® Sonic Automotive – Investor Presentation April 2022 Updated April 28, 2022

2 Forward-Looking Statements This presentation contains “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These statements relate to future events, are not historical facts and are based on our current expectations and assumptions regarding our business, the economy and other future conditions. These statements can generally be identified by lead-in words such as “may,” “will,” “should,” “could,” “believe,” “expect,” “estimate,” “anticipate,” “intend,” “plan,” “foresee” and other similar words or phrases. Statements that describe our Company’s objectives, plans or goals are also forward-looking statements. Examples of such forward-looking information we may be discussing in this presentation include, without limitation, the effects of COVID-19 and new variants of the virus on operations, our anticipated future new vehicle unit sales volume, revenues and profitability, our anticipated future used vehicle unit sales volume, revenues and profitability, future levels of consumer demand for new and used vehicles, our anticipated future parts, service and collision repair (“Fixed Operations”) gross profit, our anticipated expense reductions, long-term annual revenue and profitability targets, anticipated future growth capital expenditures, profitability and pricing expectations in our EchoPark Segment, EchoPark’s omnichannel strategy, anticipated future EchoPark population coverage, anticipated future EchoPark revenue and unit sales volume, anticipated future performance and growth of our Franchised Dealerships Segment, anticipated liquidity positions, anticipated industry new vehicle sales volume, the implementation of growth and operating strategies, including acquisitions of dealerships and properties, anticipated future acquisition synergies, the integration of the RFJ Auto acquisition, the return of capital to stockholders, anticipated future success and impacts from the implementation of our strategic initiatives, and earnings per share expectations. You are cautioned that these forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance, involve risks and uncertainties and actual results may differ materially from those projected in the forward-looking statements as a result of various factors. These risks and uncertainties include, without limitation, economic conditions in the markets in which we operate, supply chain disruptions and manufacturing delays, labor shortages, the impacts of inflation and increases in interest rates, new and used vehicle industry sales volume, the success of our operational strategies, the rate and timing of overall economic expansion or contraction, and the risk factors described in the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2021 and other reports and information filed with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”). These forward-looking statements, risks, uncertainties and additional factors speak only as of the date of this presentation. We undertake no obligation to update any such statements, except as required under federal securities laws and the rules and regulations of the SEC.

3 Company Overview

4 ® Sonic Automotive: Who We Are QUICK FACTS (NYSE: SAH) a Fortune 500 Company and One of the Nation’s Largest Automotive Retailers 160 25+ 23 17 $12.4 Billion $1.9 Billion 103K New Vehicles Sold 183K Total Revenues Automotive Brands Locations Used Vehicles Sold Collision Centers States Gross Profit Note: Location Counts As Of April 28, 2022. Revenues, Gross Profit, New & Used Vehicles Sold are for FY 2021 Our Core Franchised Dealerships Segment is a Full-Service Automotive Retail Business With Strategic Growth Levers Across Multiple Business Lines with a Diversified Brand Portfolio Our High Growth EchoPark Segment Offers a Unique Approach to Pre-Owned Vehicle and F&I Sales Below-Market Pricing with a No Haggle Purchase Experience Drives Industry-Leading Used Vehicle Volume Throughput

5 Investment Highlights Multiple Growth And Profit Drivers For Franchised Segment Unique, High Return EchoPark Business Model Broad Revenue Stream Diversification Complementary Relationship – Sonic Franchised And EchoPark Disciplined Capital Allocation To Accelerate EchoPark Growth Focused On Expense Control And Maintaining Strong Balance Sheet Expect To Grow Total Revenue To $28 Billion By 2025 Note: Total revenue projection is estimate of future results. Actual results may differ. Anticipated 2025 revenue includes $3.2 billion in annual revenues expected from the RFJ Auto acquisition completed in December 2021. See “Forward-Looking Statements.”

6 Revenue Composition BY GEOGRAPHY TX 28% CA 24% CO 9% TN 8% FL 7% AL 5% GA 4% NC 4% MD 2% SC 2% VA 2% NV 2% All Others 3% Broad Geographic Distribution Geographic Footprint, Revenue Streams and Brand Mix Offer Attractive Diversification Across the Automotive Retail Space Note: Percentages are Percent of Total Revenue for FY 2021

7 Revenue Composition – Diversified Revenue Streams Note: Percentages are Percent of Total for FY 2021 5% 33% 11% 35% 42% 7% 42% 25% Revenue Gross Profit New Vehicle Used Vehicle (Including Wholesale) Parts, Service & Collision Repair ("Fixed Operations") Finance & Insurance ("F&I") Brand Distribution Note: Percentages are Percent of Total Revenue for FY 2021 Brand % of Revenue Franchise Brand % of Revenue BMW 21% Mercedes 10% Audi 5% Lexus 4% Land Rover 3% Porsche 3% Cadillac 2% Volvo 1% Other Luxury (1) 3% Honda 10% Toyota 6% Volkswagen 1% Hyundai 1% Nissan 1% Other Import (2) 1% EchoPark 18% Non-Franchise 18% Ford 5% Chevrolet GMC Buick 4% Luxury 52% 20%Import Domestic 10% (1) Includes MINI, Maserati, Jaguar, Infiniti, Acura and Alfa Romeo (2) Includes Subaru and Mazda Business Line Mix Majority Of Gross Profit Driven By Stable Business Lines

8 ® EchoPark Automotive – A Unique Growth Story Growing Nationwide Distribution Network Expected To Reach 90% Of Population By 2025 Unique, High Return Business Model Focus On High Quality 1 to 4-Year-Old Nearly New Vehicles Wide Reach – 30% of Guests Travel More Than 30 Minutes To Shop Our Inventory Priced Up To $3,000 Below Market With Simplified, Easy Purchase Experience Focus On Pre-Owned Market – 2.5x Larger & More Stable Than New Vehicle Market The New Car Alternative™ Price. Quality. Experience.

