Exhibit 99.1

MEGA MATRIX CORP. APPOINTS XIANGCHEN (STEVEN) GAO AS CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER

PALO ALTO, Calif., Jan. 19, 2024 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Mega Matrix Corp. (“MPU” or the “Company”) (NYSE American: MPU), today announced that Mr. Xiangchen (Steven) Gao has been appointed as the Company’s Chief Operating Officer.

Mr. Gao will lead the development of the Company’s new short drama business and will report directly to the Company’s CEO, Mr. Yucheng Hu.

Prior to joining the Company, Mr. Gao served as the Co-founder and Chief Operating Officer of Digital Element Co., Ltd. Before this, he held the position of Senior Investment Manager at Fengshion Capital. Between 2019 and 2021, Mr. Gao was the Senior Strategic Manager at ByteDance. From 2016 to 2019, he worked as a Senior Investment Manager at Baofeng Group (stock code: 300431). Mr. Gao possesses over eight years of experience in investment and strategic operations. He received his Bachelor’s degree in Economics from Renmin University of China in 2015.

“Steven brings tremendous amount of experience in online streaming which will further enhances the development of our new FlexTV, a short drama streaming platform based in Singapore,” said Mr. Hu, the Company’s CEO. “On behalf of the entire team, we officially welcome Steven aboard.”

About Mega Matrix: Mega Matrix Corp. is a holding company located in Palo Alto, California with five subsidiaries: Saving Digital Pte. Ltd., a Singapore corporation (“Saving”), Mega Matrix, Inc., an exempted company incorporated under the laws of the Cayman Islands, Mega Metaverse Corp., a California corporation (“Mega”), Marsprotocol Technologies Pte. Ltd., a Singapore corporation (“MTP”) and FunVerse Holding Limited (“FunVerse”), a company incorporated under the laws of the British Virgin Islands. The Company focuses on crypto-related and short drama business. For more information, please contact info@megamatrix.io or visit: http://www.megamatrix.io.

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. All statements in this press release other than statements that are purely historical are forward looking statements. When used in this press release, the words “estimates,” “projected,” “expects,” “anticipates,” “forecasts,” “plans,” “intends,” “believes,” “seeks,” “may,” “will,” “should,” “future,” “propose,” and variations of these words or similar expressions (or the negative versions of such words or expressions) are intended to identify forward-looking statements. These forward-looking statements are not guarantees for future performance, conditions or results, and involve a number of known and unknown risks, uncertainties, assumptions and other important factors, many of which are outside the Company’s control, that could cause actual results or outcomes to differ materially from those discussed in the forward-looking statements. Important factors, among others, are: the ability to manage growth; ability to identify and integrate future acquisitions; ability to grow and expand our FlexTV business; ability to obtain additional financing in the future to fund capital expenditures; fluctuations in general economic and business conditions; costs or other factors adversely affecting the Company’s profitability; litigation involving patents, intellectual property, and other matters; potential changes in the legislative and regulatory environment; a pandemic or epidemic; the occurrence of any event, change or other circumstances that could affect the Company’s ability to continue successful development of its digital assets staking business model; the possibility that the Company may not succeed in developing its new lines of businesses due to, among other things, changes in the business environment, competition, changes in regulation, or other economic and policy factors; and the possibility that the Company’s new lines of business may be adversely affected by other economic, business, and/or competitive factors. The forward-looking statements in this press release and the Company’s future results of operations are subject to additional risks and uncertainties set forth under the heading “Risk Factors” in documents filed by the Company with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including the Company’s latest annual report on Form 10-K, and are based on information available to the Company on the date hereof. In addition, such risks and uncertainties include the Company’s inability to predict or control bankruptcy proceedings and the uncertainties surrounding the ability to generate cash proceeds through the sale or other monetization of the Company’s assets. The Company undertakes no obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise, except as required by applicable law. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date of this press release.

Contact:

Info@megamatrix.io