Exhibit 99.1

NOTICE OF ANNUAL AND SPECIAL MEETING OF SHAREHOLDERS

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT the annual and special meeting (the "Meeting") of
shareholders of Vasogen Inc. (the "Company") will be held at the TSX Conference
Centre, 130 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario, on Wednesday, March 22, 2006, at
4:30 p.m. (Toronto time) for the following purposes:

1.    to receive the 2005 Annual Report of the Company, containing the audited
      financial statements of the Company for the financial year ended November
      30, 2005, and the auditor's report thereon;

2.    to elect eight directors;

3.    to reappoint the auditor and to authorize the directors to fix the
      auditor's remuneration;

4.    to consider and, if deemed advisable, to approve, with or without
      variation, the resolution, the text of which is set forth in Schedule "A"
      to the accompanying Management Proxy Circular and incorporated herein by
      reference, approving the amendment of the 2003 Employee Stock Option Plan
      of the Company;

5.    to consider and, if deemed advisable, to approve, with or without
      variation, the resolution, the text of which is set forth in Schedule "B"
      to the accompanying Management Proxy Circular and incorporated herein by
      reference, approving the amendment of the Director Stock Option Plan of
      the Company;

6.    to consider and, if deemed advisable, to approve, with or without
      variation, the resolution, the text of which is set forth in Schedule "C"
      to the accompanying Management Proxy Circular and incorporated herein by
      reference, approving the amendment of the Shareholder Rights Plan of the
      Company; and

7.    to transact such further and other business as may properly come before
      the Meeting or any adjournment or adjournments thereof.

The specific details of the matters proposed to be put before the Meeting are
set forth in the Management Proxy Circular that accompanies and forms part of
this Notice.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, February 9, 2006.

                                     BY ORDER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS


                                     Jacqueline H.R. Le Saux
                                     Vice-President, Corporate & Legal Affairs
                                     and Secretary

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOTES:

1.    A Management Proxy Circular, Proxy, and the 2005 Annual Report accompany
      this Notice of Meeting. Registered shareholders who are unable to be
      present at the Meeting are kindly requested to specify on the accompanying
      form of proxy the manner in which the shares represented thereby are to be
      voted, and to sign, date, and return same in accordance with the
      instructions set out in the Proxy and the Management Proxy Circular.

2.    As provided in the Canada Business Corporations Act, the directors have
      fixed a record date of January 23, 2006. Accordingly, shareholders
      registered on the books of the Company at the close of business on January
      23, 2006, are entitled to notice of the Meeting.

3.    Persons who are registered as shareholders on the books of the Company at
      the close of business on January 23, 2006, are entitled to vote at the
      Meeting.

4.    If you are a beneficial shareholder and receive these materials through
      your broker or another intermediary, please complete and return the
      materials in accordance with the instructions provided to you by your
      broker or intermediary.

MANAGEMENT PROXY CIRCULAR

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SOLICITATION OF PROXIES ...................................................    2

VOTING BY BENEFICIAL SHAREHOLDERS .........................................    3

VOTING SECURITIES AND PRINCIPAL HOLDERS OF VOTING SECURITIES ..............    3

PARTICULARS OF MATTERS TO BE ACTED ON .....................................    3
     1. Election of Directors .............................................    3
     2. Appointment and Remuneration of Auditor ...........................    6
     3. Amendment of 2003 Employee Stock Option Plan ......................    6
     4. Amendment of Director Stock Option Plan - 2003 ....................    7
     5. Amendment of Shareholder Rights Plan ..............................    9

EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION ....................................................   11
     1.  Statement of Executive Compensation ..............................   11
     2.  Share Compensation Arrangements ..................................   12
     3.  Employment Contracts .............................................   14
     4.  Composition of the Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate
         Governance Committee and Report on Executive Compensation ........   14
     5.  Performance Graph ................................................   16
     6.  Compensation of Directors ........................................   16

SECURITIES AUTHORIZED FOR ISSUANCE UNDER EQUITY COMPENSATION PLANS ........   17

INDEBTEDNESS OF DIRECTORS, EXECUTIVE OFFICERS AND SENIOR OFFICERS .........   17

AUDITOR INDEPENDENCE ......................................................   18

AUDIT COMMITTEE INFORMATION ...............................................   18

INTERESTS OF MANAGEMENT AND OTHERS IN MATERIAL TRANSACTIONS ...............   18

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE ......................................................   19

THE MANDATE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS .....................................   19

SHAREHOLDER PROPOSALS FOR THE 2007 ANNUAL MEETING .........................   20

AVAILABILITY OF DOCUMENTS .................................................   20

GENERAL ...................................................................   21

SCHEDULE "A"
    Approval of Amendment to 2003 Employee Stock Option Plan ..............   22
SCHEDULE "B"
    Approval of Amendment to Director Stock Option Plan - 2003 ............   23
SCHEDULE "C"
    Approval of Amendment to Shareholder Rights Plan ......................   24
SCHEDULE "D"
    Corporate Governance Guidelines .......................................   25

MANAGEMENT PROXY CIRCULAR OF VASOGEN INC.
FOR USE AT THE ANNUAL AND SPECIAL MEETING OF SHAREHOLDERS TO BE HELD ON
MARCH 22, 2006

SOLICITATION OF PROXIES

THIS MANAGEMENT PROXY CIRCULAR IS FURNISHED IN CONNECTION WITH THE SOLICITATION
OF PROXIES BY THE MANAGEMENT OF VASOGEN INC. (THE "COMPANY") for use at the
annual and special meeting of the shareholders of the Company (the "Meeting") to
be held at the TSX Conference Centre, 130 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5X
1J2, commencing at 4:30 p.m. (Toronto time) on Wednesday, March 22, 2006, for
the purposes set out in the accompanying Notice of Meeting and at any
adjournment(s) thereof. Registered shareholders who are unable to be present at
the Meeting in person are requested to complete, sign, date, and return the
accompanying form of proxy to the Secretary of the Company, c/o CIBC Mellon
Trust Company, 200 Queens Quay East, Unit #6, Toronto, Ontario M5A 4K9,
Attention: Proxy Department, in time for use at the Meeting. The addressed
envelope that accompanies this Management Proxy Circular may be used for such
purpose. It is expected that this solicitation will be primarily by mail;
however, officers, directors, and employees of the Company may also solicit
proxies by telephone, by facsimile, or in person. The cost of solicitation by
Management will be nominal and will be borne by the Company.

The persons named in the accompanying form of proxy are officers and/or
directors of the Company and shall represent Management at the Meeting. A
shareholder desiring to appoint some other person (who need not be a shareholder
of the Company) to represent the shareholder at the Meeting may do so by
inserting such person's name in the blank space provided in the form of proxy
and delivering the completed form of proxy addressed to either (a) the Secretary
of the Company, c/o CIBC Mellon Trust Company, 200 Queens Quay East, Unit #6,
Toronto, Ontario M5A 4K9, Attention: Proxy Department, before 5:00 p.m., two
business days preceding the day of the Meeting or any adjournment(s) thereof or
(b) the Chairman or the Secretary of the Meeting, at the beginning of the
Meeting or any adjournment(s) thereof.

The persons named in the accompanying form of proxy will vote for or against or
withhold from voting the shares in respect of which they are appointed proxy
holder on any ballot that may be called for in accordance with the instructions
of the shareholder executing the proxy. In the absence of such instructions,
such shares will be voted (i) for the election of the directors named in this
Management Proxy Circular; (ii) for the reappointment of KPMG LLP, Chartered
Accountants, as the auditor of the Company and to authorize the directors to fix
the auditor's remuneration; (iii) for the resolution set forth in Schedule "A"
to this Management Proxy Circular approving the amendment to the 2003 Employee
Stock Option Plan (the "2003 Plan"); (iv) for the resolution set forth in
Schedule "B" to this Management Proxy Circular approving the amendment to the
Director Stock Option Plan - 2003 (the "2003 Director Plan") and (v) for the
resolution set forth in Schedule "C" to this Management Proxy Circular approving
the amendment to the Shareholder Rights Plan. All resolutions proposed for
consideration at the Meeting require a simple majority of votes cast at the
Meeting for approval.

The accompanying form of proxy confers discretionary authority upon the persons
named therein with respect to amendments or variations to matters identified in
the accompanying Notice of Meeting, and to other matters that may properly come
before the Meeting. At the time of the printing of this Management Proxy
Circular, Management knows of no such amendments, variations, or other matters
to come before the Meeting other than the matters identified in the accompanying
Notice of Meeting. If, however, amendments or other matters properly come before
the Meeting, the persons designated in the accompanying form of proxy will vote
thereon in accordance with their judgment, pursuant to the discretionary
authority confirmed by such proxy with respect to such matters.

A proxy may be revoked by a shareholder by depositing an instrument in writing
executed by the shareholder or by the shareholder's attorney authorized in
writing (or, if the shareholder is a corporation, by an officer or attorney
thereof, authorized in writing), with either (a) the Secretary of the Company at
the registered office of the Company at 2505 Meadowvale Boulevard, Mississauga,
L5N 5S2, before 5:00 p.m., on the last business day preceding the day of the
Meeting or any adjournment(s) thereof at which the proxy is to be used or (b)
the Chairman or the Secretary of the Meeting, up to the beginning of the Meeting
or any adjournment(s) thereof. A proxy may also be revoked in any other manner
permitted by law.

VOTING BY BENEFICIAL SHAREHOLDERS

The information set forth in this section is important to the shareholders of
the Company who do not hold their common shares in their own name.

Shareholders who hold shares through their brokers, intermediaries, trustees, or
other nominees (such shareholders being collectively called "Beneficial
Shareholders") should note that only proxies deposited by shareholders whose
names appear on the share register of the Company may be recognized and acted
upon at the Meeting. If shares are shown on an account statement provided to a
Beneficial Shareholder by a broker, then in almost all cases the name of such
Beneficial Shareholder will not appear on the share register of the Company.
Such shares will most likely be registered in the name of the broker or an agent
of the broker. Such shares can only be voted by brokers, agents, or nominees
("Intermediaries") and can only be voted by them in accordance with instructions
received from Beneficial Shareholders. As a result, Beneficial Shareholders
should carefully review the voting instructions provided by their broker, agent,
or nominee with this Management Proxy Circular and ensure that they communicate
how they would like their shares voted in accordance with those instructions.

Most brokers delegate responsibility for obtaining voting instructions from
clients to a service company (a "Service Company"). The Service Company
typically supplies voting instruction forms, mails those forms to Beneficial
Shareholders, and asks those Beneficial Shareholders to return the forms to the
Service Company or to follow the alternative voting procedures detailed on the
voting instruction form. The Service Company then tabulates the results of all
instructions received and provides appropriate instructions respecting the
voting of shares at the Meeting. A Beneficial Shareholder receiving a voting
instruction form from the Service Company cannot use that form to vote shares
directly at the Meeting. Instead, the Beneficial Shareholder must return the
voting instruction form to the Service Company or follow the alternative voting
procedures, as mentioned above, well in advance of the Meeting in order to
ensure that such shares are voted. Alternatively, a Beneficial Shareholder may
be given a proxy that has already been signed by the Intermediary (typically by
a facsimile stamped signature), which is restricted as to the number of shares
beneficially owned by the Beneficial Shareholder but which is not otherwise
completed. Because the Intermediary has already signed the form of proxy, this
form of proxy is not required to be signed by the Beneficial Shareholder when
submitting the proxy. In this case, the Beneficial Shareholder who wishes to
vote by proxy should otherwise properly complete the form of proxy and deliver
it as specified above under "Solicitation of Proxies".

