Advancing the Treatment of Chronic In_ammatory Disease 2007 ANNUAL REPORT AN ideAL PArtNer Vasogen and Grupo Ferrer Team for Success + Poised for Growth tArGetiNG iNfLAMMAtioN seediNG for sUCCess iN defeNse of the heArt www.vasogen.com / VASOGEN INC. 1

BOARD OF DIRECTORS* AND OFFICERS CHRISTOPHER WADDICK*, MBA, CMA President and Chief Executive O_cer ANTHONY BOLTON, PhD, DSc, FRCPath Chief Scienti_c O_cer CATHERINE BOUCHARD, MA, CHRP Vice President, Human Resources JOHN GEDDES, MBA, BScPT Vice President, Marketing and Business Development ANNE GOODBODY, PhD Vice President, Drug Development SUSAN LANGLOIS, RAC, WEP Vice President, Regulatory A_airs and Quality Assurance GRAHAM NEIL, CA Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial O_cer ELDON SMITH*, OC, MD, FRCP(C), FAHA Senior Vice President, Scienti_c A_airs and Chief Medical O_cer TERRANCE GREGG* Chairman VASOGEN IS A BIOTECHNOLOGY COMPANY ENGAGED IN THE DAVID ELSLEY*, MBA RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT OF THERAPIES THAT TARGET THE CALVIN STILLER*, CM, O.ONT, MD, FRCP(C) DAMAGING INFLAMMATION ASSOCIATED WITH CARDIOVASCULAR RADM JOHN C. VILLFORTH* United States Public Health Service (Ret) AND NEURODEGENERATIVE DISORDERS. THOMAS CLARKE, CPA Proposed Director Vasogen’s lead product, the Celacade™ in Europe by Grupo Ferrer Internacional. FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENT System, is designed to trigger the immune Celacade is also in late-stage clinical devel-response to apoptosis — an important opment for the treatment of chronic heart Certain statements contained in this annual report, or elsewhere in our public documents constitute “forward-looking statements” within physiological process that regulates inflam- failure in the United States. The Company is the meaning of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform mation. Celacade has received European also developing VP025, an early-stage new Act of 1995 and/or “forward-looking information” under the Securities Act (Ontario). These statements may include, without limitation, regulatory approval under the CE Mark for drug candidate for the treatment of certain plans to advance the development of our Celacade™[1] System, or chronic heart failure and is being marketed neurodegenerative diseases. VP025, plans to fund our current activities, statements concerning our partnering activities, health regulatory submissions, strategy, future operations, future _nancial position, future revenues and projected costs. In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by terminology such as “may”, “will”, “should”, “expects”, “plans”, “anticipates”, “believes”, “estimated”, “predicts”, “potential”, “continue”, “intends”, “could”, or the negative of such terms or other comparable terminology. We made a number of assumptions in the preparation of these forward-looking statements, including assumptions about the nature, size, and accessibility of the market for Celacade in the treatment of chronic heart failure, particularly in Europe, the regulatory approval process leading to commercialization and the availability of capital on acceptable terms to pursue the development of Celacade, and the feasibility of additional trials. You should not place undue reliance on our forward-looking statements which are subject to a multitude of risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results, future circumstances or events to di_er materially from those projected. These risks include, but are not limited to, the outcome of further ongoing analysis of the ACCLAIM trial results, the requirement or election to conduct additional clinical trials and the size and design of any such trials, delays or setbacks in the regulatory approval process, di_culties in the maintenance of existing regulatory approvals, securing and maintaining corporate alliances, the need for additional capital and the e_ect of capital market conditions and other factors on capital availability, the potential dilutive e_ects of any _nancing, risks associated with the outcomes of our preclinica l and clinical research and development programs, the adequacy, timing, and results of our clinical trials, competition, market acceptance of our products, the availability of government and insurance reimbursements for our products, the strength of intellectual property, reliance on partners, subcontractors, and key personnel, losses due to _uctua-tions in the U.S.-Canadian exchange rate, and other risks detailed from time to time in our public disclosure documents or other _lings with the Canadian and U.S. securities commissions or other securities “The human body is constantly bombarded with foreign micro regulatory bodies. Additional risks and uncertainties relating to our Company and our business can be found in the “Risk Factors” section organisms and antigens, a battle that triggers inflammation responses. of our Annual Information Form and Form 20-F for the year ended November 30, 2007, as well as in our later public _lings. The forward- If the body were to remain on constant high alert, tissues and organs looking statements are made as of the date hereof, and we disclaim any intention and have no obligation or responsibility, except as would wear out. What saves the body over time are naturally occurring required by law, to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise. anti-inflammatory responses. Vasogen’s approach is to trigger more of [1]Celacade is a trade-mark owned by Vasogen Ireland Limited, a these responses, keeping the immune system on an even keel.” wholly-owned subsidiary of Vasogen Inc., and is used with permission by Vasogen Inc. — Mary Ellen Egan, “Blood Works,” Forbes June 6, 2005, p. 85

