MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I (CIK 1027342)
Form 10-Q
period 2000-03-31
filed 2000-05-12

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

                  For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2000

                     MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I
       (Exact name of Registrant as specified in its certificate of trust)

                         COMMISSION FILE NO.: 1-7182-01

       Delaware                                          13-7102991
(State or other jurisdiction of             (I.R.S. Employer Identification No.)
incorporation or organization)

  4 World Financial Center
     New York, New York                                   10080
(Address of principal executive offices)               (Zip Code)

Registrant's telephone number, including area code: (212) 449-1000

          World Financial Center, North Tower, New York, New York 10281
Former Name, Former Address and Former Fiscal Year, if Changed Since Last Report

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

                         COMMISSION FILE NO.: 1-7182-02

          Delaware                                     13-3917686
(State or other jurisdiction of             (I.R.S. Employer Identification No.)
incorporation or organization)

   4 World Financial Center
      New York, New York                                     10080
(Address of principal executive offices)                   (Zip Code)

 Registrant's telephone number, including area code: (212) 449-1000

          World Financial Center, North Tower, New York, New York 10281
Former Name, Former Address and Former Fiscal Year, if Changed Since Last Report

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

As of May 10, 2000 no voting stock was held by non-affiliates of the
Registrants.
================================================================================

                         PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION
                         ------------------------------

ITEM 1.   FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
          --------------------

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I
BALANCE SHEETS  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands, except per security amounts)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



                                                                                      MARCH 31, 2000  DECEMBER 31, 1999
                                                                                      --------------  -----------------
ASSETS

Investment in partnership preferred securities                                            $  283,505         $  283,505
                                                                                          ----------         ----------
Total Assets                                                                              $  283,505         $  283,505
                                                                                          ==========         ==========

LIABILITY AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY


Stockholders' equity:

   Preferred  securities (7 3/4% Trust Originated Preferred Securities;
      11,000,000 authorized, issued, and outstanding; $25 liquidation
      amount per security)                                                                $  275,000         $  275,000

   Common securities (7 3/4% Trust Common Securities;
      340,208 authorized, issued, and outstanding;
      $25 liquidation amount per security)                                                     8,505              8,505
                                                                                          ----------         ----------
   Total stockholders' equity                                                                283,505            283,505
                                                                                          ----------         ----------

Total Liability and Stockholders' Equity                                                  $  283,505         $  283,505
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

                                                                           FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                     ---------------------------------------

                                                                         MARCH 31, 2000       MARCH 26, 1999
                                                                         --------------       --------------
EARNINGS

Income on partnership preferred securities                                    $   5,493            $   5,493
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

                                                                 FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                          ---------------------------------------

                                                              MARCH 31, 2000       MARCH 26, 1999
                                                              --------------       --------------
PREFERRED SECURITIES

Balance, beginning and end of period                              $  275,000           $  275,000
                                                                  ----------           ----------

COMMON SECURITIES

Balance, beginning and end of period                                   8,505                8,505
                                                                  ----------           ----------

UNDISTRIBUTED EARNINGS

Balance, beginning of period                                               -                    -
Earnings                                                               5,493                5,493
Distributions                                                         (5,493)                   -
Distributions payable                                                      -               (5,493)
                                                                  ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                                     -                    -
                                                                  ----------           ----------


Total Stockholders' Equity                                        $  283,505           $  283,505
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

                                                                                   FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                            ---------------------------------------

                                                                                MARCH 31, 2000       MARCH 26, 1999
                                                                                --------------       --------------
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Earnings                                                                          $   5,493            $   5,493
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash provided by operating activities                                              5,493                5,493
                                                                                     ---------            ---------

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Distributions                                                                        (5,493)              (5,493)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash used for financing activities                                                (5,493)              (5,493)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------

NET CHANGE IN CASH                                                                           -                    -

CASH, BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                                                    -                    -
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
CASH, END OF PERIOD                                                                  $       -               $    -
                                                                                     =========            =========



SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOWS:

Preferred and common distributions of $5,328 and $165, respectively, were
accrued at March 26, 1999.