In either case, the purpose of these procedures is to permit Beneficial
Shareholders to direct the voting of the common shares of the Company, which
they beneficially own. A Beneficial Shareholder who wishes to attend and vote at
the Meeting in person (or to have another person attend and vote on behalf of
the Beneficial Shareholder) should print the Beneficial Shareholder's (or such
other person's) name in the blank space provided for that purpose in the first
paragraph of the proxy form or, in the case of a voting instruction form, follow
the corresponding instructions on that form. In either case, Beneficial
Shareholders should carefully follow the instructions of their Intermediary and
its service company, as applicable.

VOTING SECURITIES AND PRINCIPAL HOLDERS OF VOTING SECURITIES

As at January 23, 2006, there were issued and outstanding 82,373,743 common
shares without nominal or par value, each carrying the right to one vote per
share. To the knowledge of the directors and officers of the Company, no person
or company beneficially owns, directly or indirectly, or exercises control or
direction over more than 10% of the issued and outstanding common shares of the
Company. Each holder of issued and outstanding common shares of record at the
time of the close of business on January 23, 2006 (the "record date") will be
given notice of the Meeting and will be entitled to vote at the Meeting, in
person or by proxy, the number of shares held by such holder on the record date.

PARTICULARS OF MATTERS TO BE ACTED ON

1.    Election of Directors

The Articles of the Company provide that the Board of Directors of the Company
shall consist of a minimum of three and a maximum of eleven directors. The Board
of Directors has fixed at eight the number of directors to be elected at the
Meeting. Unless authority to vote is withheld, the persons named in the
accompanying form of proxy intend to vote for the election of the eight nominees
whose names are set forth below.

All of the nominees are now members of the Board of Directors of the Company and
have been since the dates indicated. Management does not contemplate that any of
the nominees will be unable to serve as directors, but if that should occur for
any reason prior to the Meeting, the persons named in the accompanying form of
proxy reserve the right to vote for another nominee at their discretion, unless
the shareholder has specified in the form of proxy that such shareholder's
shares are to be withheld from voting on the election of directors. Mr. Andre
Berard and Dr. Surya Mohapatra, currently directors of the Company, have advised
us that they are retiring from the Board of Directors effective upon the
election of the directors of the Company at this Meeting. In addition, following
the Meeting, Mr. Terrance Gregg will assume the position of Chairman of the
Company and Mr. William Grant will continue as a director.

The following table and the notes thereto state the names of all persons
proposed to be nominated for election as directors, their place of residence,
and all other positions and offices with the Company now held by them, their
principal occupations or employments and abbreviated biographies, other public
company boards on which they serve, their periods of service as directors of the
Company, the approximate number of shares of the Company beneficially owned or
over which control or direction is exercised by each of them as at January 31,
2006, and their attendance record at Vasogen Board of Directors' meetings during
the fiscal year 2005. Each director will hold office until the next annual
meeting of shareholders or until his successor is duly elected, unless prior
thereto the director resigns or the director's office becomes vacant by reason
of death or other cause.


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                                                  Director Since
                                                                                                                  ------------------
                                                                                                                  Common shares
                                                                                                                  owned, controlled,
                                                                                                                  or directed(1)
                                                                                                                  ------------------
Name and Position                                                               Other Public                      Vasogen Board
with the                Principal Occupation and Biography                      Company Boards                    Meeting
Company(2),(3)(4)                                                                                                 Attendance (5)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
William R. Grant(2)     Mr. Grant is Vice Chairman and Co-founder of            Advanced Medical Optics, Inc.     November 1998
Director and            Galen Associates in New York. He has more than          Massey Energy Company             Chairman since:
Chairman of the         40 years of experience in the investment banking        Quest Diagnostics Incorporated    March 2001
Board                   and healthcare fields. Mr. Grant formerly served
New York, New York      as President and Vice Chairman of Smith Barney,                                           ------------------
                        President and Chairman of MacKay-Shields
                        Financial Corporation, and Director and Vice                                              1,050,000(6)
                        Chairman of SmithKline Beecham (now
                        GlaxoSmithKline).                                                                         ------------------

                                                                                                                  3 of 3

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Terrance H. Gregg(3)    Mr. Gregg serves as an advisor to the healthcare        Amylin Pharmaceuticals, Inc.      September 1999
Director and            industry. In 2002 he retired as President of            DexCom Inc.
Vice Chairman of the    Medtronic MiniMed, a world leader in diabetes           LMS Medical Systems Limited       ------------------
Board                   management systems. He became President and             Patton Medical Devices, LLC.
Los Angeles,            Chief Operating Officer of MiniMed, Inc. in 1996                                          83,000
California              and was instrumental in Medtronic's US$3.4
                        billion acquisition of MiniMed in 2001. He also                                           ------------------
                        served in executive positions with Smith &
                        Nephew and Allergan Inc.                                                                  3 of 3

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ronald M.               Dr. Cresswell, former Senior Vice President and         None                              January 10, 2006
Cresswell(2)            Chief Scientific Officer of Warner-Lambert, has
Director                over 30 years of research and commercial                                                  ------------------
Ann Arbor, Michigan     development experience in cardiovascular and
                        other important therapeutic areas. He began his                                           150,000
                        tenure with Warner-Lambert in 1988 as the
                        President of Research and Development of the Not                                          ------------------
                        applicable Parke-Davis Pharmaceutical Research
                        Division. His vision and leadership in the                                                Not applicable
                        development of Lipitor(R) was instrumental in the
                        product's ultimate success.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                                                Director Since
                                                                                                                ------------------
                                                                                                                Common shares
                                                                                                                owned,
                                                                                                                controlled, or
Name and                                                                     Other Public                       directed(1)
Position with the       Principal Occupation and Biography                   Company Boards                     ------------------
Company(2),(3)(4)                                                                                               Vasogen Board
                                                                                                                Meeting
                                                                                                                Attendance (5)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
David G. Elsley         Mr. Elsley is President and CEO of Vasogen.          N/A                                January 1991
Director, President,    Over the past fifteen years, he has been
and Chief Executive     responsible for the scientific, clinical, and                                           ------------------
Officer                 commercial development of Vasogen's
Oakville, Ontario       Celacade(TM) technology. Mr. Elsley holds a                                             184,958
                        Master of Business Administration from the
                        Richard Ivey School of Business, University of                                          ------------------
                        Western Ontario.
                                                                                                                3 of 3

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Benoit La Salle(2)(7)   Mr. La Salle is Chairman and CEO of                  ART Research Technologies          January 1997
Director                SEMAFO Inc. and a chartered accountant with          Contact Image Inc.
Montreal, Quebec        extensive experience in international taxation.      LMS Medical Systems Limited        ------------------
                        Mr. La Salle is a member of the Quebec Order         Pebercan Inc.
                        of Chartered Accountants, the Canadian               SEMAFO Inc.                        56,150
                        Institute of Chartered Accountants, and the          2020 Technologies
                        Order of Chartered Administrators of Quebec.                                            ------------------
                        He founded Grou La Salle & Associes,
                        Chartered Accountants, in 1980.                                                         3 of 3

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Eldon R. Smith          Dr. Smith is Professor Emeritus at the               Canadian Natural Resources         July 1998
Director and            University of Calgary, where he served as the        Limited
Vice-President,         Dean of the Faculty of Medicine subsequent to        Overlord Financial Inc.            ------------------
Scientific Affairs      being Head of the Department of Medicine and         Pheromone Sciences Corp.
Calgary, Alberta        the Division of Cardiology. Dr. Smith is past-                                          71,318
                        President of the Canadian Cardiovascular
                        Society and served as Chairman of the                                                   ------------------
                        Scientific Review Committee of the Heart and
                        Stroke Foundation of Canada. Dr. Smith was                                              3 of 3
                        appointed as an Officer of the Order of Canada
                        in November 2005.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Calvin R. Stiller(3)    Dr. Stiller is Professor of Medicine, and a          NPS Pharmaceuticals, Inc.          January 10, 2006
Director                Professor in the Microbiology and                    Spectral Diagnostics Inc.
London, Ontario         Immunology Department at the University of           Residence Retirement REIT          ------------------
                        Western Ontario. He is the co-founder of four        CPL Trust, NeuroMedix Inc.
                        healthcare funds including the Canadian                                                 Nil
                        Medical Discoveries Fund, where he served as
                        Chairman and CEO. Dr. Stiller was principal                                             ------------------
                        investigator of the Canadian multi-center study
                        that established the importance of cyclosporine and                                     Not applicable
                        led to its worldwide use as first-line therapy for
                        transplant rejection.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
John C. Villforth(3)    Rear Admiral Villforth is past-President and         EduNeering Inc.
Director                Executive Director of the Food and Drug Law                                             March 2001
Derwood, Maryland       Institute and the former Director of the FDA
                        Center for Devices and Radiological Health.                                             ------------------
                        He has almost three decades of experience as a
                        commissioned officer in the U.S. Public                                                 10,000
                        Health Service in the Department of Health
                        and Human Services. Mr. Villforth retired                                               ------------------
                        from the public service sector with the rank of                                         3 of 3
                        Assistant Surgeon General (Rear Admiral).

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes:

1.    The information as to shares beneficially owned or over which control or
      direction is exercised, not being within the knowledge of the Company, has
      been furnished by each director individually as at January 31, 2005.

2.    Member of the Audit Committee of the Board of Directors.

3.    Member of the Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate Governance Committee
      of the Board of Directors.

4.    The Company does not have an executive committee of the Board of
      Directors.

5.    In addition to Board meetings, the Board holds regular telephone
      conferences with Management to review operations. Committee meetings were
      held on an as-needed basis throughout the year with generally full
      attendance.

6.    Mr. Grant directly owns 197,900 common shares of the Company. Mr. Grant
      exercises direction and control over a further 9,700 shares of the Company
      owned by Annetta Grant Children's Fund. Mr. Grant exercises direction and
      control over a further 842,400 shares of the Company indirectly owned by
      RB Investors, L.P. A further 1,461,000 shares of the Company, over which
      Mr. Grant does not exercise direction or control, are owned by Galen
      Associates.

7.    On December 9, 2002, BridgePoint International Inc., a company of which
      Mr. Benoit La Salle was a director and chairman, announced in a press
      release that cease trade orders had been issued with respect to its shares
      by the securities regulatory authorities in each of Quebec, Ontario,
      Manitoba, Alberta, and British Columbia as a consequence of its default in
      filing its audited financial statements for the year ended June 30, 2002
      within the prescribed time period. On or before April 1, 2003, all cease
      trade orders were revoked by the above-mentioned regulatory authorities.

