companies and $115.4 million of standby letters of
credit and other financial assurances issued by various banks. Of the standby
letters of credit, $18.8 million act as collateral for surety bonds, thereby
reducing Grace's overall obligations under its financial assurances to a net
amount of $233.7 million. These financial assurances were established for a
variety of purposes, including insurance and environmental matters, asbestos
settlements and appeals, trade-related commitments and other matters. Of the net
amount of $233.7 million of financial assurances, approximately $8.9 million
were issued by non-Debtor entities and $224.8 million were issued by the
Debtors. Of the amounts issued by the Debtors, approximately $191.1 million were
issued before the Filing Date, with the remaining $33.7 million being subsequent
to the Filing, of which $27.9 million was issued under the DIP facility.

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
plans in the absence of such limits. The nonqualified plans are unfunded and
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
the employees' years of service.

In December 2003, President Bush signed the Medicare Prescription Drug,
Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003 (the "Act") into law. The Act
introduces a prescription drug benefit under Medicare ("Medicare Part D") as
well as a federal subsidy to companies that provide a benefit that is at least
actuarially equivalent (as defined in the Act) to Medicare Part D. At this time,
the Company does not believe that the prescription drug benefit under its
postretirement health care plan is actuarially equivalent to the Medicare Part D
benefit. Therefore, the Company does not anticipate receiving a federal subsidy.

                                      I-22

The components of net periodic benefit cost for the three months and nine months
ended September 30, 2004 and 2003 are as follows:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
COMPONENTS OF NET
   PERIODIC BENEFIT
   COST                                       THREE MONTHS ENDED
(In millions)                                    SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                         2004                      2003
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                 PENSION        OPEB        Pension       OPEB
                             ---------------------------------------------------
Service cost..............     $   3.6      $   0.1       $   2.5      $   0.2
Interest cost.............        14.9          1.5          14.3          2.1
Expected return on
 plan assets..............       (12.9)          --         (11.4)          --
Amortization of prior
  service cost............         1.3         (3.2)          1.3         (3.1)
Amortization of unrecognized
  actuarial loss..........         4.4          0.5           4.5          1.0
                             ---------------------------------------------------
NET U.S. PERIODIC BENEFIT
  COST ...................        11.3         (1.1)         11.2          0.2
Foreign and other ........         3.0           --           2.0           --
                             ---------------------------------------------------
NET EXPENSE ..............     $  14.3      $  (1.1)      $  13.2      $   0.2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
COMPONENTS OF NET
   PERIODIC BENEFIT
   COST                                        NINE MONTHS ENDED
(In millions)                                    SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                        2004                      2003
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                                 PENSION       OPEB       Pension        OPEB
                             ---------------------------------------------------
Service cost..............     $  10.6      $   0.4     $   7.5       $   0.6
Interest cost.............        44.6          5.0        42.4           6.5
Expected return on plan
  assets..................       (38.0)          --       (33.4)           --
Amortization of prior
  service cost............         4.0         (9.5)        4.1          (9.5)
Amortization of unrecognized
  actuarial loss..........        13.2          1.9        13.9           3.0
                             ---------------------------------------------------
NET U.S. PERIODIC BENEFIT
  COST ...................        34.4         (2.2)       34.5           0.6
Foreign and other ........         7.1           --         5.4            --
                             ---------------------------------------------------
NET EXPENSE ..............     $  41.5      $  (2.2)    $  39.9       $   0.6
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

At the December 31, 2003 measurement date for Grace's defined benefit pension
plans (the "Plans"), the accumulated benefit obligation ("ABO") was
approximately $1,222 million as measured under U.S. generally accepted
accounting principles. At September 30, 2004, Grace's recorded pension liability
for underfunded plans was $366.8 million ($295.9 million included in liabilities
not subject to compromise and $70.9 million related to supplemental pension
benefits for officers and certain key employees, included in "liabilities
subject to compromise"). The recorded ABO liability reflects (1) the shortfall
between dedicated assets and the ABO of underfunded plans ($202.9 million); and
(2) the ABO of pay-as-you-go plans ($163.9 million).

Grace plans to pay benefits as they become due under virtually all pay-as-you-go
plans and to maintain compliance with federal funding laws for its U.S.
qualified plans. In that regard, Grace contributed approximately $20 million to
its U.S. qualified defined benefit pension plans in the third quarter 2004 as
approved by the Bankruptcy Court. Grace expects to make payments of
approximately $4.4 million to participants in its domestic nonqualified pension
plans, approximately $14 million under non-U.S. plans, and approximately $12
million to its OPEB program in 2004.

Payments to fund the OPEB program are discretionary and not subject to any
minimum regulatory funding requirements. For the nine months ended September 30,
2004 and 2003, Grace made benefit payments of $9.2 million and $8.8 million,
respectively, under these programs.

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
costs or other.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                 THREE MONTHS                NINE MONTHS
BUSINESS SEGMENT DATA                ENDED                      ENDED
(In millions)                   SEPTEMBER 30,               SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                              2004          2003          2004         2003
                         -------------------------------------------------------
NET SALES
Davison Chemicals......   $    303.8     $   267.0    $    872.5    $     767.7
Performance Chemicals..        276.1         254.0         798.3          701.5
                         -------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL..................   $    579.9     $   521.0    $  1,670.8    $   1,469.2
                         =======================================================
PRE-TAX OPERATING INCOME
Davison Chemicals......   $     42.6     $    32.5    $    112.1    $      80.1
Performance Chemicals..         39.5          38.6         106.0           76.5
                         -------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL..................   $     82.1     $    71.1    $    218.1    $     156.6
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                      I-23

The table below presents information related to the geographic areas in which
Grace operated for the three months and nine months ended September 30, 2004 and
2003.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
GEOGRAPHIC AREA                   THREE MONTHS                NINE MONTHS
   DATA                              ENDED                       ENDED
(In millions)                     SEPTEMBER 30,              SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                              2004          2003          2004         2003
                         -------------------------------------------------------
NET SALES
  United States.......    $    222.9     $     214.9   $   649.0     $    604.6
  Canada and Puerto Rico        30.1            23.2        79.8           57.0
                         -------------------------------------------------------
  Total North America.         253.0           238.1       728.8          661.6
                         -------------------------------------------------------
  Europe,
   other than
   Germany............         178.0           149.1       519.9          437.2
  Germany.............          28.9            22.2        86.3           64.0
                         -------------------------------------------------------
  Total Europe........         206.9           171.3       606.2          501.2
                         -------------------------------------------------------
  Asia Pacific........          92.3            83.1       251.8          228.4
  Latin America.......          27.7            28.5        84.0           78.0
                         -------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL.................     $   579.9     $     521.0   $ 1,670.8     $  1,469.2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The pre-tax operating income for Grace's business segments for the three-month
and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2004 and 2003 is reconciled below to
income (loss) before Chapter 11 expenses, income taxes, and minority interest
presented in the accompanying Consolidated Statements of Operations.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RECONCILIATION OF BUSINESS
   SEGMENT DATA TO FINANCIAL         THREE MONTHS               NINE MONTHS
   STATEMENTS                           ENDED                       ENDED
(In millions)                        SEPTEMBER 30,              SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                 2004         2003          2004         2003
                              --------------------------------------------------
Pre-tax operating income
   (loss) - business
   segments.................   $   82.1     $   71.1      $ 218.1     $  156.6
Minority interest ..........        3.3         (0.7)         6.4         (0.2)
Gain (loss) on sale of
   investments and
   disposals of assets......        0.2         (0.1)        (0.1)        (1.0)
Provision for environmental.
   remediation .............      (20.0)       (50.0)       (20.0)       (52.5)
Net gain on litigation
   settlement...............       50.0           --         50.0           --
Interest expense and
   related financing costs..       (4.5)        (4.1)       (12.3)       (12.4)
Corporate costs.............      (24.4)       (20.8)       (72.6)       (59.2)
Other, net..................       (3.1)        (3.1)       (14.3)       (11.5)
                              --------------------------------------------------
Income (loss) before Chapter
   11 expenses, income taxes,
   and minority interest....   $   83.6     $   (7.7)     $ 155.2     $   19.8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

