Third Quarter 2018 Financial Summary October 31, 2018

Safe Harbor Notice This presentation, other written or oral communications, and our public documents to which we refer contain or incorporate by reference certain forward-looking statements which are based on various assumptions (some of which are beyond our control) and may be identified by reference to a future period or periods or by the use of forward-looking terminology, such as “may,” “will,” “believe,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “continue,” or similar terms or variations on those terms or the negative of those terms. Actual results could differ materially from those set forth in forward-looking statements due to a variety of factors, including, but not limited to, changes in interest rates; changes in the yield curve; changes in prepayment rates; the availability of mortgage-backed securities (“MBS”) and other securities for purchase; the availability of financing and, if available, the terms of any financing; changes in the market value of our assets; changes in business conditions and the general economy; our ability to grow our commercial real estate business; our ability to grow our residential mortgage credit business; our ability to grow our middle market lending business; credit risks related to our investments in credit risk transfer securities, residential mortgage-backed securities and related residential mortgage credit assets, commercial real estate assets and corporate debt; risks related to investments in mortgage servicing rights; our ability to consummate any contemplated investment opportunities; changes in government regulations and policy affecting our business; our ability to maintain our qualification as a REIT for U.S. federal income tax purposes; and our ability to maintain our exemption from registration under the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended. For a discussion of the risks and uncertainties which could cause actual results to differ from those contained in the forward-looking statements, see “Risk Factors” in our most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K and any subsequent Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q. We do not undertake, and specifically disclaim any obligation, to publicly release the result of any revisions which may be made to any forward-looking statements to reflect the occurrence of anticipated or unanticipated events or circumstances after the date of such statements, except as required by law. We routinely post important information for investors on our website, www.annaly.com. We intend to use this webpage as a means of disclosing material, non-public information, for complying with our disclosure obligations under Regulation FD and to post and update investor presentations and similar materials on a regular basis. Annaly encourages investors, analysts, the media and others interested in Annaly to monitor the Investors section of our website, in addition to following our press releases, SEC filings, public conference calls, presentations, webcasts and other information it posts from time to time on its website. To sign-up for email-notifications, please visit the “Email Alerts” section of our website, www.annaly.com, under the “Investors” section and enter the required information to enable notifications. The information contained on, or that may be accessed through, our webpage is not incorporated by reference into, and is not a part of, this document. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. There is no guarantee that any investment strategy referenced herein will work under all market conditions. Prior to making any investment decision, you should evaluate your ability to invest for the long-term, especially during periods of downturns in the market. You alone assume the responsibility of evaluating the merits and risks associated with any potential investment or investment strategy referenced herein. To the extent that this material contains reference to any past specific investment recommendations or strategies which were or would have been profitable to any person, it should not be assumed that recommendations made in the future will be profitable or will equal the performance of such past investment recommendations or strategies. Non-GAAP Financial Measures This presentation includes certain non-GAAP financial measures, including core earnings metrics, which are presented both inclusive and exclusive of the premium amortization adjustment (“PAA”). We believe the non-GAAP financial measures are useful for management, investors, analysts, and other interested parties in evaluating our performance but should not be viewed in isolation and are not a substitute for financial measures computed in accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”). In addition, we may calculate non-GAAP metrics, which include core earnings, and the PAA, differently than our peers making comparative analysis difficult. Please see the section entitled “Non-GAAP Reconciliations” in the attached Appendix for a reconciliation to the most directly comparable GAAP financial measures. 1

Q3 2018 Financial Snapshot Unaudited, dollars in thousands except per share amounts For the quarters ended 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 GAAP net income per average common share (1) $0.29 $0.49 Core earnings (excluding PAA) per average common share *(1) $0.30 $0.30 Core earnings per average common share *(1) $0.29 $0.30 Income Statement PAA cost (benefit) per average common share (2) $0.01 $— Annualized GAAP return (loss) on average equity 10.73% 17.20% Annualized core return on average equity (excluding PAA)* 10.85% 11.05% Book value per common share (3) $10.03 $10.35 Leverage at period-end (4) 5.9x 6.0x Balance Sheet Economic leverage at period-end (5) 6.7x 6.4x Capital ratio at period-end (6) 12.6% 13.2% Securities $91,338,611 $88,478,689 Loans 4,224,203 3,692,172 Mortgage servicing rights 588,833 599,014 Portfolio Assets transferred or pledged to securitization vehicles 4,287,821 3,066,270 Real estate, net 753,014 477,887 Total residential and commercial investments $101,192,482 $96,314,032 Net interest margin (6) 1.49% 1.53% Net interest margin (excluding PAA) *(7) 1.50% 1.56% Average yield on interest earning assets (8) 3.21% 3.04% Key Statistics Average yield on interest earning assets (excluding PAA) *(8) 3.22% 3.07% Average cost of interest bearing liabilities (9) 2.08% 1.89% Net interest spread 1.13% 1.15% Net interest spread (excluding PAA) * 1.14% 1.18% Operating expenses to core earnings (excluding PAA) *(10) 17.05% 16.66% Efficiency Annualized operating expenses as a % of average assets (10) 0.26% 0.26% Annualized operating expenses as a % of average equity (10) 1.85% 1.84% Note: The endnotes for this page appear in the section entitled “Endnotes for Page 2” in the Appendix. 2

Portfolio Data Unaudited, dollars in thousands For the quarters ended 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 Agency mortgage-backed securities $89,290,128 $86,593,058 $88,579,097 $90,551,763 $85,889,131 Credit risk transfer securities 688,521 563,796 628,942 651,764 582,938 Non-agency mortgage-backed securities 1,173,467 1,006,785 1,066,343 1,097,294 1,227,235 Commercial mortgage-backed securities 186,495 315,050 264,810 262,751 290,479 Total securities $91,338,611 $88,478,689 $90,539,192 $92,563,572 $87,989,783 Residential mortgage loans $1,217,139 $1,142,300 $974,577 $958,546 $755,064 Commercial real estate debt and preferred equity 1,435,865 1,251,138 1,081,295 1,029,327 981,748 Loans held for sale 42,325 42,458 — — — Corporate debt 1,528,874 1,256,276 1,152,745 1,011,275 856,110 Portfolio-Related Data Total loans $4,224,203 $3,692,172 $3,208,617 $2,999,148 $2,592,922 Mortgage servicing rights $588,833 $599,014 $596,378 $580,860 $570,218 Residential mortgage loans $765,876 $523,857 $561,108 $479,776 $140,855 Commercial real estate debt 3,521,945 2,542,413 2,695,513 2,826,357 3,578,631 Assets transferred or pledged to securitization vehicles $4,287,821 $3,066,270 $3,256,621 $3,306,133 $3,719,486 Real estate, net $753,014 $477,887 $480,063 $485,953 $470,928 Total residential and commercial investments $101,192,482 $96,314,032 $98,080,871 $99,935,666 $95,343,337 Total assets $105,961,803 $98,832,997 $100,382,233 $101,760,050 $97,574,181 Average TBA position $11,842,426 $9,407,819 $12,050,341 $17,509,691 $19,291,834 Residential Securities: % Fixed-rate 92% 91% 91% 90% 89% Summary % Adjustable-rate 8% 9% 9% 10% 11% Portfolio Weighted average experienced CPR for the period 10.3% 10.1% 8.9% 9.8% 10.3% Statistics Weighted average projected long-term CPR at period-end 9.1% 9.1% 9.2% 10.4% 10.4% Net premium and discount balance in Residential Securities $5,769,426 $5,896,755 $6,063,609 $6,024,347 $5,745,022 Net premium and discount balance as % of stockholders' equity 38.59% 42.83% 43.51% 40.53% 40.60% 3