2.    Appointment and Remuneration of Auditor

Unless authority to vote is withheld, the persons named in the accompanying form
of proxy intend to vote for the reappointment of KPMG LLP, Chartered
Accountants, as the auditor of the Company, to hold office until the next annual
meeting of the shareholders and to authorize the directors to fix the auditor's
remuneration. KPMG LLP, Chartered Accountants, has been the auditor of the
Company since 1994.

3.    Amendment of the 2003 Employee Stock Option Plan

The meeting has been called in part to consider, and, if thought fit, to approve
an amendment to the 2003 Employee Stock Option Plan (the "2003 Plan") to
increase by 3,000,000 the number of share options available for issuance under
the terms of the 2003 Plan. The Board of Directors has approved the amendment of
the 2003 Plan.

The objectives of the Company's compensation policies and programs are to
motivate and reward officers, other employees, and consultants upon the
achievement of significant corporate and functional objectives, to recruit and
retain employees of a high caliber by offering compensation that is competitive
with that offered for comparable positions in other biotechnology companies
across Canada and the United States, and to align employee interests with the
long-term interests of shareholders and the intermediate and long-term
objectives of the Company. The 2003 Plan is an integral part of achieving these
objectives as it provides officers, employees, and consultants of the Company
and its subsidiaries, with the opportunity to participate in the growth and
development of the Company.

Over the last three fiscal years, our number of employees has nearly tripled
from 61 full-time employees on November 30, 2002, to 172 full-time employees on
November 30, 2005. Our number of employees has increased to support our
expanding clinical programs, and for corporate, marketing, regulatory, and
business development activities associated with planning for the
commercialization of our products.

The 2003 Plan was approved by the Board of Directors on March 15, 2003. It was
approved by the shareholders of the Company at the Annual and Special Meeting of
Shareholders held on May 7, 2003. Two million common shares were initially
reserved for issuance under the 2003 Plan. Upon approval by the shareholders in
2003, the 2003 Plan replaced the Company's previous stock option plan (the
"Previous Plan"), and no new options have been granted under the Previous Plan
since May 2003. At the March 2005 Annual and Special Meeting of Shareholders,
the number of options authorized for issuance under the 2003 Plan was increased
by 3,000,000 from 2,000,000 to 5,000,000.

As of January 31, 2006, the Company currently has options authorized under the
2003 Plan and the Previous Plan to purchase a maximum of 6,397,492 shares,
representing less than 7.7% of the shares issued and outstanding. Based on a
December 2005 survey conducted by the Company, this percentage represents
approximately one-third of the average 23.7% that options authorized for
issuance represent as a percentage of shares issued and outstanding for
comparable biotechnology companies in the United States. In addition, based on
the December 2005 survey conducted by the Company, this percentage is
approximately three quarters of the average 11% that options authorized for
issuance represent as a percentage of shares issued and outstanding for
comparable biotechnology companies in Canada. Of the 6,397,492 share options
authorized for issuance under the 2003 Plan and the Previous Plan, a total of
5,677,420 have been issued, representing 6.8% of the shares issued and
outstanding as of January 31, 2006.

In order to meet the objectives of the Company's compensation programs aimed at
maintaining our ability to recruit and retain high caliber employees as the
Company grows, we are proposing to amend the 2003 Plan to increase the number of
options authorized for issuance by 3,000,000 shares. If the amendment is
approved by the shareholders, the number of options authorized under the 2003
Plan will increase by 3,000,000, from 5,000,000 to a total of 8,000,000 shares
authorized for issuance under the 2003 Plan. As a result of such amendment, the
total number of options authorized under the 2003 Plan and the Previous Plan
would rise to 9,397,492, representing 11.3% of the number of shares issued and
outstanding as of January 31, 2006, still well under the average percentage that
options authorized for issuance as a percentage of shares issued and outstanding
represent at comparable companies in the United States and similar to comparable
companies in Canada surveyed in December 2005 as described above. For clarity,
should the proposed amendment be approved by the shareholders, the new 3,000,000
options that may be granted under the 2003 Plan would not be granted
immediately. It is anticipated that they would be granted over the next several
years.

Individuals who are eligible to participate in the 2003 Plan are employees,
officers, consultants, and members of the Scientific Advisory Board ("SAB") of
the Company. Directors who are also officers or employees of the Company are
eligible participants. Eligible employee and officer participants have the
opportunity to be granted options on an annual basis, through the achievement of
both key corporate and individual objectives.

4.    Amendment of Director Stock Option Plan - 2003

The Meeting has been called in part to consider, and if thought fit, to approve
an amendment to the Company's Director Stock Option Plan - 2003 (the "2003
Director Plan") (i) to increase by 250,000 the number of share options available
for issuance under the terms of the 2003 Directors Plan and (ii) to increase the
number of shares that may be issued under any option to directors other than the
Chairman, from 10,000 to 15,000 as described below. The Board of Directors has
approved the amendments of the 2003 Director Plan. The 2003 Director Plan was
approved by shareholders of the Company at the Annual and Special Meeting of
Shareholders held on May 7, 2003.

The 2003 Director Plan provides directors with an opportunity to participate in
the growth and development of the Company by encouraging directors to purchase
and continue to hold shares of the Company. As described below, the 2003
Director Plan strictly limits the Board's discretion with respect to the number
of options to be granted under such plan, the frequency of option grants, and
the timing thereof. Future option grants to directors will also be dependent
upon continued share ownership.

Eligibility under the 2003 Director Plan is limited to directors of the Company
who are not, other than the Chairman, also executive officers of the Company.
Options will be granted once yearly. The maximum number of common shares
issuable pursuant to any single grant of options under the 2003 Director Plan
is, for the Chairman, equal to the lesser of (i) 25,000 common shares and (ii)
the number of common shares of the Company owned at the date of the option grant
by the Chairman or by a company in which the Chairman holds an executive
position. For all other directors, the amendment, subject to shareholder
approval, provides that the maximum number of common shares purchasable pursuant
to any single grant of options under the 2003 Director Plan shall be equal to
the lesser of (i) 15,000 (increased from 10,000) common shares and (ii) the
number of common shares owned at the date of the option grant by the eligible
director or by a company in which the director holds an executive position. If
an option holder ceases to be a director of the Company, then such director's
options will expire within one year thereafter.

Directors currently hold options to purchase 117,000 shares under a Previous
Plan replaced by the 2003 Director Plan in May 2003 and these options will
continue to be exercisable in accordance with their respective terms. As of
January 31, 2006, the Company currently has options authorized under the 2003
Director Plan and the Previous Plan to purchase a maximum of 367,000 shares,
representing less than 1% of the shares issued and outstanding. Of the 367,000
share options authorized for issuance to directors under the 2003 Director Plan
and the Previous Plan, a total of 267,000 have been issued, representing less
than 1% of the shares issued and outstanding as of January 31, 2006.

The Company proposes to increase the number of shares reserved for issuance
under the 2003 Director Plan from a maximum of 250,000 common shares to a
maximum of 500,000 common shares. The proposed reservation of shares under the
2003 Director Plan represents less than 1% of the number of common shares
currently issued and outstanding. As at January 31, 2006, 150,000 options to
purchase common shares have been granted under the 2003 Director Plan.

Information Applicable to Both the 2003 Plan and the 2003 Director Plan (the
"Plans")

An option may not be granted to an "insider" (as such is defined by the rules of
the Toronto Stock Exchange) of the Company if such option, together with any
other options previously granted by the Company (collectively, "Share
Compensation Arrangements") could result in (i) the number of common shares
reserved for issuance to insiders collectively exceeding 10% of the number of
common shares then issued and outstanding, less the number of common shares
issued pursuant to Share Compensation Arrangements within the previous 12 months
(the "Outstanding Issue"); (ii) the issuance to insiders, collectively, within
the 12 months immediately preceding or 12 months immediately following the date
of grant of such option, of a number of common shares exceeding 10% of the
Outstanding Issue; or (iii) the issuance to any one insider and such insider's
associates, within the 12 months immediately preceding or 12 months immediately
following the date of grant of such option, of a number of common shares
exceeding 5% of the Outstanding Issue.

The number of common shares reserved for issuance under the Plans at any time to
any one person shall not exceed 5% of the number of common shares then issued
and outstanding.

The Board of Directors is responsible for granting of options under the Plans,
and does so upon the recommendation of the Compensation, Nominating, and
Corporate Governance Committee of the Board of Directors. Under the terms of the
Plans, the exercise price for the options is fixed by the Board of Directors.
For shares listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange, the exercise price of the
options shall not be less than the closing sale price of the shares on the
Toronto Stock Exchange on the last trading day prior to the grant of the option.
If there is no closing price for the shares of the Company on the last trading
day prior to the grant of the option, then the exercise price shall not be less
than the simple average of the closing bid and ask prices on the Toronto Stock
Exchange on the last trading day prior to the grant of the option. The vesting
terms of the options are determined by the Board of Directors. The period for
exercising an option shall not exceed ten years beyond the date of grant of the
option.

In the event that a participant ceases to be an officer, employee, or consultant
of the Company by reason of resignation or by reason of discharge for cause,
then the options shall terminate and cease to be exercisable on the earliest to
occur of (a) the effective date upon which the person ceased to be an officer,
employee, or consultant and (b) the date that notice of dismissal is provided to
the person. In the event that a participant ceases to be an officer or an
employee of the Company on his or her normal retirement date or as a result of
termination without cause, then the participant shall be entitled to exercise
the options for 180 days following cessation of employment, but the 180-day
period does not otherwise extend the date of expiry provided in the original
grant of the options. In the event that a participant who is a member of the SAB
ceases to be a member of the SAB for any reason, then the participant shall be
entitled to exercise the options for a period of one year, but the one-year
period does not otherwise extend the date of expiry provided in the original
grant of the options. In the event that a director ceases to be a director for
any reason, then the optionee shall be entitled to exercise the options for a
period of one year, but the one-year period does not otherwise extend the date
of expiry provided in the original grant of the options. The options granted
under the Plans are not assignable, except in certain circumstances relating to
the death or disability of an eligible optionee.

Subject to the articles and by laws of the Company and the laws and regulations
that apply to us, the Board of Directors may amend, modify, or discontinue the
Plans at any time without notice, provided that such amendment, modification, or
termination may not, without the consent of a participant, impair the
participant's rights under any previously granted options.

The Plans include provisions typical of these types of plans for adjustments to
be made to the type, number and/or price of securities subject to option upon
the occurrence of certain events, such as the subdivision, consolidation,
reclassification, conversion, or substitution of the Company's common shares;
payment of a stock dividend; or the amalgamation of the Company.

A copy of the Plans and/or the Previous Plan is available upon request in
writing to the Corporate Secretary of Vasogen Inc., 2505 Meadowvale Boulevard,
Mississauga, Ontario L5N 5S2 Canada.

