Exhibit 99.1

Tier Technologies, Inc.
10780 Parkridge Blvd., Suite 400
Reston, VA 20191
CONTACT:
Matt Brusch, Director of Communications
mbrusch@tier.com
(571) 382-1048

Tier Technologies Receives SEC Subpoena

RESTON, Va., June 2, 2006 – Tier Technologies, Inc. (OTC: TIER), announced today that it received a subpoena dated May 31, 2006 from the Philadelphia District Office of the Securities and Exchange Commission requesting documents relating to financial reporting and personnel issues. Tier intends to cooperate fully in this investigation.

About Tier

Tier Technologies, Inc. offers a diversified array of innovative business and financial transaction processing solutions. Headquartered in Reston, Virginia, Tier’s clients include more than 2,200 federal, state, and local governments, educational institutions, utilities and commercial clients in the U.S. and abroad. Tier provides information technology solutions, and through its Official Payments Corp. subsidiary, delivers payment processing solutions for a wide range of markets. From designing, installing and maintaining cutting-edge public sector software systems, to delivering fast, secure and convenient financial transaction processing solutions, Tier provides integrated information solutions that solve problems while balancing innovation with practicality. For more information, see www.tier.com and www.officialpayments.com.

Statements made in this press release that are not historical facts, including statements regarding expectations for future revenues, earnings, and expenses, are forward-looking statements that are made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Tier undertakes no obligation to update any such forward-looking statements.

Each of these statements is made as of the date hereof based only on current information and expectations that are inherently subject to change and involve a number of risks and uncertainties. Actual events or results may differ materially from those projected in any of such statements due to various factors. For a discussion of the factors which may cause our actual events or results to differ from those projected, please refer to the Company’s annual report on Form 10-K for the year ended September 30, 2004, our most recent quarterly report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2005, as well as other filings with the SEC.

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