Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

    Attention Business/Financial Editors:
    Vasogen Announces Third Quarter Conference Call and Webcast of Bio
    InvestorForum 2007 Presentation

    MISSISSAUGA, ON, Oct. 2 /CNW/ - Vasogen Inc. (NASDAQ:VSGN; TSX:VAS), a
biotechnology Company focused on the research and commercial development of
technologies targeting the chronic inflammation underlying cardiovascular and
neurological disease, will release its quarterly results after the close of
the North American financial markets on Tuesday, October 9, 2007. A conference
call and audio web cast will also be conducted on Tuesday, October 9, 2007, at
4:30 p.m. Eastern Time, during which management will provide a Company update
and discuss third quarter results.
    To participate in the conference call, please connect to one of the
following ten minutes before the event:

    <<
          ----------------------------------------------------------
           Audio Web Cast                           www.vasogen.com
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           Direct Dial                                 416-641-6124
          ----------------------------------------------------------
           Toll-free                                 1-866-300-4047
          ----------------------------------------------------------

    A re-broadcast of the conference call may be accessed via:

          ----------------------------------------------------------
           Audio Web Cast                           www.vasogen.com
          ----------------------------------------------------------
           Direct Dial                                 416-695-5800
          ----------------------------------------------------------
           Toll-free                                 1-800-408-3053
          ----------------------------------------------------------
           Pin Code             3238234 followed by the number sign
          ----------------------------------------------------------
    >>

    Vasogen also announced today that its President and Chief Executive
Officer, Chris Waddick, will present a Company overview at Bio InvestorForum
2007 on October 10, 2007, at 12:15 p.m. Pacific Time (3:15 p.m. ET) at the
Palace Hotel, San Francisco. A live audio web cast and slide presentation of
this event can be accessed through Vasogen's Website at: www.vasogen.com. An
archived replay will be available following the presentation.

    About Vasogen:

    Vasogen is a biotechnology company engaged in the research and commercial
development of therapies designed to target the destructive inflammatory
process associated with the development and progression of cardiovascular and
neurodegenerative disorders. The Company's lead product, the Celacade(TM)
technology, is designed to activate the immune response to apoptosis - an
important physiological process that regulates inflammation. Celacade is in
late-stage development for the treatment of chronic heart failure and has
received European regulatory approval under the CE Mark for this indication.
Vasogen is also developing a new class of drugs for the treatment of certain
neuro-inflammatory disorders and is preparing to advance VP025, the lead drug
candidate from this new class, into phase II development.

    Certain statements contained in this press release, the upcoming
conference call and webcasts, or elsewhere in our public documents constitute
"forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the United States Private
Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and/or "forward-looking information"
under the Securities Act (Ontario). These statements may include, without
limitation, plans to advance the development of Celacade(TM), plans to fund
our current activities, statements concerning our partnering activities,
health regulatory submissions, strategy, future operations, future financial
position, future revenues and projected costs. In some cases, you can identify
forward-looking statements by terminology such as "may", "will", "should",
"expects", "plans", "anticipates", "believes", "estimated", "predicts",
"potential", "continue", "intends", "could", or the negative of such terms or
other comparable terminology. We made a number of assumptions in the
preparation of these forward-looking statements, including assumptions about
the nature, size, and accessibility of the market for Celacade in the
treatment of chronic heart failure, particularly in Europe, the regulatory
approval process leading to commercialization and the availability of capital
on acceptable terms to pursue the development of Celacade, and the feasibility
of additional trials. You should not place undue reliance on our
forward-looking statements which are subject to a multitude of risks and
uncertainties that could cause actual results, future circumstances or events
to differ materially from those projected. These risks include, but are not
limited to, the outcome of further ongoing analysis of the ACCLAIM trial
results, the requirement or election to conduct additional clinical trials and
the size and design of any such trials, delays or setbacks in the regulatory
approval process, difficulties in the maintenance of existing regulatory
approvals, securing and maintaining corporate alliances, the need for
additional capital and the effect of capital market conditions and other
factors on capital availability, the potential dilutive effects of any
financing, risks associated with the outcomes of our preclinical and clinical
research and development programs, the adequacy, timing, and results of our
clinical trials, competition, market acceptance of our products, the
availability of government and insurance reimbursements for our products, the
strength of intellectual property, reliance on partners, subcontractors, and
key personnel, losses due to fluctuations in the U.S.-Canadian exchange rate,
and other risks detailed from time to time in our public disclosure documents
or other filings with the Canadian and U.S. securities commissions or other
securities regulatory bodies. Additional risks and uncertainties relating to
our Company and our business can be found in the "Risk Factors" section of our
Annual Information Form and Form 20-F for the year ended November 30, 2006, as
well as in our later public filings. The forward-looking statements are made
as of the date hereof, and we disclaim any intention and have no obligation or
responsibility, except as required by law, to update or revise any
forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future
events or otherwise.

    %SEDAR: 00001047E          %CIK: 0001042018

    /For further information: Glenn Neumann, Investor Relations, 2505
Meadowvale Blvd, Mississauga, ON, Canada L5N 5S2, tel: (905) 817-2004, fax:
(905) 569-9231, www.vasogen.com, investor(at)vasogen.com/
    (VSGN VAS.)

CO:  Vasogen Inc.

CNW 12:09e 02-OCT-07