The rules of the Toronto Stock Exchange require that the amendment to the Plans
be approved by a majority of the votes cast at the Meeting. Unless a choice is
otherwise specified, it is intended that the common shares represented by the
proxies hereby solicited will be voted in favour of the resolutions set out in
Schedules "A" and "B" hereto approving the amendments to the Plans.

The Toronto Stock Exchange has approved the amendments to the Plans, subject to
shareholder approval being obtained.

5.    Amendment of Shareholder Rights Plan

The Meeting has also been called to consider, and if thought advisable, to
approve an amendment to the Company's shareholder rights plan (the "Rights
Plan") to extend the term of the Rights Plan until the date of the Company's
annual meeting of shareholders to be held in 2009, at which time the share
purchase rights ("Rights") issued under the Rights Plan will expire, unless they
are terminated, redeemed, or exchanged earlier by the Board of Directors.

The Rights Plan was first adopted by the Company on November 22, 2000, and
confirmed by shareholders on May 2, 2001. On May 7, 2003, the shareholders of
the Company approved amendments to the Rights Plan to extend its term until the
date of the annual meeting of shareholders in 2006, to be held on March 22,
2006, and to extend the minimum period that a Competing Permitted Bid (as
defined in the Rights Plan) must be open for acceptance from 21 days to 35 days.
The proposed amendment to the Rights Plan to extend its term to 2009 was
approved by the Board of Directors on February 8, 2006, subject to shareholder
approval being obtained. The Rights Plan and the amendments thereto were not
adopted by the Board in response to, or in anticipation of, any offer or
takeover bid. The Toronto Stock Exchange has approved the proposed amendment to
the Rights Plan subject to shareholder approval being obtained.

The text of the resolution to approve the amendment to the Rights Plan is set
forth in Schedule "C" hereto. The resolution requires the approval of a majority
of the votes cast in respect thereof by Independent Shareholders (as defined in
the Rights Plan). "Independent Shareholders" is generally defined to mean all
holders of common shares of the Company other than any Acquiring Person or
Offeror (each as defined in the Rights Plan), their respective affiliates,
associates, and persons acting jointly or in concert with such Acquiring Person
or Offeror, as well as certain employee benefit plans. To the knowledge of
management, as of the date hereof, all of the Company's shareholders qualify as
Independent Shareholders. If the resolution is not approved by shareholders at
the Meeting, the Rights Plan and the Rights issued thereunder will terminate at
the close of the Meeting.

The Board of Directors recommends that shareholders vote in favour of the
resolution to amend the Rights Plan.

Purpose of the Rights Plan

The Rights Plan is designed to give the Company's shareholders sufficient time
to properly assess a take-over bid without undue pressure and to give the
Company's Board of Directors time to consider alternatives to allow the
Company's shareholders to receive full and fair value for their common shares.
Additionally, the Rights Plan is designed to provide shareholders of the Company
with equal treatment in a take-over bid. The desire to ensure that the Company
is able to address unsolicited take-over bids for its common shares during the
term of the Rights Plan stems from a concern that Canadian take-over bid rules
for companies that are subject to unsolicited take-over bids provide too short a
response time to ensure that shareholders are offered full and fair value for
their shares.

In recent years, shareholder rights plans have been adopted by many Canadian
companies, and the terms of such plans have evolved to reflect changes in
investor attitudes, standards of corporate governance, requirements of
securities regulatory authorities, and the views of third-party commentators.
The Rights Plan reflects this evolution.

Summary of the Rights Plan

The following is a summary of the principal terms of the Rights Plan, as
amended, which is qualified in its entirety by reference to the text of the
Rights Plan, a copy of which is available from the Company upon request.

Term

Subject to the approval of the proposed amendment to the Rights Plan at the
meeting, the Rights Plan and the share purchase rights ("Rights") issued
thereunder will expire at the close of the Company's annual meeting of
shareholders to be held in 2009, unless the Rights are terminated, redeemed, or
exchanged earlier by the Board of Directors.

Issue of Rights

Under the Rights Plan, one Right was issued for each common share outstanding as
at 5:00 p.m. (Toronto time) on November 22, 2000 (the "Record Time") and for
each common share issued subsequent to the Record Time (but prior to the earlier
of the Separation Time (as defined below) and the redemption or expiration of
the Rights). The Company has entered into a rights plan agreement dated as of
November 22, 2000, as amended as of May 7, 2003, which will be further amended
by agreement effective March 22, 2006, with CIBC Mellon Trust Company of Canada,
as rights agent, which provides for the exercise of the Rights, the issue of
certificates evidencing the Rights, and other related matters including those
described in this Management Proxy Circular.

Rights Exercise Privilege

The Rights separate from the Company's common shares and become exercisable
eight trading days after a person publicly discloses that it has acquired 20% or
more of, or commences or announces a take-over bid for, the Company's
outstanding Voting Shares (defined to include the common shares and any other
shares that the Company may issue that carry voting rights relating to the
election of directors), in each case other than pursuant to a Permitted Bid or a
Competing Permitted Bid (each as defined below). Where a person becomes a
beneficial owner of 20% or more of the Company's common shares and thereby
becomes an "Acquiring Person", this is referred to as a "Flip-in Event."

Any rights held by an Acquiring Person become void upon the occurrence of the
Flip-in Event. By making any take-over bid other than a Permitted Bid or a
Competing Permitted Bid prohibitively expensive for an Acquiring Person, the
Rights Plan is designed to require any person interested in acquiring more than
20% of the Company's common shares to do so by way of a Permitted Bid or a
Competing Permitted Bid or to make a take-over bid that the Board of Directors
considers to represent the full and fair value of the Company's common shares.

Prior to the Rights being triggered, they will have no value and no dilutive
effect on the Company's common shares.

Flip-In Event

Upon the occurrence of the Flip-in Event, each Right (except for Rights
beneficially owned by the Acquiring Person and certain other persons specified
below) shall thereafter constitute the right to purchase from the Company for
the Exercise Price upon exercise thereof in accordance with the terms of the
Rights Plan, that number of common shares of the Company having an aggregate
Market Price (as defined in the Rights Plan) equal to twice the Exercise Price
(as defined in the Rights Plan). For example, if one assumes a market price at
the time of a Flip-in Event of $10 per share, then a current holder of one Right
could purchase 40 shares for $200 (being the exercise price per right),
effectively acquiring the shares at half of the current market price.

The Rights Plan provides that Rights that are beneficially owned by (i) an
Acquiring Person or any affiliate or associate of an Acquiring Person, or any
person acting jointly or in concert with an Acquiring Person, or any affiliate
or associate of such Acquiring Person; or (ii) a transferee or other successor
in title of Rights of an Acquiring Person (or any affiliate or associate of an
Acquiring Person or of any person acting jointly or in concert with an Acquiring
Person or any associate or affiliate of an Acquiring Person) who becomes a
transferee or successor in title concurrently with or subsequent to the
Acquiring Person becoming an Acquiring Person shall become null and void without
any further action, and any holder of such Rights (including transferees or
successors in title) shall not have any right whatsoever to exercise such Rights
under any provision of the Rights Plan.

Acquiring Person

An "Acquiring Person" is a person who Beneficially Owns (as defined in the
Rights Plan) twenty percent (20%) or more of the outstanding Voting Shares of
the Company. An Acquiring Person does not, however, include the Company or any
subsidiary of the Company, or any person who becomes the Beneficial Owner of
twenty percent (20%) or more of the outstanding Voting Shares of the Company as
a result of Permitted Bids, Competing Permitted Bids, and certain other exempt
transactions.

Permitted Bids and Competing Permitted Bids

A "Permitted Bid" is a take-over bid made by a take-over bid circular in
compliance with the following additional provisions:

      (1)   the bid must be made to all holders of record of common shares;

      (2)   the bid must be open for a minimum of 60 days following the date of
            the bid, and no shares may be taken up prior to such time;

      (3)   take-up and payment for shares may not occur unless the bid is
            accepted by persons holding more than fifty percent (50%) of the
            outstanding common shares exclusive of shares held by the person
            responsible for triggering the Flip-in Event or any person who has
            announced an intention to make, or who has made, a take-over bid for
            the shares of the Company and the respective affiliates and
            associates of such persons and persons acting jointly or in concert
            with such persons;

      (4)   shares may be deposited into or withdrawn from the bid at any time
            prior to the take-up date; and

      (5)   if the bid is accepted by the requisite percentage specified in (3)
            above, the bidder must extend the bid for a period of 10 business
            days to allow other shareholders to tender into the bid, should they
            so wish, and must make a public announcement to such effect.

A "Competing Permitted Bid" is a take-over bid that satisfies all of the
criteria of a Permitted Bid except that it is made after a Permitted Bid has
been made, the minimum deposit period and the time period for the take-up of and
payment for shares tendered under a Competing Bid is not 60 days, but is instead
the greater of 35 days (the minimum permitted by law) and the 60th day after the
date on which the Permitted Bid then in existence was made.

Neither a Permitted Bid nor a Competing Permitted Bid need be approved by the
Board of Directors and may be taken directly to the shareholders of the Company.
Acquisitions of common shares made pursuant to a Permitted Bid or a Competing
Permitted Bid do not give rise to a Flip-in Event.

Certificates and Transferability

Prior to separation, the Rights will be evidenced by a legend imprinted on the
common share certificates of the Company and will not be transferable separately
from the common shares. Common share certificates do not need to be exchanged to
entitle a shareholder to these Rights. The legend will be on all new
certificates issued by the Company. From and after separation, the Rights will
be evidenced by Rights certificates and will be transferable separately from the
Company's common shares.

Redemption and Waiver

The Board of Directors may, at any time prior to the occurrence of a Flip-in
Event and subject to shareholder approval, elect to redeem all but not less than
all of the Rights at a redemption price of $0.0001 per Right (the "Redemption
Price"), appropriately adjusted in certain events. Rights will be deemed to be
automatically redeemed at the Redemption Price where a person who has made a
Permitted Bid, a Competing Permitted Bid, or a take-over bid otherwise exempted
by the Board of Directors takes up and pays for the Company's shares under the
terms of the bid. If the Board of Directors elects or is deemed to have elected
to redeem the Rights, the right to exercise the Rights will terminate, and each
Right will, after redemption, be null and void, and the only right thereafter of
the holders of Rights shall be to receive the Redemption Price. Under the Rights
Plan, the Board of Directors has discretion to waive application of the Rights
Plan to a take-over bid, subject to an automatic waiver with respect to all
other take-over bids make while the waived take-over bid is outstanding. The
Board of Directors of the Company may also waive the application of the Rights
Plan to a Flip-in Event that occurs through inadvertence, subject to the
"inadvertent" Acquiring Person reducing its holding of the Company's shares
within an agreed time. Other waivers of the Rights Plan will require shareholder
approval.

Amendment

Amendments or supplements to the terms of the Rights Plan (other than for
clerical errors or to maintain the Rights Plan's validity as a result of changes
in legislation) require prior shareholder approval. Changes arising from changes
in applicable legislation will require subsequent shareholder ratification.

EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION

Statement of Executive Compensation

The following table sets forth all compensation for the periods indicated in
respect of the individuals who were, as at November 30, 2005, the Chief
Executive Officer of the Company, the Chief Financial Officer of the Company,
and the three other most highly compensated executive officers of the Company
("Named Executive Officers").

                                                  2005 Summary Compensation Table

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                           Annual Compensation               Long-Term Compensation
                                     ----------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                                Awards           Payouts
                                                                      -------------------------------------

                                                                       Securities     Shares
                                                            Other         Under       Or Units
                                                            Annual      Options/     Subject to              All Other
     Name and Principal                                     Compen-      SARs(1)       Resale       LTIP       Compen-
          Position            Year   Salary      Bonus      sation       Granted     Restrictions  Payouts     sation
                                       ($)        ($)       ($)(2)         (#)           ($)         ($)         ($)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
David Elsley                  2005   320,000    151,800                 108,169
(President and Chief          2004   279,375    135,000                  29,902
Executive Officer)            2003   253,750    114,750                 311,114

Christopher Waddick           2005   263,000    115,920    39,000(3)     41,203
(Chief Operating Officer and  2004   229,791    103,275                  19,978
formerly, as at November 30,  2003   192,500     82,800                 205,663
2005, Chief Financial
Officer)

Eldon Smith (4)                2005   226,500     83,352                  29,441
(Vice President, Scientific    2004   226,500     81,993                  11,526
Affairs)                       2003   146,626     53,078                  21,135

Jay Kleiman(5)                 2005   215,000     81,880                     Nil
(Chief Medical Officer)        2004   Nil         Nil                     60,000


Michael Martin (6)             2005   200,000     76,540                  29,895
(Vice President,               2004   195,000     70,200                  20,038
Marketing and Business         2003   186,250     70,980                  56,512
Development)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes:

1.    To date, no stock appreciation rights ("SARs") have been granted.

2.    Except as otherwise stated, perquisites and other personal benefits do not
      exceed the lesser of $50,000 or 10% of the total of the annual salary and
      bonus for the above-named officers.

3.    Other annual compensation was provided to Mr. Waddick in connection with a
      Company required move.

4.    Dr. Smith's services are provided by Eldon R. Smith & Associates Ltd.,
      which has been retained as a consultant to the Company.

5.    Dr. Kleiman joined the Company in December 2004. All amounts in the table
      relating to Dr. Kleiman are in U.S. dollars.

6.    All amounts in the table relating to Mr. Martin are in U.S. dollars.

2.    Share Compensation Arrangements

Options/SARs Granted to or Exercised by Named Executive Officers During the Most
Recently Completed Financial Year

Details of options granted to the Named Executive Officers during the financial
year ended November 30, 2005, are shown in the table set out below. During the
financial year ended November 30, 2005, no options were repriced. During the
financial year ended November 30, 2005, no stock appreciation rights ("SARs")
were granted to Named Executive Officers and, as at November 30, 2005, no SARs
were outstanding.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                             Securities   % of Total                         Market Value
                               Under       Options/                         of Securities
                              Options/       SARs          Exercise           Underlying
                               SARs       Granted to          or                Options/          Expiration
          Name                Granted      Employees       Base Price     SARs on the Date of         Date
                              (#) (1)    in Financial     ($/Security)            Grant
                                             Year                             ($/Security)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
David Elsley                  50,000          5%              $5.82               $5.82           June 15, 2010
                              58,169          6%              $5.08               $5.08           March 16, 2010

Christopher Waddick           41,203          4%              $5.08               $5.08           March 16, 2010

Eldon Smith                   29,441          3%              $5.08               $5.08           March 16, 2010

Jay Kleiman                   Nil             N/A             N/A                 N/A             N/A

Michael Martin                29,895          3%              $5.08               $5.08           March 16, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(1)   The options granted are exercisable as to one third on each of the first,
      second, and third anniversaries of the date of the grant.

Details of options exercised by the Named Executive Officers of the Company
during the financial year ended November 30, 2005, and the number and value of
unexercised options as at November 30, 2005, are shown in the table set out
below.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                           Securities     Aggregate      Unexercised Options/SARs at     Value of Unexercised in-the-Money
                            Acquired        Value                  FY-End                    Options/SARs at FY-End(2)
          Name             on Exercise    Realized                   (#)                                ($)
                               (#)         ($)(1)
                                                           Exercisable/Unexercisable         Exercisable/Unexercisable
                                                                      (#)                               ($)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
David Elsley                 31,680        $4,118              298,971/210,975                       Nil / Nil
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christopher Waddick          16,980        $6,792              189,162/108,492                       Nil / Nil
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eldon Smith                    Nil           Nil               107,918/69,170                        Nil / Nil
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jay Kleiman                    Nil           Nil                20,000/40,000                        Nil / Nil
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Michael Martin                 Nil           Nil               135,394/73,757                        Nil / Nil
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes:

1.    Aggregate Value Realized is the difference between the market price of the
      Company's common shares on the date of exercise and the option exercise
      price, multiplied by the number of shares acquired.

2.    The value of an unexercised in-the-money option at financial year-end is
      the difference between the exercise price of the option and the closing
      price of common shares on the Toronto Stock Exchange at November 30, 2005
      ($2.58), multiplied by the number of shares under option. The options have
      not been and may never be exercised, and actual gains, if any, upon
      exercise will depend upon the value of the common shares on the date of
      exercise. There can be no assurance that these values will be realized.

3.    Employment Contracts

The Company has entered into an employment agreement with David Elsley. Pursuant
to this agreement, Mr. Elsley serves the Company as its President and Chief
Executive Officer. The following is a summary of the terms of the agreement with
Mr. Elsley. The agreement provides for a fixed five-year term, ending on January
31, 2007, and an annual reviewable remuneration, which for the period commencing
April 2005 is $330,000. Mr. Elsley is entitled to benefits available to other
employees of the Company. The agreement is terminable at the option of the
Company; however, if the agreement is terminated other than for cause, Mr.
Elsley is entitled to a lump-sum payment equal to two years' cash compensation,
and any options then outstanding shall remain in full force and effect until
their expiry. The agreement contains standard non-competition and
non-solicitation provisions.

The Company has entered into an employment agreement with Christopher Waddick as
of December 2004. Pursuant to this agreement, Mr. Waddick serves the Company as
its Chief Operating Officer. The agreement provides for an annual reviewable
remuneration of $280,000. The agreement is terminable at the option of the
Company; however, if the agreement is terminated other than for cause, Mr.
Waddick is entitled to a lump-sum payment equal to two years' cash compensation,
and any options then outstanding shall remain in full force and effect until
their expiry. The agreement contains standard non-competition and
non-solicitation provisions.

The Company has entered into a consultancy agreement with Eldon R. Smith &
Associates Ltd. of 1901 Varsity Estates Drive N.W., Calgary, Alberta, for the
services of Eldon Smith. The insiders of Eldon R. Smith & Associates Ltd. are
Eldon Smith, Sheila Smith, Gregory Smith, and Trudi Smith. Pursuant to this
agreement, Eldon R. Smith & Associates Ltd. provides the services of Dr. Smith,
who serves the Company as its Vice President, Scientific Affairs. The agreement
provides for no fixed term, and an annual retainer of $226,500. The agreement is
terminable at the option of the Company; however, if the agreement is terminated
other than for breach of contract, Eldon R. Smith & Associates is entitled to a
lump sum payment equal to one year's retainer. The agreement contains standard
non-competition and non-solicitation provisions.

The Company has entered into an employment agreement with Jay Kleiman as of
December 2004. Pursuant to this agreement, Dr. Kleiman serves the Company as its
Chief Medical Officer. The agreement provides for an annual reviewable
remuneration of US$230,000. The agreement is terminable at the option of the
Company; however, if the agreement is terminated other than for cause, Dr.
Kleiman is entitled to a lump-sum payment equal to six months' salary plus one
month for each year of service up to a maximum of 12 months, and any options
outstanding vest and their term shall extend 180 days beyond the date of
termination. The agreement contains standard non-competition and
non-solicitation provisions.

The Company has entered into an employment agreement with Michael Martin as of
August 2005. Pursuant to this agreement, Mr. Martin serves the Company as its
Vice President, Marketing and Business Development. The agreement provides
annual reviewable remuneration of US$215,000. The agreement is terminable at the
option of the Company; however, if the agreement is terminated other than for
cause, Mr. Martin is entitled to a lump-sum payment equal to six months' salary
plus one month for each year of service up to a maximum of 12 months, and any
options outstanding vest and their term shall extend 180 days beyond the date of
termination. On a change of control of the Company, all of Mr. Martin's options
vest immediately. The agreement contains standard non-competition and
non-solicitation provisions.

4. Composition of the Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate Governance
Committee and Report on Executive Compensation

The Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate Governance Committee of the Board of
Directors (the "Committee") is charged with the responsibility of reviewing the
Company's compensation policies and practices, compensation of officers
(including the Chief Executive Officer), succession planning, and corporate
governance practices. As appropriate, recommendations regarding these issues are
made to the Board of Directors (the "Board"). The Board did not reject or modify
in any material way any of the recommendations of the Committee during the
financial year ended November 30, 2005. As of February 8, 2006, the Committee
consists of four independent and unrelated directors. During the financial year
ended November 30, 2005, the committee consisted of three independent and
unrelated directors. The Chief Executive Officer absents himself from Board and
Committee meetings during voting and deliberation on the Chief Executive
Officer's compensation.

The objectives of the Company's compensation policies and programs for executive
officers are to:

      (a)   motivate and reward executive officers for the achievement of
            corporate and functional objectives;

      (b)   recruit and retain executive officers of a high caliber by offering
            compensation that is competitive with that offered for comparable
            positions in other biotechnology companies; and

      (c)   align the interests of the executive officers with the long-term
            interests of shareholders and the intermediate and long-term
            objectives of the Company.

The Committee endeavors to position its executive compensation near the mean of
the range of compensation levels for comparable companies. The comparative
companies have historically been other Canadian biotechnology companies at a
similar stage of development. Independent surveys are also used to provide
compensation data for comparable knowledge, skills, and expertise. The Company's
compensation policies and programs for executive officers currently consist of
base salary, annual incentive bonus, long-term incentive compensation in the
form of stock options, and other customary employment benefits. The relative
emphasis of the three main components of the annual compensation of executives
is approximately 50% base salary, 20% annual bonus, and 30% stock options. The
Company does not have a pension plan. Total compensation of executive officers
of the Company is reviewed on an annual basis.

Base Salary

In determining base salary for each executive officer, the Committee considers
the executive's experience and position within the Company. The Committee also
utilizes industry compensation surveys provided by independent organizations and
data from the comparative group described above. Salaries for executive officers
also take into account the recommendations of the Chief Executive Officer or, in
the case of the Chief Executive Officer, the recommendation of the Chairman of
the Committee.

