SONUS CORP (CIK 1029260)
Form 10-Q
period 2001-01-31
filed 2001-03-19

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             Washington, D. C. 20549

                                    FORM 10-Q

                Quarterly Report Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d)
                     of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934


                   For Quarterly Period Ended January 31, 2001

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

Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each of the issuer's classes of common stock, as of the latest practicable date: 6,159,164 Common Shares, without par or nominal value, outstanding as of March 9, 2001.


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

ITEM 1.  Financial Statements.

                                  BALANCE SHEET

                                   SONUS CORP.
                           CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                        (in thousands, except share data)
                                   (Unaudited)
                                                       January 31,    July 31,
                                                          2001          2000
                                                      ------------  ------------

   ASSETS
Current assets:

     Cash and cash equivalents                               $ 638        $ 788
     Accounts receivable, net of allowance for doubtful
       accounts of $4,089 and $3,691, respectively.          9,149        6,359
     Other receivables                                       3,115        1,497
     Inventory                                               1,002          952
     Prepaid expenses                                          605          396
                                                            ------       ------

              Total current assets                          14,509        9,992

Property and equipment, net                                  7,181        8,090
Other assets                                                    24           24
Goodwill and covenants not to compete, net                  19,220       19,678
                                                         ---------    ---------

                                                          $ 40,934     $ 37,784
                                                         =========    =========

  LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
Current liabilities:
     Accounts payable                                     $  7,589     $  5,460
     Bank loans                                                600            -
     Accrued payroll                                         1,918        1,643
     Other accrued liabilities                               1,746        1,441
     Capital lease obligations, current portion                232          289
     Long-term debt, current portion                         1,595        2,176
                                                         ---------    ---------
              Total current liabilities                     13,680       11,009

Capital lease obligations, less current portion                110          181
Long-term debt, less current portion                           898        1,078
                                                         ---------    ---------
              Total liabilities                           $ 14,688     $ 12,268
                                                         =========    =========

Shareholders' equity:
   Series A convertible preferred stock, no par
        value per share, 2,666,666 shares authorized,
        issued, and outstanding (liquidation preference
        of $20,790)                                          15,701      15,701
   Series B convertible preferred stock, no par
        value per share, 2,500,000 shares authorized,
        issued, and outstanding (liquidation preference
        of $11,015)                                          $9,860       9,860
   Common stock, no par value per share, unlimited
        number of shares authorized, 6,159,164 issued
        and outstanding (6,098,706 at July 31, 2000)         14,957      14,916
   Notes receivable from shareholders                          (168)        (93)
   Accumulated deficit                                      (13,864)    (14,696)
   Accumulated other comprehensive loss                        (240)       (172)
                                                            -------     -------

              Total shareholders' equity                     26,246      25,516
                                                            -------     -------


                                                          $ 40,934    $  37,784
                                                          =========   =========

The balance sheet at July 31, 2000 has been derived from the audited finanical statements at that date but does not include all of the information and footnotes required by generally accepted accounting principles for complete financial statements.

See accompanying notes to consolidated financial statements.

                             STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS


                                   SONUS CORP.
                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                     (in thousands, except per share data)
                                   (Unaudited)


                             Three months ended      Six months ended
                                 January 31,            January 31,
                           --------------------     --------------------
                             2001         2000        2001         2000
                           --------    --------     --------    --------

Revenues:
  Product                   $ 9,352     $ 9,081     $ 20,290    $ 17,932
  Service                       855         742        1,737       1,589
  Other                       2,163         564        3,905         968
                            -------     -------      -------     -------
  Net revenues               12,370      10,387       25,932      20,489

Costs and expenses:
  Cost of products sold       3,451       3,009        7,786       6,057
  Clinical expenses           4,770       4,845        9,746       9,780
  General and administrative
    expenses                  2,902       2,336        5,976       4,296
  Depreciation and
    amortization              1,015         727        2,001       1,455
                            -------     -------      -------     -------