CoNteNts FEATURES 3 AN IDEAL PARTNER Vasogen’s European marketing partner, Grupo Ferrer Internacional, S.A., is a leading, privately held pharmaceutical and medical devices company headquartered in Barcelona, Spain. 3 SEEDING FOR SUCCESS During an initial commercialization phase, the Celacade install base is being established through marketing and medical education efforts directed at physicians. 4 THE FIRST CELACADE ORDERS This is a major milestone as it marks the launch of commercial activities for Vasogen. 5 THE CELACADE SYSTEM The technology is designed to target the destructive inflammation underlying chronic heart failure and other cardiovascular diseases. 6 IN DEFENSE OF THE HEART Vasogen expects that The Lancet 3 publication will help to underpin its commercial activities with Celacade in the European Union, as well as the initiation of the ACCLAIM II trial. 7 TARGETING NEURO-INFLAMMATION VP025 is the lead product candidate from a new class of drugs and is being developed for the treatment of neuro-inflammatory disorders. 7 DEPARTMENTS SPOTLIGHT 2 SCIENTIFIC ADVISORY BOARD 8 ACCLAIM 9 ACCLAIM II STEERING COMMITTEE The ACCLAIM trial enrolled 2,408 patients at 175 cardiac centers throughout North America, Europe, and Israel. The study was a double-blind, placebo-controlled trial designed to assess the impact of Celacade on the risk of death and cardiovascular hospitalizations in patients with advanced chronic heart failure. www.vasogen.com / VASOGEN INC. 1

PRESIDENT’S NOTE Poised for Growth 2505 Meadowvale Blvd., Mississauga, Ontario, L5N 5S2 Canada Tel: 905.817.2000 Fax: 905.569.9231 www.vasogen.com CHRIS WADDICK PresIDenT anD ceo CORPORATE INFORMATION cial introduction of the Celacade System in Europe, first product revenues, STOCK LISTINGS AUDITOR NASDAQ: VSGN KPMG LLP We are anticipating an active 2008, which includes the continued commer- potential milestone payments, and the initiation of ACCLAIM II for the TSX: VAS Yonge Corporate Centre purpose of achieving regulatory approval for Celacade in the United States. 4100 Yonge Street, Suite 200 INVESTOR RELATIONS Toronto, ON, M2P 2H3 We are extremely pleased with the recently published article in The Lancet, a Glenn Neumann Canada world-leading medical journal, detailing the results of our ACCLAIM trial of investor@vasogen.com Tel: 905.817.2004 CORPORATE COUNSEL Celacade in chronic heart failure. We expect this article to provide important sup- Fax: 905.569.9231 McCarthy Tétrault, LLP port for both our commercial activities in Europe and the execution of ACCLAIM II. Suite 4700, TD Bank Tower TRANSFER AGENT AND Toronto Dominion Centre Together with our European marketing partner Grupo Ferrer, we are committed REGISTRAR Toronto, ON, M5K 1E6 CIBC Mellon Trust Company Canada to the successful roll-out of Celacade in Europe, where under the CE Mark, Celacade P.O. Box 7010 is approved for the treatment of all NYHA Class II heart failure patients and those Adelaide Street Postal U.S. CORPORATE COUNSEL Station NYHA Class III and IV heart failure patients who do not have a history of prior heart Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Toronto, ON, M5C 2W9 Wharton & Garrison LLP attack. This population, estimated at approximately 3 million patients, represents Canada 1285 Avenue of the Americas inquiries@cibcmellon.com New York, NY, 10019-6064 a substantial market opportunity for Celacade. Celacade is also the only CE Mark www.cibcmellon.com U.S.A. approved product that targets the destructive chronic inflammation underlying the Tel: 416.643.5500 Toll Free: 1.800.387.0825 PATENT COUNSEL development and progression of chronic heart failure. Fax: 416.643.5501 Foley & Lardner LLP Celacade has been installed in clinical sites in Germany and it is our goal to have 1530 Page Mill Road U.S. TRANSFER AGENT AND Palo Alto, CA, 94304-1125 sites initiated in Spain in the near future. It is our hope to have between 50 and 60 REGISTRAR U.S.A. Bank of New York Mellon Celacade Systems installed in Europe before the end of 2008 and for that number to 480 Washington Boulevard at least triple by the end of 2009. Jersey City, NJ, 07310 U.S.A. Under the terms of our Ferrer deal, following the initial commercialization phase, www.melloninvestor.com/isd Vasogen will receive 45% of the net sales of the Celacade single-use disposable Tel: 1.866.233.4836 cartridges — the consumable used in the delivery of monthly Celacade treatments. We are extremely pleased with the initial pricing structure that Ferrer has proposed for the sale of the cartridges. Furthermore, we expect to be in a position to receive SCIENTIFIC ADVISORY BOARD our first milestone payments from Ferrer during 2008. The FDA strongly recommended we conduct a confirmatory study in heart failure ROBERT ROBERTS, MD, FRCP(C), FACC Chairman patients with NYHA Class II symptoms and we have completed many key activities STANLEY H. APPEL, MD that are necessary to initiate the ACCLAIM II study. We have also assembled a VALENTIN FUSTER, MD, PhD world-class Steering Committee for this study and we are working with the FDA MILTON PACKER, MD towards the goal of receiving approval on the final protocol design. DAVID WOFSY, MD I’d like to personally thank our Board of Directors, Scientific Advisory Board, and employees for their commitment and dedication to Vasogen and I look forwar d Vasogen’s Scienti_c Advisory Board (SAB) comprises internationally recognized clinicians and scientists in to a very exciting year ahead. the _eld of medical research. The SAB, with a strong foundation in immunology, includes experts in cardiovascular disease, neuro-in_ammatory conditions, February 2008 and autoimmune disease. The SAB is involved in Vasogen’s research and clinical development strategy and provide access to a wide-reaching basic science and clinical development network. Complete biographies of the SAB members can be found on Vasogen’s website, www.vasogen.com. 2 VASOGEN INC. / www.vasogen.com

