For immediate release

Mittal Steel Announces Canadian Competition Act
Clearance for Arcelor Bid

8 June 2006 – Rotterdam - Mittal Steel Company N.V. today announces that the Canadian Competition Bureau has confirmed that it will not challenge the bid by Mittal Steel to acquire Arcelor S.A. The clearance is unconditional. Along with the granting of EU antitrust clearance on June 2, 2006 and the expiry of the waiting period under the U.S. Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act of 1976 on May 11, 2006, this clearance is a further positive and important step towards the successful completion of Mittal's bid.

No Offer

No offer to exchange or purchase any Arcelor shares or convertible bonds has been or will be made in The Netherlands or in any jurisdiction other than Belgium, France, Luxembourg, Spain and the United States.

Important Information

In connection with its proposed acquisition of Arcelor S.A., Mittal Steel has filed important documents (1) with the CSSF, the CBFA and the AMF in Europe, including the Information Document approved by the CSSF, the CBFA and the AMF (No. 06-139) on May 16, 2006, an Information Document Supplement approved by the CSSF, the CBFA and the AMF (No. 06-169) on May 31, 2006, a Share Listing Prospectus approved by the Autoriteit Financiële Markten (“AFM”) in The Netherlands on May 16, 2006, and a Share Listing Prospectus Supplement approved by the AFM on May 31, 2006 and (2) with the SEC in the United States, including the registration statement on Form F-4, the Prospectus for the exchange offer and related documents. Investors and Arcelor security holders outside the United States are urged to

carefully read the Information Document, the Information Document Supplement, the Share Listing Prospectus and the Share Listing Prospectus Supplement, which together contain all relevant information in relation to the Offer. Investors and Arcelor security holders in the United States are urged to carefully read the registration statement on Form F-4, the Prospectus and related documents. All such documents contain important information. Investors and Arcelor security holders may obtain copies of such documents free of charge on Mittal Steel’s website at www.mittalsteel.com. In addition, the French version of the Information Document is available on the AMF’s website at www.amf-france.org, and the registration statement on Form F-4, the Prospectus and related documents are available at the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov.

About Mittal Steel

Mittal Steel is the world’s largest and most global steel company. The company has operations in sixteen countries, on four continents. Mittal Steel encompasses all aspects of modern steelmaking, to produce a comprehensive portfolio of both flat and long steel products to meet a wide range of customer needs. It serves all the major steel consuming sectors, including automotive, appliance, machinery and construction.

For 2005, Mittal Steel had revenues of US$28.1 billion and steel shipments of 49.2 million tons. The company trades on the New York Stock Exchange and Euronext Amsterdam under the ticker symbol “MT.”