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

                                      I-24

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
materials" (which includes specialty catalysts, silica-based engineered
materials, and products used for separations and life sciences applications).
All sales information for the Davison Chemicals segment has been restated to
reflect this realignment.

The table below shows the Grace business segments and product groups as a
percentage of total Grace sales.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                     THREE MONTHS               NINE MONTHS
PERCENTAGE OF                           ENDED                     ENDED
   TOTAL GRACE SALES                 SEPTEMBER 30,             SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                 2004         2003          2004         2003
                              --------------------------------------------------
Refining
  technologies.............     29.2%         29.6%        28.9%         29.9%
Specialty materials .......     23.2%         21.6%        23.3%         22.4%
                              --------------------------------------------------
DAVISON CHEMICALS .........     52.4%         51.2%        52.2%         52.3%
                              --------------------------------------------------
Construction
  chemicals ...............     24.1%         23.1%        23.6%         22.1%
Building materials ........     11.3%         12.5%        11.5%         12.1%
Sealants and coatings .....     12.2%         13.2%        12.7%         13.5%
                              --------------------------------------------------
PERFORMANCE
  CHEMICALS ...............     47.6%         48.8%        47.8%         47.7%
                              --------------------------------------------------
TOTAL .....................    100.0%        100.0%       100.0%        100.0%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

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
products, and crude oil supply.

Specialty materials includes: silica-based engineered materials, which are used
in a wide range of industrial and consumer applications such as paper, wood and
coil coatings, food processing, plastics, adsorbents, and personal care
products; separations and life sciences materials and products, which are used
for biotechnology and pharmaceutical applications; and specialty catalysts,
which are used in a variety of chemical processes and are essential components
in the manufacture of polyethylene and polypropylene resins used in products
such as plastic film, high-performance plastic pipe and other plastic parts.
Sales of these products are affected most by general economic conditions, and
specifically by the underlying growth rate of targeted end-use applications.

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
building materials is largely a North American product group, it is most notably
affected by the level of U.S. construction activity.

Sealants and coatings are used to seal beverage and food cans, and glass and
plastic bottles, and to protect metal packaging from corrosion and the contents
from the influences of metal. Although this product group is affected by general
economic conditions, there is an ongoing shift in demand from metal and glass to
plastic packaging for foods and beverages. This shift is causing a decline in
can sealant usage, but provides opportunities to use closure sealants and other
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

                                      I-25

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
percentage changes for the three-month and nine-month periods ended September
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
cash flow as defined under U.S. generally accepted accounting principles, and
should not be considered an alternative to such measures as an indicator of
Grace's performance. These measures are provided to distinguish operating
results of Grace's current business base from results and related assets and
liabilities of past businesses, discontinued products and corporate legacies.

                                      I-26

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ANALYSIS OF CONTINUING OPERATIONS                        THREE MONTHS ENDED                          NINE MONTHS ENDED
 (In millions)                                              SEPTEMBER 30,                              SEPTEMBER 30,
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                  $ Change  % Change                         $ Change    % Change
                                                                     Fav       Fav                             Fav          Fav
                                                 2004     2003     (Unfav)   (Unfav)      2004       2003     (Unfav)     (Unfav)
                                             ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NET SALES:
      Davison Chemicals ..................... $ 303.8   $ 267.0   $  36.8     13.8%     $ 872.5    $ 767.7    $ 104.8       13.7%
      Performance Chemicals..................   276.1     254.0      22.1      8.7%       798.3      701.5       96.8       13.8%
                                             ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL GRACE SALES - CORE OPERATIONS ......... $ 579.9   $ 521.0   $  58.9     11.3%    $1,670.8   $1,469.2    $ 201.6       13.7%
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PRE-TAX OPERATING INCOME (LOSS)
     Davison Chemicals(1) ................... $  42.6   $  32.5   $  10.1     31.1%     $ 112.1    $  80.1    $  32.0       40.0%
     Performance Chemicals ..................    39.5      38.6       0.9      2.3%       106.0       76.5       29.5       38.6%
                                             ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Corporate costs:
        Support functions ...................    (7.9)     (7.9)       --       --%       (24.5)     (23.3)      (1.2)      (5.2%)
        Pension, performance-related
           compensation, and other ..........   (16.5)    (12.9)     (3.6)   (27.9%)      (48.1)     (35.9)     (12.2)     (34.0%)
                                             ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     Total Corporate costs ..................   (24.4)    (20.8)     (3.6)   (17.3%)      (72.6)     (59.2)     (13.4)     (22.6%)
                                             ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PRE-TAX INCOME (LOSS) FROM CORE OPERATIONS ..    57.7      50.3       7.4     14.7%       145.5       97.4       48.1       49.4%
PRE-TAX INCOME (LOSS) FROM NONCORE ACTIVITIES    26.4     (54.1)     80.5      NM          12.6      (68.4)      81.0        NM
Interest expense ............................    (4.5)     (4.1)     (0.4)    (9.8%)      (12.3)     (12.4)       0.1        0.8%
Interest income .............................     0.7       0.9      (0.2)   (22.2%)        3.0        3.4       (0.4)     (11.8%)
                                             ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
INCOME (LOSS) BEFORE CHAPTER 11 EXPENSES AND
   INCOME TAXES .............................    80.3      (7.0)     87.3      NM         148.8       20.0      128.8      644.0%
Chapter 11 expenses, net ....................    (4.3)     (2.2)     (2.1)   (95.5%)      (11.8)     (11.7)      (0.1)      (0.9%)
Provision for income taxes ..................   (28.0)     (0.7)    (27.3)     NM         (51.9)     (14.0)     (37.9)    (270.7%)
                                             ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NET INCOME (LOSS)............................ $  48.0   $  (9.9)  $  57.9      NM       $  85.1    $  (5.7)   $  90.8        NM
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
KEY FINANCIAL MEASURES:
PRE-TAX INCOME (LOSS) FROM CORE OPERATIONS
     Davison Chemicals(1)  ..................    14.0%     12.2%      NM      1.8 pts     12.8%      10.4%       NM        2.4 pts
     Performance Chemicals ..................    14.3%     15.2%      NM     (0.9)pts     13.3%      10.9%       NM        2.4 pts
     Total Core Operations ..................     9.9%      9.7%      NM      0.2 pts      8.7%       6.6%       NM        2.1 pts
PRE-TAX INCOME (LOSS) FROM CORE OPERATIONS
   BEFORE DEPRECIATION
   AND AMORTIZATION ......................... $  84.6   $  76.4   $   8.2     10.7%     $ 225.9    $ 173.5    $  52.4       30.2%
     AS A PERCENTAGE OF SALES ...............    14.6%     14.7%      NM      (0.1)pts     13.5%      11.8%      NM        1.7 pts
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NET CONSOLIDATED SALES BY REGION:
     North America .......................... $ 253.0   $ 238.1   $  14.9      6.3%     $ 728.8    $ 661.6    $  67.2       10.2%
     Europe .................................   206.9     171.3      35.6     20.8%       606.2      501.2      105.0       20.9%
     Asia Pacific ...........................    92.3      83.1       9.2     11.1%       251.8      228.4       23.4       10.2%
     Latin America ..........................    27.7      28.5      (0.8)    (2.8%)       84.0       78.0        6.0        7.7%
                                             ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL  ...................................... $ 579.9   $ 521.0   $  58.9     11.3%    $1,670.8   $1,469.2    $ 201.6       13.7%
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NM = Not meaningful

