EXHIBIT 99.1

ITEM 1.	BUSINESS

General

We are a global branded consumer products company with positions in six major product categories: consumer batteries; pet supplies; electric shaving and grooming; electric personal care; portable lighting; and home and garden control products. Unless the context indicates otherwise, the terms the “Company,” “Spectrum,” “Spectrum Brands,” “we,” “our” or “us” as used herein refer to Spectrum Brands, Inc. and its subsidiaries.

In our fiscal year ended September 30, 2007 (“Fiscal 2007”), we began managing our business in three reportable segments: (i) Global Batteries & Personal Care, which consists of the Company’s worldwide battery, shaving and grooming, personal care and portable lighting business (“Global Batteries & Personal Care”); (ii) Global Pet Supplies, which consists of our worldwide pet supplies business (“Global Pet Supplies”); and (iii) our Home and Garden Business, which consists of our home and garden control product offerings, including household insecticides, repellants and herbicides (the “Home and Garden Business”). The presentation of all historical segment reporting herein has been reclassified to conform to this segment structure.

On January 25, 2006, we sold the fertilizer technology and professional fertilizer products businesses of Nu-Gro, which was included in the Canadian division of our Home and Garden Business, (“Nu-Gro Pro and Tech”), to Agrium Inc. for net proceeds of approximately $83 million. Proceeds from the sale were used to reduce outstanding debt. As of October 1, 2005, we had begun reporting the results of operations of Nu-Gro Pro and Tech as discontinued operations. The presentation herein of the results of continuing operations has been changed to exclude Nu-Gro Pro and Tech for all periods presented. See Note 11, Discontinued Operations, of Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements included in this Annual Report on Form 10-K for additional information regarding this divestiture.

We have retained financial advisors to assist us in exploring potential strategies which may be available to us to reduce or restructure our significant outstanding indebtedness. In connection with this undertaking, during the first quarter of Fiscal 2007, we approved and initiated a plan to sell the Home and Garden Business, which at the time was organized into United States (“U.S.”) and Canadian divisions and was engaged in the manufacturing and marketing of lawn and garden and insect control products as well as growing media products. As a result of our decision to commence this process, we determined that all the criteria set forth in paragraph 30 of Statement of Financial Accounting Standards (“SFAS”) No. 144, “Accounting for the Impairment or Disposal of Long-Lived Assets” (“SFAS 144”) were met and in the first quarter of Fiscal 2007, we designated certain assets and liabilities related to the Home and Garden Business as held for sale and designated our Home and Garden Business as discontinued operations.

During the first and second quarters of Fiscal 2007, we engaged in substantive negotiations with a potential purchaser as to definitive terms for the purchase of the Home and Garden Business; however, the potential purchaser ultimately determined not to pursue the acquisition. We continued to actively market the Home and Garden Business after such time, however, the Fiscal 2007 selling season for our lawn and garden and household insect control product offerings was significantly negatively impacted by extremely poor weather conditions throughout the U.S., resulting in poor operating performance of the Home and Garden Business. In addition, during the fourth quarter of Fiscal 2007 there was an unforeseen, rapid and significant tightening of liquidity in the U.S. credit markets. We believe that this tightening of liquidity in the credit markets had a direct impact on the expected proceeds that we would ultimately receive in connection with a sale of the Home and Garden Business. To address these issues, during the fourth quarter of Fiscal 2007 we reassessed the value of the Home and Garden Business to take into account the changes in the credit markets and the weaker than planned operating performance during the Fiscal 2007 selling season so as to ensure that the Home and Garden Business was being marketed at a price that was reasonable in relation to its current fair value. Our reassessment produced a lower range of expected sales values than was previously determined. As a result of the reassessment, we recorded an impairment charge against the Home and Garden Business during the fourth quarter of Fiscal 2007 to reflect its fair value as determined by us. Subsequent to taking the impairment charge, and thereby revising our expectations of the proceeds that would ultimately be received upon a sale of the Home and Garden Business, we continued to be in active discussions with various potential purchasers through December 30, 2007.