9 Franchised Dealerships ® ® Complementary Relationship Between Segments • Thrives When New Vehicle Industry Is Healthy, Particularly Where Luxury Brands Are Strong • Diversified Revenue Streams • Relatively Low Fixed Costs And Multiple Strategic Levers • Further Growth Opportunities:  Parts And Service Business  Used Vehicles  F&I Penetration  Expense Leverage  Strategic Acquisitions • Strong Secular Growth Phase Due To:  Focus On Highly Fragmented Pre-Owned Vehicle Market  Below-Market Pricing Strategy  Simplified, Easy Purchase Experience • In A Declining Pre-Owned Vehicle Price Environment, EchoPark Should:  Benefit From Rapid Inventory Turns, Creating An Even Greater Pricing Advantage Over Competitors To Drive Additional Unit Sales Volume

10 Strategic Direction • Continued Growth Opportunity In Parts & Service, F&I Per Unit • Ongoing Profitability Enhancement Through SG&A Expense Control, Inventory Management • Pursue Strategic Acquisition Opportunities As Market Evolves • Utilize Existing Infrastructure To Support Omnichannel Distribution Network • Early-Stage Strong Secular Growth Phase • Achieved >30% U.S. Population Coverage By End Of 2021, Expect 90% Coverage By 2025 • Nationwide Distribution Network Expected To Deliver 575,000 Unit Sales And $14 Billion In Annual Revenues By 2025 • Addressable Market Opportunity Of 2 Million Vehicles • Invest In Proprietary Digital Retail Platform To Accelerate Growth • Focus On Guest Experience To Drive Market Share Gains • Balanced Capital Allocation Strategy Prioritizes Highest Return on Investment • Return Of Capital To Shareholders Via Dividend And Share Repurchase Program Franchised Dealerships EchoParkStrategic Drivers Note: Profitability, unit sales volume, revenue, and population coverage projections are estimates of future results. Actual results may differ. See “Forward-Looking Statements.”

11 Strong Balance Sheet And Liquidity March 31, 2022 December 31, 2021 (In Millions) Cash and cash equivalents 360.2$ 299.4$ Availability under the 2021 Revolving Credit Facility 274.0 281.4 Availability under the 2019 Mortgage Facility 24.9 22.2 Floor plan deposit balance 125.5 99.8 Total available liquidity resources 784.6$ 702.8$ Covenant Requirement* March 31, 2022 December 31, 2021 Liquidity ratio >= 1.05 1.26 1.26 Fixed charge coverage ratio >= 1.20 2.66 2.69 Total lease adjusted leverage ratio <= 5.75 2.11 2.46 Net debt to Adjusted EBITDA ratio(1) 1.48 1.80 * As Defined In The 2021 Revolving Credit Facility and 2019 Mortgage Facility (1) Refer To Appendix For Calculation And Reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDA (A Non-GAAP Measure) and Net Debt To Adjusted EBITDA Ratio (A Non-GAAP Measure) Current Leverage Ratios Are Within Internal Target Range $87M Increase in Cash And Deposits

12 EchoPark

13 EchoPark – Brand Promise Up To 40% Below New Vehicle Price Up To $3,000 Below Used Vehicle Market Price High Quality, Low Mileage Vehicles Transparent Guest-Centric Experience New Car Feel Without The New Car Price Complete Purchase In Under An Hour Free CARFAX Report With Every Vehicle Buy & Sell Your Way – On-Site Or Online P r i c e . Q u a l i t y. E x p e r i e n c e . L o w C o s t O m n i c h a n n e l M o d e l

14 EchoPark – Developing Nationwide Distribution Network Over 30% Population Coverage To Date Target 90% Population Coverage By 2025 Note: Future locations and U.S. population coverage are based on projections. Actual results may differ. See “Forward-Looking Statements.” Existing Delivery Center Future Delivery Center Coverage Area Existing Retail Hub Future Market Opportunities

15 EchoPark – Addressable Market Opportunity * Share Of Vehicles That Fit Model In Existing EchoPark Markets Target 90% Population Coverage By 2025 With Growing Nationwide Distribution Network Target 10% Market Share Already Achieving This Share* In Multiple Markets Priced Up to $3,000 Below Used Competes On Price vs. 5 to 6-Year-Old Vehicles, Consumer Can Buy Newer Vehicle For Same Price Priced Up To 40% Below New Converts Prospective New Car Buyers 2 MILLION Opportunity 15+ MILLION 1–4-Year-Old Vehicles 6+ MILLION 5–6-Year- Old Vehicles 13+ MILLION New Vehicles 2.1% Q1 2022 Average Market Share* (3.2% Excluding New Markets) Most Mature Market Had 10.9% Share In Q1 2022 Annual Retail Vehicle Sales Volume