Total costs and expenses     12,138      10,917       25,509      21,588
                            -------     -------      -------     -------

Income (loss) from
   operations                   232        (530)         423      (1,099)


Other income (expense):
   Interest income               14         120           34         161
   Interest expense             (72)       (111)        (156)       (208)
   Other, net                   554          -           531           2
                            -------     -------      -------    --------

Net income (loss)             $ 728      $ (521)       $ 832     $(1,144)
                            =======     =======      =======    ========

Net income (loss) per share of common stock:

   Basic                     $ 0.12     $ (0.09)      $ 0.14     $ (0.19)
   Diluted                   $ 0.06     $ (0.09)      $ 0.07     $ (0.19)

Weighted average shares outstanding:

    Basic                     6,099       6,083        6,087       6,085
    Diluted                  11,266       6,083       11,254       6,085


See accompanying notes to consolidated financial statements

                             STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS

                                   SONUS CORP.
                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                 (in thousands)
                                   (Unaudited)

                                                     Three months ended         Six months ended
                                                       January 31,               January 31,
                                                    ----------------------    ----------------------
                                                      2001        2000          2001        2000
                                                    ----------------------    ----------------------

Cash flows from operating activities:
     Net income (loss)                                $ 728       $ (521)      $ 832       $ (1,144)
     Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss)
          to net cash
     used in operating activities:
          Provision for bad debt expense                219           86         401            184
          Depreciation and amortization               1,015          727       2,001          1,455
     Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
          Accounts receivable                        (2,018)        (670)     (3,738)        (1,278)
          Other receivables                          (1,297)        (169)     (1,607)          (335)
          Inventory                                    (231)          61         (50)            49
          Prepaid expenses                              (61)         (67)       (206)          (159)
          Accounts payable and accrued liabilities    1,041          (78)      3,189            897
                                                     ------       ------      ------         ------

     Net cash provided by (used in)
          operating activities                         (604)        (631)        822           (331)
                                                     ------       ------      ------         ------

Cash flows from investing activities:
     Purchase of property and equipment                (124)        (885)       (338)        (2,112)
     Deferred acquisition costs and other, net           (7)          38         ---             34
     Net cash paid on business acquisitions             (30)        (156)        (41)          (246)
                                                     ------       ------      ------         ------

     Net cash used in investing activities             (161)      (1,003)       (379)        (2,324)
                                                     ------       ------      ------         ------
 Cash flows from financing activities:
     Repayments of long term debt
          and capital lease obligations                (527)      (1,133)     (1,138)        (1,553)
     Repayments of bank loans and
          short-term notes payable                      ---         (500)        ---           (500)
     Advances of bank loans and short-term notes
          payable                                       600          ---         600            ---
     Issuance of preferred stock, net of costs          ---          (40)        ---          9,860
     Repurchase of common stock                         (25)         (15)        (50)           (25)
                                                     ------       ------      ------         ------

     Net cash provided by (used in) financing
          financing activities                           48       (1,688)       (588)         7,782
                                                     ------       ------      ------         ------

Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents   (717)      (3,322)       (145)         5,127

Effect on cash and cash equivalents of changes
     in foreign translation rate                         21           10           2             26

Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period        1,334        8,963         781            498

                                                     ------       ------      ------         ------

Cash and cash equivalents, end of period              $ 638      $ 5,651       $ 638        $ 5,651
                                                     ======       ======      ======         ======

Supplemental disclosure of cash flow information
     Interest paid during the period                   $ 65         $ 77       $ 141        $   149
Supplemental disclosure of non-cash investing
       and financing activities:
     Issuance and assumption of long-term debt
       in acquisitions                                  137        $ 280       $ 223          $ 280
     Issuance of common stock with proceeds of
       stockholder loan                                $ 75          ---        $ 75            ---
     Acquisition of clinical equipment and computer
       hardware with capital lease obligations          ---          ---         ---          $ 566

See accompanying notes to consolidated financial statements.