On November 1, 2007, we completed the sale of the Canadian division of our Home and Garden Business. See Note 11, Discontinued Operations of Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements included in this Annual Report on Form 10-K for additional information on the sale of the Canadian division of our Home and Garden Business.

During the second quarter of our fiscal year ended September 30, 2008 (“Fiscal 2008”), we determined that in view of the difficulty in predicting the timing or probability of a sale of the remaining U.S. portion of the Home and Garden Business the requirements of SFAS 144, necessary to classify the remaining U.S. portion of the Home and Garden Business as discontinued operations, were no longer met and that it was appropriate to present the remaining U.S. portion of the Home and Garden Business as held and used in the Company’s continuing operations as of our second quarter of Fiscal 2008 and going forward. The presentation herein of the results of continuing operations includes our Home and Garden Business excluding the Canadian division, which, as indicated above, was sold on November 1, 2007, for all periods presented.

In the third quarter of Fiscal 2008, we entered into a definitive agreement, subject to the consent of our lenders under our senior credit facilities, to sell the assets related to Global Pet Supplies. We were unable to obtain the consent of the lenders, and on July 13, 2008, we entered into a termination agreement regarding the agreement to sell the assets related to Global Pet Supplies. Pursuant to the termination agreement, as a condition to the termination, we paid the proposed buyer $3 million as a reimbursement of expenses.

In November 2008, our board of directors committed to the shutdown of the growing products portion of the Home and Garden Business, which includes the manufacturing and marketing of fertilizers, enriched soils, mulch and grass seed, following an evaluation of the historical lack of profitability and the projected input costs and significant working capital demands for the growing products portion of the Home and Garden Business for our fiscal year ended September 30, 2009 (“Fiscal 2009”). We believe the shutdown is consistent with what we have done in other areas of our business to eliminate unprofitable products from our portfolio. As of March 29, 2009, we completed the shutdown of the growing products portion of the Home and Garden Business. Accordingly, the presentation herein of the results of continuing operations excludes the growing products portion of the Home and Garden Business for all periods presented. See Note 11, Discontinued Operations, to our Consolidated Financial Statements included in this Annual Report on Form 10-K for further details on the disposal of the growing products portion of the Home and Garden Business.

We remain committed to exploring potential strategies which may be available to us to reduce or restructure our significant outstanding indebtedness.

We manufacture and market alkaline, zinc carbon and hearing aid batteries, herbicides, insecticides and repellants and specialty pet supplies. We design and market rechargeable batteries, battery-powered lighting products, electric shavers and accessories, grooming products and hair care appliances. Our manufacturing and product development facilities are located in the United States, Europe, China and Latin America. Substantially all of our rechargeable batteries and chargers, shaving and grooming products, personal care products and portable lighting products are manufactured by third-party suppliers, primarily located in Asia.

We sell our products in approximately 120 countries through a variety of trade channels, including retailers, wholesalers and distributors, hearing aid professionals, industrial distributors and original equipment manufacturers (“OEMs”) and enjoy strong name recognition in our markets under the Rayovac, VARTA and Remington brands, each of which has been in existence for more than 80 years, and under the Tetra, 8in1, Spectracide, Cutter and various other brands.

Global and geographic strategic initiatives and financial objectives are determined at the corporate level. Each business segment is responsible for implementing defined strategic initiatives and achieving certain financial objectives and has a general manager responsible for sales and marketing initiatives and the financial results for all product lines within that business segment.

Our operating performance is influenced by a number of factors including: general economic conditions; foreign exchange fluctuations; trends in consumer markets; consumer confidence and preferences; our overall product line mix, including pricing and gross margin, which vary by product line and geographic market; pricing of certain raw materials and commodities; energy and fuel prices; and our general competitive position, especially as impacted by our competitors’ advertising and promotional activities and pricing strategies.