16 EchoPark – Growth Forecast 77,835 575,000 FY 2021 FY 2025E Retail Unit Sales Volume FY 2021 FY 2025E $2.3 $14.0 Total Revenues (In Billions) 56% CAGR $(65.6) $220.0 FY 2021* FY 2025E Adjusted Pre-Tax Profit (Loss) (In Millions) $(46.3) $260.0 FY 2021* FY 2025E Adjusted EBITDA (In Millions) Growth Drivers • Reached >30% Of U.S. Population By End Of 2021, Expect 90% By 2025 • Population Coverage, Market Density Growth And Continued Market Share Gains Drive Long-Term Opportunity To Achieve 2 Million Retail Unit Sales Annually • Existing Markets Generate ~400,000 Unique Leads On An Annualized Basis • Expand Through Mix Of Medium/Large Retail Hubs And Delivery Centers Supporting Growing eCommerce Distribution Network • See 4-Wall Model On Next Slide Note: Amounts are estimates of future results used for modeling purposes. Actual results may differ materially. * Refer To Appendix For Calculation And Reconciliation of Adjusted Pre-Tax Profit (Loss) and Adjusted EBITDA (Non-GAAP Measures)

17 EchoPark – Modeled 4-Wall Economics At Maturity (Modeled Metrics Assume 100% Maturity) Delivery Center Medium Retail Hub Large Retail Hub Average Monthly Retail Unit Volume 300 750 1,500 Average Vehicle Selling Price 20,500$ 20,500$ 20,500$ Total Annual Revenues 82,000,000$ 205,000,000$ 410,000,000$ Total Combined Gross Profit Per Unit Retailed ("GPU") 1,700$ 2,150$ 2,150$ Target SG&A Expenses as % of Gross Profit 65% 60% 60% Annual Pre-Tax Profit 2,100,000$ 7,200,000$ 14,400,000$ Average Compensation Per Employee (with Fringe) 68,000$ 78,000$ 78,000$ Total Headcount 7 105 170 Sales Experience Guide ("EG") Headcount N/A 25 50 Average Retail Unit Sales Per EG Per Month N/A 30 30 Target Inventory Days' Supply N/A 30 Days 30 Days Working Capital Investment -$ 15,000,000$ 31,000,000$ Inventory Floor Plan Financing -$ (15,000,000)$ (31,000,000)$ Capital Expenditures, Including Land (Varies By Market) $1-2 Million $7-12 Million $20-25 Million Estimated Months to Breakeven 3-6 Months 6-9 Months 6-9 Months Estimated Years to Maturity 2 Years 4 Years 5 Years Expected Pre-Tax Return On Investment 55%+ 35% - 50% 28% - 33% Note: Assuming target GPU above, estimated average pre-tax losses of $1.5 to $2.0 million per new medium or large retail hub opening in normal used vehicle pricing environment (Approximately ~40% incurred in 3 months prior to opening, ~60% incurred post-opening prior to targeted breakeven). Pre-tax losses for new Delivery Center locations are expected to be approximately $0.2 million per location prior to targeted breakeven in normal used vehicle pricing environment. Note: Amounts are estimates of future results used for comparative modeling purposes. Actual store results may differ. See “Forward-Looking Statements.”

18 EchoPark – Delivery Center Model Existing Retail Hub Example Delivery Center Market Coverage Opportunity Delivery Center Model • Utilize Nearby Retail Hub For Inventory Storage And Reconditioning (Asset Light Expansion) • Advertise Inventory Online In Surrounding Markets • Drive Incremental eCommerce Sales In New Markets • Inspect & Buy Vehicles From Guests After Online Appraisal And Firm Purchase Offer • Arrange Vehicle Transport To Delivery Center • Guest Picks Up Vehicle At EchoPark Delivery Center Nearest Their Home (i.e. Next-To-Last-Mile Delivery) Strategic Advantages • Accelerates Entry Into New Markets With Minimal Capital Expenditures Or Overhead Costs • Same Guest-Centric Purchase Experience And Convenience • Blend Of Brick And Mortar And eCommerce Distribution Network Creates Operating Leverage Delivery Center Markets • Expect To Support 3 To 4 Delivery Centers Per Retail Hub • Target Adjacent Secondary Markets Or Large Metro Markets Where Traditional Dealership Real Estate Is Unavailable Or Cost Prohibitive

19 EchoPark – High Volume Model Drives Superior Returns Gross Profit Per Unit (“GPU”) Franchised Used EchoPark Better / (Worse) Front-End Used Vehicle GPU $1,300 $(100) F&I GPU $1,800 $2,250 Parts and Service Reconditioning GPU $500 - Total Used-Related GPU $3,600 $2,150 ($1,450) Volume Differential Factor x1 X5 Pro Forma Comparative Used-Related Gross Profit $3,600 $10,750 $7,150 Ultra-Low Pricing Attractive F&I High Volume Throughput Below-Market Pricing Drives High Customer Lead Volume Higher Penetration Rates On F&I Products vs. Industry Average 5X Volume Throughput Per Retail Hub vs. Sonic Franchised Stores Note: Amounts are normalized estimates of future results used for comparative modeling purposes. Actual results may differ.