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

2.    Acquisitions

      During the three months ended January 31, 2001, the Company acquired three hearing care centers in two separate transactions. The aggregate purchase price for the acquisitions consisted of cash payments of $30,000, promissory notes issued by the Company of $137,000 payable over three years, the assumption of liabilities aggregating $12,000, and the issuance of common shares of the Company having a value of $16,000. As a result of the acquisitions, the Company recorded $44,000 in property and equipment, $14,000 in other assets, and $137,000 in goodwill, including covenants not to compete.

3.    Comprehensive Income (Loss)



                                 Three months ended        Six months ended
                                     January 31,              January 31,
<TABLE>                              ----------               ----------
                                  2001         2000        2001         2000
                                  ----         ----        ----         ----
                                                (in thousands)
Net income (loss)                 $ 728       $ (521)      $ 832     $ (1,144)

Other comprehensive income
(loss), net of tax:
Foreign currency translation
adjustments                         (38)         (20)        (68)         (39)
                                  -----       ------       -----       ------
Comprehensive income (loss)        $690       $ (541)      $ 764     $ (1,183)
                                  =====       ======       =====       ======

4.    Segment Information

            The Company has a single operating  segment:  the sale and servicing
      of hearing  instruments and the provision of audiology  services primarily
      to individual  consumers.  No customer  constituted  more than 5% of total
      revenues. Revenues by country were as follows:



                                  Three months ended        Six months ended
                                     January 31,              January 31,
                                     ----------               ----------
<TABLE>                             2001         2000        2001         2000
                                    ----         ----        ----         ----
                                                (in thousands)
      United States             $ 11,421     $ 9,533      $ 24,162    $ 18,772
      Canada                         949         854         1,770       1,717
                                --------     -------      --------    --------
      Total                     $ 12,370     $10,387      $ 25,932    $ 20,489
                                ========     =======      ========    ========

5.    Property and Equipment

            Property and equipment consist of the following:


<TABLE>                                       January 31, 2001    July 31, 2000
                                              ----------------    -------------
                                                      (in thousands)
      Professional equipment                    $ 2,821             $ 2,695
      Office equipment                            1,173               1,155
      Leasehold improvements                      1,616               1,599
      Computer equipment and software             7,069               6,941
                                                -------             -------
                                                 12,679              12,390
      Less accumulated depreciation              (5,498)             (4,300)
                                                -------             -------
                                                $ 7,181             $ 8,090
                                                =======             =======

6.    Line of Credit

      At January 31,  2001,  the Company was in  compliance  with all  covenants
specified in its $2.0 million line of credit  agreement with a commercial  bank.
At that date,  $600,000 was outstanding under the line of credit and the Company
has had no additional borrowings on the line of credit subsequent to January 31,
2001.

7.    Shareholders' Equity

      In December  2000,  the Company  issued 6,458 common  shares in connection
with the acquisition of substantially all of the assets of a hearing center. See
Note 2. Also in December  2000, the Company issued 60,000 shares in exchange for
a $75,000  promissory  note in  connection  with the  exercise of stock  options
previously granted to an employee. In January 2001, the Company redeemed a total
of 3,000  common  shares at $8.35 per share  pursuant to the exercise of certain
limited rights of redemption held by three shareholders.

8.    Income Taxes

      There is no provision for income taxes for the three and six month periods
ended January 31, 2001,  because the Company has  sufficient  net operating loss
carryforwards to offset any income tax expense for such periods.

9.    Litigation Settlement

      On January 17,  2001,  the  Company  reached a  settlement  in its lawsuit
against Starkey Laboratories,  Inc. and other defendants for misappropriation of
a customer list owned by the Company.  The Company  received a total of $975,000
in cash and other  consideration,  which  increased  net  income  for the fiscal
quarter ended January 31, 2001, by $554,000.

ITEM 2.  Management's  Discussion  and  Analysis of  Financial  Condition  and
Results of Operations.