Annual Bonus

Prior to the beginning of each fiscal year, the Board approves annual corporate
objectives, and these, along with personal performance objectives, are reviewed
at the end of the year for the purpose of determining annual bonuses. Annual
assessments of senior management also evaluate other performance measures,
including the promotion of teamwork, leadership, and the development of
individuals responsible to the applicable officer. The Chief Executive Officer's
annual bonus is weighted 100% on the achievement of corporate objectives, and
the annual bonus of the other executive officers is weighted 75% on the
achievement of corporate objectives and 25% on the achievement of individual
objectives. For 2005, the Company received from the Board an assessment of 92%
on the achievement of corporate objectives. The Company's corporate objectives
for 2005 primarily focused on the advancement of its clinical development
programs, with other performance objectives being related to the development of
its product pipeline, its preparation for the commercialization of Celacade, its
ability to operate within budget, and certain other corporate priorities. The
maximum bonus payable as a percentage of base salary to the CEO and to the other
executive officers ranges from 40% to 50%. In order to calculate the bonus
payable, the individual's weighted average performance assessment is multiplied
by the applicable bonus percentage and by the individual's base salary.

Stock Options

A portion of executive compensation is also directly aligned with growth in
share value. In reviewing option grants, the Committee gives consideration to
the number and terms of options already held by an individual. Stock options may
be awarded to executive officers at the commencement of their employment,
annually on meeting corporate and individual objectives, and from time to time
by the Committee based on regular assessments of the compensation levels of
comparable companies. An executive officer may earn an annual option grant on a
basis similar to that described above under "Annual Bonus," with similar
weightings applied to the achievement of corporate objectives and individual
objectives.

President and Chief Executive Officer's Compensation

The compensation of the Chief Executive Officer is determined in accordance with
the considerations described above for the compensation of the executive
officers of the Company.

Presented by the Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate Governance Committee
during the financial year ended November 30, 2005.

Terrance H. Gregg
Surya N. Mohapatra
John C. Villforth

5.    Performance Graph

The following graph compares the cumulative shareholder return of the common
shares of the Company since November 30, 1996,(1) with the cumulative total
return of the S&P/TSX Composite Total Return Index and of the NASDAQ
Biotechnology Index.(2)

                         Comparative Performance Graph

                              [LINE GRAPH OMITTED]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                       1996     1997    1998     1999     2000     2001     2002     2003     2004     2005
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vasogen Inc.                            21       23      18       74       100      96       50       88       69       32
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
S&P/TSX Composite Index                 68       74      72       85       100      84       74       89       102     123
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NASDAQ Biotechnology Index              28       30      34       65       100      90       53       66       69       75
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes:

1.    On July 22, 1999, the common shares of the Company discontinued trading on
      the Montreal Exchange and commenced trading on the Toronto Stock Exchange.
      On November 23, 1999, the common shares of the Company commenced trading
      on the American Stock Exchange. On December 17, 2003, the common shares of
      the Company discontinued trading on the American Stock Exchange and
      commenced trading on the NASDAQ National Market.

2.    Assumes $100 invested in each of the Company's common shares, the S&P/TSX
      Composite Total Return Index (formerly the TSE 300 Composite Index) and
      the NASDAQ Biotechnology Index on November 30, 2000.

6.    Compensation of Directors

During 2005, directors of the Company who were not full-time employees of the
Company received an annual retainer of $30,000. In addition, a fee of $1,500 was
paid for each Board or Board Committee meeting attended in person, or $1,000 if
the Director participated by conference call. The chairpersons of the Audit
Committee and of the Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate Governance
Committee each received an additional annual retainer in the amount of $10,000
and $7,500, respectively. Directors are also entitled to be reimbursed for their
reasonable and documented out-of-pocket expenses incurred on the business of the
Company.

The Company implemented a Directors' Deferred Share Unit and Stock Plan (the
"DSU Plan") effective January 1, 2004 applicable to the 2004 fiscal year and
subsequent years. Under the terms of the DSU Plan, non-employee directors are
paid their directors' fees entirely in Deferred Share Units ("DSUs"), in lieu of
any cash payment. The number of DSUs credited to an eligible director is
determined by dividing the dollar amount of the fees otherwise payable to the
director by the market value of the Company's common shares at the time of
grant. DSU grants are effective as of the date of the meetings
in respect of which fees are payable. A DSU is a bookkeeping entry credited to
the account maintained for each eligible director and has the same value as one
common share of the Company. A DSU may only be converted into cash and/or shares
(as determined by the Company) after a participant ceases to be a director, with
each DSU at the time of conversion having a value of one common share or the
equivalent market value thereof. Because of the deferred payment feature of the
DSU Plan, directors benefit only from long term increases in the value of the
Company's shares arising over the term of their directorship thereby promoting a
greater alignment of interest between the directors and the shareholders of the
Company.

The Company has reserved a maximum of 250,000 common shares for purposes of the
DSU Plan. During fiscal 2005, the Company issued a total of 52,015 DSU's to
directors in respect of aggregate fees of $270,500. To date, no DSUs have been
converted to cash or shares of the Company.

Directors of the Company are also eligible to be granted stock options. During
fiscal 2005, non-management directors of the Company, other than the Chairman of
the Board, were awarded options to acquire 10,000 common shares each, and the
Chairman of the Board was awarded options to acquire 25,000 common shares.
During 2005, options to acquire 75,000 common shares were granted to
non-management directors.

SECURITIES AUTHORIZED FOR ISSUANCE UNDER EQUITY COMPENSATION PLANS

Information regarding securities authorized for issuance under the Company's
equity compensation plans is provided below, as of November 30, 2005.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                             Number of securities        Weighted-average         Number of securities remaining
                             to be issued upon           exercise price of        available for future issuance
                             exercise of outstanding     outstanding options,     under equity compensation plans
                             options, warrants, and      warrants and rights      (excluding all securities reflected
                             rights                                               in column (a))
Plan Category                         (a)                         (b)                             (c)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Equity compensation
plans approved by
security holders
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Directors Deferred           78,285                      $2.62(1)                 171,715
Share Unit and Stock
Plan
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2003 Employee Stock          2,593,366                   $5.85                    2,406,634
Option Plan(2)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2003 Director Stock          150,000                     $6.33                    100,000
Option Plan(3)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Share Option Plan (4)        1,568,185                   $5.11                    None
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Equity compensation          Not applicable              Not applicable           Not applicable
plans not approved by
security holders
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL                        4,389,836                   5.55                     2,678,349
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes:

(1)   Deferred Share Units, when redeemed by a director on termination of
      service, are valued at the weighted average trading price of the common
      shares on the Toronto Stock Exchange for the five preceding business days.

(2)   This tabulation does not include the 3,000,000 options proposed to be
      added to the 2003 Plan.

(3)   This tabulation does not include 250,000 options proposed to be added to
      the 2003 Director Stock Option Plan.


(4)   The Share Option Plan (the "Previous Plan") was replaced by the 2003 Plan.

INDEBTEDNESS OF DIRECTORS, EXECUTIVE OFFICERS, AND SENIOR OFFICERS

It is the policy of the Company not to make loans to directors and officers, or
any associate of any such director or officer. Since the beginning of the
Company's last financial year, no present or former director or officer, or any
associate of such director or officer is currently or has been indebted to the
Company.

Directors' and Officers' Liability Insurance

The Company maintains liability insurance for its directors and officers acting
in their respective capacities. The annual premium payable by the Company in
respect of such insurance is US$1,080,000, and the total amount of insurance
purchased for the directors and officers as a group is US$25 million, subject to
a deductible amount of up to US$250,000 and US$500,000 for securities claims.
The policy does not specify that any part of the premium is paid in respect of
either the directors or officers as a group. The policy contains standard
industry exclusions, and no claims have been made thereunder to date.

AUDITOR INDEPENDENCE

KPMG LLP ("KPMG") is the auditor of the Company and provides tax, financial
advisory, and other non-audit services to the Company and its subsidiaries. Our
Audit Committee has concluded that the provision of these non-audit services by
KPMG is compatible with KPMG maintaining its independence.

The total fees paid or accrued by the Company for audit and other services
provided by KPMG during 2005 were:

                     Audit Fees (1)               $383,027
                     Audit-Related Fees           $  1,750
                     Tax Fees (2)                 $120,227
                     All Other Fees               $      0
                                                  --------
                     Total Fees                   $505,004
                                                  ========

(1)   Audit fees consist of fees related to the audit of the Company's financial
      statements, reviews of quarterly interim financial statements and auditor
      involvement with a financings completed during 2005.

(2)   Tax fees consist of fees for tax consultation and tax compliance services
      for Vasogen Inc. and Vasogen Ireland.

The total fees paid or accrued by the Company for audit and other services
provided by KPMG during 2004 were:

                     Audit Fees (1)               $296,000
                     Audit-Related Fees           $      0
                     Tax Fees (2)                 $217,425
                     All Other Fees               $      0
                                                  --------
                     Total Fees                   $513,425
                                                  ========

(1)   Audit fees consist of fees related to the audit of the Company's
      consolidated financial statements, reviews of quarterly interim financial
      statements and auditor involvement with a financing completed during 2004.

(2)   Tax fees consist of fees for tax consultation and tax compliance services
      for Vasogen Inc. and Vasogen Ireland.

AUDIT COMMITTEE INFORMATION

Reference is made to the Annual Information Form of the Company for the year
ended November 30, 2005, for a disclosure of information relating to the Audit
Committee required under Form 52-110F1. A copy of this document can be found in
February 2006 on SEDAR at www.SEDAR.com or by contacting the Vice-President,
Corporate & Legal Affairs of the Company at its executive office at 2505
Meadowvale Blvd, Mississauga, Ontario L5N 5S2, telephone (905) 817-2000.

INTERESTS OF MANAGEMENT AND OTHERS IN MATERIAL TRANSACTIONS

There are no material interests, direct or indirect, of directors, officers, or
any shareholders who beneficially own, directly or indirectly, more than 10% of
the outstanding common shares, or any known associates or affiliates of such
persons, in any transaction during the past year or in any proposed transaction
that has materially affected or would materially affect the Company.

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

Guidelines

"Corporate Governance" is the process and structure used to direct and manage
the business and affairs of the Company to achieve the shareholders' objectives.
The shareholders elect the Directors who in turn are responsible for overseeing
all aspects of the operations of the Company, appointing management and ensuring
that the business is managed properly taking into account the interests of the
shareholders and other stakeholders, such as employees and patients.

The Board, through the Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate Governance
Committee, monitors changes with respect to corporate governance practices and
regulatory requirements. Under National Policy 58-201, National Instrument
58-101, and Multilateral Instrument 52-110 of the Canadian Securities
Administrators, the Company is required to disclose information relating to its
corporate governance practices. The Company's disclosure is set out in Schedule
D to this Management Proxy Circular and under "Audit Committee Information".

The Mandate of the Board of Directors

The Company's Board of Directors has adopted a formal mandate outlining its
responsibilities. The text of the Board's mandate is reproduced below, and can
also be found on the Company's web site at www.vasogen.com.

