Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Calgary 403-269-7605

    Attention Business/Financial Editors:
    Compton Expects 2007 Production Growth of 11% to 14% on $375 Million
    Capital Investment Program

    CALGARY, Dec. 21 /CNW/ - Compton Petroleum Corporation (TSX - CMT, NYSE -
CMZ) is pleased to announce its capital program and plans for 2007.

    <<
    2007 Program Highlights:

    -   $375 million capital investment program
    -   330 well drilling program
    -   Expected average production of 37,000 to 38,000 boe/d
    -   Projected operating cash flow of $310 to $320 million
    -   Emphasis on organic growth and disciplined capital spending
    >>

    Building on Success

    During 2006, Compton achieved a drilling success rate in excess of 90%
and advanced the development of its core properties in all areas of
operations. Compton's objectives for 2007 build upon this success by remaining
focused on the development of its unconventional natural gas resource plays
and conventional light oil play. Activities for 2007 include a 330 well
drilling program and capital spending of $375 million.
    "We have been building Compton for the long-term," said Ernie Sapieha,
President and CEO. "We are committed to our strategy of delivering growth
through the drill bit. We have accumulated a very extensive land base and
identified four natural gas resource plays on these lands. Over the last few
years, our drilling programs have been designed to delineate the extent of
these plays, determine their resource potential, and prove our technical
models and capital requirements. We have come a long way in this regard and
three of these resource plays are now largely defined and understood. Our
consistent reserve growth, at competitive costs, clearly demonstrates the
value being created through the development of these plays and we believe we
are now in position to realize on this value through production growth. Our
2007 plans have been developed with this strategy in mind."
    In 2007, Compton will concentrate on development drilling and an
acceleration of on-stream timing with the view to production growth. At the
same time, increased emphasis will be placed on capital discipline. During
periods of high industry activity and continued high inflation, Compton
believes it is prudent to move forward with a moderate capital spending
program while completing its resource delineation phase. This should place the
Company in an excellent position to realize on its reserve base in 2008 and
beyond through accelerated production.

    Industry Considerations

    In response to lower commodity prices and a continuing high cost
environment, industry activity in western Canada, and particularly natural gas
related activity, has slowed appreciably with a number of companies announcing
reduced 2007 capital expenditure programs. Compton expects this reduction in
activity will result in lower service costs as the demand for goods and
services lessens, particularly subsequent to the 2007 winter drilling season.
Compton has budgeted 2007 capital expenditures based upon 2006 historical
costs and the Company's capital program is weighted towards the second half of
2007 to take advantage of expected reduced costs. With an actively managed
superior asset base, the Company is in an excellent position to benefit from
declining finding and development costs resulting from reduced industry
activity. One hundred and ninety wells are planned for the second half of
2007, and 140 wells are planned for the first half.
    Compton believes that the significant reduction in natural gas drilling
and completions will impact production from the Western Canada Sedimentary
Basin. At the same time, the demand for natural gas in Alberta is increasing,
largely driven by increased oil sands activity. As a result, Compton expects
natural gas prices to strengthen in the second half of 2007. Although the
Company is bullish on the longer term outlook for natural gas, the 2007
capital program is based on conservative pricing, while planning for
accelerated activity in the latter part of 2007 and beyond.

    Positive Regulatory Pronouncements

    The Alberta Energy and Utilities Board (EUB), the industry regulatory
authority in Alberta, brought forward two important initiatives in 2006
relating to down-spacing and commingling of production from two or more
producing zones. These new regulations will be of significant benefit to
Compton as they will facilitate a more cost efficient development of the
Company's reserves, particularly its Belly River/Edmonton Horseshoe Canyon
shallow gas play in southern Alberta.

    2007 Capital and Drilling Program

    The Company plans to drill 330 wells during the year, consistent with the
number of wells drilled in 2006, notwithstanding that, total 2007 budgeted
expenditures of $375 million represent a decrease of approximately
$100 million from projected 2006 capital spending. The reduction in 2007
spending levels from that of the prior year relate to reduced spending on
facilities and equipment and land and seismic. The Company has previously made
significant investments in these areas that will benefit results in 2007 and
beyond. Drilling and completion costs are budgeted at $242 million, a decrease
of approximately $50 million from 2006. The Company plans to drill more lower
cost shallow gas wells than last year, and the efficiencies associated with
grouped drilling, down-spacing, and reduced exploratory drilling will result
in capital spending efficiencies and consistent finding and development costs.
    Historically, Compton's three year average finding, development, and
acquisition ("FD&A") costs, on a proved plus probable basis, including future
capital, have been $13.35 per boe ($2.22 per mcfe). The Company expects the
2007 capital program will result in FD&A costs in the $12.00 to $13.00 per boe
range ($2.00 to $2.17 per mcfe).
    Compton's 2007 capital investment program is outlined by category and
area in the following tables.