20 EchoPark – Industry Headwinds & Action Plan Industry Headwinds • Supply Chain Disruption Driving Low New Vehicle Production And Inventory Levels, Increasing Demand For Used Vehicles At Auction • Rental Car Companies Cannot Source Sufficient New Vehicles Directly, Turned To Used Vehicle Auction Market To Supply Their Fleet, Driving Used Vehicle Prices To All-Time Highs • Used Price As A Percentage Of New Price At Nearly 70% (Typically In 55-60% Range) Negatively Impacts Affordability EchoPark Action Plan • Expanding Inventory To Include 5-8 Year Old Vehicles At Lower Inventory Acquisition Cost And Lower Retail Selling Price, Improving Consumer Affordability And Gross Profit Per Unit • Implemented Marketing Strategy To Source More Vehicles From Consumers • Piloting Enhanced Guest Experience In Select Delivery Center Markets • Launching New EchoPark.com To Modernize eCommerce Offering And Drive Improved Sales Efficiency And Volume Throughput • EchoPark Brand Launch Coming Soon – Will Increase Consumer Awareness And Advertising Reach Beyond Being A Low Price Leader Initial Results • Improved Non-Auction Sourcing Mix From 7% In Q1 2021 To 23% In Q1 2022 • Denver Hub Location Returned To Profitability In March, Tracking Similarly For April • New EchoPark.com Site Rolled Out To 80% Of National Web Traffic • Achieved Highest Reputation Scores In The Pre-Owned Competitive Segment $30,665 $44,767 $0 $10,000 $20,000 $30,000 $40,000 $50,000 $60,000 Jan-18 Jan-19 Jan-20 Jan-21 Jan-22 NADA New and Used Vehicle Prices Used New 68.5% 0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100% Jan-18 Jan-19 Jan-20 Jan-21 Jan-22 Used Vehicle Price as a % of New Vehicle Price

21 EchoPark – Growth Path 212 660 881 920 764 941 1,136 1,585 1,685 1,673 2,049 2,400 4,496 5,518 7,459 7,698 8,762 11,051 12,587 13,206 12,676 13,986 13,207 15,127 14,841 19,670 21,261 21,255 15,649 14,995 $- $100 $200 $300 $400 $500 $600 $700 (In M illi on s) Quarterly Used Retail Units Quarterly Revenue Lower Unit Volume In Q4 2021 And Q1 2022 A Result Of Strategic Price Adjustments To Manage Inventory Levels And Mitigate Operating Losses Amid Ongoing Challenges In Used Vehicle Price Environment

22 EchoPark – Adjusted EBITDA Trend ($2.8) ($1.1) ($3.4) ($2.2) ($3.0) ($2.1) $5.0 $4.8 $6.4 $5.3 $5.2 $5.6 $3.1 ($2.9) $6.2 ($9.4) ($28.5) ($14.6) ($29.0) $6.1 $6.2 $6.8 $4.8 $(0.3) $6.7 $(4.0) $(11.7) $(6.1) $(17.9) $(30) $(25) $(20) $(15) $(10) $(5) $- $5 $10 Adjusted EBITDA Less Impact of New Stores (In M illi on s) Current Headcount And SG&A Structure Is Based On Higher Unit Sales Volume Projections Expected Once Transitory Used Pricing Environment Normalizes Refer To Appendix For Calculation And Reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDA (A Non-GAAP Measure) Adjusted EBITDA by Month Jan 2022 Feb 2022 Mar 2022 Q1 2022 Total EchoPark $ (9.4) $(11.6) $ (8.0) $ (29.0) Impact of New Stores $ (4.2) $ (3.8) $ (3.1) $ (11.1) Impact of Stores Open >12 Months $ (5.2) $ (7.8) $ (4.9) $ (17.9) Used Retail Unit Volume 4,776 4,385 5,834 14,995

23 Franchised Dealerships

24 New & Used Vehicle Sales Parts & Service (P&S) Finance & Insurance (F&I) ® Franchised Dealerships Franchised Dealerships111 Brands, Luxury Weighted25+ Diversified Revenue Streams • New & Used Vehicle Sales • Parts Service (P S) • Finance & Insurance (F&I) Collision Repair Centers17 18 States Stable Business With Organic And Acquisition Growth Opportunities Resilient And Flexible Business Model Through Economic Cycles

25 Franchised Dealerships – Geographic Footprint Diversified Geographic Market Platform 111 Stores, 25+ Brands, 17 Collision Repair Centers RFJ Auto Acquisition Closed In December 2021 • 22 Franchised Locations In 6 States, 16 New Vehicle Brands • Added 5 New States, 5 New Brands To Portfolio

26 Franchised Dealerships – Strategic Growth Levers Multiple Growth Drivers Pursue Strategic Acquisitions Opportunities Grow Parts and Service Retention Maximize F&I Penetration High Used Vehicle Volume Throughput Data-Driven Inventory Management Apply EchoPark Learnings Develop Omnichannel Platform SG&A Expense Discipline Realize Synergies From Acquisitions

27 Omnichannel Strategy

28 Full Omnichannel Infrastructure Guest Experience Managers Centralized Appraisals, Inventory Sourcing, Pricing Centralized Call Support Centralized F&I Digital Interface People Proprietary Technology Centralized Marketing Develop & Launch eCommerce Platform B u y & S e l l Yo u r Wa y Proprietary Ability to Buy a Car A to Z Online or Any Step In Between Utilize SIMS, Python Analytics, Robotic Process Automation, Hyper-Intelligence Technology ON-SITE ONLINE Se am le ss G ue st E xp er ie nc e

