EXHIBIT 99.1
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LOGO - MFN
                                  NEWS RELEASE
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Corporate Headquarters 360 Hamilton Avenue White Plains, NY 10601 914.421.6700
www.mfn.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



                 METROMEDIA FIBER NETWORK ANNOUNCES TERMINATION
                            OF FIBER OPTIC AGREEMENTS


NEW YORK, APRIL 6, 2002 - Metromedia Fiber Network, Inc. (MFN) (NASDAQ: MFNX), the leading provider of digital communications infrastructure, announced today the receipt of notices from Verizon Global Networks and Genuity Solutions terminating their respective fiber optic agreements with MFN. These fiber optic agreements call for the Company to lease capacity to Verizon and Genuity on the Company's fiber optic network and for Verizon and Genuity to make total payments to the Company of $350 million and $200 million, respectively, of which $235 million and $140 million, respectively, ha ve already been paid to MFN. Verizon is continuing to engage in discussions with MFN concerning their relationship.

The Company also expects to shortly commence negotiations with the holders of its other indebtedness regarding a consensual restructuring of its indebtedness.

There can be no assurances that MFN will reach agreements with its creditors. As previously announced, if the Company is unable to successfully restructure its indebtedness, MFN may be required to file for protection under Chapter 11 of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code. In addition, any potential restructuring of MFN's indebtedness may result in substantial dilution to the Company's existing stockholders.


METROMEDIA FIBER NETWORK, INC.
MFN is the leading provider of digital communications infrastructure solutions. The Company combines the most extensive metropolitan area fiber network with a global optical IP network, state-of-the-art data centers, award-winning managed services and extensive peering relationships to deliver fully integrated, outsourced communications solutions to Global 2000 companies. The all-fiber infrastructure enables MFN customers to share vast amounts of information internally and externally over private networks and a global IP backbone, creating collaborative businesses that communicate at the speed of light.

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Customers can take advantage of MFN's complete, end-to-end solution or select
individual components to complement their existing infrastructures. By leasing MFN's metropolitan and regional fiber, customers can create their own, private optical network with virtually unlimited, un-metered bandwidth at a fixed fee. For more reliable, secure and high-performance Internet connectivity, customers can use MFN's private IP network to communicate globally without ever touching the public-switched network. Moreover, MFN's comprehensive managed services enable companies to create a world-class Internet presence, optimize complex sites and private optical networks, and transform legacy applications, all with a single point of contact.

PAIX.net, Inc., a subsidiary of MFN and the original neutral Internet exchange, offers secure, Class A co-location facilities where ISPs and other Internet-centric companies can form public and private peering relationships with each other, and have access to multiple telecommunications carriers for circuits within each facility.
One network. One infrastructure. One source.

For more information on MFN, please visit our Web site at

THIS NEWS RELEASE CONTAINS FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS THAT INVOLVE RISKS AND UNCERTAINTIES. FACTORS THAT COULD CAUSE OR CONTRIBUTE TO SUCH RISKS AND UNCERTAINTIES INCLUDE, BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO, GENERAL ECONOMIC AND BUSINESS CONDITIONS, COMPETITION, CHANGES IN TECHNOLOGY AND METHODS OF MARKETING, AVAILABILITY OF FINANCING, EXECUTION RISK RELATING TO THE TRANSACTION DESCRIBED HEREIN AND VARIOUS OTHER FACTORS BEYOND THE COMPANY'S CONTROL. THIS ALSO INCLUDES SUCH FACTORS AS ARE DESCRIBED FROM TIME TO TIME IN THE SEC REPORTS FILED BY METROMEDIA FIBER NETWORK, INCLUDING THE MOST RECENTLY FILED FORMS S-3, 10-K AND 10-Q.

MEDIA RELATIONS:                    INVESTOR RELATIONS:
Richard Dym                         Martin Cohen
Metromedia Fiber Network   212-606-4389
408-521-5843
richard.dym@mfn.com