(1)  Pre-tax operating income (loss) for Davison Chemicals excludes the income
     or loss attributable to the interests of the minority owner in the Advanced
     Refining Technologies joint venture.

                                      I-27

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
GRACE OVERVIEW
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NET SALES

The following tables identify the year-over-year increase or decrease in sales
attributable to changes in product volume, product price and/or mix, and the
impact of foreign currency translation for the three-month and nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2004 and 2003, respectively.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  NET SALES                    THREE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2004 AS A
    VARIANCE                       PERCENTAGE INCREASE (DECREASE) FROM
    ANALYSIS                      THREE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                         CURRENCY
                           VOLUME       PRICE/MIX      TRANSLATION      TOTAL
                        --------------------------------------------------------
Davison Chemicals......     (9.4%)        20.5%            2.7%         13.8%
Performance
  Chemicals ...........      6.5%         (0.5%)           2.7%          8.7%
Net sales..............     (1.7%)        10.3%            2.7%         11.3%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BY REGION:
  North America........      1.1%          5.0%            0.2%          6.3%
  Europe...............    (11.4%)        24.7%            7.5%         20.8%
  Latin America........      2.1%         (2.4%)          (2.5%)        (2.8%)
  Asia Pacific.........     16.0%         (6.8%)           1.9%         11.1%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grace's sales in the three-month period ended September 30, 2004 were favorably
impacted by improved product mix in refining technologies and favorable currency
translation from a weaker U.S. dollar. Foreign currency translation contributed
$14.2 million or 2.7 percentage points of the sales growth, mainly due to the
strengthening of the Euro against the U.S. dollar. Sales were unfavorably
impacted by lower volumes, primarily of refining technology products, offset by
higher volumes of construction chemicals and specialty materials. Acquisitions
contributed $15.4 million or 3.0 percentage points of the sales growth,
primarily from Grace's acquisition in October 2003 of certain assets of Tricosal
Beton - Chemie GmbH & Co. KG, a leading supplier of specialty chemicals and
materials to the European construction industry, and the August 2004 acquisition
of Alltech International Holdings, Inc. ("Alltech"), a global manufacturer and
supplier of chromatography products.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  NET SALES                     NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2004 AS A
    VARIANCE                       PERCENTAGE INCREASE (DECREASE) FROM
    ANALYSIS                      NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                         CURRENCY
                           VOLUME       PRICE/MIX      TRANSLATION      TOTAL
                         -------------------------------------------------------
Davison Chemicals......      2.2%          7.5%            4.0%         13.7%
Performance
  Chemicals ...........     10.2%         (0.6%)           4.2%         13.8%
Net sales..............      6.0%          3.6%            4.1%         13.7%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BY REGION:
  North America........      4.7%          5.2%            0.3%         10.2%
  Europe...............      8.0%          2.8%           10.1%         20.9%
  Latin America........      5.8%          1.6%            0.3%          7.7%
  Asia Pacific.........      6.3%          0.7%            3.2%         10.2%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grace's sales in the nine-month period ended September 30, 2004 were favorably
impacted by higher volume in construction chemicals and specialty materials,
product mix in refining technologies, and favorable currency translation from a
weaker U.S. dollar. Foreign currency translation contributed $60.5 million or
4.1 percentage points of the sales growth, mainly due to the strengthening of
the Euro against the U.S. dollar. In addition, acquisitions contributed $29.1
million or 2.0 percentage points of the sales growth.

PRE-TAX INCOME FROM CORE OPERATIONS

Operating profit and margins for the three-month and nine-month periods ended
September 30, 2004 were higher as compared with the prior year periods primarily
due to an increase in sales from improved economic conditions, including
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
three-month and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2004 were higher than the
comparable prior year periods primarily due to performance-related compensation
and added professional fees in preparation for the review and audit of
accounting controls under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.

                                      I-28

PRE-TAX INCOME (LOSS) FROM NONCORE ACTIVITIES

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PRE-TAX INCOME (LOSS) FROM             THREE MONTHS              NINE MONTHS
   NONCORE ACTIVITIES                      ENDED                    ENDED
(In millions)                          SEPTEMBER 30,            SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                     2004         2003        2004         2003
                                   ---------------------------------------------
Environmental provision -
   vermiculite mining .......        $ (20.0)     $ (50.0)  $ (20.0)   $ (52.5)
Environmental provision - all
   other sites ..............             --           --        --         --
Provision for asbestos-related
   litigation ...............             --           --        --         --
COLI income (loss), net .....           (0.4)        (0.2)      1.8        4.1
D&O insurance cost ..........           (1.3)        (1.7)     (3.9)      (5.1)
Pension and postretirement
   benefit costs ............           (3.0)        (1.4)     (7.5)      (7.1)
Translation effects -
   intercompany loan.........            2.3           --       1.2         --
Value of currency
   hedges ...................           (2.3)          --     (11.6)        --
Foreign currency transaction
   effects...................           (2.8)         0.4      (2.2)      (2.9)
Net gain on litigation
   settlement................           50.0           --      50.0         --
Other .......................            3.9         (1.2)      4.8       (4.9)
                                   ---------------------------------------------
                                     $  26.4     $  (54.1)  $  12.6    $ (68.4)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pre-tax income (loss) from noncore activities for the three-month and nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2004 were comparable to the prior-year periods
except for: (1) the foreign currency effect of an intercompany loan as described
below, (2) a pre-tax charge of $20.0 million in 2004 for a change in Grace's
estimate of the costs necessary to address vermiculite clean-up in Libby,
Montana, and (3) a net gain of $50.0 million from the settlement of litigation
under an agreement with Honeywell International, Inc. related to environmental
contamination of a non-operating parcel of land.

