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 ride the light                                  NEWS
    Qwest



       QWEST COMMUNICATIONS DOES NOT INTEND TO BUY WINSTAR COMMUNICATIONS

DENVER, APRIL 5, 2001-- Qwest Communications International Inc. announced today that it has no current intention to acquire, purchase any assets of, or invest in WinStar Communications, Inc. or any other fixed wireless company.

Qwest is making this statement, although it does not normally comment on market rumors, in response to numerous inquiries from analysts and investors.

ABOUT QWEST
Qwest Communications International Inc. (NYSE: Q) is a leader in reliable, scalable and secure broadband Internet-based data, voice and image communications for businesses and consumers. The Qwest Macro Capacity(R) Fiber Network, designed with the newest optical networking equipment for speed and efficiency, spans more than 106,000 miles globally. For more information, please visit the Qwest web site at www.qwest.com.

                                      # # #

This release may contain projections and other forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties. These statements may differ materially from actual future events or results. Readers are referred to the documents filed by Qwest with the Securities and Exchange Commission, specifically the most recent reports which identify important risk factors that could cause actual results to differ from those contained in the forward-looking statements, including potential fluctuations in quarterly results, volatility of Qwest's stock price, intense competition in the communications services market, changes in demand for Qwest's products and services, dependence on new product development and acceleration of the deployment of advanced new services, such as broadband data, wireless and video services, which could require substantial expenditure of financial and other resources in excess of contemplated levels, higher than anticipated employee levels, capital expenditures and operating expenses, rapid and significant changes in technology and markets, adverse changes in the regulatory or legislative environment affecting Qwest's business and delays in Qwest's ability to provide interLATA services within its 14-state local service territory, failure to maintain rights of way, and failure to achieve the projected synergies and financial results expected to result from the acquisition of U S WEST timely or at all and difficulties in combining the operations of Qwest and U S WEST. The information contained in this release is a statement of Qwest's present intention and is based upon, among other things, the existing regulatory environment, industry conditions and market conditions and prices. Qwest may change its intentions, at any time and without notice, based upon any changes in such factors, in Qwest's assumptions or otherwise. This release may include analysts' estimates and other information prepared by third parties for which Qwest assumes no responsibility. Qwest undertakes no obligation to review or confirm analysts' expectations or estimates or to release publicly any revisions to any forward-looking statements to reflect events or circumstances after the date hereof or to reflect the occurrence of unanticipated events.

The Qwest logo is a registered trademark of, and CyberCenter is a service mark of, Qwest Communications International Inc. in the U.S. and certain other countries.

         Contacts:    MEDIA CONTACT:                 INVESTOR CONTACT:
                      --------------                 -----------------
                      Tyler Gronbach                 Lee Wolfe
                      303-992-2155                   800-567-7296
                      tyler.gronbach@qwest.com       IR@qwest.com

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