UBS Global Life Sciences Conference New York City September 24, 2008 Exhibit 99.1

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Safe Harbor
•Information herein contains forward-looking statements pursuant to the safe harbor
provision of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. All such forward-
looking statements are based largely on management’s expectations and are
subject to risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially.
These risks and uncertainties include competitive factors, outsourcing trends,
contract terms, exchange rate fluctuations, the Company’s ability to manage growth
and to continue to attract and retain qualified personnel, the Company’s ability to
complete acquisitions and to integrate newly acquired businesses and consolidation
within the industry and other factors described in the Company’s filings with the
Securities and Exchange Commission.

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Source: Goldman Sachs, May 20, 2008.
Global R&D
spending
9.3%
Overall pharma
market
6.6%
Global CRO market growth and global R&D spending
exceeding overall pharma market growth
Global CRO
market
13-15%
CRO market opportunity accelerating within a decelerating pharma market
CRO market

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Our vision
“Best-in-class” provider of clinical
development services to the biopharmaceutical
industry through broad therapeutic
and geographic expertise

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Source: Jefferies, CRO Survey, March 2007
% of total respondents
Vendor relationship
management principles
Electronic data capture (EDC)
Functional outsourcing
Preferred provider agreements
Centralized sourcing groups
Biomarkers research
Program outsourcing
Offshoring
In-sourcing more work
Divesting of major facilities
groups and/or divisions
High throughput processes
Dedicated space
Strategic Relationships
Customer drivers for R&D efficiency
0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90

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•
Geographic reach over five regions
•
Strong project leadership for large global trials
•
Workforce needs
•
Efficiency and productivity through technology
Full service megatrials
The need for global capability

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Early Stage Opportunities
Geographic Expansion
Customer and business expansion
Business expansion

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Preclinical/Phase I opportunity
Source: Goldman Sachs, Pharmaceutical Services, Dec 2007 and May 2008
Phase I Compounds in Development by Year, Month
Preclinical/Phase I a $9.8 billion market by 2012

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Shift in opportunity by phase
Source: William Blair & Company, CRO Industry Update, Oct. 5, 2007.
New compounds in pharmaceutical development, 1995 to present

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Early Stage
•
Phase I growth is expected to
outpace broader market at
approximately 15-16% annually
•
Early Stage will grow to
approximately 20% of our
business over the next 3 years
Utrecht Toronto
Morgantown
Kendle Clinical Pharmacology Units
High-end scientific exploratory
medicine focus – FIH to POC
Kendle Bioequivalence Unit
Generic medicines focus

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Asia/Pacific
•
Asia/Pacific growth is estimated at
30-50% through 2013
•
Kendle’s focus is expanded
breadth and depth of key markets
to win and deliver megatrials
Current Kendle operations
Markets targeted for expansion

Financial Profile

N o r t h A m e r i c a • E u r o p e • A s i a / P a c i f i c • L a t i n A m e r i c a • A f r i c a 22 22 Delivering value for shareholders

N o r t h A m e r i c a • E u r o p e • A s i a / P a c i f i c • L a t i n A m e r i c a • A f r i c a 23 23 Strong Growth in Net Sales

N o r t h A m e r i c a • E u r o p e • A s i a / P a c i f i c • L a t i n A m e r i c a • A f r i c a 24 24 Strong Growth in Backlog

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25
Growth in Revenues
* Peer Group includes PPD, Parexel, PRA and ICON for 2004-2006. 2007 and 2008 excludes PRA.
**Includes acquisition of Charles River Laboratories Clinical Services (CRLCS) as of Aug. 16, 2006.

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26
Operating Margin Comparison
*Peer Group includes PPD, Parexel, PRA and ICON for 2004-2006. 2007 and 2008 exclude PRA.
** Proforma operating margin for full year 2006 excludes charges for stock option expense in accordance with FAS 123R, amortization of
acquired intangibles, other acquisition costs and severance costs as well as an impairment charge on a customer relationship asset.
*** Proforma operating margin for full year 2007 excludes charges for the amortization of acquired intangibles and the write-off of
deferred financing fees related to the Company’s term debt associated with the CRLCS acquisition.

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