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
to this loan for the three months and nine months ended September 30, 2004 was
$2.3 million and $1.2 million favorable, respectively.

In May 2004, Grace entered into a series of foreign currency hedge agreements to
mitigate future currency fluctuations on the remaining loan balance. These hedge
agreements have varying rates on notional amounts that coincide with loan
repayments due periodically through June 2005. In 2004, Euro 81 million of loan
principal was repaid. For the nine months ended September 30, 2004, an $11.6
million hedge loss was recognized, offset by a $1.2 million foreign currency
gain, and was reported in other (income) expense. These hedges are considered
derivative instruments that are viewed as risk management tools by Grace and are
not used for trading or speculative purposes.

In September 2004, Grace recorded a net gain of $50.0 million as a result of the
settlement of litigation with Honeywell International, Inc. related to
environmental contamination of a non-operating parcel of land.

CHAPTER 11 EXPENSES

Although it is difficult to measure precisely how Chapter 11 has impacted
Grace's overall financial performance, there are certain added costs that are
directly attributable to operating under the Bankruptcy Code. Net Chapter 11
expenses consist primarily of legal, financial and consulting fees incurred by
Grace, three creditors' committees, and the representative of future asbestos
claimants. Grace believes that Chapter 11 expenses will range between $2 million
and $6 million per quarter for the foreseeable future depending on the extent of
Bankruptcy Court proceedings over the period.

In addition, Grace's pre-tax income from core operations included expenses for
Chapter 11-related compensation of $8.5 million and $3.5 million for the
three-month periods ended September 30, 2004 and 2003, respectively, and $19.3
million and $11.4 million for the nine-month periods ended September 30, 2004
and 2003, respectively. As a consequence of operating under Chapter 11, Grace
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

INTEREST

Net interest expense in the three-month and nine-month periods ended September
30, 2004 was

                                      I-29

consistent with the prior year period. The payment of interest accrued on
pre-petition debt and other liabilities is subject to the outcome of Grace's
Chapter 11 proceedings.

INCOME TAXES

Grace's provision for income taxes at the federal corporate rate of 35.0% was
$48.0 million and $2.9 million for the nine months ended September 30, 2004 and
2003, respectively. The primary differences between these amounts and the
overall provision for income taxes of $51.9 million and $14.0 million for each
respective year is attributable to current period interest on tax contingencies
and the non-deductibility of certain Chapter 11 expenses, both of which add to
tax expense.

On October 22, 2004, President Bush signed the American Jobs Creation Act of
2004 (the "Jobs Act") into law. While Grace and its advisors are currently
analyzing the many revisions to the tax laws enacted by the Jobs Act, Grace has
focused primarily at this time on the potential impacts of the domestic
manufacturing deductions and the foreign repatriation incentives. With respect
to manufacturing, commencing in 2005, the Jobs Act phases in over a five-year
period an annual manufacturing deduction of up to 9% on the lesser of a
taxpayer's income from domestic manufacturing activities or taxable income.
Given Grace's current U.S. net operating loss carryover position, it is
anticipated that, at least in the short term, the manufacturing deduction may
only minimally reduce potential alternative minimum taxes.

With respect to foreign repatriation incentives, the Jobs Act provides an 85%
dividends received deduction with respect to certain dividends received from a
U.S. corporation's foreign subsidiaries. The dividends must be used to fund
certain permitted domestic activities, as specified in the Jobs Act. These
domestic activities include the building or improvement of infrastructure,
research and development, and the financial stabilization of the corporation.
Grace is closely tracking this new law and, pending further guidance from the
government on a number of technical provisions in the law, will consider
repatriating certain of its foreign earnings in 2005. The dividend-received
deduction is available to taxpayers for only a limited period of time, expiring
after year-end 2005.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BUSINESS SEGMENT OVERVIEW
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DAVISON CHEMICALS

Recent Acquisitions and Joint Ventures

See Note 4 to the Consolidated Financial Statements for a description of
acquisitions and joint ventures completed in the nine-month periods ended
September 30, 2004 and 2003.

Three Months Ended September 30, 2004

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                      THREE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30,
                         -------------------------------------------------------
NET SALES BY PRODUCT                                   $ Change        % Change
  LINE                                                    Fav             Fav
(In millions)                 2004         2003         (Unfav)         (Unfav)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Refining technologies...  $    169.1    $    154.5   $      14.6           9.4%
Specialty
  materials.............       134.7         112.5          22.2          19.7%
                         -------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL DAVISON
  CHEMICALS.............  $    303.8    $    267.0   $      36.8          13.8%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                      THREE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30,
                         -------------------------------------------------------
NET SALES BY                                           $ Change        % Change
 REGION                                                   Fav             Fav
(In millions)                 2004         2003         (Unfav)         (Unfav)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
North America...........  $     117.0   $     103.1  $      13.9          13.5%
Europe..................        125.0         102.9         22.1          21.5%
Asia Pacific............         51.3          48.4          2.9           6.0%
Latin America...........         10.5          12.6         (2.1)        (16.7%)
                         -------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL DAVISON
  CHEMICALS.............  $     303.8   $     267.0  $      36.8          13.8%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sales

Third quarter sales for the Davison Chemicals segment were favorably affected by
an improved global economic environment, acquisitions, and favorable currency
translation (which contributed 2.7 percentage points of the increase for the
quarter). Sales of refining technologies products increased primarily from
favorable product mix factors, including sales of higher performing catalysts
and added revenue from the pass-through of certain raw material costs, and from
favorable foreign currency translation (1.7 percentage points of the increase).
Sales of specialty materials products increased primarily from strong volume in
all key regions in specialty catalysts and engineered materials, favorable
foreign currency translation (4.2 percentage points of the increase), and sales
from the acquisition of Alltech completed in August 2004.

Sales increases were particularly strong in North America and Europe during the
third quarter of 2004. In North America, increased sales were primarily
attributable to volume growth in specialty materials, as well as favorable
product mix factors, reflecting stronger economic activity in the United States.
Sales in Europe were up primarily from favorable foreign

                                      I-30

currency translation as well as volume growth in specialty materials. The higher
sales in Asia Pacific were due to favorable product mix factors in the
hydroprocessing catalyst business, as well as volume growth in specialty
materials.

Operating Income

Pre-tax operating income of the Davison Chemicals segment for the third quarter
was higher than the 2003 third quarter, driven primarily by higher sales in
North America and Europe, and foreign currency translation effects. Operating
margin was also higher, primarily from favorable product mix and lower
manufacturing costs, which offset increases in the cost of raw materials and
energy.