As of the filing date of this Annual Report on Form 10-K, based on conversations with the New York Stock Exchange (the “NYSE”), we expect that the NYSE will provide us with written notification of its determination that our Common Stock should be suspended from trading on the NYSE. At that time, we may request a review of that determination by the Committee of the Board of Directors of the NYSE. There can be no assurances that any such review, if made, will be successful. If we are unsuccessful in maintaining our NYSE listing, then we expect to pursue quotation of our Common Stock on the Pink Sheet Electronic Quotation Service or another stock quotation system.

Our Products

We compete in six major product categories: consumer batteries; pet supplies; electric shaving and grooming; electric personal care products; home and garden control products; and portable lighting. Our broad line of products includes:

•	consumer batteries, including alkaline and zinc carbon batteries, rechargeable batteries and chargers and hearing aid batteries and other specialty batteries;

•	pet supplies, including aquatic equipment and supplies, dog and cat treats, small animal foods, clean up and training aids, health and grooming products and bedding;

•	electric shaving and grooming devices;

•	electric personal care and styling devices;

•	portable lighting; and

•	home and garden control products such as household insect controls, insect repellants and herbicides.

Net sales of each product category sold, as a percentage of net sales of our consolidated operations, is set forth below.

	Percentage of Total Company Net Sales for the Fiscal Year Ended September 30,
	2008	2007	2006
Consumer batteries	38%	38%	39%
Pet supplies	25	24	24
Home and garden control products	14	15	15
Electric shaving and grooming	10	11	11
Electric personal care products	9	8	7
Portable lighting	4	4	4

	100%	100%	100%

Consumer Batteries

We market and sell a full line of alkaline batteries (AA, AAA, C, D and 9-volt sizes) to both retail and industrial customers. Our alkaline batteries are marketed and sold primarily under the Rayovac and VARTA brands. We also manufacture alkaline batteries for third parties who sell the batteries under their own private labels. Our zinc carbon batteries are also marketed and sold primarily under the Rayovac and VARTA brands and are designed for low- and medium-drain battery-powered devices.

We believe that we are currently the largest worldwide marketer and distributor of hearing aid batteries. We sell our hearing aid batteries through retail trade channels and directly to professional audiologists under several brand names and private labels, including Beltone, Miracle Ear, Siemens and Starkey.

We also sell Nickel Metal Hydride (NiMH) rechargeable batteries and a variety of battery chargers under the Rayovac and VARTA brands.

Our other specialty battery products include camera batteries, lithium batteries, silver oxide batteries, keyless entry batteries and coin cells for use in watches, cameras, calculators, communications equipment and medical instruments.

Pet Supplies

In the pet supplies product category we market and sell a variety of leading branded pet supplies for fish, dogs, cats, birds and other small domestic animals. We have a broad line of consumer and commercial aquatics products, including integrated aquarium kits, standalone tanks and stands, filtration systems, heaters, pumps, and other equipment, fish food and water treatment products. Our largest aquatics brands are Tetra, Marineland, Whisper, Jungle and Instant Ocean. We also sell a variety of specialty pet products, including dog and cat treats, small animal food and treats, clean up and training aid products, health and grooming aids, and bedding products. Our largest specialty pet brands include 8in1, Dingo, Firstrax, Nature’s Miracle and Wild Harvest.

Electric Shaving and Grooming

We market and sell a broad line of electric shaving and grooming products under the Remington brand name, including men’s rotary and foil shavers, beard and mustache trimmers, body trimmers and nose and ear trimmers, women’s shavers and haircut kits.

Electric Personal Care Products

Our personal care products, marketed and sold under the Remington brand name, include hair dryers, straightening irons, styling irons and hair setters.

Portable Lighting

We offer a broad line of battery-powered, portable lighting products, including flashlights and lanterns for both retail and industrial markets. We sell our portable lighting products under the Rayovac and VARTA brand names, under other proprietary brand names and pursuant to licensing arrangements with third parties.