Results of Operations

Three Months  Ended  January 31, 2001  Compared to Three Months Ended  January
            31, 2000

     Revenues.  Total revenues for the three months ended January 31, 2001, were
$12,370,000,  representing a 19% increase over revenues of  $10,387,000  for the
comparable period in fiscal 2000. The increase was due to the net addition of 11
hearing care centers that were not owned by the Company at January 31, 2000, and
increased revenues from The Sonus Network (the Company's  franchise program) and
Hear PO Corp.  (the Company's  hearing health  benefit  subsidiary).  Same-store
revenue was down 11% for the three  months ended  January 31, 2001,  compared to
the three months ended  January 31,  2000.  This  decrease was due in part to an
increase  (as  a  percentage  of  revenue)  in  the  provision  for  contractual
allowances  in the three  months ended  January 31,  2001,  compared to the same
period of the prior fiscal year. Without this increase, same store revenue would
have decreased 9%. Product  revenues were  $9,352,000 for the three months ended
January 31,  2001,  up 3% from  $9,081,000  for the same period in fiscal  2000.
Product  revenues  represented 76% and 87% of total revenues for the three-month
periods  ended  January 31, 2001 and 2000,  respectively.  Audiological  service
revenues  increased 15% to $855,000 for the three months ended January 31, 2001,
from $742,000 for the comparable period in fiscal 2000. Other revenues increased
284% to $2,163,000  for the three months ended  January 31, 2001,  from $564,000
for the three months ended  January 31, 2000.  The increase was primarily due to
increased revenues from The Sonus Network. Other revenues comprised 17% of total
revenues  for the three months  ended  January 31, 2001,  compared to 5% for the
three months ended January 31, 2000.

      Product  Gross  Profit.  Product  gross  profit for the three months ended
January  31,  2001,  was  $5,901,000  or 63% of product  revenues,
compared to $6,072,000 or 67% of product  revenues for the comparable  period in
fiscal 2000. The decrease in product gross profit percentage was due to a higher
proportion of revenue from Hear PO Corp.,  which has lower gross profit  margins
than the  Company's  hearing  care  centers,  and an increase  in  reserves  for
insurance reimbursements.

      Clinical  Expenses.  Clinical  expenses for the three months ended January
31, 2001, were $4,770,000,  representing a decrease of 2% over clinical expenses
of  $4,845,000  for the  comparable  period in fiscal 2000.  As a percentage  of
clinical revenues, clinical expenses increased to 52% for the three months ended
January 31, 2001,  compared to 49% for the three months ended  January 31, 2000.
The  increase  was the  result of a  decrease  in  clinical  revenues.  Clinical
expenses  include  all  personnel,  marketing,  occupancy,  and other  operating
expenses at the clinic level.

      General and Administrative Expenses. As a percentage of revenues,  general
and  administrative  expenses  increased to 23% for the three-month period ended
January  31,  2001,  versus 22% for the same  period in the prior  fiscal  year.
General and administrative  expenses increased 24% from $2,336,000 for the three
months ended January 31, 2000, to $2,902,000  for the three months ended January
31,  2001.  The  increase  in general  and  administrative  expenses  was due to
additional marketing (including a national advertising campaign) and promotional
costs related to the Company's  franchise program and increased  personnel costs
and other corporate expenses related to building the appropriate  infrastructure
to support the growth of the Company.

      Depreciation  and  Amortization  Expense.  As a  percentage  of  revenues,
depreciation and amortization expense increased to 8% for the three months ended
January  31,  2001,  from  7% for  the  three-months  ended  January  31,  2000.
Depreciation  and  amortization  expense for the three months ended  January 31,
2001, was $1,015,000,  an increase of 40% over the depreciation and amortization
expense of $727,000 for the same period in the prior  fiscal year.  The increase
resulted from the  depreciation of fixed assets and amortization of goodwill and
covenants not to compete  associated with the additional centers acquired by the
Company  during  the  twelve-month  period  ended  January  31,  2001,  and from
additional  depreciation  related to new  computer  software  that was placed in
service in May 2000.