Vasogen's Board of Directors (the "Board") is responsible for the stewardship of
the Company and for supervising the management of the business and affairs of
the Company. As part of this overall responsibility, the Board handles the
following matters:

      o     Succession planning, including appointing, developing, and
            monitoring senior Management and the CEO;

      o     Adopting a strategic planning process and approving and reviewing,
            on at least an annual basis, a strategic plan which takes into
            account, among other things, the opportunities and risks of the
            Company;

      o     Identifying the principal risks of the Company's business and
            ensuring the implementation of appropriate systems to manage those
            risks;

      o     Establishing communication policies for the Company, which should:

                  -     address how the Company interacts with analysts,
                        investors, other key stakeholders, and the public;

                  -     contain measures with respect to the Company's
                        compliance, its continuous and timely disclosure
                        obligations, and the avoidance of selective disclosure;
                        and

                  -     be reviewed at least annually.

      o     Ensuring the integrity of the Company's internal control and
            management information systems;

      o     Ensuring the integrity of the CEO and the other executive officers,
            and ensuring that there is a culture of integrity throughout the
            organization;

      o     Establishing what business transactions and expenditures require the
            prior approval of the Board;

      o     Establishing specific and effective measures in the Company for
            receiving shareholder feedback;

      o     On an annual basis, communicating to Management the Board's
            expectations of it;

      o     Establishing a committee composed solely of non-Management directors
            with the responsibility to assess directors on an ongoing basis and
            propose new Board nominees;

      o     Establishing an orientation and education program for all new
            directors and a continuing education program for all directors;

      o     Developing the Company's approach to corporate governance and
            monitoring compliance with relevant regulatory guidelines;

      o     Together with the CEO, developing position descriptions for the
            Board and the CEO, including the limits to Management's
            responsibilities;

      o     Reviewing and approving the corporate objectives that the CEO is
            responsible for meeting, and assessing the CEO against these
            objectives;

      o     Establishing procedures to ensure that the Board functions
            independently of Management;

      o     Regularly assessing its own effectiveness and contribution, as well
            as the effectiveness and contribution of each Board committee and
            each individual director;

      o     Appointing an Audit Committee composed solely of unrelated and
            independent directors, each of whom is "financially literate" and
            one of whom has "accounting or related financial experience";

      o     Adopting definitions for "financially literate" and "accounting or
            related financial experience";

      o     Reviewing and assessing the adequacy of the charter for the Audit
            Committee, as well as the charters for other established committees,
            at least annually;

      o     Establishing a system whereby an individual director can engage an
            external advisor at the expense of the Company in appropriate
            circumstances, subject to the approval of an appropriate committee
            of the Board; and

      o     Conducting regular meetings independent of management.

Members of the Board are expected to review available meeting materials in
advance, to attend all regularly scheduled Board meetings, and Committee
meetings of which they are a member, whenever possible, and to devote the
necessary time and attention to effectively carry out their responsibilities as
directors.

The Board encourages feedback from security holders of the Company. If you wish
to communicate directly with the independent members of the Board, please do so
in writing by mailing your correspondence, clearly marked as "Shareholder
Correspondence" to William R. Grant, c/o Vasogen Inc., 2505 Meadowvale
Boulevard, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada L5N 5S2.

SHAREHOLDER PROPOSALS FOR THE 2007 ANNUAL MEETING

The Company will review shareholder proposals intended to be included in proxy
material for the 2007 Annual Meeting of Shareholders that are received by the
Company at its offices at 2505 Meadowvale Boulevard, Mississauga, Ontario L5N
5S2, Attention: Corporate Secretary, no later than December 31, 2006.

AVAILABILITY OF DOCUMENTS

Copies of the following documents are available without charge to shareholders
upon written request to the Corporate Secretary of the Company at 2505
Meadowvale Boulevard, Mississauga, Ontario L5N 5S2:

(i)   the 2005 Annual Report to Shareholders containing the consolidated
      financial statements for the year ended November 30, 2005, together with
      the accompanying report of the auditor and management's discussion and
      analysis for the year ended November 30, 2005;

(ii)  this Management Proxy Circular; and

(iii) the Company's most recent Annual Information Form dated February 2006.

Additional information relating to the Company can be found on SEDAR at
www.sedar.com. Financial information related to the Company is provided in the
Company's comparative financial statements and management's discussion and
analysis for the year ended November 30, 2005.

GENERAL

The information contained herein is given as at January 31, 2006, unless
otherwise stated. The Board of Directors of the Company has approved the
contents and the sending of this Management Proxy Circular.

DATED at Mississauga, Ontario, the 9th day of February, 2006

BY ORDER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS


Jacqueline H.R. Le Saux (Signed)
Vice-President, Corporate & Legal Affairs and Secretary

SCHEDULE A

APPROVAL OF AMENDMENT TO 2003 EMPLOYEE STOCK OPTION PLAN

RESOLVED THAT the 2003 Employee Stock Option Plan be amended to increase the
number of common shares issuable thereunder from 5,000,000 to 8,000,000 common
shares, and that the listing and reservation of an additional 3,000,000 common
shares for issuance under the 2003 Employee Stock Option Plan be approved and
ratified.

SCHEDULE B

APPROVAL OF AMENDMENT TO DIRECTOR STOCK OPTION PLAN - 2003

RESOLVED THAT

      (i)   the Director Stock Option Plan - 2003 (the "2003 Director Plan")
            dated as of May 7, 2003, be amended as follows:

            (a)   the aggregate number of shares reserved for issuance under the
                  2003 Director Plan shall be increased from 250,000 to 500,000;
                  and

            (b)   Section 2.4(b) shall be deleted and the following substituted
                  therefore:

                  "(b) for all other directors of the Company, the lesser of:
                  (i) 15,000 shares; and (ii) the number of Shares beneficially
                  owned by the proposed Optionee at the date of the grant."

      (ii)  the listing and reservation of an additional 250,000 common shares
            for issuance under the 2003 Director Plan be approved and ratified.

SCHEDULE C

APPROVAL OF AMENDMENT TO SHAREHOLDER RIGHTS PLAN

RESOLVED THAT the shareholder rights plan agreement dated as of November 22,
2000, and further amended on May 7, 2003, entered into by Vasogen Inc. (the
"Company") and CIBC Mellon Trust Company as rights agent, (the "Rights Plan"),
be amended as follows:

(i)   Clause 1.1(x)(ii) be amended by deleting "2006" and inserting "2009" in
      replacement thereof; and

(ii)  Section 5.16 be amended by deleting the last sentence thereof and
      inserting the following:

      "The term of the Rights Plan ends on the date of the Company's Annual
      Meeting of Shareholders to be held in 2009, at which time the Rights
      expire unless they are terminated, redeemed, or exchanged earlier by the
      Board of Directors."

SCHEDULE D

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE GUIDELINES

The Company believes that effective corporate governance practices are
fundamental to the overall success of a company. Effective June 30, 2005, the
Canadian Securities Administrators have adopted National Instrument 58-101 ("NI
58-101") and the associated National Policy 58-201 ("NP 58-201") which require
the Company to disclose its corporate governance practices. These new rules
replace the 14 corporate governance guidelines of the TSX. In addition, the
Company complies with Multilateral Instrument 52-110 on Audit Committees. See
details in the accompanying Management Proxy Circular under the heading "Audit
Committee Information".


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE DISCLOSURE REQUIRMENT (1)               COMPLIANCE      COMMENTS

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. (a)     Disclose the identity of Directors who are        Yes             The Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate
           independent.                                                      Governance Committee has reviewed the
                                                                             independence of each Director on the basis of the
                                                                             definition in section 1.4 of MI 52-110, as amended.
                                                                             A director is "independent" if he or she has no
                                                                             direct or indirect material relationship with the
                                                                             Company. A "material relationship" is one that
                                                                             could, in the view of the Board of Directors, be
                                                                             reasonably expected to interfere with the exercise
                                                                             of a Director's independent judgment. The Board
                                                                             has determined, after reviewing the roles and
                                                                             relationships of each of the Directors, that four-
                                                                             fifths (8 out of 10) of the nominees proposed by
                                                                             Management for election to the Board are
                                                                             independent from the Company. The following
                                                                             nominees have been affirmatively determined to be
                                                                             independent by the Board:

                                                                             William R. Grant
                                                                             Andre Berard
                                                                             Ronald M. Cresswell
                                                                             Terrance H. Gregg
                                                                             Benoit La Salle
                                                                             Surya Mohapatra
                                                                             Calvin R. Stiller
                                                                             John C. Villforth

                                                                             This determination was made on the basis that:

                                                                             (a) they (and their immediate family members)
                                                                                 are not and have not been within the last
                                                                                 three years an employee or executive officer
                                                                                 of the Company;

                                                                             (b) they (and their spouse, minor child, or step
                                                                                 child) are not and have not been within the
                                                                                 last three years a partner or employee of the
                                                                                 Company's external auditor firm;

                                                                             (c) they (and their immediate family member)
                                                                                 are not and have not been within the last
                                                                                 three years an executive officer of an entity
                                                                                 of which the Company's executives served
                                                                                 on the Compensation Committee;

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(1) Reference is made to the items in Form 58-101F

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENT (1)              COMPLIANCE      COMMENTS

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                             (d) they (and their immediate family members) did
                                                                                 not receive more than $75,000 in direct
                                                                                 compensation from the Company during any
                                                                                 12-month period during the last three years.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(b)        Disclose the identity of Directors who are not    Yes             The Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate
           Independent, and describe the basis for that                      Governance Committee has determined, after
           determination.                                                    reviewing the roles and relationships of each of the
                                                                             Directors, that the following 2 out of 10 members of
                                                                             the Board are not independent from the Company:
                                                                             David Elsley, President & CEO
                                                                             Dr. Eldon Smith, Vice President, Scientific Affairs.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(c)        Disclose whether or not a majority of the         Yes             Four-fifths or eight of the ten directors are
           Directors are independent                                         independent from the Company.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(d)        If a Director is presently a Director of any      Yes             All Directorships with other public entities for each
           other issuer that is a reporting issuer (or the                   of the nominees are set out in this Management Proxy
           equivalent) in a jurisdiction or a foreign                        Circular in the table under the heading "Election of
           jurisdiction, identify both the other Director                    Directors".
           and the other issuer.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(e)        Disclose whether or not the independent           Yes             The independent Directors hold meetings as a matter
           Directors hold regularly scheduled meetings                       of routine after each Board meeting. These meetings
           at which members of management are not in                         are generally chaired by the Chairman. There were
           attendance. If the independent Directors hold                     three meetings of the independent Directors in the
           such meetings, disclose the number of                             financial year ended November 30, 2005. Board
           meetings held during the most recently                            Committees are entirely composed of independent
           completed financial year.If the independent                       Directors and they meet regularly without
           Directors do not hold such meetings, describe                     Management.
           what the Board does to facilitate open and
           candid discussion among its independent
           Directors.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(f)        Disclose whether or not the chair of the          Yes             The positions of Chief Executive Officer and
           Board is an independent Director, disclose the                    Chairman of the Board are split and the Chairman of
           identity of the independent chair, and                            the Board is independent. The role and
           describe his or her role and responsibilities.                    responsibilities of the Chairman, Mr. William Grant,
                                                                             include the following:

                                                                             - working to ensure a strong, effective, well-balanced
                                                                               and representative composition of the Board and its
                                                                               committees

                                                                             - ensuring that committees are working effectively

                                                                             - leading the evaluation of the CEO and the review of
                                                                               corporate performance in conjunction with the
                                                                               Chairman of the Compensation, Nominating and
                                                                               Corporate Governance Committee

                                                                             - ensuring the board is receiving timely information
                                                                               of appropriate quality, before, during and after
                                                                               Board meetings.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(1) Reference is made to the items in Form 58-101F

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENT (1)                COMPLIANCE    COMMENTS

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(g)         Disclose the attendance record of each Director    Yes           The Board held three meetings in the 2005 financial
            for all board meetings held since the beginning                  year. A record of attendance by Director at meetings
            of the most recently completed financial year                    of the Board held during the financial year ended
                                                                             November 30, 2005, is set out in the accompanying
                                                                             Management Proxy Circular under "Election of
                                                                             Directors".

