Exhibit 99.1

CERTIFICATION PURSUANT TO SECTION 906 OF THE SARBANES-OXLEY ACT OF 2002

I, Cloyd J. Abruzzo, President and Chief Executive Officer, of Stoneridge, Inc. (the “Company”), certify, pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that:

(1) the Annual Report on Form 10-K of the Company for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2002 (“the Report”) which this certification accompanies fully complies with the requirements of section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (U.S.C. 78m or 78o(d)); and

(2) information contained in the Report fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and results of operations of the Company.

/s/ Cloyd J. Abruzzo

Cloyd J. Abruzzo, President and Chief Executive Officer

March 28, 2003