Home and Garden

In the home and garden product category we currently sell and market several leading home and garden care products, including household insecticides, insect repellent, herbicides, garden and indoor plant foods and plant care treatments. We offer a broad array of household insecticides such as spider, roach and ant killer, flying insect killer, insect foggers, wasp and hornet killer, flea and tick

control products and roach and ant baits. We also manufacture and market a complete line of insect repellent products that provide protection from insects, especially mosquitoes. These products include both personal repellents, such as aerosols, pump sprays and wipes as well as area repellents, such as yard sprays, citronella candles and torches. Our largest brands in the insect control category include Hot Shot, Cutter and Repel. Our herbicides, garden and indoor plant foods and plant care treatment brands include Spectracide, Real-Kill and Garden Safe. We have positioned ourselves as the value alternative for consumers who want products that are comparable to, but sold at lower prices than, premium-priced brands.

Sales and Distribution

We sell our products through a variety of trade channels, including retailers, wholesalers and distributors, hearing aid professionals, industrial distributors and OEMs. Our sales generally are made through the use of individual purchase orders, consistent with industry practice. Retail sales of the consumer products we market have been increasingly consolidated into a small number of regional and national mass merchandisers. This trend towards consolidation is occurring on a worldwide basis. As a result of this consolidation, a significant percentage of our sales are attributable to a very limited group of retailer customers, including, without limitation, Wal-Mart, The Home Depot, Carrefour, Target, Lowe’s, PetSmart, Canadian Tire, PetCo and Gigante. Our sales to Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. represented approximately 20% of our consolidated net sales for Fiscal 2008. No other customer accounted for more than 10% of our consolidated net sales in Fiscal 2008.

Segment information as to revenues, profit and total assets as well as information concerning our revenues and long-lived assets by geographic location for the last three fiscal years is set forth in Note 13, Segment Information in Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements included in this Annual Report on Form 10-K. Sales and distribution practices in each of our reportable segments are as set forth below.

Global Batteries & Personal Care

We manage our Global Batteries & Personal Care sales force by geographic region and product group. Our sales team is divided into three major geographic territories, North America, Latin America and Europe and the rest of the world (“Europe/ROW”). Within each major geographic territory, we have additional subdivisions designed to meet our customers’ needs.

We manage our sales force in North America by distribution channel. We maintain separate sales groups to service (i) our retail sales and distribution channel, (ii) our hearing aid professionals channel and (iii) our industrial distributors and OEM sales and distribution channel. In addition, we utilize a network of independent brokers to service participants in selected distribution channels.

We manage our sales force in Latin America by distribution channel and geographic territory. We sell primarily to large retailers, wholesalers, distributors, food and drug chains and retail outlets. In countries where we do not maintain a sales force, we sell to distributors who market our products through all channels in the market.

The sales force serving our customers in Europe/ROW is supplemented by an international network of distributors to promote the sale of our products. Our sales operations throughout Europe/ROW are organized by geographic territory and the following sales channels: (i) food/retail, which includes mass merchandisers, discounters and drug and food stores; (ii) specialty trade, which includes clubs, consumer electronics stores, department stores, photography stores and wholesalers/distributors; and (iii) industrial, government, hearing aid professionals and OEMs.

Global Pet Supplies

Our Global Pet Supplies sales force is aligned by customer, geographic region and product group. We sell pet supply products to mass merchandisers, grocery and drug chains, pet superstores, independent pet stores and other retailers.

Home and Garden

The sales force of our Home and Garden Business is aligned by customer. We sell primarily to home improvement centers, mass merchandisers, hardware stores, lawn and garden distributors, and food and drug retailers.

Manufacturing, Raw Materials and Suppliers

The principal raw materials used in manufacturing our products—zinc powder, granular urea, electrolytic manganese dioxide powder and steel—are sourced either on a global or regional basis. The prices of these raw materials are susceptible to price fluctuations due to supply and demand trends, energy costs, transportation costs, government regulations and tariffs, changes in currency exchange rates, price controls, general economic conditions and other unforeseen circumstances. We have regularly engaged in forward purchase and hedging derivative transactions in an attempt to effectively manage the raw material costs we expect to incur over the next 12 to 24 months. We discontinued the use of granular urea during the second quarter of our Fiscal 2009 as a result of the shutdown of our growing products portion of the Home and Garden Business.