Nine Months Ended September 30, 2004

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                       NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30,
                         -------------------------------------------------------
NET SALES BY PRODUCT                                  $ Change        % Change
  LINE                                                   Fav             Fav
(In millions)                2004         2003         (Unfav)         (Unfav)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Refining technologies...  $    482.7    $    439.5   $      43.2           9.8%
Specialty
  materials.............       389.8         328.2          61.6          18.8%
                         -------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL DAVISON
  CHEMICALS.............  $    872.5    $    767.7   $     104.8          13.7%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                       NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30,
                         -------------------------------------------------------
NET SALES BY                                           $ Change        % Change
 REGION                                                   Fav             Fav
(In millions)                 2004         2003         (Unfav)         (Unfav)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
North America...........  $     337.8   $     294.0  $      43.8          14.9%
Europe..................        365.3         308.9         56.4          18.3%
Asia Pacific............        136.5         129.6          6.9           5.3%
Latin America...........         32.9          35.2         (2.3)         (6.5%)
                         -------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL DAVISON
  CHEMICALS.............  $     872.5   $     767.7  $     104.8          13.7%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sales

Year-to-date sales for the Davison Chemicals segment benefited from the improved
global economic environment and favorable foreign currency translation (which
accounted for 4.0 percentage points of the increase). Sales increases of
refining technologies products reflected favorable foreign currency translation
(2.5 percentage points), higher volumes of hydroprocessing catalysts and a
favorable product mix of fluid cracking catalysts. High demand for
transportation fuels and high costs of crude oil resulted in increases in both
volume and production rates of major petroleum refineries world-wide. These are
favorable factors for refining catalysts suppliers. Sales increases of specialty
materials products reflected higher volumes of polyolefin catalysts and silica
products used in coatings, separations, and consumer applications and favorable
foreign currency translation (6.0 percentage points). Stronger economic activity
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
refining technologies, as well as the effects of favorable foreign currency
translation.

Operating Income

Year-to-date operating income of the Davison Chemicals segment was up from 2003,
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
acquisitions and joint ventures completed in the nine-month period ended
September 30, 2004.

Three Months Ended September 30, 2004

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                          THREE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30,
                            ----------------------------------------------------
NET SALES BY                                           $ Change       % Change
  PRODUCT LINE                                            Fav            Fav
(In millions)                   2004        2003        (Unfav)        (Unfav)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Construction chemicals.....  $  139.7    $  120.1      $    19.6         16.3%
Building materials.........      65.6        65.0            0.6          0.9%
Sealants and coatings......      70.8        68.9            1.9          2.8%
                            ----------------------------------------------------
TOTAL PERFORMANCE
  CHEMICALS................  $  276.1    $  254.0      $    22.1          8.7%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                       THREE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30,
                            ----------------------------------------------------
                                                       $ Change       % Change
NET SALES BY REGION                                       Fav            Fav
(In millions)                   2004        2003        (Unfav)        (Unfav)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
North America..............  $  136.0    $  135.0      $     1.0          0.7%
Europe.....................      81.9        68.4           13.5         19.7%
Asia Pacific...............      41.0        34.7            6.3         18.2%
Latin America..............      17.2        15.9            1.3          8.2%
                            ----------------------------------------------------
TOTAL PERFORMANCE
  CHEMICALS................  $  276.1    $  254.0      $    22.1          8.7%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                      I-31

Sales

The increase in sales for the Performance Chemicals segment in the third quarter
of 2004 compared with the third quarter of 2003 was primarily attributable to
construction chemicals volume growth, a 2003 acquisition, and favorable foreign
currency translation. The October 2003 acquisition of certain assets of Tricosal
Beton-Chemie GmbH & Co. KG by a German subsidiary accounted for $7.2 million, or
2.8 percentage points of the sales growth, while currency translation accounted
for 2.7 percentage points of the sales growth. In addition to sales from the
German acquisition, the sales increase in construction chemicals also reflected
the continued success of customer and new product programs worldwide. The
increase in sales of building materials was mainly due to favorable foreign
currency translation (2.3 percentage points) as well as volume increases in
waterproofing products, especially specialty structural products and residential
tapes. These gains were partially offset by a volume decline in fire protection
products, reflecting hurricane-related project delays in the southeastern U.S.
in 2004 and a large UK project in 2003. Sales increases in sealants and coatings
reflected favorable foreign currency translation (3.0 percentage points) and
volume increases in can and closure sealants and coatings, partially offset by
declines in tolling revenue.

The sales increase in North America mainly reflected the success of construction
chemicals growth programs, offset by volume declines in fire protection products
and tolling revenue in sealants and coatings. In Europe, higher sales were due
to favorable foreign currency translation (8.3 percentage points) and the German
acquisition (10.5 percentage points). Sales in Asia Pacific increased from
volume growth in construction chemicals, waterproofing products, can and closure
sealants and coatings, as well as the effects of favorable foreign currency
translation (4.0 percentage points). Increased sales in Latin America primarily
reflected volume growth in construction chemicals.

Operating Income

Pre-tax operating income was slightly higher than a strong 2003 third quarter,
while operating margin was down, reflecting sales increases and productivity
gains, offset by increases in raw material and transportation costs.

Nine Months Ended September 30, 2004

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                          NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30,
                                 -----------------------------------------------
NET SALES BY                                               $ Change     % Change
  PRODUCT LINE                                               Fav          Fav
(In millions)                        2004        2003      (Unfav)      (Unfav)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Construction chemicals .......     $  394.1    $  324.9     $  69.2      21.3%
Building materials ...........        191.5       178.1        13.4       7.5%
Sealants and coatings ........        212.7       198.5        14.2       7.2%
                                 -----------------------------------------------
TOTAL PERFORMANCE CHEMICALS ..     $  798.3    $  701.5     $  96.8      13.8%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                          NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30,
                                 -----------------------------------------------
                                                          $ Change     % Change
NET SALES BY REGION                                         Fav           Fav
(In millions)                       2004        2003       (Unfav)      (Unfav)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
North America ................     $  391.0    $  367.6     $  23.4         6.4%
Europe .......................        240.9       192.3        48.6        25.3%
Asia Pacific .................        115.3        98.8        16.5        16.7%
Latin America ................         51.1        42.8         8.3        19.4%
                                 -----------------------------------------------
TOTAL PERFORMANCE CHEMICALS ..     $  798.3    $  701.5     $  96.8        13.8%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sales

The increase in sales for the Performance Chemicals segment in the first nine
months of 2004 compared with the first nine months of 2003 was primarily
attributable to volume growth in all product lines, a recent acquisition, and
favorable foreign currency translation. The German acquisition accounted for
$20.1 million, or 2.9 percentage points of the sales growth, while currency
translation accounted for 4.2 percentage points of the sales growth. Aside from
the acquisition, the sales increase in construction chemicals primarily
reflected the continued success of customer and new product programs and
stronger U.S. commercial construction activity from good construction weather in
the first quarter versus a particularly weak first quarter of 2003, as well as
foreign currency translation. The increase in sales of building materials was
mainly due to increases in specialty waterproofing products, especially roofing
underlayments, driven by strong re-roofing activity and continued penetration
against other technologies, and the impact of favorable foreign currency
translation. The increase was partially offset by a small decline in sales of
fire protection products resulting from building code changes and third-quarter,
hurricane-related project delays in the U.S., as well as a large 2003 project in
the UK. Sales increases in sealants and coatings reflected favorable foreign
currency translation (5.0 percentage points), growth initiatives in coatings and
volume increases in can and closure sealants, partially offset by declines in
tolling revenue.