29 Buy & Sell Your Way • Complete A Traditional Vehicle Purchase Experience With A Modern, Technology- Enabled Approach • Can Be Completed In Under An Hour • Research Online, Utilize Chat, Text, Phone, Zoom To Reduce In-Person Process • Review And Select Insurance Products And Financing Options • Includes Online Trade-In Appraisal And Firm Purchase Offer • Complete A Full eCommerce Transaction In Minutes • Conveniently Test Drive And Finalize Purchase At Franchised Dealership, EchoPark Retail Hub Or EchoPark Delivery Center Buy & Sell Your Way Start Online, Finish On-Site Or Buy Completely Online Buy On-Site • Our Blend Of Brick And Mortar And eCommerce Strategies Allows Guests To Choose Their Preferred Buying Approach • A Flexible, Guest- Centric Experience With Options • Will Be Seamless To The Guest, Regardless Of Which Path They Choose Represents ~10% Of Q1 2022 Vehicle Sales Transactions

30 New EchoPark.com Results to Date Rolled Out To 80% Of National Traffic With 100% Roll-Out Planned For Q2 2022 Conversion Rate 30% Higher Compared To Old Website F&I of $2,325 Per Unit Exceeding Projections For Online F&I Product Sales Over 70% Of Vehicles Sold Out Of Market, Driving Incremental Reach Technical Site Improvements – Bounce Rate 91% Better, Time On Site 33% Better, Pages Per Session 32% Better Than Old Website

31 Appendix

32 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Segment Income Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Consolidated (In millions, except unit data) Q1 2022 Q1 2021 Q1 2022 Q1 2021 Q1 2022 Q1 2021 Revenues 2,961.3$ 2,279.7$ 625.3$ 507.1$ 3,586.6$ 2,786.8$ Gross profit 527.0$ 355.0$ 44.4$ 45.9$ 571.3$ 400.9$ SG&A expenses 315.2$ 250.1$ 71.8$ 39.3$ 387.0$ 289.4$ Segment income 163.8$ 70.6$ (34.9)$ 2.0$ 128.9$ 72.6$ Impairment charges - - - - - - Earnings (loss) from continuing operations before taxes 163.8$ 70.6$ (34.9)$ 2.0$ 128.9$ 72.6$ New vehicle unit sales volume 28,983 24,358 85 - 29,068 24,358 Retail used vehicle unit sales volume 27,078 27,236 14,995 19,670 42,073 46,906 Note: Segment Income (Loss) Defined As Earnings (Loss) From Continuing Operations Before Taxes And Impairment Charges

33 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Segment Income Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Consolidated (In millions, except unit data) FY 2021 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2020 Revenues 10,051.1$ 8,348.0$ 2,345.3$ 1,419.0$ 12,396.4$ 9,767.0$ Gross profit 1,765.6$ 1,309.4$ 148.8$ 114.0$ 1,914.3$ 1,423.6$ SG&A expenses 1,076.9$ 933.7$ 197.8$ 94.9$ 1,274.7$ 1,028.7$ Adjusted segment income 547.1$ 227.2$ (65.5)$ (1.2)$ 481.6$ 226.0$ Acquisition and disposition-related gain (loss) (1.2) 4.0 - 5.2 (1.2) 9.2 Long-term compensation charges - - (6.5) - (6.5) - Loss on extinguishment of debt (15.6) - - - (15.6) - Segment income 530.3$ 231.2$ (72.0)$ 4.0$ 458.3$ 235.2$ Impairment charges - (270.0) (0.1) - (0.1) (270.0) Earnings (loss) from continuing operations before taxes 530.3$ (38.8)$ (72.1)$ 4.0$ 458.2$ (34.8)$ Adjusted earnings (loss) from continuing operations before taxes 547.1$ 226.4$ (65.6)$ (1.2)$ 481.5$ 225.2$ Acquisition and disposition-related gain (loss) (1.2) 4.0 - 5.2 (1.2) 9.2 Long-term compensation charges - - (6.5) - (6.5) - Loss on extinguishment of debt (15.6) - - - (15.6) - Impairment charges - (269.2) - - - (269.2) Earnings (loss) from continuing operations before taxes 530.3$ (38.8)$ (72.1)$ 4.0$ 458.2$ (34.8)$ Adjusted net income (loss) from continuing operations 366.3$ 168.9$ Acquisition and disposition-related gain (loss) (before taxes) (1.2) 9.2 Long-term compensation charges (before taxes) (6.5) - Loss on extinguishment of debt (before taxes) (15.6) - Impairment charges (before taxes) - (269.2) Tax effect of items of interest and non-recurring tax items 5.9 40.4 Net income (loss) from continuing operations 348.9$ (50.7)$ New vehicle unit sales volume 103,358 93,281 128 - 103,486 93,281 Retail used vehicle unit sales volume 105,457 101,864 77,835 57,161 183,292 159,025 Note: Segment Income (Loss) Defined As Earnings (Loss) From Continuing Operations Before Taxes And Impairment Charges