Substantially all of our rechargeable batteries and chargers, portable lighting products, hair care and other personal care products and our electric shaving and grooming products are manufactured by third party suppliers that are primarily located in the Asia/Pacific region. We maintain ownership of the tooling and molds used by most of our suppliers.

We continually evaluate our manufacturing facilities’ capacity and related utilization. As a result of such analyses, we have closed a number of manufacturing facilities during the past five years. In general, we believe our existing facilities are adequate for our present and foreseeable needs.

Research and Development

Our research and development strategy is focused on new product development and performance enhancements of our existing products. We plan to continue to use our strong brand names, established customer relationships and significant research and development efforts to introduce innovative products that offer enhanced value to consumers through new designs and improved functionality.

In Fiscal 2008 and 2007 and our fiscal year ended September 30, 2006 (“Fiscal 2006”), we invested $25.3 million, $26.8 million and $30.6 million, respectively, in product research and development.

Patents and Trademarks

We own or license from third parties a significant number of patents and patent applications throughout the world relating to products we sell and manufacturing equipment we use. We hold a license that expires in March 2022 for certain alkaline battery designs, technology and manufacturing equipment from Matsushita Electrical Industrial Co., Ltd. (“Matsushita”), to whom we pay a royalty.

We also use and maintain a number of trademarks in our business, including DINGO, JUNGLETALK, MARINELAND, RAYOVAC, REMINGTON, TETRA, VARTA, 8IN1, CUTTER, GARDEN SAFE, NATURE’S MIRACLE, REPEL, SCHULTZ, SPECTRACIDE, SPECTRACIDE TERMINATE, STA-GREEN and VIGORO. We seek trademark protection in the U.S. and in foreign countries by all available means, including registration.

As a result of the October 2002 sale by VARTA AG of substantially all of its consumer battery business to us and VARTA AG’s subsequent sale of its automotive battery business to Johnson Controls, Inc. (“Johnson Controls”), we acquired rights to the VARTA trademark in the consumer battery category and Johnson Controls acquired rights to the trademark in the automotive battery category. VARTA AG and its VARTA Microbatteries subsidiary continue to have rights to use the trademark with travel guides, industrial batteries and micro batteries. We are party to a Trademark and Domain Names Protection and Delimitation Agreement that governs ownership and usage rights and obligations of the parties relative to the VARTA trademark.

As a result of the common origins of the Remington Products, L.L.C., (“Remington Products”) business we acquired in September 2003 and the Remington Arms Company, Inc. (“Remington Arms”), the REMINGTON trademark is owned by us and by Remington Arms each with respect to its principal products as well as associated products. Accordingly, we own the rights to use the REMINGTON trademark for electric shavers, shaver accessories, grooming products and personal care products, while Remington Arms owns the rights to use the trademark for firearms, sporting goods and products for industrial use, including industrial hand tools. In addition, the terms of a 1986 agreement between Remington Products and Remington Arms provides for the shared rights to use the REMINGTON trademark on products which are not considered “principal products of interest” for either company. We retain the REMINGTON trademark for nearly all products which we believe can benefit from the use of the brand name in our distribution channels.

On February 12, 2004, United Industries Corporation (“United”) executed a licensing, manufacturing and supply agreement with its largest customer at the time. Under the agreement, United licensed its VIGORO and related trademarks and became the exclusive manufacturer and supplier for certain products branded with such trademarks through December 31, 2008. As a result of that agreement and the planned shutdown of the growing media portion of the Home and Garden Business, we (as successor in interest to United) will assign the trademarks to the customer on May 31, 2009.

Competition

In our retail markets, we compete for limited shelf space and consumer acceptance. Factors influencing product sales include brand name recognition, perceived quality, price, performance, product packaging, design innovation, and consumer confidence and preferences as well as creative marketing, promotion and distribution strategies.