Sales increases in North America reflected the success of construction chemicals
and waterproofing growth programs, as well as stronger U.S. construction
activity. In Europe, higher sales were due to favorable foreign currency
translation (11.2 percentage points), the German acquisition (10.5 percentage
points) and volume

                                      I-32

growth in construction chemicals. Sales in Asia Pacific increased from the
effects of favorable foreign currency translation (6.5 percentage points), as
well as volume growth across all product lines. Increased sales in Latin America
reflected volume increases in construction chemicals and can and closure
sealants, offset by unfavorable currency translation (0.7 percentage points).

Operating Income

Pre-tax operating income and operating margin were substantially higher in the
first three quarters of 2004 compared with the prior year period, reflecting
sales increases, successful productivity programs, discretionary expense
management and favorable foreign currency translation.

OPERATING RETURNS ON ASSETS EMPLOYED

The following charts set forth the Davison Chemicals and Performance Chemicals
total asset position and pre-tax return on average total assets at September 30,
2004 and December 31, 2003. It should be noted that the manufacture of Davison
Chemicals products generally requires significantly higher capital costs than
the manufacture of Performance Chemicals products.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                       $ Change       % Change
                                                      (excluding     (excluding
                                                       currency       currency
DAVISON                                              translation)   translation)
  CHEMICALS           SEPTEMBER 30,    DECEMBER 31,       Fav            Fav
 (In millions)            2004            2003          (Unfav)        (Unfav)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Receivables........ $    171.6      $    146.3       $     25.8         17.6%
Inventory..........      149.1           133.6             16.2         12.1%
Other current
  assets...........        2.8             2.1              0.8         38.1%
                    ------------------------------------------------
Total current
  assets...........      323.5           282.0             42.8         15.2%
Properties and
  equipment,
  net..............      426.2           444.0            (16.4)        (3.7%)
Goodwill and
  other intangible
  assets...........       99.5            65.8             34.2         52.0%
Other assets.......        3.2             5.3             (1.7)       (32.1%)
                    ------------------------------------------------
Total assets....... $    852.4      $    797.1       $     58.9          7.4%
                    ================================================
Pre-tax return
  on average
  total assets
  (trailing 12
  months)..........       18.6%           15.4%             NM           3.2 pts
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

During the nine months ended September 30, 2004, Davison Chemicals' total assets
increased by $55.3 million, including $3.6 million of unfavorable foreign
currency translation. The increase was primarily due to the Alltech and Grom
acquisitions completed during the third quarter and increased accounts
receivable and inventory, offset by a decrease in properties and equipment. The
increase in accounts receivable was primarily due to year-over-year sales
growth. Inventory quantities were higher to meet increased demand. Properties
and equipment decreased due to depreciation expense and lower capital
expenditures as compared with the prior year period, when a major Davison
Chemicals plant expansion was completed.

The pre-tax return on average total assets increased by 3.2 percentage points,
primarily due to a 40.0% increase in pre-tax operating income.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                       $ Change       % Change
                                                      (excluding     (excluding
                                                       currency       currency
PERFORMANCE                                          translation)   translation)
  CHEMICALS           SEPTEMBER 30,    DECEMBER 31,      Fav            Fav
 (In millions)            2004            2003         (Unfav)        (Unfav)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Receivables....    $    224.4      $    196.2      $     29.5           15.0%
Inventory......          88.8            80.9             8.5           10.5%
Other current
   assets......           4.1             5.9            (1.7)         (28.8%)
                   ------------------------------------------------
Total current
   assets......         317.3           283.0            36.3           12.8%
Properties and
  equipment,
   net.........         191.1           203.2           (11.0)          (5.4%)
Goodwill and
  other intangible
  assets.......          82.1            84.5            (1.8)          (2.1%)
Other assets...          41.8            38.5             2.7            7.0%
                   ------------------------------------------------
Total assets...    $    632.3      $    609.2      $     26.2            4.3%
                   ================================================
Pre-tax return on
  average total
  assets (trailing
  12 months)...          22.2%           18.7%            NM             3.5 pts
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Performance Chemicals' total assets increased by $23.1 million, including $3.1
million of unfavorable foreign currency translation, primarily due to an
increase in receivables, offset by a decrease in properties and equipment. The
increase in receivables was caused primarily by increased sales in the third
quarter of 2004 compared with the fourth quarter of 2003, which is also a low
point in this segment's operating cycle. Depreciation expense exceeded new
capital spending during the nine months ended September 30, 2004.

The pre-tax return on average total assets increased by 3.5 percentage points,
driven by a 38.6% increase in pre-tax operating income.

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

                                      I-33

Grace's obligations as adjudicated through the bankruptcy process. Grace has
analyzed its cash flow and capital needs to continue to fund its businesses and
believes that, while in Chapter 11, sufficient cash flow and credit facilities
are available to support its business strategy.

Grace is in the process of developing a proposed plan of reorganization. In such
plan of reorganization, Grace will propose how to resolve its pre-petition
liabilities and contingencies, including undisputed trade-related,
employee-related and financing-related claims, as well as claims associated with
asbestos-related litigation, environmental remediation, tax matters and other
claims filed with the Bankruptcy Court that Grace may dispute. The Chapter 11
proceedings could result in allowable claims that differ materially from
recorded amounts or amounts in Grace's proposed plan of reorganization. Grace
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
September 30, 2004 and December 31, 2003:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NET NONCORE LIABILITIES                       SEPTEMBER 30,         DECEMBER 31,
(In millions)                                      2004                  2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asbestos-related liabilities .........        $   (986.6)            $   (992.3)
Asbestos-related insurance
    receivable .......................             263.4                  269.4
                                            ------------------------------------
Asbestos-related liability, net ......            (723.2)                (722.9)
Environmental remediation ............            (346.3)                (332.4)
Postretirement benefits ..............            (122.9)                (134.3)
Retained obligations and other .......             (56.3)                 (57.0)
                                            ------------------------------------
NET NONCORE LIABILITY ................        $ (1,248.7)            $ (1,246.6)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The resolution of many of these noncore recorded and contingent liabilities will
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
products. During the nine months ended September 30, 2004, Grace had receipts of
$6.0 million under settlements with insurance carriers, which was offset by $5.6
million for the defense and disposition of asbestos-related property damage and
bodily injury litigation. At September 30, 2004, Grace's balance sheet reflected
a gross asbestos-related liability of $986.6 million ($723.2 million net of
insurance). This liability represents management's estimate, based on facts and
circumstances existing prior to the Filing and an analysis of new property
damage claims received after the Filing, of the undiscounted net cash outflows
necessary to satisfy Grace's pending property damage claims for which sufficient
information is available, and its pending and projected future bodily injury
claims.

Grace is reevaluating its asbestos-related liability in light of the requirement
to propose a plan of reorganization. The measure of such liability, and the
ultimate net cost to Grace, depends on the resolution of a number of issues
that, in the absence of a consensual plan, must be resolved through Bankruptcy
Court proceedings such as: the definition of an allowed claim; the actual or
estimated claims that meet such definition; the value of allowed claims for a
variety of medical conditions; the value, if any, of ZAI property damage claims;
the number of properties qualifying for asbestos abatement and the cost of
remediation; the method of funding an asbestos trust; the availability of funds
under litigation settlement agreements with Sealed Air and Fresenius; and, the
availability of insurance and timing of insurance recovery. Grace will address
these matters as part of a plan of reorganization. Because of these
uncertainties, Grace's estimate of the value of its asbestos-related liability
may change materially as the bankruptcy process progresses.

