Exhibit 99.1

Merus completes acquisition of Elantan®, Isoket® and Deponit® rights from UCB and announces date of Q1 2016 earnings release

TORONTO, Feb. 4, 2016 /CNW/ - Merus Labs International Inc. ("Merus" or the "Company") [TSX: MSL, NASDAQ: MSLI] announced today that it has completed the previously announced acquisition of rights to Elantan®, Isoket® and Deponit® in Europe and select other markets from UCB.

Merus also announced today that it will release its fiscal earnings for the first quarter of fiscal 2016 after market close on Thursday, February 11, 2016. Merus will hold a conference call at 8:30am ET on Friday, February 12, 2016 to discuss the results. Conference call details will be provided in the results press release.

About Merus Labs

Merus Labs is a specialty pharmaceutical company focused on acquiring established products. The Company leverages its expertise and commercial platform in Europe, Canada and select other markets to deliver value.

Forward-Looking Statements

Certain statements contained in this press release may constitute "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and applicable Canadian securities legislation. Forward-looking statements include statements relating to the Company's future business and operating plans, the future pricing of the Company's products, the Company's ability to acquire future products, the Company's ability to secure financing to complete acquisitions, and the Company's future results of operations. Such statements involve assumptions relating to the Company's business, including government regulation of the pricing of the Company's products, the competitive environment of the Company's products, the stability of foreign exchange rates and the availability of prospective acquisition targets. Such forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause the Company's actual results to be materially different from any future results expressed or implied by these statements, including the guidance provided in this press release. Such factors include the following: general economic and business conditions, changes in demand for Merus' products, changes in competition, the ability of Merus to integrate acquisitions or complete future acquisitions, Merus' ability to complete any financing, interest rate fluctuations, currency exchange rate fluctuations, dependence upon and availability of qualified personnel and changes in government regulation. Investors should refer to the Company's MD&A, Annual Information Form and Annual Report on 40-F for a more comprehensive discussion of the risks that are material to the Company and its business. In light of these and other uncertainties, the forward-looking statements included in this press release should not be regarded as a representation by Merus that Merus' plans, objectives and guidance will be achieved. These forward-looking statements speak only as of the date of this press release, and we undertake no obligation to update or revise the statements.

SOURCE Merus Labs International Inc.

%CIK: 0001031516

For further information: Phone: (416) 593-3725, Email: info@meruslabs.com

CO: Merus Labs International Inc.

CNW 18:03e 04-FEB-16