Financing and Capital Data Unaudited, dollars in thousands except per share amounts For the quarters ended 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 Repurchase agreements $79,073,026 $75,760,655 $78,015,431 $77,696,343 $69,430,268 Other secured financing 4,108,547 3,760,487 3,830,075 3,837,528 3,713,256 Debt issued by securitization vehicles 3,799,542 2,728,692 2,904,873 2,971,771 3,357,929 Mortgages payable 511,588 309,878 309,794 309,686 311,886 Total debt $87,492,703 $82,559,712 $85,060,173 $84,815,328 $76,813,339 Financing Data Total liabilities $91,005,947 $85,059,141 $86,439,298 $86,888,477 $83,418,963 Cumulative redeemable preferred stock $1,778,168 $1,723,168 $1,723,168 $1,720,381 $1,720,381 Common equity(1) 13,171,826 12,045,422 12,214,096 13,145,092 12,428,377 Total Annaly stockholders' equity 14,949,994 13,768,590 13,937,264 14,865,473 14,148,758 Non-controlling interests 5,862 5,266 5,671 6,100 6,460 Total equity $14,955,856 $13,773,856 $13,942,935 $14,871,573 $14,155,218 Weighted average days to maturity of repurchase agreements 55 71 72 58 65 Weighted average rate on repurchase agreements, at period-end 2.32% 2.17% 1.83% 1.61% 1.38% Weighted average rate on repurchase agreements, for the quarter(2) 2.25% 1.99% 1.64% 1.41% 1.34% Leverage at period-end 5.9x 6.0x 6.1x 5.7x 5.4x Economic leverage at period-end 6.7x 6.4x 6.5x 6.6x 6.9x Capital ratio at period-end 12.6% 13.2% 13.1% 12.9% 12.3% Key Capital and Hedging Metrics Book value per common share $10.03 $10.35 $10.53 $11.34 $11.42 Total common shares outstanding 1,303,080 1,164,334 1,159,657 1,159,585 1,088,084 Hedge ratio(3) 96% 95% 94% 70% 67% Weighted average pay rate on interest rate swaps, at period-end(4) 2.10% 2.08% 2.00% 2.22% 2.27% Weighted average receive rate on interest rate swaps, at period-end(4) 2.33% 2.31% 2.13% 1.58% 1.35% Weighted average net rate on interest rate swaps, at period-end(4) (0.23%) (0.23%) (0.13%) 0.64% 0.92% (1) Consists of common stock, additional paid-in capital, accumulated other comprehensive income (loss) and accumulated deficit. (2) Calculated using a 30/360 factor; applying a day count/360 factor results in an average repurchase agreement rate of 2.20% for the quarter ended September 30, 2018. (3) Measures total notional balances of interest rate swaps, interest rate swaptions and futures relative to repurchase agreements, other secured financing and to be announced (“TBA”) notional outstanding; excludes mortgage servicing rights ("MSRs") and the effects of term financing, both of which serve to reduce interest rate risk. Additionally, the hedge ratio does not take into consideration differences in 4 duration between assets and liabilities. (4) Excludes forward starting swaps. Forward starting swaps represented $8.1 billion of the notional balance as of December 31, 2017; there were no forward starting swaps for any other period.

Income Statement Data Unaudited, dollars in thousands except per share amounts For the quarters ended 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 Total interest income $816,596 $776,806 $879,487 $745,423 $622,550 Total interest expense 500,973 442,692 367,421 318,711 268,937 Net interest income $315,623 $334,114 $512,066 $426,712 $353,613 Total economic interest expense *(1) $449,624 $411,217 $415,581 $392,668 $347,501 Economic net interest income *(1) $366,972 $365,589 $463,906 $352,755 $275,049 Total interest income (excluding PAA) * $819,982 $784,322 $761,092 $756,790 $662,449 Economic net interest income (excluding PAA) *(1) $370,358 $373,105 $345,511 $364,122 $314,948 GAAP net income (loss) $385,429 $595,887 $1,327,704 $746,771 $367,315 Summary Income GAAP net income (loss) available (related) to common stockholders (2) $353,903 $564,542 $1,294,034 $714,588 $337,192 Statement GAAP net income (loss) per average common share (2) $0.29 $0.49 $1.12 $0.62 $0.31 Core earnings (excluding PAA) * $389,666 $382,813 $385,272 $386,951 $353,546 Core earnings (excluding PAA) available to common stockholders *(2) $357,991 $351,436 $351,506 $354,617 $323,191 Core earnings (excluding PAA) per average common share *(2) $0.30 $0.30 $0.30 $0.31 $0.30 Core earnings * $386,280 $375,297 $503,667 $375,584 $313,647 Core earnings available to common stockholders *(2) $354,605 $343,920 $469,901 $343,250 $283,292 Core earnings per average common share *(2) $0.29 $0.30 $0.41 $0.30 $0.26 PAA cost (benefit) $3,386 $7,516 ($118,395) $11,367 $39,899 PAA cost (benefit) per average common share (3) $0.01 $— ($0.11) $0.01 $0.04 * Represents a non-GAAP financial measure. (1) Includes GAAP interest expense and the net interest component of interest rate swaps. Prior to the quarter ended March 31, 2018, this metric included the net interest component of interest rate swaps used to hedge cost of funds. Beginning with the quarter ended March 31, 2018, as a result of changes to the Company’s hedging portfolio, this metric reflects the net interest component of all interest rate swaps. (2) Net of dividends on preferred stock. The quarter ended December 31, 2017 excludes, and the quarter ended September 30, 2017 includes, cumulative and undeclared dividends of $8.3 million on the 5 Company's Series F Preferred Stock as of September 30, 2017. (3) See footnote 2 on page 20 within this document for an explanation of how the Company calculates PAA cost (benefit) per average common share.