Recently, federal legislation has been proposed to address asbestos bodily
injury claims. In addition, several states have enacted or proposed legislation
affecting asbestos bodily injury claims. At this time, Grace cannot predict what
impact any such legislation would have on Grace's asbestos bodily injury
liability, related insurance coverage, or its ultimate plan of reorganization.

The Consolidated Balance Sheet at September 30, 2004 includes an asset of $263.4
million pursuant to settlement

                                      I-34

agreements with insurance carriers, which relate directly to the amount and
nature of the recorded asbestos-related liability. The recovery of amounts due
from insurance carriers is dependent upon the timing, character and exposure
periods of asbestos-related claims. Grace's Chapter 11 proceedings and proposed
federal legislation could also affect the timing and amount of Grace's recovery.

Grace was required to file its plan of reorganization with the Bankruptcy Court
by October 14, 2004. On October 25, 2004, the Bankruptcy Court extended the
deadline for filing a plan of reorganization until November 15, 2004.
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
to continue to do so in the future. At September 30, 2004, Grace's recorded
liability for environmental investigation and remediation costs totaled $346.3
million, as compared with $332.4 million at December 31, 2003. This liability
covers both vermiculite and non-vermiculite related matters. The amount is based
on funding and/or remediation agreements in place, together with Grace's best
estimate of its cost to resolve contamination risks at sites not subject to a
formal remediation plan. During the third quarter of 2004, Grace recorded a
pre-tax charge of $20.0 million to increase its estimated liability for
vermiculite-related environmental costs to reflect Grace's current understanding
of the timeframe and related costs necessary to remediate properties in and
around Libby, Montana. This increase was based on additional information
provided by the EPA and Grace's analysis of the EPA's future spending plans.
Grace's total estimated liability for vermiculite-related remediation or
reimbursement costs at September 30, 2004 was $205.3 million, which includes
remediation activities in and around Libby, and at vermiculite processing sites
currently or formerly operated by Grace. However, the EPA's cost estimates have
changed several times and increased substantially over time. Consequently,
Grace's estimated liability may change materially as more information becomes
available. Grace's liability for this matter is included in "liabilities subject
to compromise" as of September 30, 2004.

At September 30, 2004, Grace's estimated liability for remediation of sites not
related to its former vermiculite mining and processing activities was $141.0
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
this matter is included in "liabilities subject to compromise" as of September
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
administered by trustees who direct the management of plan assets and arrange to
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
is measured as the present value (using a 6.25% discount rate as of December 31,
2003) of vested and non-vested benefits earned from employee service to date,
based upon current salary levels. Assets available to fund the ABO at December
31, 2003 were approximately $658 million, or approximately $222 million less
than the measured obligation.

In July 2004, Grace petitioned the Bankruptcy Court for permission to contribute
approximately $20 million

                                      I-35

to the trusts that hold assets of the Plans. This request is in addition to a
$40.0 million contribution approved by the Bankruptcy Court for 2003. The 2004
motion was approved and Grace contributed $19.8 million to the trusts in
September 2004. Although it is Grace's intention to satisfy its obligations
under the Plans and to comply with all of the requirements of the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, contributions to the Plans' trusts
require Bankruptcy Court approval. There can be no assurance that the Bankruptcy
Court will continue to approve arrangements to satisfy the funding needs of the
Plans.

See Note 13 for the components of net periodic pension cost for the third
quarter and year-to-date. Grace expects total pension expense for 2004 to be
approximately $55 million, and benefit payments to retirees to aggregate between
$85 million and $90 million for all pension programs in 2004. At September 30,
2004, Grace's recorded pension liability for underfunded plans was $366.8
million ($295.9 million included in liabilities not subject to compromise and
$70.9 million related to supplemental pension benefits for officers and certain
key employees, included in "liabilities subject to compromise") which includes
the following components: (1) shortfall between dedicated assets and ABO of
underfunded plans ($202.9 million); and (2) ABO of pay-as-you-go plans ($163.9
million).

POSTRETIREMENT BENEFITS

Grace provides certain health care and life insurance benefits for retired
employees, a large majority of which pertain to retirees of previously divested
businesses. These plans are unfunded and Grace pays the costs of benefits under
these plans as they are incurred. Spending under this program was $3.7 million
and $9.2 million during the three-month and nine-month periods ended September
30, 2004, respectively, compared with $3.1 million and $8.8 million during the
three-month and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2003, respectively.
Grace's recorded liability for postretirement benefits of $122.9 million at
September 30, 2004 is stated at net present value discounted at 6.25%. The
continuing payment of these benefits has been approved by the Bankruptcy Court;
however, the program would still be subject to the terms of a Chapter 11
reorganization plan.

In December 2003, President Bush signed the Medicare Prescription Drug,
Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003 (the "Act") into law. The Act
introduces a prescription drug benefit under Medicare ("Medicare Part D") as
well as a federal subsidy to companies that provide a benefit that is at least
actuarially equivalent (as defined in the Act) to Medicare Part D. At this time,
the Company does not believe that the prescription drug benefit under its
postretirement health care plan is actuarially equivalent to the Medicare Part D
benefit. Therefore, the Company does not anticipate receiving a federal subsidy.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CASH RESOURCES AND AVAILABLE CREDIT FACILITIES

At September 30, 2004, Grace had $482.2 million in cash and cash-like assets on
hand ($385.1 million in cash and cash equivalents and $97.1 million in net cash
value of life insurance). In addition, Grace had access to committed credit
facilities aggregating $250.0 million under the DIP facility, of which $213.5
million (net of borrowings, letters of credit, and holdback provisions) was
available at September 30, 2004. The term of the DIP facility expires April 1,
2006. Grace believes that these funds and credit facilities will be sufficient
to finance its business strategy while in Chapter 11.

CASH FLOW

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                            NINE MONTHS
CORE OPERATIONS                                                ENDED
(In millions)                                               SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                         2004           2003
                                                  ------------------------------
CASH FLOWS:
Pre-tax operating income.......................      $     145.5    $     97.4
Depreciation and amortization..................             80.4          76.1
PRE-TAX EARNINGS BEFORE DEPRECIATION
    AND AMORTIZATION...........................            225.9         173.5
Working capital and other changes..............            (13.0)        (55.7)
                                                  ------------------------------
CASH FLOW BEFORE INVESTING.....................            212.9         117.8
Capital expenditures...........................            (40.0)        (65.7)
Businesses acquired............................            (53.0)         (3.6)
                                                  ------------------------------
NET CASH FLOW FROM CORE OPERATIONS.............      $     119.9    $     48.5
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grace's net cash flow from core operations before investing increased primarily
due to higher pre-tax operating income and decreased investment in working
capital. Capital expenditures were lower compared to the same prior year period,
offset by an increase in cash invested in business acquisitions. Capital
expenditures principally represented spending for routine equipment
replacements. A substantial portion of the expenditures during the first half of
2003 were directed toward the construction of new refining catalyst production
capacity at Grace's Lake Charles, Louisiana site.

