Exhibit 99.1
SLM CORPORATION Barclays Capital 2010 Global Financial Services Conference 9/14/10

FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS results to be materially different from those reflected in such forward looking statements These factors include among This Presentation contains forward-looking statements and information based on management’s current expectations as of the date of this presentation. Statements that are not historical facts, including statements about our beliefs or expectations and statements that assume or are dependent upon future events, are forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements are subject to risks, uncertainties, assumptions and other factors that may cause actual results to be materially different from those reflected in such forward-looking statements. These factors include, among others, increases in financing costs; limits on liquidity; any adverse outcomes in any significant litigation to which we are a party; our derivative counterparties terminating their positions with the Company if permitted by their contracts and the Company substantially incurring additional costs to replace any terminated positions; and changes in the terms of student loans and the educational credit marketplace (including changes resulting from new laws and the implementation of existing laws). The Company could be affected by: changes in or the termination of various liquidity programs implemented by the federal government; changes in the demand for educational financing or in financing preferences of lenders, educational institutions, students and their families; changes in the composition of our Managed FFELP and Private Education Loan portfolios; changes in the general interest rate environment, including the rate relationships among relevant money-market instruments, and in the securitization markets, which may increase the costs or limit the availability of financings necessary to initiate, purchase or carry education loans; changes in projections of losses from loan defaults; changes in general economic conditions; changes in prepayment rates and credit spreads; and changes in the demand for debt management services. The preparation of our consolidated financial statements also requires management to make certain estimates and assumptions including estimates and assumptions about future events. These estimates or assumptions may prove to be incorrect. All forward-looking statements contained in this Presentation are qualified by these cautionary statements and are made only as of the date of this Presentation. The Company does not undertake any obligation to update or revise these forward-looking statements to conform the statement to actual results or changes in the Company’s expectations. 2

SLM CORPORATION Three Distinct Aspects of the Business Model FFELP Loan Portfolio and Guarantor Collection and Servicing Existing portfolios generating substantial income and cash flow Servicing cash flows are super senior, residuals stable due to minimal credit risk Cash flow enhances the ability to service debt Private Education Loan Originations and Portfolio Ongoing business with significant long term value Legacy portfolio quality vastly improved Sallie Mae Services Attractive fee business with little capital required & high return on equity Diverse portfolio of customers and services Opportunities exist to expand services provided including industry consolidation Efficient cost structure and top performer 3

SEGMENT AND “CORE EARNINGS” CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME — (Dollars in millions) (Unaudited) Six Months Ended June 30, 2010 Total “Core Total Lending APG Other Earnings” Adjustments GAAP Interest Income: FFELP Stafford and Other Student Loans $598 $- $- $598 $10 $608 FFELP Consolidation Loans 782 — - 782 292 1,074 Private Education Loans 1,141 — - 1,141 — 1,141 Other Loans 16 — - 16 — 16 Cash and investments 3 — 8 11 — 11 Total interest income 2,540 — 8 2,548 302 2,850 Total interest expense 1,087 — - 1,087 13 1,100 Net interest income (loss) 1,453 — 8 1,461 289 1,750 Less: provisions for loan losses 741 — - 741 — 741 Net interest income (loss) after provisions for loan losses 712 — 8 720 289 1,009 Contingency fee revenue — 168 — 168 — 168 Collections revenue — 39 — 39 — 39 Guarantor servicing fees — - 59 59 — 59 Other income 269 — 109 378 (5) 373 Total other income 269 207 168 644 (5) 639 Restructuring expense 37 2 5 44 — 44 Direct operating expenses 313 150 115 578 19 597 Overhead expenses 48 22 7 77 — 77 Operating expenses 361 172 122 655 19 674 Total expenses 398 174 127 699 19 718 Income (loss) before income tax expense (benefit) 583 33 49 665 265 930 Income tax expense (benefit)(1) 214 12 18 244 108 352 Net income (loss) attributable to SLM Corporation $369 $21 $31 $421 $157 $578 Economic Floor Income (net of tax) not included in “Core Earnings” $4 $- $- $4 $- $- (1) — Income taxes are based on a percent age of net income before tax for the individual reportable segment. 4