Key Earnings Metrics Unaudited, dollars in thousands except per share amounts For the quarters ended 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 Dividends declared per common share $0.30 $0.30 $0.30 $0.30 $0.30 Total common and preferred dividends declared (1) $397,163 $380,677 $381,663 $388,511 $348,479 Annualized GAAP return (loss) on average equity 10.73% 17.20% 36.86% 20.58% 10.98% Annualized GAAP return (loss) on average equity per unit of economic leverage 1.60% 2.69% 5.67% 3.12% 1.59% Annualized core return on average equity (excluding PAA) * 10.85% 11.05% 10.70% 10.67% 10.57% Annualized core return on average equity per unit of economic leverage (excluding PAA) * 1.62% 1.73% 1.65% 1.62% 1.53% Key Earnings Net interest margin 1.49% 1.53% 1.94% 1.47% 1.33% Metrics Net interest margin (excluding PAA) * 1.50% 1.56% 1.52% 1.51% 1.47% Average yield on interest earning assets 3.21% 3.04% 3.45% 2.97% 2.79% Average yield on interest earning assets (excluding PAA) * 3.22% 3.07% 2.99% 3.02% 2.97% Average cost of interest bearing liabilities (2) 2.08% 1.89% 1.90% 1.83% 1.82% Net interest spread 1.13% 1.15% 1.55% 1.14% 0.97% Net interest spread (excluding PAA) * 1.14% 1.18% 1.09% 1.19% 1.15% * Represents a non-GAAP financial measure. (1) The quarter ended December 31, 2017 includes, and the quarter ended September 30, 2017 excludes, $8.3 million of dividends on the Company's Series F Preferred Stock, which were cumulative and undeclared as of September 30, 2017. 6 (2) Includes GAAP interest expense and the net interest component of interest rate swaps. Prior to the quarter ended March 31, 2018, this metric included the net interest component of interest rate swaps used to hedge cost of funds. Beginning with the quarter ended March 31, 2018, as a result of changes to the Company’s hedging portfolio, this metric reflects the net interest component of all interest rate swaps.

Components of Economic Net Interest Income Unaudited, dollars in thousands For the quarters ended 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 Interest income: Residential Securities $680,037 $662,750 $779,588 $654,387 $540,436 Residential mortgage loans 21,184 18,868 15,505 10,750 8,509 Commercial investment portfolio 97,531 79,343 72,457 73,596 67,790 U.S. Treasury securities 160 — — — — Reverse repurchase agreements 17,684 15,845 11,937 6,690 5,815 Total interest income $816,596 $776,806 $879,487 $745,423 $622,550 Net Interest Economic interest expense: Income Repurchase agreements $445,535 $400,475 $331,374 $283,909 $237,669 Net interest component of interest rate swaps (1) (51,349) (31,475) 48,160 73,957 78,564 Debt issued by securitization vehicles 29,391 18,201 15,652 17,405 16,072 Other 26,047 24,016 20,395 17,397 15,196 Total economic interest expense * $449,624 $411,217 $415,581 $392,668 $347,501 Economic net interest income * $366,972 $365,589 $463,906 $352,755 $275,049 PAA cost (benefit) 3,386 7,516 (118,395) 11,367 39,899 Economic net interest income (excluding PAA) * $370,358 $373,105 $345,511 $364,122 $314,948 * Represents a non-GAAP financial measure. (1) Prior to the quarter ended March 31, 2018, this metric included the net interest component of interest rate swaps used to hedge cost of funds. Beginning with the quarter ended March 31, 2018, as a result of changes to the Company’s hedging portfolio, this metric reflects the net interest component of all interest rate swaps. 7

GAAP Net Income to Core Earnings Reconciliation Unaudited, dollars in thousands For the quarters ended 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 GAAP net income (loss) $385,429 $595,887 $1,327,704 $746,771 $367,315 Net income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interests (149) (32) (96) (151) (232) Net income (loss) attributable to Annaly $385,578 $595,919 $1,327,800 $746,922 $367,547 Adjustments to exclude reported realized and unrealized (gains) losses: Realized (gains) losses on termination or maturity of interest rate swaps (575) — (834) 160,075 — Unrealized (gains) losses on interest rate swaps (417,203) (343,475) (977,285) (484,447) (56,854) Net (gains) losses on disposal of investments 324,294 66,117 (13,468) (7,895) 11,552 Net (gains) losses on other derivatives (94,827) (34,189) 47,145 (121,334) (154,208) Net unrealized (gains) losses on instruments measured at fair value through 39,944 48,376 51,593 12,115 67,492 earnings Adjustments to exclude components of other (income) loss: Depreciation and amortization expense related to commercial real estate 9,278 — — — — Core Earnings (1) Reconciliation Non-core (income) loss allocated to equity method investments (2,358) — — — — Non-core other (income) loss (2) 44,525 — — — — Adjustments to exclude components of general and administrative expenses and income taxes: Transaction expenses and non-recurring items (3) 60,081 — 1,519 — — Income tax effect of non-core income (loss) items 886 — — — — Adjustments to add back components of realized and unrealized (gains) losses: TBA dollar roll income and CMBX coupon income (4) 56,570 62,491 88,353 89,479 94,326 MSR amortization (5) (19,913) (19,942) (21,156) (19,331) (16,208) Core earnings * $386,280 $375,297 $503,667 $375,584 $313,647 Less: Premium amortization adjustment cost (benefit) 3,386 7,516 (118,395) 11,367 39,899 Core earnings (excluding PAA) * $389,666 $382,813 $385,272 $386,951 $353,546 * Represents a non-GAAP financial measure. (1) Beginning with the quarter ended September 30, 2018, the Company excludes non-core (income) loss allocated to equity method investments, which represents the unrealized (gains) losses allocated to equity interests in a portfolio of MSR, which is a component of Other income (loss). (2) Represents the amount of consideration paid for the acquisition of MTGE Investment Corp. in excess of the fair value of net assets acquired. This amount is primarily attributable to a decline in portfolio valuation between the pricing and closing dates of the transaction and is consistent with changes in market values observed for similar assets over the same period. (3) Represents costs incurred in connection with the MTGE transaction and costs incurred in connection with a securitization of residential whole loans for the quarter ended September 30, 2018. Represents costs incurred in connection with a securitization of residential whole loans for the quarter ended March 31, 2018. (4) TBA dollar roll income and CMBX coupon income each represent a component of Net gains (losses) on other derivatives. CMBX coupon income totaled $1.2 million for the quarter ended September 30, 2018. There 8 were no adjustments for CMBX coupon income prior to September 30, 2018. (5) MSR amortization represents the portion of changes in fair value that is attributable to the realization of estimated cash flows on the Company’s MSR portfolio and is reported as a component of Net unrealized gains (losses) on instruments measured at fair value.

