Exhibit 99.1
Pacific Premier Bancorp Named Top Performing Publicly Traded
Community Bank in the United States by SNL Financial

Irvine, CA – March 21, 2013 – Pacific Premier Bancorp, Inc. (NASDAQ: PPBI) (the “Company” or “Pacific Premier”), the holding company of Pacific Premier Bank (the “Bank”), was named by SNL Financial as the number one performing publicly traded bank with assets between $500 million and $5.0 billion for 2012.  In addition, the Bank was ranked as the second best performing community bank in the United States in SNL Financial’s 2012 annual ranking of the top 100 best performing banks.  SNL Financial is a leading provider of news, data and analysis in the banking sector.

SNL Financial evaluated the 2012 financial performance of 765 community banks across the United States with total assets between $500 million and $5 billion.  SNL Financial ranked the best performing community banks using six core financial performance metrics that focus on profitability, asset quality and growth for the 12-month period ended December 31, 2012.

“We are very pleased to be recognized by SNL Financial as a standout among community banks across the United States and the highest rated publicly traded community bank in the 2012 rankings,” said Steven R. Gardner, President and Chief Executive Officer of Pacific Premier.  “The ranking is a testament to the strong and efficient business model we have built, the attractive markets that we serve, and the passion and commitment of our entire organization to provide customers with a superior banking experience.  We believe that we have the right formula for growing our franchise and we are excited about entering new markets and introducing new business lines in 2013.  As we steadily increase our presence throughout Southern California, we believe that Pacific Premier Bank will continue to rank among the elite community banks in the nation.”

About Pacific Premier Bancorp, Inc.

The Company owns all of the capital stock of the Bank.  The Bank provides business and consumer banking products to its customers through our ten full-service depository branches in Southern California located in the cities of Huntington Beach, Irvine, Los Alamitos, Newport Beach, Palm Desert, Palm Springs, San Bernardino and Seal Beach and one office in Dallas, Texas. For additional information about the Company, visit the Company’s website at www.ppbi.com.

Forward-Looking Statements

The statements contained herein that are not historical facts are forward-looking statements based on management's current expectations and beliefs concerning future developments and their potential effects on the Company.  Such statements involve inherent risks and uncertainties, many of which are difficult to predict and are generally beyond the control of the Company.  There can be no assurance that future developments affecting the Company will be the same as those anticipated by management.  The Company cautions readers that a number of important factors could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed in, or implied or projected by, such forward-looking statements.  These risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to, the following:  the strength of the United States economy in general and the strength of the local economies in which the Company conducts operations; the effects of, and changes in, trade, monetary and fiscal policies and laws, including interest rate policies of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; inflation, interest rate, market and monetary fluctuations; the timely development of competitive new products and services and the acceptance of these products and services by new and existing customers; the willingness of users to substitute competitors’ products and services for the Company’s products and services; the impact of changes in financial services policies, laws and regulations; technological changes; the effect of acquisitions that the Company may make, if any, including, without limitation, the failure to achieve the expected revenue growth and/or expense savings from such acquisitions; changes in the level of the Company’s nonperforming assets and charge-offs; oversupply of inventory and continued deterioration in values of California real estate, both residential and commercial; the effect of changes in accounting policies and practices, as may be adopted from time-to-time by bank regulatory agencies, the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board, the Financial Accounting Standards Board or other accounting standards setters; possible other-than-temporary impairments of securities held by the Company; the impact of current governmental efforts to restructure the U.S. financial regulatory system; changes in consumer spending, borrowing and savings habits; the effects of the Company’s lack of a diversified loan portfolio, including the risks of geographic and industry concentrations; ability to attract deposits and other sources of liquidity; changes in the financial performance and/or condition of the Company’s borrowers; changes in the competitive environment among financial and bank holding companies and other financial service providers; unanticipated regulatory or judicial proceedings; and the Company’s ability to manage the risks involved in the foregoing.

The Company specifically disclaims any obligation to update any factors or to publicly announce the result of revisions to any of the forward-looking statements included herein to reflect future events or developments.

Notice to San Diego Trust Bank Shareholders

This press release does not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy any securities or a solicitation of any vote or approval. In connection with the proposed acquisition transaction, a registration statement on Form S-4 will be filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) by Pacific Premier. The registration statement will contain a proxy statement/prospectus to be distributed to the shareholders of San Diego Trust Bank in connection with their vote on the proposed acquisition of San Diego Trust Bank by Pacific Premier. SHAREHOLDERS OF SAN DIEGO TRUST BANK ARE ENCOURAGED TO READ THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT AND ANY OTHER RELEVANT DOCUMENTS FILED WITH THE SEC, INCLUDING THE PROXY STATEMENT/PROSPECTUS THAT WILL BE PART OF THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT, BECAUSE THEY WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE PROPOSED ACQUISITION. The final proxy statement/prospectus will be mailed to shareholders of San Diego Trust Bank. Investors and security holders will be able to obtain the documents free of charge at the SEC's website, www.sec.gov. In addition, documents filed with the SEC by Pacific Premier will be available free of charge by (1) accessing Pacific Premier’s website at www.ppbi.com under the “Investor Relations” link and then under the heading “SEC Filings,” (2) writing Pacific Premier at 17901 Von Karman Avenue, Suite 1200, Irvine, CA 92614, Attention: Investor Relations or (3) writing San Diego Trust Bank at 2550 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1010, San Diego, CA 92103, Attention: Corporate Secretary.

The directors, executive officers and certain other members of management and employees of Pacific Premier may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies in favor of the acquisition from the shareholders of San Diego Trust Bank. Information about the directors and executive officers of Pacific Premier is included in the annual report on Form 10-K, which was filed with the SEC on March 14, 2013. The directors, executive officers and certain other members of management and employees of San Diego Trust Bank may also be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies in favor of the acquisition from the shareholders of San Diego Trust Bank. Information about the directors and executive officers of San Diego Trust Bank will be included in the proxy statement/prospectus for the acquisition. Additional information regarding the interests of those participants and other persons who may be deemed participants in the transaction may be obtained by reading the proxy statement/prospectus regarding the proposed acquisition when it becomes available. Free copies of this document may be obtained as described in the preceding paragraph.

Contact:

Pacific Premier Bancorp, Inc.

Steven R. Gardner
President/CEO
949.864.8000

Kent J. Smith
Executive Vice President/CFO
949.864.8000