Exhibit 99.1

Correvio Announces Brinavess® Spectrum Data to be Presented at the European Society of Cardiology 2019 Congress

NASDAQ: CORV   TSX: CORV

VANCOUVER, Aug. 12, 2019 /CNW/ - Correvio Pharma Corp. (NASDAQ: CORV) (TSX: CORV), a specialty pharmaceutical company focused on commercializing hospital drugs, today announced that an abstract highlighting the results of the SPECTRUM study evaluating Brinavess® (vernakalant hydrochloride, IV), the Company's antiarrhythmic drug for the rapid conversion of recent onset atrial fibrillation (AF), was selected for a poster presentation at the European Society of Cardiology (ESC) 2019 Congress taking place August 31 – September 4, 2019, in Paris.

"SPECTRUM is a large, European, post-authorization safety study that provides important information on the safety, efficacy and use of Brinavess in nearly 1,800 patients in a real-world clinical setting," said Carin Heringa, MD, Correvio's Head of Medical Affairs.  "We are honored that these data were selected for inclusion in this year's program and we look forward to Professor Hartikainen's presentation."

A New Drug Application for Brinavess is currently under review by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for the conversion of adult patients with recent onset AF.  The FDA assigned a target action date of December 24, 2019 under the Prescription Drug User-Fee Act.

Details for the upcoming presentation are as follows:

Title: Efficacy and Safety of vernakalant for cardioversion of recent-onset fibrillation in real-world clinical practice: the SPECTRUM post-approval study
Presenter: Dr. Juha Hartikainen, Kuopio University Hospital, Kuopio, Finland
Date and time: Monday, September 2, 2019; 14:00-18:00
Location: Poster Area

About Atrial Fibrillation

Atrial Fibrillation (also known as AFib or AF) is a supraventricular tachyarrhythmia with uncoordinated atrial activation resulting in ineffective atrial contraction and if left untreated, structural and/or electrophysiological atrial tissue abnormalities.1 AF is a common cardiac rhythm disturbance that increases in prevalence with advancing age.1 According to the American Heart Association, estimates of the prevalence of AF in the U.S. ranged from 2.7 million to 6.1 million in 2010, and is expected to rise to between 5.6 million to 12 million in 2030.2

There are two strategies to manage AF, namely, rhythm- or rate-control. A rhythm-control strategy may be used in patients who are severely compromised, remain symptomatic despite adequate rate control, when adequate rate control is difficult to achieve, when long term rhythm control therapy is preferred, younger patient age, presence of tachycardia-mediated cardiomyopathy, and first episode of AF.1,3 Early intervention with a rhythm-control strategy to prevent progression of AF may be particularly beneficial to the AF patient.1

About Brinavess®

Brinavess® (vernakalant HCl, IV) is an antiarrhythmic drug that acts preferentially in the atria by prolonging atrial refractoriness and slowing impulse conduction in a rate-dependent fashion. Brinavess is approved for marketing in Europe, Canada and several other countries worldwide. In Europe, it is approved for the rapid conversion of recent onset atrial fibrillation to sinus rhythm in adults: 1) for non-surgery patients: atrial fibrillation < 7 days duration; and 2) for post-cardiac surgery patients: atrial fibrillation <3 days duration. Vernakalant IV is not approved for use in the United States.

About Correvio Pharma Corp.

Correvio Pharma Corp. is a specialty pharmaceutical company focused on providing innovative, high-quality brands that meet the needs of acute care physicians and patients. With a commercial presence and distribution network covering over 60 countries worldwide, Correvio develops, acquires and commercializes brands for the in-hospital, acute care market segment. The Company's portfolio of approved and marketed brands includes: Xydalba™ (dalbavancin hydrochloride), for the treatment of acute bacterial skin and skin structure infections (ABSSSI); Zevtera®/Mabelio® (ceftobiprole medocaril sodium), a cephalosporin antibiotic for the treatment of community- and hospital-acquired pneumonia (CAP, HAP); Brinavess® (vernakalant IV) for the rapid conversion of recent onset atrial fibrillation to sinus rhythm; Aggrastat® (tirofiban hydrochloride) for the reduction of thrombotic cardiovascular events in patients with acute coronary syndrome. Correvio's pipeline of product candidates includes Trevyent®, a drug device combination that is designed to deliver treprostinil, the world's leading treatment for pulmonary arterial hypertension.