    <<
    Capital Expenditures ($ millions)
    ---------------------------------
    All currency quoted in Canadian dollars, unless otherwise noted.

                                                                        2007
                                                                        ----
    By Category
      Drilling & Completions                                           $ 242
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Land & Seismic                                                      40
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Facilities & Equipment                                              93
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                       $ 375

    By Area
      Southern Alberta                                                 $ 220
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Central Alberta                                                    108
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Peace River Arch                                                    40
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Other                                                                7
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                       $ 375

    Drilling by Area, Gross Well Count
    ----------------------------------
                                                                        2007
                                                                        ----
      Southern Alberta                                                   236
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Central Alberta                                                     39
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Peace River Arch                                                    21
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Other                                                               34
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                         330
    >>

    Compton's focus properties are all economically sound in today's range of
fluctuating commodity prices. Building on drilling success in all core areas,
the Company currently plans to focus on its four natural gas resources plays
and its conventional light oil play in the Peace River Arch.
    In the Plains Belly River/Edmonton group, the Company has budgeted
approximately 215 drill wells. In select areas, drilling is planned in groups
of 20 to 40 wells to capitalize on down-spacing and associated cost
efficiencies. Low pressure gathering and compression facilities are largely in
place in the areas and should assist in reduced on-stream times. It is the
Company's intent that production from these multi-zone wells will be
commingled for optimal production results.
    Compton is currently planning to drill 19 Basal Quartz wells in the
Hooker area during 2007. The majority of these wells are planned for the
second half of 2007, on in-fill locations, once down-spacing is approved by
the Company's industry partner.
    At Callum, we are pursuing an exploratory thrusted Belly River play. Two
wells are presently budgeted for 2007. Activities in the area will be
increased once regulatory well licensing issues are resolved.
    Drill results during 2006 in the Niton area in central Alberta have
largely exceeded expectations and the Company plans to drill 39 wells in the
area, all primarily targeting deep basin gas.
    In the Peace River Arch, where Compton has a conventional light oil play,
the Company plans to accelerate its horizontal drilling program, particularly
in the first quarter of 2007. Approximately 21 wells are planned at Cecil and
Worsley in 2007.

    Production, Cash Flow, and Pricing

    Average production for 2007 is expected to be in the range of 37,000 to
38,000 boe/d, an increase of 11% to 14% over estimated average 2006 production
levels. Operating cash flow is projected to be in the range of $310 to
$320 million, based on budgeted average realized natural gas prices of
$7.50/mcf and realized crude oil prices of $60.00/bbl. Budgeted commodity
prices are based upon benchmark pricing outlined in the following table.
    Operating cash flow is supported by hedges on approximately 30% of the
Company's 2007 production, net of royalties, through to October 31, 2007. The
Company intends to further increase this support and plans to enter into
additional commodity hedges under appropriate market conditions, in a staged
approach, with a view to increasing its hedge position to as much as 60% of
production, net of royalties.
    Projected operating cash flow together with funds available from the
Company's current credit facilities will be more than adequate to fund
Compton's planned 2007 capital program.
    Compton has utilized debt to assist in the development of its assets. The
major component of this debt is long-term, consistent with the long-term
nature of the Company's reserves, and is not due until 2013. Additionally, the
Company has authorized syndicated credit facilities of $500 million of which
$325 million will be utilized at December 31, 2006, before receipt of proceeds
from announced dispositions. As of this date, the Company has accepted offers
for the purchase and sale of approximately $75 million of minor non-core
properties, including certain facility interests, and is in the process of
negotiating definitive purchase and sale agreements. These transactions are
expected to close early in the new-year.

    <<
    Price Realization Assumptions
    -----------------------------

    Cash Flow, $ millions(1)                    $310 - $320
    -------------------------------------------------------

    Pricing                                      Benchmark          Realized
    -------                                      ---------          --------
      Natural Gas                          $7.30/gj - AECO         $7.50/mcf
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Oil                                   US$62.00 - WTI        $60.00/bbl
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    (1) Cash flow is a non-GAAP measure, the components of which are set out
        in our 2005 Annual Report. Cash flow sensitivities include the effect
        of commodity hedging contracts in place as at 3Q 2006.

    Daily Production Volumes (Before Royalties)(2)
    ----------------------------------------------
                                                                        2007
                                                                        ----
      Average Production, boe/d                              37,000 - 38,000
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Year over Year Growth, %                                     11% - 14%
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    (2) 2007 production volumes have been adjusted to reflect planned
        property dispositions.