grupo ferrer — an IDeal parTner largest pharmaceutical companies and at Ferrer: “Having followed the develop-mid-size _rms including AstraZeneca, As- ment of Celacade for several years, we are tellas, Johnson & Johnson, Merck Sharp & Dohme, Novartis, Roche, Sano-Aventis, Solvay, Cephalon, United Therapeutics, and The Medicines Co., among others. Under the Vasogen/Ferrer collaboration, Ferrer has the exclusive rights to very enthusiastic about the opportunity market Celacade for the treatment of for Grupo Ferrer to market this new chronic heart failure in speci_ed countries immuno-modulatory strategy to the car-Vasogen’s European marketing partner, of Europe, including Germany, Spain, diology community of Europe and Latin Grupo Ferrer Internacional, S.A., is a Portugal, France, and Italy, and certain America. Celacade o_ers cardiologists an leading, privately held pharmaceutical countries in Latin America, including entirely new way to target the pathologi-and medical devices company headquar- Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, and Venezuela. cal in_ammatory processes of heart failure tered in Barcelona, Spain. Established in Ferrer has also aquired the right of _rst not addressed by available therapies, and 1959, Ferrer now has operations in over 60 negotiation with respect to the remaining given the magnitude of the heart failure countries and has established successful countries of the EU. problem, we see a large economic op-licensing, distribution, and marketing Dr. Carlos de Lecea, Vice President portunity for both Vasogen and Ferrer.” V agreements with some of the world’s International and Business Development Terms of The ferrer Deal SEEDING FOR SUCCESS Potential milestone payments from Ferrer to Vasogen under both structures amount to 34.6 million Euros. 45% of the net revenues that Ferrer set pan-European sale thresholds During an initial commercial- ization phase, which can best generates from the sale of disposable whereby Ferrer pays Vasogen a set be described as seeding the cartridges. amount upon reaching escalating market, the Celacade install base is Vasogen also has the potential to total net sales levels in Europe. In being established through marketing receive milestone payments from total, potential milestone payments and medical education e_orts directed Ferrer under two di_erent structures. from Ferrer to Vasogen under both at physicians. During this period, One structure calls for a milestone structures amount to €34.6 million, Vasogen receives a _xed amount for payment to Vasogen on the _rst or approximately US$50 million. each Celacade single-use disposable commercial sale of Celacade in each Ferrer is also _nancially respon-cartridge shipped to Ferrer. Upon the country after the seeding phase sible for all costs associated with the conclusion of this phase, expected is complete. The other milestone launch and marketing of Celacade. V September 2008, Vasogen receives structure is based on Ferrer achieving www.vasogen.com / Vasogen Inc. 3

