Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

     Attention Business/Financial/Science/Medical Editors:
     Vasogen's Research Published in European Journal of Neuroscience

     - VP025 Provides a Neuroprotective Effect in Preclinical Model of
     Parkinson's Disease -

     MISSISSAUGA, ON, Jan. 28 /CNW/ - Vasogen Inc. (NASDAQ:VSGN; TSX:VAS), a
biotechnology company engaged in the research and commercial development of
therapies designed to target the destructive inflammatory process associated
with the development and progression of cardiovascular and neurodegenerative
disorders, today announced the publication of preclinical findings
demonstrating that Vasogen's VP025, the leading candidate from its VP series
of drugs, provides a significant neuroprotective effect in a model of
Parkinson's disease. The research, which was conducted at the University
College Cork, Ireland, was published in the European Journal of Neuroscience
(Vol 27, pp.294-300, 2008).
     Evidence is accumulating that inflammation plays an important role in the
pathogenesis of Parkinson's disease. Microglial cells (immune cells resident
in the brain) are activated in Parkinson's disease, producing pro-inflammatory
factors that result in the death of nerve cells in an area of the brain called
the nigrostriatal pathway. The published research was based on a
well-established model of Parkinson's disease that involves the generation of
a lesion on one side of the brain by the introduction of 6-hydroxydopamine
(6-OHDA), inducing abnormal behaviour resulting in rotational movement. Both
Parkinson's disease and 6-OHDA administration are associated with inflammatory
processes that lead to the death of certain nerve cells, the dopaminergic
neurons, which produce the neurotransmitter dopamine. It is the loss of these
neurons and thereby the dopamine they produce that results in the movement
abnormalities seen in this model.
     The published study assessed the effect of pre-treatment with VP025 on
6-OHDA-induced rotational behaviour in response to amphetamine. Treatment with
VP025 prior to 6-OHDA administration led to behavioural improvement
demonstrated by a substantial (50-75%) and significant (p(less than)0.001)
reduction in rotation rate. VP025 also protected against the loss of
dopaminergic neurons and provided significant protection against the reduction
in levels of striatal dopamine induced by OHDA. The absence of rotations was
maintained for up to three weeks while partial protection against the loss of
dopaminergic neurons and reduction in striatal dopamine levels was still
evident four weeks after lesion induction, indicating that VP025 has a
potential long-term neuroprotective effect in this model.
     Parkinson's disease, a chronic and progressive neurological condition,
affects up to 1.5 million Americans.
     While its cause is unknown, the symptoms of Parkinson's disease are
primarily the result of degeneration of areas of the brain that control and
modulate movement. Symptoms include a number of movement abnormalities such as
tremors, slowness of movement, stiffness and rigidity of limbs, and gait or
balance problems. As the disease progresses, these symptoms usually increase
and impact a person's ability to work and function.
     VP025, the lead product candidate from a new class of structurally
related drugs, is being developed for the treatment of chronic
neuro-inflammatory disorders. VP025 is designed to interact with immune cells
leading to the modulation of cytokines - potent chemical messengers that
regulate and control inflammation. Neurological conditions that are associated
with an inflammatory response in the central nervous system include
Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, and amyotrophic
lateral sclerosis (ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig's disease). These indications
are characterized by increased levels of inflammatory mediators, including
cytokines, leading to the death of nerve cells and the eventual loss of
functional activity. Due to the prevalence, morbidity, and mortality
associated with neuro-inflammatory diseases, they represent a significant
medical, social, and financial burden.

     About Vasogen:

     Vasogen is a biotechnology company engaged in the research and commercial
development of therapies designed to target the destructive inflammatory
process associated with the development and progression of cardiovascular and
neurodegenerative disorders. The Company's lead product, the Celacade(TM)
System, is designed to activate the immune response to apoptosis - an
important physiological process that regulates inflammation. Celacade has
received European regulatory approval under the CE Mark for chronic heart
failure and is being marketed in the EU by Grupo Ferrer Internacional, S.A.
Celacade is also in late-stage clinical development for the treatment of
chronic heart failure in the United States. Vasogen is also developing a new
class of drugs for the treatment of certain neuro-inflammatory disorders.
VP025 is the lead candidate from this new class of drugs.

     Certain statements contained in this press release, or elsewhere in our
public documents constitute "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of
the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and/or
"forward-looking information" under the Securities Act (Ontario). These
statements may include, without limitation, plans to advance the development
of Celacade(TM) or VP025, plans to fund our current activities, statements
concerning our partnering activities, health regulatory submissions, strategy,
future operations, future financial position, future revenues and projected
costs. In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by
terminology such as "may", "will", "should", "expects", "plans",
"anticipates", "believes", "estimated", "predicts", "potential", "continue",
"intends", "could", or the negative of such terms or other comparable
terminology. We made a number of assumptions in the preparation of these
forward-looking statements, including assumptions about the nature, size, and
accessibility of the market for Celacade in the treatment of chronic heart
failure, particularly in Europe, the regulatory approval process leading to
commercialization and the availability of capital on acceptable terms to
pursue the development of Celacade, and the feasibility of additional trials.
You should not place undue reliance on our forward-looking statements which
are subject to a multitude of risks and uncertainties that could cause actual
results, future circumstances or events to differ materially from those
projected. These risks include, but are not limited to, the outcome of further
ongoing analysis of the ACCLAIM trial results, the requirement or election to
conduct additional clinical trials and the size and design of any such trials,
delays or setbacks in the regulatory approval process, difficulties in the
maintenance of existing regulatory approvals, securing and maintaining
corporate alliances, the need for additional capital and the effect of capital
market conditions and other factors on capital availability, the potential
dilutive effects of any financing, risks associated with the outcomes of our
preclinical and clinical research and development programs, the adequacy,
timing, and results of our clinical trials, competition, market acceptance of
our products, the availability of government and insurance reimbursements for
our products, the strength of intellectual property, reliance on partners,
subcontractors, and key personnel, losses due to fluctuations in the
U.S.-Canadian exchange rate, and other risks detailed from time to time in our
public disclosure documents or other filings with the Canadian and U.S.
securities commissions or other securities regulatory bodies. Additional risks
and uncertainties relating to our Company and our business can be found in the
"Risk Factors" section of our Annual Information Form and Form 20-F for the
year ended November 30, 2006, as well as in our later public filings. The
forward-looking statements are made as of the date hereof, and we disclaim any
intention and have no obligation or responsibility, except as required by law,
to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new
information, future events or otherwise.

     %SEDAR: 00001047E          %CIK: 0001042018

     /For further information: Glenn Neumann, Investor Relations, 2155 Dunwin
Drive, Mississauga, ON, Canada, L5L 4M1, tel: (905) 569-9065, fax: (905)
569-9231, www.vasogen.com, investor(at)vasogen.com/
     (VSGN VAS.)

CO:  Vasogen Inc.

CNW 07:00e 28-JAN-08