    Pricing Sensitivities
    ---------------------

      Natural Gas   a $0.25 change in AECO pricing results in an $12 million
                    change in cash flow
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Crude Oil     a $1.00 change in crude oil pricing results in a
                    $2 million change in cash flow
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    >>

    2007 - Realizing Value

    As previously mentioned, oil and gas industry activity in western Canada
is expected to slow in the first half of 2007 in response to soft commodity
prices and the high cost of goods and services. Additionally, uncertainty
resulting from the proposed taxation of Trust distributions may compound this
slowdown. Compton currently has a large inventory of development drilling
locations and this will increase significantly as 3-D seismic surveys in
southern Alberta and at Niton are completed early in the new year. The need to
exercise capital discipline during periods of price volatility and high costs
has been a factor in planning the Company's 2007 activities. Equally important
is the need to increase the Company's complement of qualified personnel
necessary for significantly expanded drilling programs. Compton views reduced
industry activity and uncertainty as an opportunity to attract additional
staff in preparation for increased drilling programs in the last half of 2007
and into 2008.
    "Compton has purposely taken a staged approach to growth and we are ready
for the next stage," commented Mr. Sapieha. "We are well positioned, both
financially and strategically, to deliver superior sustainable growth and
value to our shareholders. We will focus on the development of our resource
plays and deliver solid production growth in 2007. The key to unlocking value
from natural gas resource plays is expanded drilling programs and
down-spacing. Current industry conditions will provide us with the opportunity
to expand our technical teams. With the new regulatory pronouncements,
expected strengthening gas prices later in 2007, our large inventory of
drilling locations, and the necessary personnel, we are well positioned for
the next stage of our development. Commencing in the latter part of 2007 and
into 2008 we will be ready to realize on our long-term reserve base through
accelerated production."

    CONFERENCE CALL
    ---------------

    Compton will be conducting a conference call and audio webcast January 3,
2007 at 9:30 a.m. (MT) or 11:30 pm. (ET) to discuss the Company's 2007
operating plans. To participate in the conference call, please contact the
Conference Operator at 9:20 a.m. (MT), ten minutes prior to the call.

    Conference Operator Dial-in Number: Toll-Free 1-800-733-7571
    Local Toronto: 1-416-644-3416
    Audio webcast URL:
    www.newswire.ca/en/webcast/viewEvent.cgi?eventID(equal sign)1686080

    The audio replay will be available two hours after the conclusion of the
conference call and will be accessible until January 10, 2007. Callers may
dial toll-free 1-877-289-8525 and enter access code 21214480 (followed by the
pound key).

    Forward-Looking Statements
    --------------------------
    Certain information regarding the Company contained herein constitutes
forward-looking statements under the meaning of applicable securities laws,
including the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995.
Forward-looking statements include estimates, plans, expectations, opinions,
forecasts, projections, guidance, or other statements that are not statements
of fact, including statements regarding (i) capital and operating expenditures
(ii) exploration, drilling, completion, and production matters and (iii) other
risks and uncertainties described from time to time in the reports and filings
made by Compton with securities regulatory authorities. Although Compton
believes that the expectations reflected in such forward-looking statements
are reasonable, it can give no assurance that such expectations will prove to
have been correct. There are many factors that could cause forward-looking
statements not to be correct, including risks and uncertainties inherent in
the Company's business. These risks include, but are not limited to: crude oil
and natural gas price volatility, exchange rate fluctuations, availability of
services and supplies, operating hazards, access difficulties and mechanical
failures, weather related issues, uncertainties in the estimates of reserves
and in projection of future rates of production and timing of development
expenditures, general economic conditions, and the actions or inactions of
third-party operators. Compton may, as considered necessary in the
circumstances, update or revise forward-looking information, whether as a
result of new information, future events, or otherwise. The Company's
forward-looking statements are expressly qualified in their entirety by this
cautionary statement.

    Compton Petroleum Corporation is a Calgary-based public company actively
engaged in the exploration, development, and production of natural gas,
natural gas liquids, and crude oil in the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin.
Compton's shares are listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol CMT
and on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol CMZ.

    %SEDAR: 00003803E          %CIK: 0001043572

    /For further information: on Compton Petroleum Corporation is available
on the Company's website, www.comptonpetroleum.com, or by contacting: Ernie
Sapieha, President & CEO, (403) 237-5808; Norm Knecht, VP Finance & CFO, (403)
205-5812; Corinna King, Manager, Investor Relations, (403) 205-5844/
    (CMT. CMZ)

CO:  Compton Petroleum Corporation

CNW 19:52e 21-DEC-06