      Other Income. Interest income for the three months ended January 31, 2001,
decreased to $14,000 from $120,000 for the same period in the prior fiscal year.
The decrease was due to lower balances of cash and short-term  investments  held
by the Company.  Interest  expense for the three months ended  January 31, 2001,
was $72,000  compared to $111,000 for the three  months ended  January 31, 2000.
The Company  also  recognized  income of  $554,000  for the three  months  ended
January 31,  2001,  as the result of  settling a lawsuit  brought by the Company
against Starkey Laboratories,  Inc. and other defendants for misappropriation of
a customer list owned by the Company.

      Net Income.  The  Company's  net income for the three months ended January
31, 2001,  was $728,000  compared to a net loss of $521,000 for the three months
ended  January  31,  2000.  The  Company  had  income  from  operations   before
depreciation  and  amortization  for the three months ended January 31, 2001, of
$1,247,000   compared  to  income  from  operations   before   depreciation  and
amortization of $197,000 for the three months ended January 31, 2000.

Six Months Ended  January 31, 2001  Compared to Six Months  Ended
January 31, 2000

     Revenues.  Total  revenues for the six months ended January 31, 2001,  were
$25,932,000,  representing a 27% increase over revenues of  $20,489,000  for the
comparable period in fiscal 2000. The increase was due to the net addition of 11
hearing care centers that were not owned by the Company at January 31, 2000, and
increased revenues from The Sonus Network (the Company's  franchise program) and
Hear PO Corp.  (the Company's  hearing health  benefit  subsidiary).  Same-store
revenue was down 5% for the six months ended  January 31, 2001,  compared to the
six months ended January 31, 2000.  This decrease was due in part to an increase
(as a percentage of revenue) in the provision for contractual  allowances in the
six months  ended  January  31,  2001,  compared to the same period of the prior
fiscal year. Without this increase,  same store revenue would have decreased 3%.
Product  revenues were $20,290,000 for the six months ended January 31, 2001, up
13% from  $17,932,000  for the same  period in  fiscal  2000.  Product  revenues
represented  78% and 88% of  total  revenues  for the  six-month  periods  ended
January 31, 2001 and 2000, respectively. Audiological service revenues increased
9% to $1,737,000 for the six months ended January 31, 2001,  from $1,589,000 for
the  comparable  period  in  fiscal  2000.  Other  revenues  increased  303%  to
$3,905,000 for the six months ended January 31, 2001,  from $968,000 for the six
months ended  January 31, 2000.  The  increase  was  primarily  due to increased
revenues from The Sonus Network.  Other revenues comprised 15% of total revenues
for the six months  ended  January 31,  2001,  compared to 5% for the six months
ended January 31, 2000.

      Product  Gross  Profit.  Product  gross  profit for the six  months  ended
January  31,  2001,  was  $12,504,000  or 62% of product  revenues,  compared to
$11,875,000 or 66% of product revenues for the comparable period in fiscal 2000.
The decrease in product gross profit  percentage  was due to increased  sales of
higher-cost  hearing  aids, a higher  proportion  of revenue from Hear PO Corp.,
which has lower gross profit  margins than the  Company's  hearing care centers,
and an increase in reserves for insurance reimbursements.

      Clinical Expenses. As a percentage of clinical revenues, clinical expenses
decreased to 49% for the six months ended January 31, 2001,  compared to 50% for
the six months  ended  January  31,  2000.  The  decrease  was due to  increased
clinical revenues.  Clinical expenses for the six months ended January 31, 2001,
were $9,746,000 compared to $9,780,000 for the comparable period in fiscal 2000.
Clinical  expenses  include  all  personnel,  marketing,  occupancy,  and  other
operating expenses at the clinic level.