Quarter-Over-Quarter Changes in Key Metrics Unaudited For the quarters ended 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 Book value per common share, beginning of period $10.35 $10.53 $11.34 $11.42 $11.19 Net income (loss) available (related) to common stockholders (1) 0.29 0.49 1.12 0.62 0.32 Book Value Other comprehensive income (loss) attributable to common stockholders (0.32) (0.37) (1.63) (0.42) 0.19 Rollforward Common dividends declared (0.30) (0.30) (0.30) (0.30) (0.30) Issuance of common stock / redemption of preferred stock 0.01 0.00 0.00 0.02 0.02 Book value per common share, end of period $10.03 $10.35 $10.53 $11.34 $11.42 Prior quarter net interest margin 1.53% 1.94% 1.47% 1.33% 1.23% Quarter-over-quarter changes in contribution: Coupon on average interest-earning assets (including average TBA dollar roll 0.03% 0.08% 0.19% 0.13% (0.12%) and CMBX balances) Net Interest Margin Net amortization of premiums 0.06% (0.38%) 0.37% 0.10% 0.22% TBA dollar roll income and CMBX coupon income (0.03%) (0.09%) 0.01% (0.04%) 0.01% Interest expense and net interest component of interest rate swaps (0.10%) (0.02%) (0.10%) (0.05%) (0.01%) Current quarter net interest margin 1.49% 1.53% 1.94% 1.47% 1.33% Prior quarter net interest margin (excluding PAA) * 1.56% 1.52% 1.51% 1.47% 1.53% Quarter-over-quarter changes in contribution: Coupon on average interest-earning assets (including average TBA dollar roll 0.03% 0.08% 0.19% 0.13% (0.12%) Net Interest and CMBX balances) Margin (excluding Net amortization of premiums, excluding PAA 0.04% 0.07% (0.09%) 0.00% 0.06% PAA)* TBA dollar roll income and CMBX coupon income (0.03%) (0.09%) 0.01% (0.04%) 0.01% Interest expense and net interest component of interest rate swaps (0.10%) (0.02%) (0.10%) (0.05%) (0.01%) Current quarter net interest margin (excluding PAA) * 1.50% 1.56% 1.52% 1.51% 1.47% * Represents a non-GAAP financial measure. (1) For book value purposes, the quarter ended December 31, 2017 includes, and the quarter ended September 30, 2017 excludes, $8.3 million of dividends on the Company’s Series F Preferred stock, which were cumulative and undeclared as of September 30, 2017. 9

Quarter-Over-Quarter Changes in Key Metrics (cont’d) Unaudited For the quarters ended 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 Prior quarter net interest spread 1.15% 1.55% 1.14% 0.97% 0.84% Quarter-over-quarter changes in contribution: Net Interest Coupon on average interest earning assets 0.13% 0.00% 0.03% 0.02% 0.00% Spread Net amortization of premiums 0.04% (0.41%) 0.45% 0.16% 0.21% Average cost of interest bearing liabilities(1) (0.19%) 0.01% (0.07%) (0.01%) (0.08%) Current quarter net interest spread 1.13% 1.15% 1.55% 1.14% 0.97% Prior quarter net interest spread (excluding PAA) * 1.18% 1.09% 1.19% 1.15% 1.19% Quarter-over-quarter changes in contribution: Net Interest Coupon on average interest earning assets 0.12% 0.00% 0.03% 0.02% 0.00% Spread (excluding PAA)* Net amortization of premiums, excluding PAA 0.03% 0.08% (0.06%) 0.03% 0.04% Average cost of interest bearing liabilities(1) (0.19%) 0.01% (0.07%) (0.01%) (0.08%) Current quarter net interest spread (excluding PAA) * 1.14% 1.18% 1.09% 1.19% 1.15% * Represents a non-GAAP financial measure. (1) Includes GAAP interest expense and the net interest component of interest rate swaps. Prior to the quarter ended March 31, 2018, this metric included the net interest component of interest rate swaps used to hedge cost of funds. Beginning with the quarter ended March 31, 2018, as a result of changes to the Company’s hedging portfolio, this metric reflects the net interest component of all interest rate swaps. 10

Quarter-Over-Quarter Changes in Return on Average Equity Unaudited For the quarters ended 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 Prior quarter GAAP return (loss) on average equity 17.20% 36.86% 20.58% 10.98% 0.46% Quarter-over-quarter changes in contribution: Coupon income (0.21%) 1.10% 0.83% 1.04% 0.24% Net amortization of premiums and accretion of discounts 0.53% (3.10%) 3.05% 0.90% 1.35% GAAP Return Interest expense and net interest component of interest rate swaps (0.65%) (0.33%) (0.49%) (0.38%) (0.58%) (Loss) on Average Realized (gains) losses on termination or maturity of interest rate 0.02% (0.02%) 4.43% (4.41%) 0.00% Equity swaps Unrealized (gains) losses on interest rate swaps 1.70% (17.22%) 13.78% 11.65% 7.32% Realized and unrealized (gains) losses on investments and other derivatives (5.18%) 0.05% (5.59%) 0.98% 2.36% Other(1) (2.68%) (0.14%) 0.27% (0.18%) (0.17%) Current quarter GAAP return (loss) on average equity 10.73% 17.20% 36.86% 20.58% 10.98% Prior quarter core return on average equity (excluding PAA) * 11.05% 10.70% 10.67% 10.57% 10.54% Quarter-over-quarter changes in contribution: Coupon income (0.21%) 1.10% 0.83% 1.04% 0.24% Core Return on Net amortization of premiums (excluding PAA) 0.41% 0.41% (0.56%) 0.02% 0.24% Average Equity (excluding PAA)* Interest expense and net interest component of interest rate swaps (0.65%) (0.33%) (0.49%) (0.38%) (0.58%) TBA dollar roll income and CMBX coupon income (0.23%) (0.65%) (0.01%) (0.35%) 0.25% Other(2) 0.48% (0.18%) 0.26% (0.23%) (0.12%) Current quarter core return on average equity (excluding PAA) * 10.85% 11.05% 10.70% 10.67% 10.57% * Represents a non-GAAP financial measure. (1) Includes other income (loss), general and administrative expenses and income taxes. (2) Includes other income (loss) (excluding non-core items), MSR amortization (a component of Net unrealized gains (losses) on instruments measured at fair value through earnings), general and administrative 11 expenses (excluding transaction related expenses) and income taxes (excluding non-core income tax).

