Exhibit 99.1
Equity Office Announces Date of Shareholder Meeting
to Vote on Proposed Merger
CHICAGO, December 27, 2006 -— Equity Office Properties Trust (NYSE: EOP) today announced that it has scheduled a special meeting of shareholders to vote on a proposal to approve the previously announced definitive merger agreement which provides for the acquisition of Equity Office by Blackstone Real Estate Partners, an affiliate of The Blackstone Group. The special meeting will be held on Monday, February 5, 2007 at 8:30 a.m., local time, at One North Franklin Street, Chicago, Illinois. Shareholders of record as of the close of business on December 28, 2006 will be entitled to vote at the special meeting. Equity Office will commence the mailing of its definitive proxy statement to shareholders on or about January 2, 2007.
The closing of the merger remains subject to approval of the merger agreement by Equity Office’s shareholders and other customary closing conditions.
About Equity Office Properties Trust
Equity Office, operating through its various subsidiaries and affiliates, is the largest publicly traded owner and manager of office properties in the United States by square footage. At September 30, 2006, Equity Office had a national office portfolio comprised of whole or partial interests in 585 office buildings located in 16 states and the District of Columbia. As of that date, Equity Office had an ownership presence in 24 Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs) and in 100 submarkets, enabling it to provide a wide range of office solutions for local, regional and national customers.
Forward Looking Statements
This press release contains certain forward-looking statements based on current Equity Office management expectations. Those forward-looking statements include all statements other than those made solely with respect to historical fact. Numerous risks, uncertainties and other factors may cause actual results, performance or transactions of Equity Office and its subsidiaries to differ materially from those expressed in any forward-looking statements. These factors include, but are not limited to: (1) the failure to satisfy the conditions to completion of the proposed mergers with affiliates of The Blackstone Group, including the receipt of the required shareholder approval; (2) the failure to obtain the necessary financing arrangements set forth in the commitment letters received by Blackhawk Parent LLC (an affiliate of The Blackstone Group) in connection with the proposed mergers and the actual terms of such financings; (3) the failure of the proposed mergers to close for any other reason; (4) the occurrence of any effect, event, development or change that could give rise to the termination of the merger agreement; (5) the outcome of the legal proceedings that have been, or may be, instituted against Equity Office and others following the announcement of the proposed mergers; (6) the risks that the proposed transactions disrupt current plans and operations including potential difficulties in employee retention; (7) the amount of the costs, fees, expenses and charges related to the proposed mergers; and (8) the substantial indebtedness that will need to be incurred to finance consummation of the proposed mergers and related transactions, including the tender offers and consent solicitations and other refinancings of Equity Office and its subsidiaries; and other risks that are set forth in the “Risk Factors,” “Legal Proceedings” and “Management Discussion and Analysis of Results of Operations and Financial Condition” sections of Equity Office’s and EOP Operating Limited Partnership’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”). Many of the factors that will determine the outcome of the subject matter of this press release are beyond Equity Office’s ability to control or predict. Equity Office undertakes no obligation to revise or update any forward-looking statements, or to make any other forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.
Additional Information About the Mergers and Where to Find It
In connection with proposed merger transactions involving Equity Office and EOP Operating Limited Partnership and affiliates of The Blackstone Group, Equity Office filed a preliminary proxy statement with the SEC on December 14, 2006. Equity Office will also file a definitive proxy statement and other relevant documents with the SEC in connection with the proposed merger transactions, and will furnish the definitive proxy statement to Equity Office’s shareholders. SHAREHOLDERS ARE URGED TO READ CAREFULLY THE PROXY STATEMENT WHEN IT IS FINALIZED AND DISTRIBUTED TO SHAREHOLDERS BECAUSE IT WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE PROPOSED MERGER TRANSACTIONS. Shareholders will be able to obtain the proxy statement and all other relevant documents filed by Equity Office with the SEC free of charge at the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov or

from Equity Office Properties Trust, Investor Relations at Two North Riverside Plaza, Suite 2100, Chicago, Illinois, 60606, (800) 692-5304 or at www.equityoffice.com. The contents of the Equity Office website are not made part of this press release.
Equity Office and its trustees and officers and other members of management and employees may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies in respect to the proposed merger transactions. Information about Equity Office and its trustees and executive officers, and their ownership of Equity Office’s securities, is set forth in the proxy statement relating to the proposed merger transactions described above.

CONTACT:	Equity Office Properties Trust Beth Coronelli, 312-466-3286 (Investors/Analysts) Terry Holt, 312-466-3102 (Media)

SOURCE:	Equity Office Properties Trust