Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Calgary 403-269-7605

     Attention Business Editors:
     Compton reports $150.2 million asset sales, further debt reduction &
     increased capital program

     CALGARY, June 7 /CNW/ - Compton Petroleum Corporation (TSX - CMT, NYSE -
CMZ) is pleased to announce that it has entered into purchase and sale
agreements relating to the disposition of a portion of its natural gas assets
located in the Niton and Gilby areas in Central Alberta. Gross proceeds from
the transactions are expected to be $150.2 million, which will be used to
reduce outstanding indebtedness and provide additional capital for Compton's
2010 development program.
     The properties to be sold produced approximately 3,100 boe/d on a
combined basis at the effective date of the transactions and were assigned net
proved and net proved plus probable reserves of 9.4 MMboe and 14.1 MMboe,
respectively, at December 31, 2009. This results in overall sale metrics of
$48,500 per equivalent flowing barrel of production and $15.90 and $10.64 per
BOE of reserves, for proved and proved plus probable, respectively.
     Upon completion of the transactions, Compton will retain a dominant
position in the Niton area, providing significant upside potential through its
multiple zone development opportunities and contiguous land blocks. The
Corporation plans to drill 11 gross wells in this area in 2010, targeting a
number of prospective formations. Compton will continue to hold a significant
overall land position, totaling 165,019 gross (124,425 net) acres in the area,
of which 93,105 gross (77,545 net) acres are undeveloped.
     These property sales represent another step in Compton's continuing
initiatives to reduce debt, streamline operations and better position itself
for growth opportunities.
     "These transactions highlight the value of our assets, which is not
currently being reflected in our share price," said Tim Granger, President and
Chief Executive Officer. "The overall deal metrics are excellent, resulting in
high per flowing barrel and reserve values as compared to other recent natural
gas transactions. They are also consistent with our objective to improve
financial flexibility while preserving significant upside potential for
shareholders. We continue to believe that Compton's asset base can generate
solid returns and production growth in a conservative natural gas price
environment."
     The transactions are expected to be accretive to Compton and its
shareholders as the Corporation's forward looking cash flow per share is
expected to improve with reduced costs offsetting lower production levels.
Furthermore, future cash flow should be sufficient to maintain or modestly
increase production, assuming natural gas prices in the $5/GJ AECO range.
     Upon the successful completion of the transactions, Compton's capital
structure will improve with a projected 2011 debt to cash flow ratio of
approximately 5 to 6 times. This assumes a $5.50/GJ AECO natural gas price and
is dependent on investment levels and resulting production rates. Every
$0.25/GJ change in the natural gas price would impact the projected 2011 debt
to cash flow ratio by approximately 0.5 times.
     Under these assumptions, Management anticipates that it can maintain or
modestly grow production in 2011 from 2010 levels with a capital development
budget that does not exceed projected cash flow. With conservative gas prices,
Compton's asset base offers solid returns and production growth.
     "Though not complete, the improvements to our capital structure and
ensuing accretion in our netbacks will result in a stable position from which
to grow," Mr. Granger continued. "Looking forward, we anticipate generating
sufficient cash flow to maintain or grow our production base. Our overall debt
levels are manageable today and, as such, the majority of our focus can now
shift to developing our excellent asset base as we continue to work towards
further opportunities to improve our debt ratios."
     The sale transactions have been approved by Compton's Board of Directors,
which has concluded that the transactions are in the best interest of
shareholders. The transactions are expected to close at the end of June and in
mid-July and are subject to conditions typical of transactions of this nature
(including, in the case of one of the sales, the completion of an underwritten
financing transaction).

     Outlook

     With a strengthened capital structure and a high quality inventory of
drilling prospects, Compton will focus on demonstrating the solid growth
potential and underlying value of its asset base. The Corporation's revised
guidance for 2010, taking into account the sale transactions, is as follows:

     <<
                                                             Revised Guidance
                                                             ----------------
         Average daily production (boe/d)                    16,000 - 16,500
         Cash flow ($ millions)                              $40 - $50
         Capital expenditures ($ millions)                   $70 - $80
         2010 Pricing:
           Natural gas - AECO (Cdn$/GJ)                      $4.70
           Crude oil - Edmonton Sweet (Cdn$/bbl)             $78.39
           Exchange rate (US$/Cdn$)                          $0.99

         NB: A $0.25 change in the AECO natural gas price is expected to
             result in a $7.0 million change in cash flow.
     >>

     Capital expenditures for 2010 will be funded through cash flow generated
from operations and other sources such as the sale transactions. During the
third and fourth quarters of 2010, Compton anticipates drilling four gross
Cardium wells in the Niton area and two to three Basal Quartz wells at High
River. The Corporation also plans to drill three wells in the Foothills area
prior to year-end: one well at Todd Creek and two at Callum/Cowley.
     Compton's corporate strategy is to focus on asset development, maintain
financial flexibility and optimize cost structures as well as operating
efficiencies to deliver economic growth. The Corporation will pursue future
development plans to maximize the upside potential of its assets, accelerating
its program as commodity prices allow. Management will continue to employ a
disciplined approach to development to create long-term growth in shareholder
value.