Residential Investments and TBA Derivative Overview as of September 30, 2018 Unaudited, dollars in thousands Agency Fixed-Rate Securities (Pools) Weighted Avg. Current Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Estimated Years to Maturity Face Value % (3) Coupon Amortized Cost Fair Value 3-Month CPR Fair Value <=15 years (1) $4,690,400 5.7% 3.22% 102.4% 98.9% 9.1% $4,640,410 20 years 4,200,080 5.1% 3.46% 104.4% 99.9% 10.4% 4,195,826 >=30 years (2) 73,243,499 89.2% 3.91% 105.6% 101.0% 9.0% 74,000,219 Total/Weighted Avg. $82,133,979 100.0% 3.85% 105.4% 100.8% 9.1% $82,836,455 TBA Purchase Contracts Weighted Avg. Implied Cost Implied Market Type Notional Value % (4) Coupon Basis Value 15-year $2,252,294 13.9% 3.00% $2,230,059 $2,224,000 30-year 13,956,866 86.1% 4.12% 14,074,499 14,029,193 Total/Weighted Avg. $16,209,160 100.0% 3.96% $16,304,558 $16,253,193 Agency Adjustable-Rate Securities Weighted Avg. Current Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Estimated Months to Reset Face Value % (3) Coupon Amortized Cost Fair Value 3-Month CPR Fair Value 0 - 24 months $4,237,962 77.8% 3.15% 105.4% 102.9% 29.2% $4,361,143 25 - 40 months 326,930 6.0% 2.81% 104.3% 100.4% 22.5% 328,374 41 - 60 months 176,526 3.2% 2.77% 102.7% 99.2% 18.3% 175,202 61 - 90 months 708,693 13.0% 3.01% 103.4% 98.9% 13.1% 701,187 Total/Weighted Avg. $5,450,111 100.0% 3.10% 105.0% 102.1% 26.4% $5,565,906 (1) Includes Agency-backed multifamily securities with an estimated fair value of $1.2 billion. (2) Includes fixed-rate collateralized mortgage obligations of $11.5 million. (3) Weighted by current face value. 12 (4) Weighted by notional value.

Residential Investments & TBA Derivative Overview as of September 30, 2018 (cont’d) Unaudited, dollars in thousands Agency Interest-Only Collateralized Mortgage-Backed Obligations Current Notional Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Estimated Type Value % (1) Coupon Amortized Cost Fair Value 3-Month CPR Fair Value Interest-only $2,470,749 39.5% 3.33% 14.0% 12.0% 8.6% $296,979 Inverse Interest-only 3,778,136 60.5% 3.92% 23.3% 15.6% 12.5% 590,788 Total/Weighted Avg. $6,248,885 100.0% 3.69% 19.6% 14.2% 11.0% $887,767 Mortgage Servicing Rights Unpaid Excess Weighted Avg. Principal Weighted Avg. Servicing Loan Age Estimated Type Balance Coupon Spread (months) Fair Value Total/Weighted Avg. $44,523,187 3.82% 0.24% 30.1 $588,833 Residential Credit Portfolio Current Face / Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Estimated Sector Notional Value % (2) Coupon Amortized Cost Fair Value Fair Value Credit Risk Transfer $651,360 17.9% 5.54% 102.9% 105.7% $688,521 Alt-A 239,990 5.6% 4.58% 84.8% 90.0% 216,064 Prime 386,193 9.8% 4.60% 94.0% 97.8% 377,630 Subprime 449,425 11.1% 3.08% 85.3% 95.4% 428,686 NPL/RPL 3,431 0.1% 5.00% 98.9% 100.2% 3,439 Prime Jumbo 137,953 3.4% 3.63% 97.1% 94.2% 129,968 Prime Jumbo Interest-only 884,325 0.5% 0.45% 1.5% 2.0% 17,680 Residential Mortgage Loans 1,976,077 51.6% 4.74% 101.4% 100.5% 1,983,015 Total/Weighted Avg. $4,728,754 100.0% 3.84% $3,845,003 (1) Weighted by current notional value. (2) Weighted by estimated fair value. 13

(1) Residential Credit Investments Detail as of September 30, 2018 Unaudited, dollars in thousands Payment Structure Investment Characteristics Estimated Credit 60+ Product Fair Value Senior Subordinate Coupon Enhancement Delinquencies 3M VPR Agency Credit Risk Transfer $658,691 $— $658,691 5.46% 1.16% 0.25% 9.33% Private Label Credit Risk Transfer 29,830 — 29,830 7.49% 1.17% 0.52% 12.12% Alt-A 216,064 152,656 63,408 4.58% 10.47% 11.20% 12.84% Prime 377,630 189,938 187,692 4.60% 9.32% 7.86% 12.36% Subprime 428,686 156,671 272,015 3.08% 10.47% 18.40% 6.23% Non-Performing Loan Securitizations 3,439 — 3,439 5.00% 55.49% 54.68% 14.76% Prime Jumbo (>=2010 Vintage) 129,968 95,393 34,575 3.63% 13.62% 0.02% 6.48% Prime Jumbo (>=2010 Vintage) Interest-only 17,680 17,680 — 0.45% 0.00% 0.24% 7.87% Total $1,861,988 $612,338 $1,249,650 4.70% 7.30% 7.80% 13.23% Bond Coupon Estimated Fair Product Value ARM Fixed Floater Interest Only Agency Credit Risk Transfer $658,691 $— $— $658,691 $— Private Label Credit Risk Transfer 29,830 — — 29,830 — Alt-A 216,064 64,558 100,264 51,242 — Prime 377,630 177,834 172,384 27,412 — Subprime 428,686 — 59,903 368,783 — Non-Performing Loan Securitizations 3,439 — 3,439 — — Prime Jumbo (>=2010 Vintage) 129,968 — 129,968 — — Prime Jumbo (>=2010 Vintage) Interest-only 17,680 — — — 17,680 Total $1,861,988 $242,392 $465,958 $1,135,958 $17,680 (1) Excludes residential mortgage loans. 14