34 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Adjusted EBITDA Note – Balance Sheet Amounts Are As Of December 31 For The FY Then Ended And As Of March 31, 2022 For The LTM Q1 2022 Period. (In millions) FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 LTM Q1 2022 Net Income (Loss) 51.7$ 144.1$ (51.4)$ 348.9$ 392.0$ Provision For Income Taxes 22.6 55.0 15.6 109.3 121.8 Income (Loss) Before Taxes 74.3$ 199.1$ (35.8)$ 458.2$ 513.8$ Non-Floor Plan Interest 52.0 50.5 38.7 44.7 54.9 Depreciation and Amortization 96.7 95.6 93.9 104.3 110.9 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 11.9 10.8 11.7 15.0 15.9 Loss (Gain) On Exit Of Leased Dealerships 1.7 (0.2) - - - Impairment Charges 29.5 20.8 270.0 0.1 0.1 Loss (Gain) On Debt Extinguishment - 6.7 - 15.6 15.6 Long-Term Compensation Charges 32.5 - - 8.0 7.5 Acquisition and Disposition-Related (Gain) Loss (39.3) (74.8) (8.2) (0.4) (1.5) Adjusted EBITDA 259.3$ 308.5$ 370.3$ 645.5$ 717.2$ Long-Term Debt (Including Current Portion) 945.1$ 706.9$ 720.1$ 1,561.2$ 1,546.3$ Cash and Equivalents (5.9) (29.1) (170.3) (299.4) (360.2) Floor Plan Deposit Balance - - (73.2) (99.8) (125.5) Net Debt 939.2$ 677.8$ 476.6$ 1,162.0$ 1,060.6$ Net Debt To Adjusted EBITDA Ratio 3.62 2.20 1.29 1.80 1.48 Long-Term Debt (Including Current Portion) To Adjusted EBITDA Ratio 3.64 2.29 1.94 2.42 2.16

35 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Adjusted EBITDA By Segment Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 97.3 $ 54.2 Provision For Income Taxes 31.6 19.1 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 163.8 $ (34.9) $ - $ 128.9 $ 70.6 $ 2.0 $ 0.7 $ 73.3 Non-Floor Plan Interest 19.0 0.7 - 19.7 9.1 0.4 - 9.5 Depreciation And Amortization 25.9 5.2 - 31.1 21.2 3.3 - 24.5 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 4.4 - - 4.4 3.5 - - 3.5 Long-Term Compensation Charges - - - - - 0.5 - 0.5 Gain On Franchise And Real Estate Disposals (1.1) - - (1.1) - - - - Adjusted EBITDA $ 212.0 $ (29.0) $ - $ 183.0 $ 104.4 $ 6.2 $ 0.7 $ 111.3 Q1 2022 Q1 2021

36 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 96.3 $ 57.3 Provision For Income Taxes 25.8 32.8 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 148.9 $ (26.8) $ - $ 122.1 $ 90.6 $ (0.8) $ 0.3 $ 90.1 Non-Floor Plan Interest 16.2 0.7 - 16.9 9.0 0.2 - 9.2 Depreciation And Amortization 23.4 4.9 - 28.3 21.1 2.9 - 24.0 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 3.8 - - 3.8 3.2 - - 3.2 Impairment Charges - 0.1 - 0.1 1.2 - - 1.2 Loss On Debt Extinguishment 15.6 - - 15.6 - - - - Long-Term Compensation Charges - 6.5 - 6.5 - - - - Acquisition and Disposition-Related (Gain) Loss 0.5 - - 0.5 (0.8) (5.2) - (6.0) Adjusted EBITDA $ 208.4 $ (14.6) $ - $ 193.8 $ 124.3 $ (2.9) $ 0.3 $ 121.7 Q4 2021 Q4 2020 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 84.6 $ 59.8 Provision For Income Taxes 27.4 20.6 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 145.1 $ (32.9) $ (0.2) $ 112.0 $ 80.4 $ 0.2 $ (0.2) $ 80.4 Non-Floor Plan Interest 8.8 0.3 - 9.1 9.8 0.1 - 9.9 Depreciation And Amortization 21.9 4.0 - 25.9 21.0 2.8 - 23.8 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 3.7 - - 3.7 3.2 - - 3.2 Impairment Charges - - - - - - - - Long-Term Compensation Charges - 0.5 - 0.5 - - - - Gain On Franchise And Real Estate Disposals (0.1) (0.4) - (0.5) (3.4) - - (3.4) Adjusted EBITDA $ 179.4 $ (28.5) $ (0.2) $ 150.7 $ 111.0 $ 3.1 $ (0.2) $ 113.9 Q3 2021 Q3 2020 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Adjusted EBITDA By Segment

37 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 113.8 $ 30.8 Provision For Income Taxes 37.0 6.3 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 165.4 $ (14.4) $ (0.2) $ 150.8 $ 34.8 $ 2.6 $ (0.3) $ 37.1 Non-Floor Plan Interest 8.9 0.3 - 9.2 9.0 0.2 - 9.2 Depreciation And Amortization 21.4 4.2 - 25.6 20.5 2.8 - 23.3 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 4.0 - - 4.0 3.0 - - 3.0 Impairment Charges - - - - 0.8 - - 0.8 Long-Term Compensation Charges - 0.5 - 0.5 - - - - Gain On Franchise And Real Estate Disposals (0.4) - - (0.4) 1.1 - - 1.1 Adjusted EBITDA $ 199.3 $ (9.4) $ (0.2) $ 189.7 $ 69.2 $ 5.6 $ (0.3) $ 74.5 Q2 2021 Q2 2020 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 54.2 $ (199.3) Provision For Income Taxes 19.1 (44.2) Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 70.5 $ 2.0 $ 0.8 $ 73.3 $ (245.3) $ 2.1 $ (0.3) $ (243.5) Non-Floor Plan Interest 9.1 0.4 - 9.5 10.0 0.4 - 10.4 Depreciation And Amortization 21.2 3.3 - 24.5 20.1 2.7 - 22.8 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 3.5 - - 3.5 2.4 - - 2.4 Impairment Charges - - - - 268.0 - - 268.0 Long-Term Compensation Charges - 0.5 - 0.5 - - - - Gain On Franchise And Real Estate Disposals - - - - - - - - Adjusted EBITDA $ 104.3 $ 6.2 $ 0.8 $ 111.3 $ 55.2 $ 5.2 $ (0.3) $ 60.1 Q1 2021 Q1 2020 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Adjusted EBITDA By Segment