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2.          Disclose the text of the board's written mandate   Yes           The board has adopted a formal mandate for itself.
                                                                             The mandate of the Board is available on the
                                                                             Company's Web site (www.vasogen.com). A copy may also
                                                                             be obtained upon request to the Vice- President,
                                                                             Corporate & Legal Affairs of the Company at its
                                                                             executive office, 2505 Meadowvale Blvd, Mississauga
                                                                             (Ontario) L5N 5S2, telephone (905) 817- 2000. The
                                                                             written mandate of the Board of Directors provides
                                                                             that the Board is responsible for the stewardship of
                                                                             the Company including the creation of a culture of
                                                                             integrity, the adoption of a strategic planning
                                                                             process that takes into account, among other things,
                                                                             the opportunities and risks of the business: the
                                                                             identification of the principal risks of the business
                                                                             and the implementation of appropriate systems to
                                                                             manage these risks, succession planning, internal
                                                                             control and management information systems and the
                                                                             Company's approach to corporate governance.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3.      (a) Disclose whether or not the board has developed    Yes           The Board has developed written position
            written position description for the chair and                   descriptions for the Chairman of the Board, as well as
            the chair of each board committee.                               for the Chairman of the Audit Committee and the
                                                                             Chairman of the Compensation, Nominating, and
                                                                             Corporate Governance Committee. Their duties reflect
                                                                             the responsibilities of the committees whose charters
                                                                             are available on the Company's Web site
                                                                             (www.vasogen.com).

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


        (b) Disclose whether or not the board and CEO have     Yes           The position description of the CEO includes the
            developed a written position description for                     following duties and responsibilities: strategy,
            the CEO                                                          leadership, operations, finance, reporting to the
                                                                             Board, and relations with Shareholders, employees,
                                                                             and the public. Annual objectives are established for
                                                                             the CEO with the Compensation, Nominating, and
                                                                             Corporate Governance Committee.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4.      (a) Briefly describe what measures the board
            takes to orient new members regarding

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

            (i) the role of the board, its committees          Yes           The Board has an orientation and education program
                and its Directors, and                                       in place for new Directors which the Board feels is
                                                                             appropriate having regard to the current makeup of
                                                                             the Board. Each Director receives relevant corporate
---------------------------------------------------------------------------- and business information on the Company, the Board
                                                                             of Directors, and its Committees. The Directors
            (ii) the nature and operation of the issuer's      Yes           regularly meet with Management and are given
                 business                                                    periodic presentations on relevant business issues and
                                                                             developments.

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</TABLE>

(1)   Reference is made to the items in Form 58-101F

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CORPORATE GOVERNANCE DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENT(i)                  COMPLIANCE   COMMENTS

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
        (b)  Briefly describe what measures, if any, the        Yes          Presentations are made to the Board from time to time
             board takes to provide continuing education                     to educate and keep them informed of changes within
             for its Directors                                               the Company and of regulatory and industry
                                                                             requirements and standards.

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5.      (a)  Disclose whether or not the board has adopted a    Yes          The Company's Board of Directors has adopted a
             written code for its Directors, officers and                    Code of Ethics applicable to employees and a Code of
             employees. If the board has adopted a written                   Conduct applicable to its directors, copies of which
             code:                                                           are available on the Company's Web site
                                                                             (www.vasogen.com). A copy may also be obtained
                                                                             upon request to the Secretary of the Company at its
---------------------------------------------------------------------------- executive office, 2505 Meadowvale Blvd.,
                                                                             Mississauga (Ontario) L5N 5S2.
             (i)   disclose how an interested party may         Yes
                   obtain a copy of the written code;

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                                             The Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate
             (ii)  describe how the board monitors compliance   Yes          Governance Committee regularly monitors
                   with its code; and                                        compliance with the Codes and also ensures that
                                                                             Management encourages and promotes a culture of
                                                                             ethical business conduct.

                                                                             The Company has developed and the Board has
                                                                             approved various corporate policies, including the
                                                                             Disclosure Policy and the Whistleblower Policy.

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             (iii) provide a cross-reference to any material    Yes          The Board has not granted any waiver of the Codes in
                   change report(s) filed since the beginning                favour of a Director or executive officer.
                   of most recently completed financial year                 Accordingly, no material change report has been
                   that pertains to any conduct of a                         required or filed.
                   Director or executive officer that
                   constitutes a departure from the code.

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             (c)   describe any steps the board takes to        Yes          The Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate
                   ensure Directors exercise independent                     Governance Committee monitors the disclosure of
                   judgment in considering transactions and                  conflicts of interest by Directors and ensures that no
                   agreements in respect of which a                          Director will vote nor participate in a discussion on
                   Director or executive officer has a                       a matter in respect of which such Director has a
                   material interest.                                        material interest.

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             (d)   describe any steps the board takes to        Yes          The Company's Board of Directors has adopted a
                   encourage and promote a culture of                        Code of Ethics applicable to employees and a Code of
                   ethical business conduct.                                 Conduct applicable to its directors.

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</TABLE>

(1)   Reference is made to the items in Form 58-101F

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CORPORATE GOVERNANCE DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENT(1)               COMPLIANCE      COMMENTS

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<S>     <C>                                                  <C>             <C>
                                                                             This responsibility has been assigned to the
6.      (a)  Describe the process by which the board         Yes             Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate
             identifies new candidates for board                             Governance Committee, which committee is
             nomination                                                      composed of four Directors, all of whom have been
                                                                             affirmatively determined by the Board to be
---------------------------------------------------------------------------- independent. The purpose of the Compensation,
                                                                             Nominating, and Corporate Governance Committee
        (b)  Disclose whether or not the board has a         Yes             is, amongst other things, to identify and recommend
             nominating committee composed entirely                          individuals to the Board for nomination to the Board
             of independent Directors                                        as members of the Board and its committees.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

        (c)  If the board has a nominating committee,        Yes
             describe the responsibilities, powers and                       The Charter of the Compensation, Nominating, and
             operation of the nominating committee                           Corporate Governance Committee is available on the
                                                                             Company's Web site (www.vasogen.com). A copy
                                                                             may also be obtained upon request to the Vice-
                                                                             President Corporate & Legal Affairs of the Company
                                                                             at its executive office, 2505 Meadowvale Blvd,
                                                                             Mississauga (Ontario) L5N 5S2, telephone (905) 817-
                                                                             2000.

                                                                             For purposes of filling vacancies on the Board, the
                                                                             Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate
                                                                             Governance Committee would recommend nominees
                                                                             to the Board, review the qualifications of prospective
                                                                             members, and determine their relevance taking into
                                                                             consideration current Board composition and the
                                                                             anticipated skills required to round out the
                                                                             capabilities of the Board. Further to this process, on
                                                                             January 10, 2006, the Company announced the
                                                                             appointment of two new Board members, Dr. Ronald
                                                                             Cresswell and Dr. Calvin Stiller.

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7.      (a)  Describe the process by which the board         Yes             The Compensation, Nominating, and Corporate
             determines the compensation for your company's                  Governance Committee reviews and makes
             directors and officers.                                         recommendations to the Board regarding the
                                                                             adequacy and form of the compensation for non-
                                                                             executive Directors to ensure that such compensation
                                                                             realistically reflects the responsibilities and risks
                                                                             involved, without compromising a Director's
                                                                             independence. The Committee regularly reviews the
                                                                             compensation practices of comparable companies
                                                                             with a view to align the Company's non-executive
                                                                             Directors' compensation with a comparator group
                                                                             median. Directors who are executives of the
                                                                             Company receive no additional remuneration for their
                                                                             services as Directors.

                                                                             The Board has appointed the Compensation,
                                                                             Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee
                                                                             and assigned to it responsibility for recommending
                                                                             compensation for the Company's officers to the
                                                                             Board. CEO compensation is approved by the
                                                                             Committee.

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        (b)  Disclose whether or not the board has a         Yes             The Compensation, Nominating and Corporate
             compensation committee composed entirely of                     Governance Committee is comprised of four
             independent Directors                                           Directors, all of whom have been affirmatively
                                                                             determined by the Board to be independent.
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</TABLE>

(1)   Reference is made to the items in Form 58-101F

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CORPORATE GOVERNANCE DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENT(1)                  COMPLIANCE   COMMENTS

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
        (c)   If the board has a compensation committee,        Yes          The Compensation, Nominating and Corporate
              describe the responsibilities, powers and                      Governance Committee Charter is available on the
              operation of the compensation committee                        Company's Web site (www.vasogen.com).   A copy
                                                                             may also be obtained upon request to the Vice-
                                                                             President, Corporate & Legal Affairs of the Company
                                                                             at its executive office, 2505 Meadowvale Blvd,
                                                                             Mississauga (Ontario) L5N 5S2, telephone (905) 817-
                                                                             2000.

                                                                             The duties and responsibilities of the Compensation,
                                                                             Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee
                                                                             include reviewing the compensation principles and
                                                                             practices followed by the Company.

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8.            If the board has standing committees other than   No
              the audit, compensation and nominating
              committees, identify the committees and
              describe their function

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9.            Disclose whether or not the board, its            Yes          The Compensation, Nominating and Corporate
              committees and individual Directors are                        Governance Committee has the responsibility to
              regularly assessed with respect to their                       receive comments from all Directors as to the Board's
              effectiveness and contribution. If                             performance and report annually to the Board with an
              assessments are regularly conducted,                           assessment of the Board's performance. The
              describe the process used for the                              Chairman of the Committee contacts each Director to
              assessments.                                                   discuss the Board and Board Committee performance,
                                                                             as well as individual Director performance. The
                                                                             Chairman then reports the results to the Board of
                                                                             Directors. The Compensation, Nominating and
                                                                             Corporate Governance Committee also monitors the
                                                                             quality of the relationship between management and
                                                                             the Board, in order to recommend ways to improve
                                                                             that relationship.

                                                                             The most recent annual evaluation showed that the
                                                                             Board, Committees, Board Chair, Committee Chairs
                                                                             and individual Directors were effectively fulfilling
                                                                             their responsibilities.
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</TABLE>

(1)   Reference is made to the items in Form 58-101F