Correvio is traded on the NASDAQ Capital Market (CORV) and the Toronto Stock Exchange (CORV). For more information, please visit our web site www.correvio.com.

References

1. January CT et al. 2014 AHA/ACC /HRS guideline for the management of patients with atrial fibrillation. J AM Coll Cardiol. 2014;34:e1-e76.
2. Mozaffarian D et al. Heart Disease and Stroke Statistics-2016 Update: A Report From the American Heart Association. Circulation. 2016 Jan 26;133(4):e38-60.
3. Camm AJ et al. Guidelines for the management of atrial fibrillation, The Task Force for the Management of Atrial Fibrillation of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC). Eur Heart J. 2010;31:2369-2429.

Forward-Looking Statement Disclaimer

Certain statements in this news release contain "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 or "forward-looking information" under applicable Canadian securities legislation (collectively, "forward-looking statements"). Forward-looking statements include statements that may relate to our plans, objectives, goals, strategies, future events, future revenue or performance, capital expenditures, financing needs and other information that may not be based on historical fact. Forward-looking statements can often be identified by the use of terminology such as "believe", "may", "plan", "will", "estimate", "continue", "anticipate", "intend", "expect", "look forward to" and similar expressions. Forward-looking statements are necessarily based on estimates and assumptions made by us based on our experience and perception of historical trends, current conditions and expected future developments, as well as other factors we believe are appropriate.

By their very nature, forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause the actual results, events or developments to be materially different from any future results, events or developments expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. These forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, statements relating to; the resubmission of a U.S. NDA for Brinavess; the FDA's acceptance of the refiling as a complete resubmission and the FDA's continued willingness to work with the Company on the resubmission.  In particular, no statement herein should be understood to mean that: (i) that out resubmission will be deemed to be complete by the FDA; (ii) that the FDA will find our underlying clinical trial data to be acceptable; (iii) that the FDA will find our manufacturing sites acceptable and validate them; or (iv) that our NDA will ultimately be approved by the FDA.  Furthermore, the timing of any action by the FDA and possible regulatory paths forward cannot be guaranteed, in that, for example: (i) the FDA plans to hold an Advisory Committee meeting; (ii) the FDA may miss its own required deadlines (including for example, the PDFUA date); and (iii) the FDA may require further information or additional clinical studies.  Finally, no statement provided herein should be understood to provide an estimate of the current or future prevalence of atrial fibrillation or the market potential for Brinavess in the United States.

A detailed discussion of the risks and uncertainties facing Correvio are discussed in the annual report and detailed from time to time in our other filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission ("SEC") available at www.sec.gov and the Canadian securities regulatory authorities at www.sedar.com. In particular, we direct your attention to Correvio's Annual Report on Form 40-F for the year ended December 31, 2018 and its quarterly report filed May 8, 2019 for the first quarter of 2019. All of the risks and certainties disclosed in those filings are hereby incorporated by reference in their entirety into this news release.

While Correvio makes these forward-looking statements in good faith, given these risks, uncertainties and factors, you are cautioned not to place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements made in this press release. All forward-looking statements made herein are based on our current expectations and we undertake no obligation to revise or update such forward-looking statements to reflect subsequent events or circumstances, except as required by law. Investors are cautioned that forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and accordingly investors are cautioned not to put undue reliance on forward-looking statements due to their inherent uncertainty.

Correvio® and the Correvio Logo are the proprietary trademarks of Correvio Pharma Corp.
Aggrastat® and Brinavess® are trademarks owned by Correvio and its affiliates worldwide.
Xydalba™ is a trademark of Allergan Pharmaceuticals International Limited, and used under license.
Zevtera® and Mabelio® are trademarks owned by Basilea Pharmaceutica International Ltd., and used under license.
Trevyent® is a trademark of SteadyMed Ltd. and used under license.
All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

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SOURCE Correvio Pharma Corp

View original content: http://www.newswire.ca/en/releases/archive/August2019/12/c1653.html

%CIK: 0001036141

For further information: Justin Renz, President & CFO, Correvio Pharma Corp., 604.677.6905 ext. 128, 800.330.9928, jrenz@correvio.com; Argot Partners, Michelle Carroll/Claudia Styslinger, 212.600.1902, michelle@argotpartners.com, claudia@argotpartners.com

CO: Correvio Pharma Corp

CNW 08:00e 12-AUG-19