38 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 57.3 $ 46.3 Provision For Income Taxes 32.8 14.7 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 90.6 $ (0.8) $ 0.3 $ 90.1 $ 75.5 $ (14.5) $ - $ 61.0 Non-Floor Plan Interest 9.0 0.2 - 9.2 12.2 0.4 - 12.6 Depreciation And Amortization 21.1 2.9 - 24.0 21.0 2.8 - 23.8 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 3.2 - - 3.2 2.7 - - 2.7 Impairment Charges 1.2 - - 1.2 1.1 16.6 - 17.7 Loss On Debt Extinguishment - - - - 6.7 - - 6.7 Gain On Franchise And Real Estate Disposals (0.8) (5.2) - (6.0) (29.2) - - (29.2) Adjusted EBITDA $ 124.3 $ (2.9) $ 0.3 $ 121.7 $ 90.0 $ 5.3 $ - $ 95.3 Q4 2020 Q4 2019 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 59.8 $ 29.0 Provision For Income Taxes 20.6 11.3 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 80.4 $ 0.2 $ (0.2) $ 80.4 $ 38.4 $ 2.1 $ (0.2) $ 40.3 Non-Floor Plan Interest 9.8 0.1 - 9.9 11.9 0.5 - 12.4 Depreciation And Amortization 21.0 2.8 - 23.8 21.6 2.7 - 24.3 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 3.2 - - 3.2 2.7 - - 2.7 Impairment Charges - - - - - 1.1 - 1.1 Gain On Franchise Disposals (3.4) - - (3.4) 0.8 - - 0.8 Adjusted EBITDA $ 111.0 $ 3.1 $ (0.2) $ 113.9 $ 75.4 $ 6.4 $ (0.2) $ 81.6 Q3 2020 Q3 2019 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Adjusted EBITDA By Segment

39 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 30.8 $ 26.6 Provision For Income Taxes 6.3 10.0 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 34.8 $ 2.6 $ (0.3) $ 37.1 $ 35.1 $ 1.7 $ (0.2) $ 36.6 Non-Floor Plan Interest 9.0 0.2 - 9.2 12.6 0.4 - 13.0 Depreciation And Amortization 20.5 2.8 - 23.3 21.7 2.7 - 24.4 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 3.0 - - 3.0 2.6 - - 2.6 Impairment Charges 0.8 - - 0.8 - - - - Gain On Franchise Disposals 1.1 - - 1.1 0.4 - - 0.4 Adjusted EBITDA $ 69.2 $ 5.6 $ (0.3) $ 74.5 $ 72.4 $ 4.8 $ (0.2) $ 77.0 Q2 2020 Q2 2019 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ (199.3) $ 42.2 Provision For Income Taxes (44.2) 19.0 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ (245.3) $ 2.1 $ (0.3) $ (243.5) $ 61.2 $ 0.2 $ (0.2) $ 61.2 Non-Floor Plan Interest 10.0 0.4 - 10.4 11.8 0.5 - 12.3 Depreciation And Amortization 20.1 2.7 - 22.8 20.8 2.4 - 23.2 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 2.4 - - 2.4 2.8 - - 2.8 Loss (Gain) On Exit Of Leased Dealerships - - - - (0.2) - - (0.2) Impairment Charges 268.0 - - 268.0 - 1.9 - 1.9 Gain On Franchise Disposals - - - - (46.7) - - (46.7) Adjusted EBITDA $ 55.2 $ 5.2 $ (0.3) $ 60.1 $ 49.7 $ 5.0 $ (0.2) $ 54.5 Q1 2020 Q1 2019 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Adjusted EBITDA By Segment

40 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 46.3 $ 21.8 Provision For Income Taxes 14.7 9.2 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 75.5 $ (14.5) $ - $ 61.0 $ 37.4 $ (6.2) $ (0.2) $ 31.0 Non-Floor Plan Interest 12.2 0.4 - 12.6 12.9 0.4 0.1 13.4 Depreciation And Amortization 21.0 2.8 - 23.8 21.1 2.2 - 23.3 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 2.7 - - 2.7 1.3 - - 1.3 Loss (Gain) On Exit Of Leased Dealerships - - - - (1.1) - 0.1 (1.0) Impairment Charges 1.1 16.6 - 17.7 14.1 1.5 - 15.6 Loss On Debt Extinguishment 6.7 - - 6.7 - - - - Gain On Franchise Disposals (29.2) - - (29.2) (0.2) - - (0.2) Adjusted EBITDA $ 90.0 $ 5.3 $ - $ 95.3 $ 85.5 $ (2.1) $ - $ 83.4 Q4 2019 Q4 2018 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 29.0 $ 15.1 Provision For Income Taxes $ 11.3 7.3 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 38.4 $ 2.1 $ (0.2) $ 40.3 $ 28.1 $ (5.5) $ (0.2) $ 22.4 Non-Floor Plan Interest $ 11.9 $ 0.5 - 12.4 12.3 0.5 0.1 12.9 Depreciation And Amortization $ 21.6 $ 2.7 - 24.3 22.1 2.0 - 24.1 Stock-Based Compensation Expense $ 2.7 - - 2.7 4.6 - - 4.6 Loss (Gain) On Exit Of Leased Dealerships - - - - - - 0.1 0.1 Impairment Charges - $ 1.1 - 1.1 - - - - Gain On Franchise Disposals $ 0.8 - - 0.8 - - - - Adjusted EBITDA $ 75.4 $ 6.4 $ (0.2) $ 81.6 $ 67.1 $ (3.0) $ (0.0) $ 64.1 Q3 2019 Q3 2018 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Adjusted EBITDA By Segment