PRIVATE CREDIT Volume Consumer deleveraging continues to impact the US economy 2010 Private student loan originations projected to be $2.2 Bn Portfolio Performance Delinquency trends signal improving portfolio performance 2010 provision expected to be $1.3 Bn Medium Term Outlook Continued improvement in portfolio quality as portfolio seasons Continued growth in the total cost of education drives low double digit origination growth 5

SLM SERVICES FEE INCOME Six Months Ended June 30, 2010 $458 Million Loan Servicing including ED Servicing Contract Collections- Non Mortgage, $39 Largest collector of defaulted FFELP loans Other, $20 Saving For College, $58 Guarantor Servicing, $59 Contingency Collections, $168 Collecting on behalf of the Dept of Education for close to ten years Saving For College— largest private source of 529 plans Guarantor Servicing for student loans Loan Servicing, $114 Tuition payment plans and other processing services for colleges and universities 6

OPERATING EXPENSE REDUCTIONS Continued need to align operating expenses with origination volume 2 of 5 major facilities recently closed Investments on system upgrades masking initial reductions Committed to reducing operating expenses by $300+ million by 2012 7

FFELP PORTFOLIO GENERATES SIGNIFICANT CASH From FFELP Loan Portfolio Total Cash Flows from Projected Excess Spread = $9.0 Bn Total Cash Flows from Projected Servicing Revenues = $5.8 Bn From Trust Servicing Projected guarantor servicing revenues = $0.4 Bn Projected guarantor collection revenues = $0.6 Bn Base Case — Status Quo Vast majority of cash flow services unsecured debt maturities through 2014 Vast majority of cash available for shareholders after 2014 Residuals Sold at Economically favorable terms Accelerate retirement of unsecured debt Accelerate return of cash to shareholders 8

PROJECTED CASH FLOWS FROM FFELP PORTFOLIO ($ in Millions) 2nd Half 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Projected FFELP Average Balance $121,701 $113,758 $102,673 $92,342 $82,915 $74,750 $66,815 $59,271 Projected Excess Spread $454 $943 $878 $807 $718 $674 $606 $554 Projected Servicing Revenue $400 $740 $659 $583 $515 $454 $397 $343 Projected Total Revenue $854 $1,682 $1,537 $1,390 $1,233 $1,128 $1,003 $897 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 Projected FFELP $52,135 $45,421 $39,299 $34,522 $30,503 $26,674 $22,978 $19,377 Average Balance Projected Excess Spread $499 $445 $372 $303 $271 $248 $225 $204 Projected Servicing $293 $247 $206 $177 $155 $135 $116 $98 Revenue Projected Total Revenue $792 $692 $578 $479 $426 $383 $341 $301 2026 2027 2028 2029 2030 2031 2032 2033 Projected FFELP Average Balance $15,857 $12,482 $9,593 $7,291 $5,398 $3,752 $2,307 $1,154 Projected Excess Spread $179$154$132 $110 $88 $70 $44 $25 Projected Servicing Revenue $80$63$49 $37 $27 $19 $12 $6 Projected Total Revenue $259$217$180 $147 $116 $89 $56 $31 Total Cash Flows from Projected Excess Spread = $9.0 Billion Total Cash Flows from Projected Servicing Revenues = $5.8 Billion 9 Assumptions CP/LIBOR = 10 basis points No Floor Income CPR/CDR = GS/PL (7.0%), SM (3.0%) Excel spreadsheet available upon request

GAAP TO CORE EARNINGS RECONCILIATION ($in thousands, except per share amounts) Quarters Ended June 30, 2010 June 30, 2009 Dollars Diluted EPS Dollars Diluted EPS GAAP net income (loss) attributable to SLM Corporation Adjustment from GAAP to “Core Earnings” $337,818 $0.63 $(122,720) $(0.32 Net impact of securitization accounting — 25,861 Net impact of derivative accounting (301,421) 494,581 Net impact of Floor Income 88,419 (90,002) Net impact of acquired intangibles 9,710 9,758 Total “Core Earnings” Adjustments before net tax effect (203,292) 440,198 Net tax effect 74,846 (147,034) Total “Core Earnings” Adjustments (128,446) 293,164 “Core Earnings” net income attributable to SLM Corporation $209,372 $0.39 $170,444 $0.31 10