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     Advisories

     Non-GAAP Financial Measures

     Included in this document are references to terms used in the oil and gas
industry such as cash flow, debt and capitalization. Non-GAAP measures do not
have any standardized meaning and therefore reported amounts may not be
comparable to similarly titled measures reported by other companies. These
measures have been described and presented in this document in order to
provide shareholders and potential investors with additional information
regarding the Company's liquidity and its ability to generate funds to finance
its operations.
     Cash flow should not be considered an alternative to, or more meaningful
than, cash provided by operating, investing and financing activities or net
earnings as determined in accordance with Canadian GAAP, as an indicator of
the Corporation's performance or liquidity. Cash flow is used by Compton to
evaluate operating results and the Corporation's ability to generate cash to
fund capital expenditures and repay debt.
     Debt is comprised of floating rate bank debt and fixed rate senior term
notes. Capitalization is defined as bank debt plus shareholder's equity.

     Use of Boe Equivalents

     The oil and natural gas industry commonly expresses production volumes
and reserves on a barrel of oil equivalent ("boe") basis whereby natural gas
volumes are converted at the ratio of six thousand cubic feet to one barrel of
oil. The intention is to sum oil and natural gas measurement units into one
basis for improved measurement of results and comparisons with other industry
participants. We use the 6:1 boe measure which is the approximate energy
equivalency of the two commodities at the burner tip. However, boes do not
represent a value equivalency at the well head and therefore may be a
misleading measure if used in isolation.

     Forward-Looking Statements

     Certain information regarding the Corporation contained herein
constitutes forward-looking information and statements and financial outlooks
(collectively, "forward-looking statements") under the meaning of applicable
securities laws, including Canadian Securities Administrators' National
Instrument 51-102 Continuous Disclosure Obligations and the United States
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements
include estimates, plans, expectations, opinions, forecasts, projections,
guidance, or other statements that are not statements of fact, including
statements regarding (i) cash flow and capital and operating expenditures,
(ii) exploration, drilling, completion, and production matters, (iii) results
of operations, (iv) financial position, and (v) other risks and uncertainties
described from time to time in the reports and filings made by Compton with
securities regulatory authorities. Although Compton believes that the
assumptions underlying, and expectations reflected in, such forward-looking
statements are reasonable, it can give no assurance that such assumptions and
expectations will prove to have been correct. There are many factors that
could cause forward-looking statements not to be correct, including risks and
uncertainties inherent in the Corporation's business. These risks include, but
are not limited to: crude oil and natural gas price volatility, exchange rate
fluctuations, availability of services and supplies, operating hazards, access
difficulties and mechanical failures, weather related issues, uncertainties in
the estimates of reserves and in projection of future rates of production and
timing of development expenditures, general economic conditions, and the
actions or inactions of third-party operators, and other risks and
uncertainties described from time to time in the reports and filings made with
securities regulatory authorities by Compton. Statements relating to
"reserves" and "resources" are deemed to be forward-looking statements, as
they involve the implied assessment, based on estimates and assumptions, that
the reserves and resources described exist in the quantities predicted or
estimated, and can be profitably produced in the future.
     The forward-looking statements contained herein are made as of the date
of this news release solely for the purpose of generally disclosing Compton's
views of the results of its reserve evaluation. Compton may, as considered
necessary in the circumstances, update or revise the forward-looking
statements, whether as a result of new information, future events, or
otherwise, but Compton does not undertake to update this information at any
particular time, except as required by law. Compton cautions readers that the
forward-looking statements may not be appropriate for purposes other than
their intended purposes and that undue reliance should not be placed on any
forward-looking statement. The Corporation's forward-looking statements are
expressly qualified in their entirety by this cautionary statement.

     About Compton Petroleum Corporation

     Compton Petroleum Corporation is a public company actively engaged in the
exploration, development and production of natural gas, natural gas liquids,
and crude oil in western Canada. Our strategy is focused on creating value for
shareholders by providing appropriate investment returns through the effective
development and optimization of assets. The Corporation's operations are
located in the Deep Basin fairway of the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin. In
this large geographical region, we pursue three deep basin natural gas plays:
the Gething/Rock Creek sands at Niton and Gilby in central Alberta, the Basal
Quartz sands at High River in southern Alberta, and the shallower Southern
Plains sand play in southern Alberta. In addition, we have an exploratory play
at Callum/Cowley in the Foothills area of southern Alberta. Being in the Deep
Basin, all areas have multi-zone potential, providing future development and
exploration opportunity. Natural gas represents approximately 84% of reserves
and production. Compton's shares are listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange
under the symbol CMT and on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol CMZ.

     %CIK: 0001043572

     /For further information: Susan J. Soprovich, Director, Investor
Relations, Ph: (403) 668-6732, Fax: (403) 237-9410, Email:
investorinfo(at)comptonpetroleum.com, Website: www.comptonpetroleum.com/
     (CMT. CMZ)

CO:  Compton Petroleum Corporation

CNW 08:11e 07-JUN-10