The battery product category is highly competitive. Most consumer batteries manufactured throughout the world are sold by one of four global companies: Spectrum Brands (manufacturer/seller of Rayovac and VARTA brands); Energizer Holdings, Inc. (manufacturer/seller of the Energizer brand); The Procter & Gamble Company (“Procter & Gamble”) (manufacturer/seller of the

Duracell brand); and Matsushita (manufacturer/seller of the Panasonic brand). We also face competition from the private label brands of major retailers, particularly in Europe. The offering of private-label batteries by retailers may create pricing pressure in the consumer battery market. Typically, private-label brands are not supported by advertising or promotion, and retailers sell these private label offerings at prices below competing name-brands. The main barriers to entry for new competitors are investment in technology research, cost of building manufacturing capacity and the expense of building retail distribution channels and consumer brands.

In the U.S. alkaline battery category, the Rayovac brand is positioned as a value brand, which is typically defined as a product that offers comparable performance at a lower price. In Europe, the VARTA brand is competitively priced with other premium brands. In Latin America, where zinc carbon batteries outsell alkaline batteries, the Rayovac brand is competitively priced.

The pet supply product category is highly fragmented with over 500 manufacturers in the U.S. alone, consisting primarily of small companies with limited product lines. Our largest competitors in this product category are Mars Corporation (“Mars”), The Hartz Mountain Corporation (“Hartz”) and Central Garden & Pet Company (“Central Garden & Pet”). Both Hartz and Central Garden & Pet sell a comprehensive line of pet supplies and compete with a majority of the products we offer. Mars sells primarily aquatics products.

Our primary competitors in the electric shaving and grooming product category are Norelco, a division of Koninklijke Philips Electronics NV (“Philips”), which sells and markets rotary shavers, and Braun, a division of The Procter & Gamble Company, which sells and markets foil shavers. Remington sells both foil and rotary shavers.

Our major competitors in the electric personal care product category are Conair Corporation, Wahl Clipper Corporation and Helen of Troy Limited (“Helen of Troy”).

Our primary competitors in the portable lighting product category are Energizer Holdings, Inc. and Mag Instrument, Inc.

Products we sell in the lawn and garden product category through the Home and Garden Business face competition from The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company (“Scotts Company”), which markets lawn and garden products under the Scotts, Ortho, Roundup and Miracle-Gro brand names; Central Garden & Pet, which markets garden products under the AMDRO, Sevin and Pennington Seed brand names; and Bayer A.G., which markets lawn and garden products under the Bayer Advanced brand name.

Products we sell in the household insect control product category through our Home and Garden Business, face competition from S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc. (“S.C. Johnson”), which markets insecticide and repellent products under the Raid and OFF! brands; Scotts Company, which markets household insect control products under the Ortho brand; and Henkel KGaA, which markets insect control products under the Combat brand.

Some of our major competitors have greater resources and greater overall market share than we do. They have committed significant resources to protect their market shares or to capture market share from us in the past and may continue to do so in the future. In some key product lines, our competitors may have lower production costs and higher profit margins than we do, which may enable them to compete more aggressively in advertising and in offering retail discounts and other promotional incentives to retailers, distributors, wholesalers and, ultimately, consumers.

Seasonality

On a consolidated basis our financial results are approximately equally weighted between quarters, however, sales of certain product categories tend to be seasonal. Sales in the consumer battery, electric shaving and grooming and electric personal care product categories, particularly in North America, tend to be concentrated in the December holiday season (Spectrum’s first fiscal quarter). Demand for pet supplies products remains fairly constant throughout the year. Demand for our lawn and garden and household insect control products sold though the Home and Garden Business typically peaks during the first six months of the calendar year (Spectrum’s second and third fiscal quarters). For a more detailed discussion of the seasonality of our product sales, see “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations—Seasonal Product Sales.”

Governmental Regulations and Environmental Matters

Due to the nature of our operations, our facilities are subject to a broad range of federal, state, local and foreign legal and regulatory provisions relating to the environment, including those regulating the discharge of materials into the environment, the handling and disposal of solid and hazardous substances and wastes and the remediation of contamination associated with the releases of hazardous substances at our facilities. We believe that compliance with the federal, state, local and foreign laws and regulations to which we are subject will not have a material effect upon our capital expenditures, financial position, earnings or competitive position.

