Exhibit 99.1

Beverly Enterprises Announces Results of Annual Meeting of Stockholders, Provides Update on Sales Process and First Quarter Performance Trends

    FORT SMITH, Ark.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--April 21, 2005--Beverly Enterprises, Inc.
(BEI) (NYSE: BEV) reported that, at its annual meeting held today,
stockholders elected all nominees to the company's Board of Directors
and ratified the appointment of Ernst and Young LLP as independent
auditors for 2005.
    BEI Chairman and Chief Executive Officer William R. Floyd made the
following remarks to update stockholders on the sale of the company
and on first-quarter 2005 performance trends:
    "As you know, on March 22 we announced that our Board had
unanimously decided to begin an auction to sell the company. The
Board's decision reflected a significant shift in our stockholder base
- to owners who now have a fairly short-term horizon for maximizing
their investment in BEI.
    "The sales process is being actively overseen by the independent
members of our Board. The Board remains committed to maximizing the
value of the investments of all our stockholders - and committed to a
sale as soon as practicable through a fair process, in which all
parties are treated on an equitable basis.
    "In terms of characterizing the process to date, I think it is
fair to say that the Board - and our financial advisors, Lehman
Brothers and JPMorgan - have been encouraged by the robust level of
interest in our company.
    "We have received numerous requests for information in connection
with a possible purchase of the company. As is customary in a company
sale process, we have signed confidentiality agreements with
interested bidders, affording them access to confidential information
about the company. This "due diligence" process is designed to assist
potential bidders in evaluating their level of interest in the company
and in developing an appropriate bid.
    "Multiple potential bidders or bidding groups already have signed confidentiality agreements and obtained access to this information.
There are additional parties who continue to express interest in
signing confidentiality agreements that would allow them to conduct
similar due diligence investigations.
    "To facilitate the initial due diligence process for potential
bidders, on April 4 we established an on-line data room, which is
being actively used by those bidders who have entered into
confidential agreements with us.
    "I know there's a lot of interest about potential buyers, price
levels, closing dates and the like. Unfortunately, our lawyers and
financial advisors tell me I should not discuss details around the
auction process, the participants or the potential timetable for the
auction. And I must agree that it would be inappropriate to speculate
on any of these topics at this time.
    "I can share with you, however, that we've asked all interested
parties to submit initial proposals that would include information on
price, financing plans, and potential financial and operating
partners. The Board currently plans to evaluate these "first round"
proposals, and then select a smaller number of interested parties to
participate in the second round of more detailed due diligence and
bidding.
    "The most important facts at this stage of the process are that
our Board remains committed to the sale - that all parties will be
treated on an equitable basis - and the interest to-date has been
robust.
    "I have received a number of questions - especially from our
associates - about whether management would consider an ongoing role
with the company following a sale.
    "As the Board is committed to exploring the broadest range of
options possible, it is certainly possible that some potential buyers
may be interested in working with management. However, this is only
one of the many options that might arise.
    "I also want to make clear that the process we have put in place
is meant to ensure that any transaction we pursue will be the right
one for our stockholders, at the right price. All interested and
qualified parties will have an opportunity to make an offer to
purchase the Company through a fair process established by the Board
and actively overseen by our independent directors.
    "As is common practice in the sale of a company, we do not
currently expect to provide additional detail regarding the progress
of the auction process until it is concluded.
    "Finally, I'd like to comment on our performance to-date. As with
any sales process, this situation has had the potential to distract
our associates. However, I'm very pleased and proud that our
associates continue to fully focus on their responsibilities - to
provide quality care and to execute the specific initiatives we've
developed to achieve profitable growth in our business segments.
    "We recently closed the books on our first quarter, and we'll
announce results on May 4. It would not be appropriate to comment
further on our first-quarter results, except to say that we entered
2005 with considerable momentum - and our business unit operating and
financial trends continue to be very positive."
    The statements in this document relating to matters that are not
historical facts are forward-looking statements based on management's
beliefs and assumptions using currently available information and
expectations as of the date hereof. Forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and involve certain risks and
uncertainties, including the risks and uncertainties detailed from
time to time in BEI's filings with the Securities and Exchange
Commission. In addition, BEI's results of operations, financial
condition and cash flows may be adversely impacted by the ongoing
auction process. The auction may impact BEI's ability to attract and
retain customers, management and employees and may result in the
incurrence of significant advisory fees, litigation costs and other
expenses. Although BEI believes that the expectations reflected in
such forward-looking statements are reasonable, it cannot give any
assurances that these expectations will prove to be correct. BEI
assumes no duty to publicly update or revise such statements, whether
as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.
    Beverly Enterprises, Inc. and its operating subsidiaries are
leading providers of healthcare services to the elderly in the United
States. At March 31, 2005, it operated 346 skilled nursing facilities,
as well as 18 assisted living centers, and 56 hospice/home care
agencies. Through Aegis Therapies, the company offers rehabilitation
services on a contract basis to nursing facilities operated by other
care providers.

    CONTACT: Beverly Enterprises, Inc., Fort Smith
             Investor:
             James M. Griffith, 479-201-5514
             or
             News Media:
             Blair C. Jackson, 479-201-5263
             http://www.beverlycorp.com