THE FIRST CELACADE ORDERS WHAT IS THE CE MARK? We are _rmly committed to the success of Celacade in Europe. The CE Mark is a regulatory approval — DR. CARLOS DE LECEA that allows Vasogen to place Celacade on the market in the 27 countries that Vice President International and Business Development at Ferrer comprise the European Union. In December 2007, Ferrer secured the initial orders for Celacade in Germany. This is a major milestone as it marks the launch of commercial activities for Vasogen. Celacade, a first-in-class therapy, is the only CE Mark approved product that specifically targets the destructive chronic inflammation underlying the development and progression of chronic heart failure. Under the CE Mark, Celacade can be marketed in the 27 countries that comprise the European Union and is indicated in the EU for the treatment of all New York Heart Association (NYHA) Class II heart failure patients and NYHA Class III and IV heart failure patients who do not have a prior history of heart attack. Commenting on the achievement, Chris Waddick, President and CEO of Vasogen stated: “We are extremely pleased that Ferrer has secured these orders so quickly after completing key pre-marketing activities. We look forward to continuing our close collaboration with Ferrer as we work to rapidly expand the use of Celacade within the European Union.” V HEART FAILURE the heArt fAiLUre ePideMiC Heart failure is the leading cause of hospitalizations for patients older than 65. this condition. Approximately 6.5 million Society of America, heart failure hospital days and up to 15 million o_ce According to the Heart Failureis the only major cardiovascular visits are for heart failure care each year. disorder with both prevalence and Health care costs associated with heart incidence on the rise. The condition is often failure are staggering, with US$34.8 billion referred to as an epidemic and the _ve- in direct and indirect costs in the United year survival rate for patients diagnosed States projected for 2008. Almost 73% with heart failure is only 50%. It is one (US$25.4 billion) of this total represents of the most commonly diagnosed medical costs associated with hospital and nursing conditions, a_ecting nearly 5 million home care, physicians, and other health Americans and 6.5 million Europeans. care professionals. More Medicare dollars Each year, in the U.S. alone, 550,000 new are spent for the diagnosis and treatment of cases of heart failure are diagnosed and heart failure than for any other condition. V nearly 300,000 deaths are associated with ACCLAIM — CARDIOVASCULAR HOSPITALIZATIONS NYHA CLASS II Placebo Celacade Number of patients 330 359 Total days in hospital 1758 1154 Average days in hospital per patient 5.33 3.21 Impact of Celacade on days in hospital 40% DECREASE 4 VASOGEN INC. / www.vasogen.com

THE CELACADE SYSTEM Therapy utilizing Vasogen’s Celacade System is designed to target the destructive inflammation underlying iMMUNe resPoNse to APoPtotiC CeLLs chronic heart failure and other cardiovascular diseases. During a brief monthly outpatient procedure, a small sample of a patient’s blood is drawn into a Celacade single-use disposable cartridge and exposed to controlled oxidative stress utilizing the Celacade medical device technology. Oxidative stress is a factor known to initiate apoptosis, a natural physiologic process that is inherently anti-inflammatory. The treated blood is then administered to the same patient intramuscularly. Celacade has received European regulatory approval under the CE Mark for chronic heart failure and is being marketed in Europe by Grupo Ferrer Internacional. Celacade is also in late-stage clinical development for the treatment of chronic heart failure in the United States. V INFLAMMATION OUT OF CONTROL tArGetiNG iNfLAMMAtioN “Chronic inflammation may be the engine that drives many of the most feared illnesses of middle and old age.” Time Magazine — “The Fires Within” — Feb 04 Inflammation is a normal and healthy response of the immune system to cellular injury caused by infection, trauma, or other stimuli. During the inflammatory process, immune cells release a number of factors, including cytokines — potent chemical messengers that modulate inflammation and facilitate the healing process. However, while this inflammatory process is usually self-limiting, it can persist, become chronic, and lead to the persistence or progression of a number of serious medical conditions including chronic heart failure. Vasogen’s Celacade System and its VP Series of Drugs are designed to target this destructive chronic inflammation. V www.vasogen.com / VASOGEN INC. 5