From time to time, we have been required to address the effect of historic activities on the environmental condition of our properties. We have not conducted invasive testing at all facilities to identify all potential environmental liability risks. Given the age of our facilities and the nature of our operations, it is possible that material liabilities may arise in the future in connection with our

current or former facilities. If previously unknown contamination of property underlying or in the vicinity of our manufacturing facilities is discovered, we could incur material unforeseen expenses, which could have a material adverse effect on our financial condition, capital expenditures, earnings and competitive position. Although we are currently engaged in investigative or remedial projects at some of our facilities, we do not expect that such projects, taking into account established accruals, will cause us to incur expenditures that are material to our business or financial condition; however, it is possible that our future liability could be material.

We have been, and in the future may be, subject to proceedings related to our disposal of industrial and hazardous material at off-site disposal locations or similar disposals made by other parties for which we are held responsible as a result of our relationships with such other parties. In the U.S., these proceedings are under the Federal Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act of 1980 (“CERCLA”) or similar state laws that hold persons who “arranged for” the disposal or treatment of such substances strictly liable for costs incurred in responding to the release or threatened release of hazardous substances from such sites, regardless of fault or the lawfulness of the original disposal. Liability under CERCLA is typically joint and several, meaning that a liable party may be responsible for all costs incurred in investigating and remediating contamination at a site. As a practical matter, liability at CERCLA sites is shared by all of the viable responsible parties. We occasionally are identified by federal or state governmental agencies as being a potentially responsible party for response actions contemplated at an off-site facility. At the existing sites where we have been notified of our status as a potentially responsible party, it is either premature to determine whether our potential liability, if any, will be material or we do not believe that our liability, if any, will be material. We may be named as a potentially responsible party under CERCLA or similar state laws for other sites not currently known to us, and the costs and liabilities associated with these sites may be material.

It is difficult to quantify with certainty the potential financial impact of actions regarding expenditures for environmental matters, particularly remediation, and future capital expenditures for environmental control equipment. Nevertheless, based upon the information currently available, we believe that our ultimate liability arising from such environmental matters, taking into account established accruals of $4.2 million for estimated liabilities at September 30, 2008, should not be material to our business or financial condition.

Electronic and electrical products that we sell in Europe, particularly products sold under the Remington brand name, VARTA battery chargers, certain portable lighting and all of our batteries, are subject to regulation in European Union (“EU”) markets under three key EU directives. The first directive is the Restriction of the Use of Hazardous Substances in Electrical and Electronic Equipment (“RoHS”) which took effect in EU member states beginning July 1, 2006. RoHS prohibits companies from selling products which contain certain specified hazardous materials in EU member states. We believe that compliance with RoHS will not have a material effect on our capital expenditures, financial position, earnings or competitive position. The second directive is entitled the Waste of Electrical and Electronic Equipment (“WEEE”). WEEE makes producers or importers of particular classes of electrical goods financially responsible for specified collection, recycling, treatment and disposal of past and future covered products. WEEE assigns levels of responsibility to companies doing business in EU markets based on their relative market share. WEEE calls on each EU member state to enact enabling legislation to implement the directive. To comply with WEEE requirements, we have partnered with other companies to create a comprehensive collection, treatment, disposal and recycling program. As EU member states pass enabling legislation our compliance system should be sufficient to meet such requirements. Our current estimated costs associated with compliance with WEEE are not significant based on our current market share. However, we continue to evaluate the impact of the WEEE legislation as EU member states implement guidance and as our market share changes, and actual costs to our company could differ from our current estimates. The third directive is the Directive on Batteries and Accumulators and Waste Batteries, which was adopted in September 2006 and went into effect in September 2008 (the “Battery Directive”). The Battery Directive bans heavy metals in batteries by establishing maximum quantities of those heavy metals in batteries and mandates waste management of batteries, including collection, recycling and disposal systems. The Battery Directive places the costs of such waste management systems on producers and importers of batteries. The Battery Directive calls on each EU member state to enact enabling legislation to implement the directive. We currently believe that compliance with the Battery Directive will not have a material effect on our capital expenditures, financial position, earnings or competitive position. However, until such time as the EU member states adopt enabling legislation, a full evaluation of these costs cannot be completed. We will continue to evaluate the impact of the Battery Directive and its enabling legislation as EU member states implement guidance.