See Note to Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I
NOTE TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  (unaudited)
MARCH 31, 2000
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


BASIS OF PRESENTATION

These unaudited financial statements should be read in conjunction with the audited financial statements included in the Annual Report on Form 10-K of
Merrill Lynch Preferred Capital Trust I (the "Trust") for the year ended December 31, 1999. The December 31, 1999 balance sheet was derived from the audited financial statements. The interim financial statements for the three-month periods are unaudited; however, in the opinion of the Regular Trustees of the Trust, all adjustments, consisting only of normal recurring accruals necessary for a fair statement of the results of operations, have been included.


MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING I, L.P.
BALANCE SHEETS  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



                                                                              MARCH 31, 2000   DECEMBER 31, 1999
                                                                              --------------   -----------------
ASSETS

Cash                                                                              $        1          $        1

Investments:
   Affiliate debentures                                                              330,055             330,055
   U.S. Treasury bills                                                                 3,558               3,512
                                                                                  ----------          ----------
   Total investments                                                                 333,613             333,567
                                                                                  ----------          ----------
Total Assets                                                                      $  333,614          $  333,568
                                                                                  ==========          ==========

LIABILITY AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL


Partners' capital:
   Limited partnership interest                                                   $  283,505          $  283,505
   General partnership interest                                                       50,109              50,063
                                                                                  ----------          ----------
   Total partners' capital                                                           333,614             333,568
                                                                                  ----------          ----------

Total Liability and Partners' Capital                                             $  333,614          $  333,568
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


                                                               FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                        ---------------------------------------

                                                            MARCH 31, 2000       MARCH 26, 1999
                                                            --------------       --------------
EARNINGS

Interest income:
   Affiliate debentures                                         $    6,395           $    6,395
   U.S. Treasury bills                                                  46                   39
                                                                ----------           ----------
Earnings                                                        $    6,441           $    6,434
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


                                                                FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                         ---------------------------------------

                                                             MARCH 31, 2000       MARCH 26, 1999
                                                             --------------      ---------------
LIMITED PARTNER'S CAPITAL

Balance, beginning of period                                     $  283,505           $  283,505
Net income allocated to limited partner                               5,493                5,493
Distributions                                                        (5,493)                   -
Distributions payable                                                     -               (5,493)
                                                                 ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                              283,505              283,505
                                                                 ----------           ----------


GENERAL PARTNER'S CAPITAL

Balance, beginning of period                                         50,063               50,416
Net income allocated to general partner                                 948                  941
Distributions                                                          (902)                (379)
Distributions payable                                                     -                 (902)
                                                                 ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                               50,109               50,076
                                                                 ----------           ----------

TOTAL PARTNERS' CAPITAL                                          $  333,614           $  333,581
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


                                                                                   FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                            ---------------------------------------

                                                                                MARCH 31, 2000       MARCH 26, 1999
                                                                                --------------       --------------

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Earnings                                                                          $   6,441            $   6,434
   Accretion of U.S. Treasury bills                                                        (46)                 (39)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash provided by operating activities                                              6,395                6,395
                                                                                     ---------            ---------

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Distributions to limited partner                                                     (5,493)              (5,493)
   Distributions to general partner                                                       (902)              (1,281)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash used for financing activities                                                (6,395)              (6,774)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------

NET CHANGE IN CASH                                                                           -                 (379)

CASH, BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                                                    1                  380
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
CASH, END OF PERIOD                                                                  $       1            $       1
                                                                                     =========            =========



SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOWS:

Distributions of $6,395 were accrued at March 26, 1999.


See Note to Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING I, L.P.
NOTE TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  (unaudited)
MARCH 31, 2000
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



BASIS OF PRESENTATION

These unaudited financial statements should be read in conjunction with the audited financial statements included in the Annual Report on Form 10-K of Merrill Lynch Preferred Funding I, L.P. (the "Partnership") for the year ended December 31, 1999. The December 31, 1999 balance sheet was derived from the audited financial statements. The interim financial statements for the three-month periods are unaudited; however, in the opinion of the General Partner of the Partnership, all adjustments, consisting only of normal recurring accruals necessary for a fair statement of the results of operations, have been included.
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

                                   SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrants have duly caused this report to be signed on their behalf by the undersigned, thereunto duly authorized on the 12th day of May, 2000.


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