Exhibit 99.04


                                 [MORTON LETTERHEAD]

         Contact: Nancy A. Hobor    312/807-2424
                  Janis K. Tratnik  312/807-2435



         MORTON COMPLETES SPINOFF OF SPECIALTY CHEMICALS AND SALT

         BUSINESSES AND COMBINES AIRBAG BUSINESS WITH AUTOLIV



         CHICAGO (MAY 1, 1997) -- Morton International today announced the

         completion of the spinoff to its shareholders of its specialty

         chemicals and salt businesses.  The spinoff coincides with the

         combination of Morton's automotive safety products business with

         Autoliv AB to create a new company, Autoliv, Inc.



         In the spinoff, approved by shareholders of Morton International,

         Inc. on April 24, 1997, Morton will receive $750 million dollars

         cash funded by debt retained by the former Morton automotive safe-

         ty products business.



         "We are pleased to have successfully completed the spinoff and

         merger," said S. Jay Stewart, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman

         of the Board of Morton International.  "Both companies are well-

         positioned to pursue worldwide growth.  For Morton, the change

         allows us the opportunity to build on our strength and success in

         the specialty chemicals and salt businesses."  <PAGE>







         Morton shareholders of record, as of the close of business on

         April 30, 1997, will become shareholders of both the new Morton

         International and the new Autoliv, Inc.  They will receive, for

         each share of Morton common stock, one share of common stock and

         related preferred share purchase right of new Morton International

         and will also receive .341 of a share of Autoliv, Inc. common

         stock, and cash in lieu of fractional shares.



         Morton shareholders will shortly receive confirmation of their

         shares of new Morton International in book entry account state-

         ments, and will also receive instructions regarding the exchange

         of the Morton share certificates for Autoliv, Inc. shares.  Morton

         shareholders with questions regarding the new Morton spinoff or

         the Autoliv combination may call 1-800-511-2024 for further infor-

         mation.



         Shares of new Morton will begin trading "regular way" today on the

         New York Stock Exchange and the Chicago Stock Exchange under the

         symbol "MII."  Shares of Autoliv, Inc. will begin trading "regular

         way" today under the symbol "ALV" on the New York Stock Exchange.



         Autoliv, Inc. is a leading global supplier of occupant restraint

         systems and components including front-impact driver and passenger

         airbags, side-impact airbags, seatbelts, sensors and related

         products.



         Morton International, Inc., based in Chicago, Illinois, is a

         worldwide leading marketer and manufacturer of specialty chemicals

         and salt.



                                         ###