      General and Administrative Expenses. As a percentage of revenues,  general
and  administrative  expenses  increased to 23% for the  six-month  period ended
January  31,  2001,  versus 21% for the same  period in the prior  fiscal  year.
General and  administrative  expenses  increased 39% from $4,296,000 for the six
months ended January 31, 2000,  to  $5,976,000  for the six months ended January
31,  2001.  The  increase  in general  and  administrative  expenses  was due to
additional marketing (including a national advertising campaign) and promotional
costs related to the Company's  franchise program and increased  personnel costs
and other corporate expenses related to building the appropriate  infrastructure
to support the growth of the Company.

      Depreciation  and  Amortization  Expense.  As a  percentage  of  revenues,
depreciation and amortization  expense  increased to 8% for the six months ended
January  31,  2001,  from  7%  for  the  six  months  ended  January  31,  2000.
Depreciation and amortization expense for the six months ended January 31, 2001,
was  $2,001,000,  an  increase  of 38% over the  depreciation  and  amortization
expense of $1,455,000 for the same period in the prior fiscal year. The increase
resulted from the  depreciation of fixed assets and amortization of goodwill and
covenants not to compete  associated with the additional centers acquired by the
Company  during  the  twelve-month  period  ended  January  31,  2001,  and from
additional  depreciation  related to new  computer  software  that was placed in
service in May 2000.

      Other Income.  Interest  income for the six months ended January 31, 2001,
decreased to $34,000 from $161,000 for the same period in the prior fiscal year.
The decrease was due to lower balances of cash and short-term  investments  held
by the Company.  Interest expense for the six months ended January 31, 2001, was
$156,000  compared to $208,000  for the six months ended  January 31, 2000.  The
Company also recognized  income of $531,000 for the six months ended January 31,
2001,  primarily  as the  result of  settling a lawsuit  brought by the  Company
against Starkey Laboratories,  Inc. and other defendants for misappropriation of
a customer list owned by the Company.

      Net Income.  The Company's net income for the six months ended January 31,
2001, was $832,000 compared to a net loss of $1,144,000 for the six months ended
January 31, 2000. The Company had income from operations before depreciation and
amortization  for the six months ended January 31, 2001, of $2,424,000  compared
to income from operations  before  depreciation and amortization of $356,000 for
the six months ended January 31, 2000.

Liquidity and Cash Reserves

      For the three  months ended  January 31, 2001,  net cash used in operating
activities was $604,000  compared to $631,000 for the three months ended January
31,  2000.  Net cash used in  operating  activities  for the three  months ended
January 31, 2001, was  attributable to increases in accounts  receivable,  other
receivables, inventory, and prepaid expenses of $2,018,000, $1,297,000, $231,000
and  $61,000,  respectively.  This was  offset  by net  income of  $728,000,  an
increase in accounts payable and accrued liabilities of $1,041,000, and non-cash
depreciation  and  amortization and provision for bad debt expense of $1,015,000
and $219,000,  respectively. Net cash used in operating activities for the three
months ended  January 31, 2000,  was primarily  attributable  to the net loss of
$521,000,  increases  in accounts  receivable,  other  receivables,  and prepaid
expenses of $670,000,  $169,000,  and $67,000,  respectively,  and a decrease in
accounts  payable  and  accrued  liabilities  of  $78,000.  This was offset by a
decrease in inventory of $61,000 and non-cash  depreciation and amortization and
provision for bad debt expense of $727,000 and $86,000, respectively.

      Net cash used in investing  activities  in the three months ended  January
31, 2001,  was  $161,000,  consisting  primarily of the purchase of property and
equipment of $124,000 and net cash paid on business  acquisitions of $30,000. In
the three months ended January 31, 2000,  investing  activities used net cash of
$1,003,000,  primarily as a result of the purchase of property and  equipment of
$885,000 and net cash paid on business acquisitions of $156,000.