Certain of our products and facilities in each of our business segments are regulated by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (the “EPA”) and the United States Food and Drug Administration (the “FDA”) or other federal consumer protection and product safety agencies and are subject to the regulations such agencies enforce, as well as by similar state, foreign and multinational agencies and regulations. For example, in the U.S., all products containing pesticides must be registered with the EPA and, in many cases, similar state and foreign agencies before they can be manufactured or sold. Our inability to obtain or the cancellation of any registration could have an adverse effect on our business, financial condition and results of operations. The severity of the effect would depend on which products were involved, whether another product could be substituted and whether our competitors were similarly affected. We attempt to anticipate regulatory developments and maintain registrations of, and access to, substitute chemicals and other ingredients. We may not always be able to avoid or minimize these risks.

The Food Quality Protection Act (“FQPA”) established a standard for food-use pesticides, which is that a reasonable certainty of no harm will result from the cumulative effect of pesticide exposures. Under the FQPA, the EPA is evaluating the cumulative effects from dietary and non-dietary exposures to pesticides. The pesticides in certain of our products continue to be evaluated by the EPA as part of this program. It is possible that the EPA or a third party active ingredient registrant may decide that a pesticide we use in our products will be limited or made unavailable to us. We cannot predict the outcome or the severity of the effect of the EPA’s continuing evaluations of active ingredients used in our products.

Certain of our products and packaging materials are subject to regulations administered by the FDA. Among other things, the FDA enforces statutory prohibitions against misbranded and adulterated products, establishes ingredients and manufacturing procedures for certain products, establishes standards of identity for certain products, determines the safety of products and establishes labeling standards and requirements. In addition, various states regulate these products by enforcing federal and state standards of identity for selected products, grading products, inspecting production facilities and imposing their own labeling requirements.

Employees

We had approximately 7,000 full-time employees worldwide as of September 30, 2008. Approximately 18% of our total labor force is covered by collective bargaining agreements. There are three collective bargaining agreements that will expire in Fiscal 2009, which cover approximately 45% of the labor force under collective bargaining agreements, or approximately 9% of our total labor force. We believe that our overall relationship with our employees is good.

Available Information

Our Annual Report on Form 10-K, Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q, Current Reports on Form 8-K and amendments to reports filed pursuant to Sections 13(a) and 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”) are made available free of charge on or through our website at www.spectrumbrands.com as soon as reasonably practicable after such reports are filed with, or furnished to, the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”). You may read and copy any materials we file with the SEC at the SEC’s Public Reference Room at 100 F Street, NE, Washington, DC 20549. You may obtain information on the operation of the Public Reference Room by calling the SEC at 1-800-SEC-0330. The SEC also maintains an Internet site that contains our reports, proxy statements and other information at www.sec.gov. In addition, copies of our (i) Corporate Governance Guidelines, (ii) charters for the Audit Committee, Compensation Committee and Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee, (iii) Code of Business Conduct and Ethics and (iv) Code of Ethics for the Principal Executive Officer and Senior Financial Officers are available at our Internet site at www.spectrumbrands.com under “Investor Relations—Corporate Governance.” Copies will also be provided to any shareholder upon written request to the Division Vice President, Investor Relations, Spectrum Brands, Inc. at 6 Concourse Parkway, Suite 3300, Atlanta, Georgia 30328 or via electronic mail at investorrelations@spectrumbrands.com, or by contacting the Division Vice President, Investor Relations by telephone at 770-829-6200.