Commercial Real Estate Overview as of September 30, 2018 Unaudited, dollars in thousands GAAP Non-GAAP Number of Weighted Avg Weighted Avg Life Economic Book Values (1) % of Portfolio Levered Return(6) Mortgage Debt & Preferred Equity Investments Investments LTV (2) (3) (years) (4) Interest(5) First Mortgages 23 $1,084,167 18.2% 67.6% 3.7 $362,677 10.1% Mezzanine Loan Investments 18 342,700 5.8% 74.5% 3.1 320,829 9.8% Preferred Equity Investments 1 8,998 0.2% 94.0% 0.2 8,998 11.2% Commercial Real Estate Debt and Preferred Equity, Held for 42 $1,435,865 24.2% 68.8% 3.5 $692,504 10.0% Investment Loans Held for Sale, Net 1 $42,325 0.7% 24.0% 4.7 $21,141 9.6% Securitized Whole Loans 82 $3,521,945 59.2% 60.1% 3.4 $72,489 27.4% AAA CMBS 5 110,640 1.9% 27.7% 1.0 15,639 9.9% Credit CMBS 7 75,855 1.3% 49.8% 6.0 30,232 13.0% Total Commercial Real Estate Debt Investments, at fair value 94 $3,708,440 62.4% 58.9% 3.4 $118,360 21.4% Total Debt Portfolio 137 $5,186,630 87.3% 61.9% 3.4 $832,005 11.6% Number of Economic Equity Investments Book Value % of Portfolio Levered Return(7) Properties Interest(5) Real Estate Held for Investment 56 $660,084 11.1% $223,477 10.8% Investment in Unconsolidated Joint Ventures(8) 27 92,930 1.6% 129,645 9.0% Total Equity Investments 83 $753,014 12.7% $353,122 10.2% Total 220 $5,939,644 100.0% $1,185,127 11.2% Derivatives Net Notional Range of Ratings Implied Weighted Average Market Value Coupon CMBX (9) $396,000 AAA to BBB- $396,000 1.2% (1) Commercial real estate debt and preferred equity, held for investment book values are net of unamortized net origination fees. (2) Total weighted based on carry value. (3) Based on an internal valuation or the most recent third party appraisal, which may be prior to loan origination/purchase date or at the time of underwriting. (4) Maturity dates assume all of the borrowers' extension options are exercised for the commercial real estate debt and preferred equity, held for investment portfolio. (5) Economic Interest is a non-GAAP measure to include gross asset values less related financings. Equity investments is adjusted to exclude depreciation and amortization. (6) Levered Return represents the current coupon plus accretion and amortization of origination fees and premium/discount and funding costs over investment economic interest. (7) Equity levered returns are calculated based on trailing twelve months cash-on-cash returns, updated on a one month lag. (8) Includes investment in unconsolidated debt fund of $24.9 million and investment in Community Investment Impact Fund of $20.3 million. (9) The Company sells/buys protection on CMBX tranches referencing baskets of Conduit CMBS bonds with various ratings. Positive net notional indicates selling protection and being long the exposure to the underlying CMBS. CMBX positions are accounted for as derivatives with changes in fair value presented in Net gains (losses) on other derivatives. 15

Middle Market Lending Overview as of September 30, 2018 Unaudited, dollars in thousands Industry Dispersion Size Dispersion Industry Fixed Rate Floating Total Position Size Amount Percentage Aircraft and Parts $— $41,344 $41,344 $0 - $20 million $320,283 20.9% Coating, Engraving and Allied Services — 58,850 58,850 $20 - $40 million 276,593 18.1% Computer Programming, Data Processing & Other Computer Related Services — 212,969 212,969 $40 - $60 million 389,498 25.5% Drugs — 38,735 38,735 Greater than $60 million 542,500 35.5% Electric Work — 43,266 43,266 Total $1,528,874 100.0% Electronic Components & Accessories — 24,029 24,029 Engineering, Architectural, and Surveying — 80,741 80,741 Tenor Dispersion Groceries and Related Products — 14,725 14,725 Remaining Term Amount Percentage Grocery Stores — 23,461 23,461 One year or less $— —% Insurance Agents, Brokers and Services — 49,211 49,211 One to three years 99,249 6.5% Mailing, Reproduction, Commercial Art and Three to five years 335,347 21.9% Photography, and Stenographic — 14,855 14,855 Greater than five years 1,094,278 71.6% Management and Public Relations Services — 240,740 240,740 Total $1,528,874 100.0% Medical and Dental Laboratories — 26,876 26,876 Metal Cans & Shipping Containers — 118,006 118,006 Lien Position Amount  Percentage Miscellaneous Business Services — 19,650 19,650 First lien loans $888,860 58.1% Miscellaneous Equipment Rental and Leasing — 49,433 49,433 Second lien loans 640,014 41.9% Miscellaneous Health and Allied Services, not elsewhere classified — 54,189 54,189 Total $1,528,874 100.0% Miscellaneous Plastic Products — 9,963 9,963 Motor Vehicles and Motor Vehicle Equipment — 16,937 16,937 Motor Vehicles and Motor Vehicle Parts and Supplies — 27,979 27,979 Nonferrous Foundries (Castings) — 12,953 12,953 Offices and Clinics of Doctors of Medicine — 97,760 97,760 Offices and Clinics of Other Health Practitioners — 21,122 21,122 Public Warehousing and Storage — 61,912 61,912 Research, Development and Testing Services — 33,334 33,334 Schools and Educational Services, not elsewhere classified — 19,794 19,794 Services Allied with the Exchange of Securities — 14,895 14,895 Surgical, Medical, and Dental Instruments and Supplies — 39,806 39,806 Telephone Communications — 61,339 61,339 Total $— $1,528,874 $1,528,874 16

