Capital Senior Living Corporation

For Immediate Release	Contact:	Ralph A. Beattie 972/770-5600
CAPITAL SENIOR LIVING CORPORATION
ANNOUNCES A FIVE COMMUNITY LEASE TRANSACTION
DALLAS — (BUSINESS WIRE) —January 4, 2010 — Capital Senior Living Corporation (the “Company”) (NYSE:CSU), one of the country’s largest operators of senior living communities, announced today that Midwest Portfolio Holdings, LP (“Midwest I”), a joint venture in which it holds an 11 percent partnership interest, has entered into an agreement to sell five senior living communities to Health Care REIT, Inc. (NYSE:HCN). Upon closing the transaction, the Company will lease the communities from HCN. The Company currently manages the five communities in the joint venture under long-term management agreements.
“This transaction will provide immediate benefits to our shareholders,” commented Lawrence A. Cohen, Chief Executive Officer of the Company. “Along with a significant increase in our revenues, the lease will be accretive to cash flow and earnings. While we have been earning management fees on these communities since 2006, we will now be able to consolidate the results of operations and benefit fully from further improvement in occupancies, margins and rental rates. These five communities are strategically located in the Midwest portion of the country, where nearly 50 percent of our operations are located. We are also extremely pleased to enter into a new relationship with Health Care REIT, Inc., a leading healthcare REIT that invests across the full spectrum of senior housing and health care real estate.”
The properties being leased have approximately 295 units and a combined resident capacity of nearly 390 and include four assisted living communities in Nebraska and one assisted living community in Iowa.
The Company anticipates receiving proceeds from Midwest I of approximately $3.0 million, compared to its contribution of approximately $2.7 million. The Company may receive additional proceeds after the joint venture settles its customary post-closing costs.
Annualizing third quarter 2009 results of operations for the five communities, with financial occupancy of 91 percent, yields approximately $10.7 million of revenue and $5.1 million of EBITDAR. The initial lease expense is approximately $4.0 million and is subject to conditional annual escalation provisions. The triple net operating lease has an initial term of 15 years, with one 15-year renewal option. The Company expects to begin consolidating the revenues and expenses of the five communities on its income statement, along with the lease expense, in the first quarter of 2010, subject to lender and regulatory approvals and other customary closing conditions.

CAPITAL/Page 2
ABOUT THE COMPANY
Capital Senior Living Corporation is one of the nation’s largest operators of residential communities for senior adults. The Company’s operating philosophy emphasizes a continuum of care, which integrates independent living, assisted living and home care services, to provide residents the opportunity to age in place.
The Company currently operates 66 senior living communities in 23 states with an aggregate capacity of approximately 9,800 residents, including 40 senior living communities which the Company owns or in which the Company has an ownership interest, 25 leased communities and one community it manages for a third party. Resident capacities in the communities operated by the Company indicate that 69 percent of residents live independently, 24 percent of residents require assistance with activities of daily living and 7 percent of residents live in continuing care retirement communities.
The forward-looking statements in this release are subject to certain risks and uncertainties that could cause results to differ materially, including, but not without limitation to, the Company’s ability to find suitable acquisition properties at favorable terms, financing, licensing, business conditions, risks of downturns in economic conditions generally, satisfaction of closing conditions such as those pertaining to licensure, availability of insurance at commercially reasonable rates, and changes in accounting principles and interpretations among others, and other risks and factors identified from time to time in our reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.
This release contains certain financial information not derived in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP), including EBITDAR. The Company believes this information is useful to investors and other interested parties. Such information should not be considered as a substitute for any measures derived in accordance with GAAP, and may not be comparable to other similarly titled measures of other companies. Reconciliation of this information to the most comparable GAAP measures is included as an attachment to this release.
Contact Ralph A. Beattie, Chief Financial Officer, at 972-770-5600 for more information.

CAPITAL/Page 3
CAPITAL SENIOR LIVING
RECONCILIATION OF NON-GAAP ITEMS
(in millions)

Annualized
Q3 2009
EBITDAR reconciliation:
Income from operations	$3.2
Interest Expense	1.4
Management Fees	0.5

EBITDAR	$5.1
#####