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                                  EXHIBIT 99.1

    CERTIFICATION PURSUANT TO 18 U.S.C. SECTION 1350, AS ADOPTED PURSUANT TO
                 SECTION 906 OF THE SARBANES-OXLEY ACT OF 2002


In connection with the quarterly report of Flagstar Bancorp, Inc. (the "Company") on Form 10-Q for the period ended June 30, 2002 as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on the date hereof (the "Report"), I, Mark T. Hammond, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company, certify, to the best of my knowledge, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted pursuant to
Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that:

           (1) The Report fully complies with the requirements of Section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; and

           (2) The information contained in the Report fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and results of operations of the Company.



Dated:  August 14, 2002          by:  /s/ Mark T. Hammond

                                      Mark T. Hammond
                                      President and
                                      Chief Executive Officer