      Net cash provided by financing  activities was $48,000 in the three months
ended  January  31,  2001,  consisting  primarily  of  advances of bank loans of
$600,000 offset by repayments of long-term debt and capital lease obligations of
$527,000.  Net cash used in financing  activities  was  $1,688,000  in the three
months ended January 31, 2000,  consisting  primarily of repayments of long-term
debt and capital lease  obligations  of $1,133,000  and repayments of short-term
notes payable of $500,000.

      For the six months ended January 31, 2001,  net cash provided by operating
activities  was $822,000,  compared to net cash used in operating  activities of
$331,000  for the six months  ended  January  31,  2000.  Net cash  provided  by
operating activities for the six months ended January 31, 2001, was attributable
net income of $832,000,  an increase in accounts payable and accrued liabilities
of $3,189,000,  and non-cash depreciation and amortization and provision for bad
debt  expense  of  $2,001,000  and  $401,000,  respectively.  This was offset by
increases in accounts  receivable,  other  receivables,  inventory,  and prepaid
expenses of $3,738,000,  $1,607,000, $50,000and $206,000, respectively. Net cash
used in  operating  activities  for the six months ended  January 31, 2000,  was
primarily  attributable  to the net loss of  $1,144,000,  increases  in accounts
receivable, other receivables, and prepaid expenses of $1,278,000, $335,000, and
$159,000,  respectively,  offset by an increase in accounts  payable and accrued
liabilities  of  $897,000,  a decrease  in  inventory  of $49,000  and  non-cash
depreciation  and  amortization and provision for bad debt expense of $1,455,000
and $184,000, respectively.

      Net cash used in investing  activities in the six months ended January 31,
2001,  was  $379,000,  consisting  of the purchase of property and  equipment of
$338,000  and net cash paid on  business  acquisitions  of  $41,000.  In the six
months ended January 31, 2000, investing activities used net cash of $2,324,000,
primarily as a result of the purchase of property  and  equipment of  $2,112,000
and net cash paid on business acquisitions of $246,000.

      Net cash used in financing activities was $588,000 in the six months ended
January 31, 2001,  consisting  primarily  of  repayments  of long-term  debt and
capital  lease  obligations  of  $1,138,000  offset by advances of bank loans of
$600,000.  Net cash provided by financing  activities  was $7,782,000 in the six
months ended January 31, 2000,  primarily resulting from the issuance on October
1,  1999,  of  2,500,000  Series B  Convertible  Preferred  Shares  in a private
placement for net proceeds of $9,860,000, offset by repayments of long-term debt
and capital lease  obligations of $1,553,000 and repayments of short-term  notes
payable of $500,000.

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

PART II
OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 2.  Changes in Securities and Use of Proceeds.

     On December 1, 2000, the Company issued 6,458 of its common shares to Daniel W. Quall, Vice President of Network of the Company, as partial consideration for the purchase of substantially all of the assets of a hearing center owned by Mr. Quall located in Longview, Washington. On December 19, 2000, the Company issued 60,000 of its common shares to Brandon M. Dawson, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Company, in exchange for a promissory note in the amount of $75,000 in connection with the exercise of previously granted stock options. The Company relied on the exemption from registration provided by
Section 4(2) under the Securities Act of 1933 with respect to the issuance of its common shares described above.

ITEM 6.  Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K.

      (a) The exhibits filed as part of this report are listed in the accompanying exhibit index.

      (b) Reports on Form 8-K. During the fiscal quarter ended January 31, 2001, the Company filed a Form 8-K dated November 17, 2001, reporting under Item 4 the resignation of KPMG LLP as the Company's auditors. The Company also filed a Form 8-K dated December 14, 2000, reporting under Item 4 that the Company had retained Ernst & Young LLP as its new independent accountants.

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

                            By: /s/ Douglas A. Pease
                                     Douglas A. Pease
                                     Controller
                                     (Principal Accounting Officer)

DATED:  March 16, 2001

                                  EXHIBIT INDEX

 Exhibit
  Number                          Description of Exhibit

10    Promissory Note of Brandon M. Dawson dated December 19, 2000.