WORLD-LEADING JOURNAL PUBLISHES ACCLAIM RESULTS IN DEFENSE OF THE HEART “we are very optimistic. these are probably the best results we have ever seen in a heart failure study. we saw very positive things in a large population.” Guillermo Torre-Amione, MD, PhD, FACC, Medical Director, Heart Transplant Program, Methodist DeBakey Heart Center at The Methodist Hospital (BigNewsDay, January 18, 2008) RISK OF DEATH OR FIRST CARDIOVASCULAR HOSPITALIZATION — NYHA CLASS II PATIENTS The Lancet, a world-leading medical journal, published an article describing the results from Vasogen’s 2,408-patient ACCLAIM trial of Celacade CeLACAde™ PLACebo (n=359, events=92) (n=330, events=124) 39% 100 deCreAse iN The LanceT 90 risk Lancet 2008; 371: 228-36 80 70 P=0.0003 in patients with chronic heart failure. The interpre- 60 hazard ratio = 0.608 50 n = 689 Patients tation of the findings in The Lancet is that: “Non- specific PAtieNts free of eveNt (%) 40 0 immuno- 0 100 200 300 400 500 dAys modulation [Celacade] may have RISK OF DEATH OR FIRST CARDIOVASCULAR HOSPITALIZATION — NYHA CLASS II / III / IV WITH NO HISTORY OF PRIOR HEART ATTACK a role as a potential treatment for a large segment of the heart failure population, which includes patients without a history of myocardial infarction CeLACAde™ PLACebo (n=460, events=105) (n=459, events=138) (irrespective of their functional NYHA class) and 26% patients within NYHA class II.” 100 deCreAse iN Vasogen expects that this publication will help to 90 risk underpin its commercial activities with Celacade in 80 the European Union, as well as the initiation of the 70 P=0.02 ACCLAIM II trial. V 60 hazard ratio = 0.74 50 n = 919 Patients PAtieNts free of eveNt (%) 40 0 0 100 200 300 400 500 dAys 6 VASOGEN INC. / www.vasogen.com

VP DRUGS TARGET NEURO-INFLAMMATION Targeting Neuro-Inflammation disease, Parkinson’s disease, and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease. These conditions Aare characterized by increased levels of inflammatory mediators, including cytokines, leading to the death of nerve cellsmong the many neurological conditions associated with an inflammatory response in the nervous system are Alzheimer’s and the eventual loss of functional activity. Due to the prevalence, morbidity, and mortality associated with neuro-inflammatory diseases, they represent a significant medical, social, and financial burden. It is estimated that neurological conditions, which are expected to increase in prevalence as the population ages, currently affect more than five million people in North America and generate costs of care that exceed $75 billion annually. V iNfLAMMAtioN & NeUroLoGiCAL CoNditioNs diseases, including Parkinson’s disease, to modulate cytokine levels and Alzheimer’s disease, ALS, and diabetic Anew class of drugs that is designedcontrol in_ammation is being retinopathy. The Company has already developed by Vasogen. The lead product successfully completed a phase I clinical candidate from this new class of drugs trial showing that VP025 was safe and is VP025 and it is being developed for well tolerated. the treatment of neuro-in_ammatory VP015, an earlier stage candidate, disorders. is also being developed to treat Vasogen has completed considerable in_ammatory conditions. preclinical work demonstrating the ability Vasogen is seeking potential partners of VP025 to reduce in_ammation in for VP025 and the VP Series of Drugs for models of a number of neurodegenerative one or more of the potential applications. V www.vasogen.com / VASOGEN INC. 7

ACCLAIM UNLoCkiNG the key to heArt fAiLUre THE ACCLAIM TRIAL ENROLLED 2,408 PATIENTS AT 175 CARDIAC CENTERS THROUGHOUT NORTH AMERICA, EUROPE, AND ISRAEL. THE STUDY WAS A DOUBLE-BLIND, PLACEBO-CONTROLLED TRIAL DESIGNED TO ASSESS THE IMPACT OF THE CELACADE SYSTEM ON THE RISK OF DEATH AND CARDIOVASCULAR HOSPITALIZATIONS IN PATIENTS WITH ADVANCED CHRONIC HEART FAILURE. ACCLAIM enrolled patients with NYHA Class II, III, or IV chronic heart failure and a mean left ventricular ejection fraction of less than 30% — indicating patients with advanced disease. Patients who participated in the ACCLAIM trial were taking pharmaceuticals that reflect the current standard-of-care and many had implanted cardiac defibrillators and/or cardiac resynchronization devices as clinically indicated. Study patients received either monthly Celacade treatments or placebo in an outpatient clinic. The difference in time to death or first cardiovascular hospitalization, the primary endpoint of ACCLAIM, for the intent-to-treat study population was not statistically significant (p=0.22); however, the risk reduction directionally favored the Celacade group (hazard ratio=0.92). Celacade was, however, shown to significantly reduce the risk of death or first cardiovascular hospitalization by 39% in a predefined subgroup of patients with NYHA Class II heart failure at baseline (n=689 patients, 216 events, p=0.0003) and, in a predefined subgroup of patients with no prior history of heart attack at baseline, Celacade was also shown to significantly reduce the risk of death or first cardiovascular hospitalization by 26% (n=919 patients, 243 events, p=0.02). Consistent with the impact of Celacade on the risk of mortality and morbidity in large subgroups within the ACCLAIM trial, was the finding of a significant improvement in quality of life (as measured by the Minnesota Living with Heart Failure Questionnaire) for the patients in the intent-to-treat study population (p=0.04). Celacade was also shown to be well tolerated and there were no significant between-group differences for any serious adverse events. V 8 VASOGEN INC. / www.vasogen.com