Hedging and Liabilities as of September 30, 2018 Unaudited, dollars in thousands Interest Rate Swaps (1) Interest Rate Swaptions Current Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Current Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Weighted Avg. Years to Underlying Underlying Underlying Underlying Months to Maturity Notional Pay Rate Receive Rate Maturity 0 to 3 years $34,361,800 1.76% 2.36% 1.38 Type Notional Pay Rate Receive Rate Years to Maturity Expiration >3 to 6 years 16,854,750 2.25% 2.34% 4.44 Long $4,500,000 3.18% 3M LIBOR 10.21 5.09 > 6 to 10 years 15,746,900 2.48% 2.26% 8.62 Greater than 10 years 4,151,400 3.60% 2.27% 17.13 Repurchase Agreements & Other Secured Financing Total / Weighted Avg. $71,114,850 2.10% 2.33% 4.34 Weighted Avg. Principal Rate Futures Positions Maturity Balance At Period End Notional Notional Weighted Avg. Within 30 days $36,575,521 2.23% Long Short Years to 30 to 59 days 7,321,938 2.26% Type Positions Positions Maturity(2) 60 to 89 days 17,423,359 2.38% U.S. Treasury Futures - 2 year — (1,166,000) 2.00 90 to 119 days 6,518,313 2.20% U.S. Treasury Futures - 5 year — (6,359,400) 4.41 Over 120 days(3) 15,342,442 2.52% U.S. Treasury Futures - 10 year & Greater — (12,346,600) 7.18 Total / Weighted Avg. $83,181,573 2.31% Total $— $(19,872,000) 5.99 Principal Weighted Average Rate Balance At Period End For the Quarter Days to Maturity (4) Repurchase agreements $79,073,026 2.32% 2.25% 55 Other secured financing 4,108,547 2.66% 2.73% 845 Debt issued by securitization vehicles 3,773,740 3.24% 3.26% 2,983 Mortgages payable 517,503 4.03% 4.44% 4,863 Total indebtedness $87,472,816 (1) There were no forward-starting interest rate swaps at September 30, 2018. (2) Weighted average years to maturity for futures positions are based on the U.S. Treasury contracts cheapest to deliver. (3) Approximately 5% of the total repurchase agreements and other secured financing have a remaining maturity over one year. 17 (4) Determined based on estimated weighted average lives of the underlying debt instruments.

Quarter-Over-Quarter Interest Rate and MBS Spread Sensitivity Unaudited Assumptions: ▪ The interest rate sensitivity and MBS spread sensitivity are based on the portfolios as of September 30, 2018 and June 30, 2018 ▪ The interest rate sensitivity reflects instantaneous parallel shifts in rates ▪ The MBS spread sensitivity shifts MBS spreads instantaneously and reflects exposure to MBS basis risk ▪ All tables assume no active management of the portfolio in response to rate or spread changes Interest Rate Sensitivity (1) As of September 30, 2018 As of June 30, 2018 Interest Rate Estimated Percentage Estimated Change as a % Estimated Percentage Estimated Change as a % Change (bps) Change in Portfolio Value(2) of NAV(2)(3) Change in Portfolio Value(2) of NAV(2)(3) (75) 0.5% 3.3% 0.2% 1.8% (50) 0.4% 3.0% 0.3% 2.0% (25) 0.3% 1.8% 0.2% 1.3% 25 (0.3%) (2.4%) (0.3%) (1.9%) 50 (0.7%) (5.3%) (0.6%) (4.2%) 75 (1.2%) (8.6%) (0.9%) (7.0%) MBS Spread Sensitivity (1) As of September 30, 2018 As of June 30, 2018 MBS Spread Shock Estimated Change in Estimated Change as a % Estimated Change in Estimated Change as a % (bps) Portfolio Market Value (2) of NAV(2)(3) Portfolio Market Value (2) of NAV(2)(3) (25) 1.6% 11.5% 1.5% 11.5% (15) 1.0% 6.9% 0.9% 6.8% (5) 0.3% 2.3% 0.3% 2.3% 5 (0.3%) (2.3%) (0.3%) (2.3%) 15 (0.9%) (6.8%) (0.9%) (6.7%) 25 (1.6%) (11.3%) (1.5%) (11.2%) (1) Interest rate and MBS spread sensitivity are based on results from third party models in conjunction with internally derived inputs. Actual results could differ materially from these estimates. (2) Scenarios include Residential Investment Securities, residential mortgage loans, MSRs and derivative instruments. (3) Net asset value (“NAV”) represents book value of common equity. 18

Appendix

Endnotes for Page 2 * Represents a non-GAAP financial measure. In connection with the Company's continued growth and diversification, including the recent acquisition of MTGE Investment Corp., the Company has updated its calculation of core earnings and related metrics to reflect changes to its portfolio composition and operations. Beginning with the results for the quarter ended September 30, 2018, core earnings has been refreshed to include coupon income (expense) on CMBX positions (reported in Net gains (losses) on other derivatives) and to exclude depreciation and amortization expense on real estate and related intangibles (reported in Other income (loss)), non-core income (loss) allocated to equity method investments (reported in Other income (loss)) and the income tax effect of non- core income (loss) (reported in Income taxes). Prior period results will not be adjusted to conform to the revised calculation as the impact in each of those periods is not material. The Company calculates "core earnings", a non-GAAP measure, as the sum of (a) economic net interest income, (b) TBA dollar roll income and CMBX coupon income, (c) realized amortization of MSRs, (d) other income (loss) (excluding depreciation and amortization expense on real estate and related intangibles, non-core income allocated to equity method investments and other non-core components of other income (loss)), (e) general and administrative expenses (excluding transaction expenses and non-recurring items) and (f) income taxes (excluding the income tax effect of non-core (income) loss items). Core earnings (excluding PAA) excludes the premium amortization adjustment representing the cumulative impact on prior periods, but not the current period, of quarter-over-quarter changes in estimated long-term prepayment speeds related to the Company’s Agency mortgage-backed securities. (1) Net of dividends on preferred stock. (2) The Company separately calculates core earnings per average common share and core earnings (excluding PAA) per average common share, with the difference between these two per share amounts attributed to the PAA cost (benefit) per average common share. As such, the reported value of the PAA cost (benefit) per average common share may not reflect the result of dividing the PAA cost (benefit) by the weighted average number of common shares outstanding due to rounding. (3) Book value per common share includes shares of the Company's common stock that were pending issuance to shareholders of MTGE Investment Corp. ("MTGE") at September 30, 2018 in connection with the Company's acquisition of MTGE. (4) Debt consists of repurchase agreements, other secured financing, securitized debt and mortgages payable. Certain credit facilities (included within other secured financing), securitized debt and mortgages payable are non-recourse to the Company. (5) Computed as the sum of recourse debt, TBA derivative notional outstanding and net forward purchases (sales) of investments divided by total equity. Recourse debt consists of repurchase agreements and other secured financing (excluding certain non-recourse credit facilities). Securitized debt, certain credit facilities (included within other secured financing) and mortgages payable are non-recourse to the Company and are excluded from this measure. (6) Computed as the ratio of total equity to total assets (inclusive of total market value of TBA derivatives and exclusive of securitized debt of consolidated VIEs). (7) Net interest margin represents the sum of the Company's interest income plus TBA dollar roll income less interest expense and the net interest component of interest rate swaps divided by the sum of average interest earning assets plus average TBA contract balances. Net interest margin (excluding PAA) excludes the premium amortization adjustment (“PAA”) representing the cumulative impact on prior periods, but not the current period, of quarter-over-quarter changes in estimated long-term prepayment speeds related to the Company’s Agency mortgage-backed securities. (8) Represents annualized interest income divided by average interest earning assets. Interest earning assets reflects the average amortized cost of our investments during the period. Annualized yield on interest earning assets (excluding PAA) is calculated using annualized interest income (excluding PAA). (9) Includes GAAP interest expense and the net interest component of interest rate swaps. Prior to the quarter ended March 31, 2018, this metric included the net interest component of interest rate swaps used to hedge cost of funds. Beginning with the quarter ended March 31, 2018, as a result of changes to the Company’s hedging portfolio, this metric reflects the net interest component of all interest rate swaps. (10) Excludes costs incurred in connection with the MTGE transaction and costs incurred in connection with a securitization of residential whole loans for the quarter ended September 30, 2018. Excludes costs incurred in connection with a securitization of residential whole loans for the quarter ended March 31, 2018. 20