Grace expects to continue to invest excess cash flow and/or other available
capital resources in its core

                                      I-36

business base. These investments are likely to be in the form of added plant
capacity, product line extensions and geographic market expansions, and/or
acquisitions in existing product lines. Investments that are outside the
ordinary course of business may be subject to Bankruptcy Court approval and
review by the Chapter 11 committees.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                              NINE MONTHS
NONCORE ACTIVITIES                                              ENDED
(In millions)                                                SEPTEMBER 30,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                         2004            2003
                                                  ------------------------------
CASH FLOWS:
Pre-tax income (loss) from noncore activities..     $     12.6      $    (68.4)
Non-cash charges...............................          (15.9)           61.0
Cash spending for:
  Asbestos-related litigation, net of insurance
    recovery...................................            0.4             2.9
  Environmental remediation....................           (6.1)           (9.1)
  Postretirement benefits......................           (9.2)           (8.8)
  Retained obligations and other...............           (0.9)           (1.1)
                                                  ------------------------------
NET CASH FLOW FROM NONCORE
  ACTIVITIES ..................................     $    (19.1)     $    (23.5)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

See the Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows included in the Consolidated
Financial Statements for investing and financing activities for the nine months
ended September 30, 2004 and 2003.

DEBT AND OTHER CONTRACTUAL OBLIGATIONS

Total debt outstanding at September 30, 2004 was $590.5 million, including $57.7
million of accrued interest on pre-petition debt. As a result of the Filing,
Grace is now in default on $515.1 million of pre-petition debt which, together
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
10-K/A.

                                      I-37

ITEM 3. QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE DISCLOSURES ABOUT MARKET RISK

Grace had no outstanding derivative financial instruments that qualify for
accounting treatment under SFAS No. 133, "Accounting for Derivative Instruments
and Hedging Activities" at September 30, 2004. Grace has entered into foreign
exchange forward contracts to manage exposure to fluctuations in foreign
currency exchange rates on an intercompany loan between Grace and a subsidiary
in Germany. (See Note 5 to the Consolidated Financial Statements.) For further
information concerning Grace's quantitative and qualitative disclosures about
market risk, refer to Notes 13 and 15 in the Consolidated Financial Statements
in Grace's 2003 Annual Report on Form 10-K/A.

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
policies and procedures that are designed to assess and monitor the
effectiveness of the control environment, risk identification, control
activities, information flow, and communication. A chartered Disclosure
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

                                      I-38

                           PART II. OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 1. LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

Notes 1, 3 and 12 to the interim consolidated financial statements in Part I of
this Report are incorporated herein by reference.

1. In 1995, citizens groups brought suit in U.S. District Court in New Jersey
against Honeywell International, Inc. and Grace for injunctive relief requiring
the remediation of chromium contamination of certain Grace-owned property in New
Jersey (Interfaith Community Organization, et al. v. Honeywell International,
Inc., et al.). Grace asserted cross-claims against Honeywell to recover all past
and future costs and damages, and for injunctive relief requiring Honeywell to
remediate the site. In May 2003, the District Court found in favor of the
plaintiff and Grace. Honeywell appealed the judgment to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit. On September 20, 2004, Grace and Honeywell
entered into a settlement agreement under which Grace transferred the Jersey
City property to Honeywell, Honeywell agreed to indemnify Grace and paid Grace
$62.5 million. Grace recorded a gain of $50 million net of legal expenses,
transfer taxes, and the book value of the property.

2. On October 29, 2004, Grace received a letter informing the company that it
has been named as a target of a federal grand jury investigation involving
possible obstruction of federal agency proceedings, violations of federal
environmental laws, and conspiring with others to violate federal environmental
laws. Grace believes that the investigation is related to its former vermiculite
mining and processing activities in Libby, Montana. Grace has not been advised
of any details about the possible violations of law and is unable to assess at
this point whether the results of this investigation will be material to Grace.
Grace is aware that several current and former senior level employees associated
with Grace's construction products business also have been named as targets of
the investigation.

3. On October 26, 2004, a purported class action complaint (Bunch et. al. v. W.
R. Grace & co. et. al.) was filed in the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Kentucky against Grace, each member of Grace's Board of
Directors, certain current officers of Grace, the Grace Investment and Benefits
Committee, Fidelity Management Trust Company, State Street Bank and Trust
Company and State Street Global Advisors (collectively, the "Defendants"). The
complaint was brought on behalf of persons who owned shares of Grace common
stock within Grace's savings and investment plan, a defined contribution
retirement plan under section 401(k) of the Internal Revenue Code (the "S&I
Plan"). The complaint alleges that the Defendants were fiduciaries of the S&I
Plan under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 ("ERISA"), and
that the Defendants violated certain fiduciary duties under ERISA by appointing
the State Street Defendants to manage the Grace stock within the S&I Plan with
the authority to sell the Grace stock within the Plan, and by prohibiting the
S&I Plan participants from exercising independent control over that appointment
and the subsequent sale of all of the Grace stock from the S&I Plan. The
complaint states that the sale of the Grace stock resulted in substantial
retirement fund losses for the participants. The complaint also alleges that the
Defendants violated their fiduciary duties by failing to avoid certain conflicts
of interest, and by failing to disclose financial information regarding Grace
and other information, which prevented participants from making informed
decisions with respect to their investments within the S&I Plan.

                                      II-1

Grace believes that prosecution of this action should be stayed in Grace's
Chapter 11 proceeding. Grace likely would have an obligation to indemnify the
Defendants for any liability arising out of this lawsuit. However, Grace also
believes that the allegations are without merit and that any liability arising
therefrom would be covered by its fiduciary liability insurance.

This lawsuit is the second purported class action lawsuit filed alleging
breaches of fiduciary duty in connection with the management of the Grace common
stock fund in the S&I Plan. As further described in Grace's Quarterly Report on
Form 10-Q for the period ended June 30, 2004, the first lawsuit alleged breaches
of fiduciary duties under ERISA for failing to sell or take other appropriate
action with respect to Grace common stock when the defendants knew or should
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
          during the third quarter of 2004:

          July 22, 2004 - Press release announcing Grace's financial results for
          the quarter ended June 30, 2004.

          September 9, 2004 - Election of Alfred E. Festa as a Director.

          September 22, 2004 - Settlement Agreement with Honeywell
          International, Inc. concerning contamination of Grace-owned property
          at Route 440 in Jersey City, New Jersey.

                                      II-2

                                    SIGNATURE

In accordance with the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the
Registrant caused this Report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned,
thereunto duly authorized.

                                              W. R. GRACE & CO.
                                              -----------------------------
                                                    (Registrant)

Date:  November 5, 2004                       By /s/ Paul J. Norris
                                                 ------------------
                                                 Paul J. Norris
                                                 Chairman and
                                                 Chief Executive Officer

Date:  November 5, 2004                       By /s/ Robert M. Tarola
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

                                      II-4