THE CELACADE SYSTEM IS DESIGNED TO TARGET THE DESTRUCTIVE INFLAMMATION UNDERLYING CHRONIC HEART FAILURE WORLD-CLASS STEERING COMMITTEE ACCLAIM II FOR CLASS II Vasogen has again established a world-class Steering Committee. The ACCLAIM II Steering Committee will be led Based on the results from the by Dr. James Young, Chairman of the Division of Medicine at ACCLAIM trial, which dem- the Cleveland Clinic and Medical Director for the Kaufman onstrated a 39% (p=0.0003) Center for Heart Failure. He has been lead investigator in reduction in the risk of death numerous multi-center clinical trials focusing on heart or cardiovascular hospitaliza- failure and was Global Principal Investigator and Chairman tions for NYHA Class II heart failure patients receiving Celacade, the of the Steering Committee for ACCLAIM. For the thirteenth FDA strongly recommended that Vasogen conduct a con_rmatory consecutive year, Cleveland Clinic’s cardiac care has been ranked No. 1 in the U.S., according to the 2007 U.S. News & study to support an application for regulatory approval of Celacade World Report. for NYHA Class II patients in the United States. One of the great advantages the Company will have in conducting “I am extremely pleased to be participating in this the con_rmatory study, called ACCLAIM II, is the ability to bene_t important study for the purpose of confirming the from everything learned from executing the ACCLAIM trial. To impressive result seen with the pre-specified subgroup date, Vasogen has been working diligently with the FDA on prepara- of nearly 700 patients with NYHA Class II heart failure in the ACCLAIM study,” said Dr. Young. “There is tions for ACCLAIM II and they have already completed key activi-clearly a need for more options to treat patients with ties, including the drafting of an initial study protocol and other Class II heart failure and Celacade has the potential key documents necessary to begin the trial. to become a safe and effective first-in-class therapy in The Company has selected a CRO for the study and has also be- this progressive and devastating condition.” gun the process of identifying and reaching out to clinical sites for participation in ACCLAIM II. Clinical site selection is an example of Dr. Young is joined by Robert Bourge from the University of Alabama, Maria Rosa Costanzo of the Midwest Heart where Vasogen bene_ts from their experience. They have been able Foundation, Jean Rouleau, Université de Montréal, Guillermo to prioritize the clinical sites that participated in ACCLAIM and Torre-Amione from The Methodist Hospital in Houston, select those sites with a proven ability to quickly recruit heart Mariell Jessup from University of Pennsylvania, and Clyde failure patients and to conduct quality research. Yancy Jr., an internationally recognized cardiologist and heart The _nal design of ACCLAIM II in NYHA Class II patients, which failure specialist from Baylor Heart & Vascular Institute. The is subject to FDA approval, is expected to be very similar to the caliber of this group is a testament to the excitement generated ACCLAIM study in terms of the primary endpoint and the patient by ACCLAIM II and the belief that there is an unmet need to inclusion and exclusion criteria. V address the inflammation associated with the development and progression of heart failure. www.vasogen.com / VASOGEN INC. 9

Taking Immunotherapy to Heart™ CeLACAde has received European regulatory approval under the CE Mark for chronic heart failure and is being marketed in Europe by Grupo Ferrer Internacional. Celacade is also in late-stage clinical development for the treatment of chronic heart failure in the United States. vasogen Inc. 2505 meaDowvale blvD., mIssIssauga, onTarIo l5n 5s2 canaDa Tel: 905.817.2000 Fax: 905.569.9231 www.vAsoGeN.CoM