Non-GAAP Reconciliations Unaudited, dollars in thousands * To supplement its consolidated financial statements, which are prepared and presented in accordance with GAAP, the Company provides non-GAAP financial measures. These measures should not be considered a substitute for, or superior to, financial measures computed in accordance with GAAP. While intended to offer a fuller understanding of the Company’s results and operations, non-GAAP financial measures also have limitations. For example, the Company may calculate its non-GAAP metrics, such as core earnings, or the PAA, differently than its peers making comparative analysis difficult. Additionally, in the case of non-GAAP measures that exclude the PAA, the amount of amortization expense excluding the PAA is not necessarily representative of the amount of future periodic amortization nor is it indicative of the term over which the Company will amortize the remaining unamortized premium. Changes to actual and estimated prepayments will impact the timing and amount of premium amortization and, as such, both GAAP and non-GAAP results. These non-GAAP measures provide additional detail to enhance investor understanding of the Company’s period-over-period operating performance and business trends, as well as for assessing the Company’s performance versus that of industry peers. Additional information pertaining to these non-GAAP financial measures and reconciliations to their most directly comparable GAAP results are provided below and on the next page. A reconciliation of GAAP net income (loss) to non-GAAP core earnings for the quarters ended September 30, 2018, June 30, 2018, March 31, 2018, December 31, 2017 and September 30, 2017, is provided on page 8 of this financial summary. For the quarters ended, 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 Premium Amortization Reconciliation Premium amortization expense $187,537 $202,426 $95,832 $203,951 $220,636 Less: PAA cost (benefit) 3,386 7,516 (118,395) 11,367 39,899 Premium amortization expense (excluding PAA) $184,151 $194,910 $214,227 $192,584 $180,737 Interest Income (excluding PAA) Reconciliation GAAP interest income $816,596 $776,806 $879,487 $745,423 $622,550 PAA cost (benefit) 3,386 7,516 (118,395) 11,367 39,899 Interest Income (excluding PAA) * $819,982 $784,322 $761,092 $756,790 $662,449 Economic Interest Expense Reconciliation GAAP interest expense $500,973 $442,692 $367,421 $318,711 $268,937 Add: Net interest component of interest rate swaps (1) (51,349) (31,475) 48,160 73,957 78,564 Economic interest expense *(1) $449,624 $411,217 $415,581 $392,668 $347,501 Economic Net Interest Income (excluding PAA) Reconciliation Interest income (excluding PAA) * $819,982 $784,322 $761,092 $756,790 $662,449 Less: Economic interest expense *(1) 449,624 411,217 415,581 392,668 347,501 Economic net interest income (excluding PAA) *(1) $370,358 $373,105 $345,511 $364,122 $314,948 * Represents a non-GAAP financial measure. (1) Includes GAAP interest expense and the net interest component of interest rate swaps. Prior to the quarter ended March 31, 2018, this metric included the net interest component of interest rate swaps used to hedge cost of funds. Beginning with the quarter ended March 31, 2018, as a result of changes to the Company’s hedging portfolio, this metric reflects the net interest component of all interest rate swaps. 21

Non-GAAP Reconciliations (cont'd) Unaudited, dollars in thousands For the quarters ended, 9/30/2018 6/30/2018 3/31/2018 12/31/2017 9/30/2017 Economic Metrics (excluding PAA) Average interest earning assets $101,704,957 $102,193,435 $101,979,042 $100,247,589 $89,253,094 Interest income (excluding PAA) * $819,982 $784,322 $761,092 $756,790 $662,449 Average yield on interest earning assets (excluding PAA) * 3.22% 3.07% 2.99% 3.02% 2.97% Average interest bearing liabilities $86,638,082 $87,103,807 $87,376,452 $85,992,215 $76,382,315 Economic interest expense * 449,624 411,217 415,581 392,668 347,501 Average cost of interest bearing liabilities(1) 2.08% 1.89% 1.90% 1.83% 1.82% Economic net interest income (excluding PAA)*(1) $370,358 $373,105 $345,511 $364,122 $314,948 Net interest spread (excluding PAA) * 1.14% 1.18% 1.09% 1.19% 1.15% Interest income (excluding PAA) * $819,982 $784,322 $761,092 $756,790 $662,449 TBA dollar roll income and CMBX coupon income (2) 56,570 62,491 88,353 89,479 94,326 Interest expense (500,973) (442,692) (367,421) (318,711) (268,937) Net interest component of interest rate swaps 51,349 31,475 (48,160) (82,271) (88,211) Subtotal $426,928 $435,596 $433,864 $445,287 $399,627 Average interest earning assets $101,704,957 $102,193,435 $101,979,042 $100,247,589 $89,253,094 Average TBA contract and CMBX balances (2) 12,216,863 9,407,819 12,050,341 17,509,691 19,291,834 Subtotal $113,921,820 $111,601,254 $114,029,383 $117,757,280 $108,544,928 Net interest margin (excluding PAA) * 1.50% 1.56% 1.52% 1.51% 1.47% * Represents a non-GAAP financial measure. (1) Includes GAAP interest expense and the net interest component of interest rate swaps. Prior to the quarter ended March 31, 2018, this metric included the net interest component of interest rate swaps used to hedge cost of funds. Beginning with the quarter ended March 31, 2018, as a result of changes to the Company’s hedging portfolio, this metric reflects the net interest component of all interest rate swaps. 22 (2) CMBX coupon income and average CMBX balances have only been applied to the quarter ended September 30, 2018. The impact to net interest margin (excluding PAA) in prior periods was immaterial.