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[CNA SURETY LOGO]

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
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CONTACT:    John F. Corcoran, 312-822-1371
            Doreen Lubeck, 773-583-4331


         CNA SURETY TO PRESENT AT THE FRIEDMAN, BILLINGS, & RAMSEY 2005
                   INVESTOR CONFERENCE ON NOVEMBER 30TH, 2005

CHICAGO, NOVEMBER 18, 2005 - CNA Surety Corporation (NYSE:SUR) announced today that John F. Welch, President and Chief Executive Officer, and John F. Corcoran, Chief Financial Officer, will speak at the Friedman, Billings, Ramsey & Company, Inc. 2005 Investor Conference on Wednesday, November 30th at 2:00 PM (ET) at the Grand Hyatt New York, Park Avenue at Grand Central, in New York City. A live webcast will be available at http://www.wsw.com/webcast/fbr13/sur/ or go to the investor relations pages of the CNA Surety website (www.cnasurety.com). A replay will be available for 60 days after the conference at http://www.wsw.com/webcast/fbr13/sur/.

CNA Surety Corporation is the largest publicly traded surety company in the country. Through its principal subsidiary, Western Surety Company, CNA Surety provides surety and fidelity bonds in all 50 states through a combined network of approximately 34,000 independent agencies. The Company's Securities and Exchange Commission filings are available at www.sec.gov or visit us at www.cnasurety.com on the World Wide Web for a direct link to the SEC website.

"SAFE HARBOR" STATEMENT UNDER THE PRIVATE SECURITIES LITIGATION REFORM ACT OF 1995: The statements which are not historical facts contained in this release are forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties, including, but not limited to, product and policy demand and market response risks, the effect of economic conditions, the impact of significant increases in corporate defaults on a national or global basis, the impact of competitive products, policies and pricing, product and policy development, regulatory changes and conditions including underwriting limitations imposed by the U.S. Department of Treasury, rating agency policies and practices, development of claims and the effect on loss reserves, the performance of reinsurance companies under reinsurance contracts with the Company, the cost and availability of reinsurance contracts on reasonable terms, investment portfolio developments and reaction to market conditions, the results of financing efforts, the actual closing of contemplated transactions and agreements, the effect of the Company's accounting policies, and other risks detailed in the Company's Securities and Exchange Commission filings. No assurance can be given that the actual results of operations and financial condition will conform to the forward-looking statements contained herein.