41 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 42.2 $ (2.2) Provision For Income Taxes 19.0 (1.9) Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 61.2 $ 0.2 $ (0.2) $ 61.2 $ 10.8 $ (14.7) $ (0.2) $ (4.1) Non-Floor Plan Interest 11.8 0.5 - 12.3 12.4 0.3 0.1 12.8 Depreciation And Amortization 20.8 2.4 - 23.2 22.8 1.7 - 24.5 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 2.8 - - 2.8 3.0 - - 3.0 Loss (Gain) On Exit Of Leased Dealerships (0.2) - - (0.2) 5.0 - 0.1 5.1 Impairment Charges - 1.9 - 1.9 3.6 0.1 - 3.7 Long-Term Compensation Charges - - - - - 9.2 - 9.2 Gain On Franchise Disposals (46.7) - - (46.7) (1.2) - - (1.2) Adjusted EBITDA $ 49.7 $ 5.0 $ (0.2) $ 54.5 $ 56.4 $ (3.4) $ - $ 53.0 Q1 2019 Q1 2018 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 26.6 $ 16.9 Provision For Income Taxes $ 10.0 8.1 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 35.1 $ 1.7 $ (0.2) $ 36.6 $ 53.2 $ (27.8) $ (0.4) $ 25.0 Non-Floor Plan Interest $ 12.6 $ 0.4 - 13.0 12.3 0.4 0.1 12.8 Depreciation And Amortization $ 21.7 $ 2.7 - 24.4 22.8 1.9 - 24.7 Stock-Based Compensation Expense $ 2.6 - - 2.6 3.0 - - 3.0 Loss (Gain) On Exit Of Leased Dealerships - - - - (2.6) - 0.1 (2.5) Impairment Charges - - - - 10.3 - - 10.3 Long-Term Compensation Charges - - - - - 23.3 - 23.3 Gain On Franchise Disposals $ 0.4 - - 0.4 (38.0) - - (38.0) Adjusted EBITDA $ 72.4 $ 4.8 $ (0.2) $ 77.0 $ 61.0 $ (2.2) $ (0.2) $ 58.6 Q2 2019 Q2 2018 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Adjusted EBITDA By Segment

42 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 21.8 $ 62.0 Provision For Income Taxes 9.2 (8.4) Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 37.4 $ (6.2) $ (0.2) $ 31.0 $ 57.8 $ (4.0) $ (0.2) $ 53.6 Non-Floor Plan Interest 12.9 0.4 0.1 13.4 12.4 0.3 0.1 12.8 Depreciation And Amortization 21.1 2.2 - 23.3 22.6 1.3 - 23.9 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 1.3 - - 1.3 2.2 - - 2.2 Loss (Gain) On Exit Of Leased Dealerships (1.1) - 0.1 (1.0) - - 0.1 0.1 Impairment Charges 14.1 1.5 - 15.6 6.1 - - 6.1 Long-Term Compensation Charges - - - - - 1.3 - 1.3 Gain On Franchise Disposals (0.2) - - (0.2) (1.5) - - (1.5) Adjusted EBITDA $ 85.5 $ (2.1) $ - $ 83.4 $ 99.6 $ (1.1) $ 0.0 $ 98.5 Q4 2018 Q4 2017 Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total Franchised Dealerships Segment EchoPark Segment Discontinued Operations Total (In millions) (In millions) Net Income (Loss) $ 15.1 $ 19.4 Provision For Income Taxes 7.3 13.9 Income (Loss) Before Taxes $ 28.1 $ (5.5) $ (0.2) $ 22.4 $ 38.2 $ (4.4) $ (0.5) $ 33.3 Non-Floor Plan Interest 12.3 0.5 0.1 12.9 12.1 0.3 0.1 12.5 Depreciation And Amortization 22.1 2.0 - 24.1 22.2 1.3 - 23.5 Stock-Based Compensation Expense 4.6 - - 4.6 3.2 - - 3.2 Loss (Gain) On Exit Of Leased Dealerships - - 0.1 0.1 (0.2) - 0.4 0.2 Impairment Charges - - - - 0.2 - - 0.2 Gain On Franchise Disposals - - - - (8.5) - - (8.5) Adjusted EBITDA $ 67.1 $ (3.0) $ (0.0) $ 64.1 $ 67.2 $ (2.8) $ - $ 64.4 Q3 2018 Q3 2017 Non-GAAP Reconciliation – Adjusted EBITDA By Segment

® ®

® Investor Relations Contacts: Sonic Automotive Inc. (NYSE: SAH) Danny Wieland, Vice President, Investor Relations & Financial Reporting ir@sonicautomotive.com (704) 927-3462 KCSA Strategic Communications David Hanover / Scott Eckstein sonic@kcsa.com (212) 896-1220