Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

           Attention Business/Financial/Science/Medical Editors:
           Results of Vasogen's Phase III ACCLAIM Trial Accepted for Publication in
           The Lancet

           MISSISSAUGA, ON, Dec. 18 /CNW/ - Vasogen Inc. (NASDAQ:VSGN; TSX:VAS)
today announced that the results from the phase III ACCLAIM trial of its
Celacade(TM) System in patients with chronic heart failure have been accepted
for publication in The Lancet, a world-leading medical journal. As previously
reported by Vasogen, a key finding from the ACCLAIM trial was a 39% reduction
in the risk of death or cardiovascular hospitalizations for a large
pre-specified subgroup of patients with NYHA Class II heart failure who
received Vasogen's Celacade therapy, compared to patients receiving placebo.
           "We believe that the publication of the ACCLAIM results, in a journal
renowned for the communication of high-quality peer-reviewed research from
around the world, is indicative of the exceptional design and execution of the
trial, as well as the important contribution of ACCLAIM in identifying the
role of Celacade in the treatment of patients suffering from heart failure,"
commented Chris Waddick, President and CEO of Vasogen. "The results published
in Lancet will help to underpin the recently announced commercial launch of
Celacade in the European Union, where it has already been approved, as well as
the initiation of the ACCLAIM-II trial, which is a confirmatory trial in NYHA
Class II patients being planned for the purpose of achieving regulatory
approval in the United States."
           The manuscript detailing the results of Vasogen's phase III ACCLAIM trial
of Celacade in patients with chronic heart failure is authored by Guillermo
Torre-Amione, Methodist Hospital, Houston, TX; Stefan D Anker, Charite, Campus
Virchow-Klinikum, Berlin, Germany; Robert C Bourge, University of Alabama at
Birmingham, Birmingham, AL; Wilson S Colucci, Boston University School of
Medicine, Boston, MA; Barry H Greenberg, UCSD Medical Center, San Diego, CA;
Per Hildebrandt, Frederiksberg Hospital, Frederiksberg, Denmark; Andre Keren,
Hadassah University Hospital, Jerusalem, Israel; Michael Motro, Chaim Sheba
Medical Center, Tel-Hashomer, Israel; Lemuel A Moye, University of Texas
Health Science Center, Houston, TX; Jan Erik Otterstad, Hospital of Vestfold,
Toensberg, Norway; Craig M Pratt, Methodist Hospital, Houston, TX; Piotr
Ponikowski, Military Hospital, Wroclaw, Poland; Jean Lucien Rouleau, Faculty
of Medicine, Universite de Montreal, Montreal, PQ; Francois Sestier, Hotel
Dieu du CHUM, Center de Recherche, Montreal, PQ; Bernhard R Winkelmann,
Kardiologische Gemeinschaftspraxis, Frankfurt, Germany; and James B Young, The
Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH.
           The Lancet's coverage is international in focus and extends to all
aspects of human health. It aims to publish the best original primary research
papers, and review articles of the highest standard. The Lancet is stringently
edited and peer-reviewed to ensure the scientific merit and clinical relevance
of its diverse content. Drawing on an international network of advisers and
contributors, The Lancet meets the needs of physicians by adding to their
clinical knowledge and alerting them to current issues affecting the practice
of medicine worldwide.

           About Vasogen:

           Vasogen is a biotechnology company engaged in the research and commercial
development of therapies designed to target the destructive inflammatory
process associated with the development and progression of cardiovascular and
neurodegenerative disorders. The Company's lead product, the Celacade(TM)
System, is designed to activate the immune response to apoptosis - an
important physiological process that regulates inflammation. Celacade has
received European regulatory approval under the CE Mark for chronic heart
failure and is being marketed in the EU by Grupo Ferrer Internacional, S.A.
Celacade is also in late-stage clinical development for the treatment of
chronic heart failure in the United States. Vasogen is also developing a new
class of drugs for the treatment of certain neuro-inflammatory disorders.
VP025 is the lead drug candidate from this new class.

           Certain statements contained in this press release, or elsewhere in our
public documents constitute "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of
the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and/or
"forward-looking information" under the Securities Act (Ontario). These
statements may include, without limitation, plans to advance the development
of Celacade(TM) or VP025, plans to fund our current activities, statements
concerning our partnering activities, health regulatory submissions, strategy,
future operations, future financial position, future revenues and projected
costs. In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by
terminology such as "may", "will", "should", "expects", "plans",
"anticipates", "believes", "estimated", "predicts", "potential", "continue",
"intends", "could", or the negative of such terms or other comparable
terminology. We made a number of assumptions in the preparation of these
forward-looking statements, including assumptions about the nature, size, and
accessibility of the market for Celacade in the treatment of chronic heart
failure, particularly in Europe, the regulatory approval process leading to
commercialization and the availability of capital on acceptable terms to
pursue the development of Celacade, and the feasibility of additional trials.
You should not place undue reliance on our forward-looking statements which
are subject to a multitude of risks and uncertainties that could cause actual
results, future circumstances or events to differ materially from those
projected. These risks include, but are not limited to, the outcome of further
ongoing analysis of the ACCLAIM trial results, the requirement or election to
conduct additional clinical trials and the size and design of any such trials,
delays or setbacks in the regulatory approval process, difficulties in the
maintenance of existing regulatory approvals, securing and maintaining
corporate alliances, the need for additional capital and the effect of capital
market conditions and other factors on capital availability, the potential
dilutive effects of any financing, risks associated with the outcomes of our
preclinical and clinical research and development programs, the adequacy,
timing, and results of our clinical trials, competition, market acceptance of
our products, the availability of government and insurance reimbursements for
our products, the strength of intellectual property, reliance on partners,
subcontractors, and key personnel, losses due to fluctuations in the
U.S.-Canadian exchange rate, and other risks detailed from time to time in our
public disclosure documents or other filings with the Canadian and U.S.
securities commissions or other securities regulatory bodies. Additional risks
and uncertainties relating to our Company and our business can be found in the
"Risk Factors" section of our Annual Information Form and Form 20-F for the
year ended November 30, 2006, as well as in our later public filings. The
forward-looking statements are made as of the date hereof, and we disclaim any
intention and have no obligation or responsibility, except as required by law,
to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new
information, future events or otherwise.

           %SEDAR: 00001047E          %CIK: 0001042018

           /For further information: Glenn Neumann, Investor Relations, 2505
Meadowvale Blvd., Mississauga, ON, Canada, L5N 5S2, tel: (905) 817-2004, fax:
(905) 569-9231, www.vasogen.com, investor(at)vasogen.com/
           (VSGN VAS.)

CO:  Vasogen Inc.

CNW 07:00e 18-DEC-07