MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I (CIK 1027342)
Form 10-Q
period 2006-09-29
filed 2006-11-08

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


As of November 8, 2006 no common stock was held by non-affiliates of the Registrants.
================================================================================

                         PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION
                         ------------------------------

ITEM 1.   FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (Unaudited)
          --------------------


MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I
CONDENSED BALANCE SHEETS  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands, except per security amounts)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------





                                                                                        September 29, 2006   December 30, 2005
                                                                                        ------------------   -----------------
ASSETS


Investment in affiliate partnership preferred securities                                $  283,505           $ 283,505
Interest receivable from affiliate                                                          5,493                   -
                                                                                        ----------           ---------
Total Assets                                                                            $  288,998           $ 283,505
                                                                                        ==========           =========

LIABILITY AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

Distributions payable                                                                   $    5,493                   -
                                                                                        ----------           ---------
Stockholders' equity:

   Preferred  securities (7 3/4% Trust Originated Preferred Securities;
      11,000,000 authorized, issued, and outstanding; $25 liquidation
      amount per security)                                                              $  275,000           $ 275,000

   Common securities (7 3/4% Trust Common Securities;
      340,208 authorized, issued, and outstanding;
      $25 liquidation amount per security)                                                   8,505               8,505
                                                                                        ----------           ---------
Total Stockholders' Equity                                                              $  283,505           $ 283,505
                                                                                        ----------           ---------
Total Liability and Stockholders' Equity                                                  $288,998             283,505
                                                                                        ==========           =========

See Note to Condensed Financial Statements


MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF EARNINGS  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                                               FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                      ---------------------------------------

                                                                                      September 29, 2006   September 30, 2005
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

                                                                                      September 29, 2006   September 30, 2005
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


MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CHANGES IN STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                                               FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                      ---------------------------------------

                                                                                      September 29, 2006   September 30, 2005
                                                                                      ------------------   ------------------
PREFERRED SECURITIES

Balance, beginning and end of period                                                  $  275,000           $  275,000
                                                                                      ----------           ----------

COMMON SECURITIES

Balance, beginning and end of period                                                       8,505                8,505
                                                                                      ----------           ----------

UNDISTRIBUTED EARNINGS

Balance, beginning of period                                                                   -                    -
Earnings                                                                                  16,479               16,479
Distributions                                                                            (10,986)             (16,479)
Distributions payable                                                                     (5,493)                   -
                                                                                      ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                                                         -                    -
                                                                                      ----------           ----------


Total Stockholders' Equity                                                            $  283,505           $  283,505
                                                                                      ==========           ==========

See Note to Condensed Financial Statements


MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                                                                            FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                     ---------------------------------------

                                                                                     September 29, 2006   September 30, 2005
                                                                                     ------------------   ------------------
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Earnings                                                                          $  16,479            $  16,479
   Interest receivable from affiliate                                                   (5,493)                   -
                                                                                     ---------             --------
      Cash provided by operating activities                                             10,986               16,479
                                                                                     ---------             --------

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Distributions                                                                       (10,986)             (16,479)
                                                                                      --------             --------
      Cash used for financing activities                                               (10,986)             (16,479)
                                                                                      --------             --------

NET CHANGE IN CASH                                                                           -                    -

CASH, BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                                                    -                    -
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
CASH, END OF PERIOD                                                                  $       -            $       -
                                                                                     =========            =========



SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOWS:

Preferred and common distributions of $5,328 and $165, respectively, were
accrued at September 29, 2006. No Distributions were accrued at
September 30, 2005.


See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I
NOTE TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  (unaudited)
September 29, 2006
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


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
(dollars in thousands)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



                                                                                       September 29, 2006    December 30, 2005
                                                                                       ------------------    -----------------
ASSETS

Investments:
   Affiliate debentures                                                                $  330,055            $  330,055
   U.S. Government and agencies                                                             3,541                 3,495
                                                                                       ----------            ----------
   Total investments                                                                      333,596               333,550
Interest recievable from affiliates                                                         6,395                     -
                                                                                       ----------            ----------
Total Assets                                                                           $  339,991            $  333,550
                                                                                       ==========            ==========

LIABILITY AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL

Distributions payable                                                                  $    6,395              $      -
                                                                                       ----------            ----------
 Partners' capital:
   Limited partnership interest                                                        $  283,505            $  283,505
   General partnership interest                                                            50,091                50,045
                                                                                       ----------            ----------
   Total partners' captital                                                            $  333,596            $  333,550

Total Liability and Partners' Capital                                                  $  339,991            $  333,550
                                                                                       ==========            ==========

See Note to Condensed Financial Statements



MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING I, L.P.
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF EARNINGS  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


                                                                                          FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                   --------------------------------------

                                                                                   September 29, 2006   September 30, 2005
                                                                                   ------------------   ------------------
EARNINGS

Interest income:
   Affiliate debentures                                                            $    6,395           $    6,394
   U.S. Government and agencies                                                            44                   28
                                                                                    ----------          ----------
Earnings                                                                           $    6,439           $    6,422
                                                                                   ==========           ==========

                                                                                           FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                   ---------------------------------------

                                                                                   September 29, 2006   September 30, 2005
                                                                                   ------------------   ------------------
EARNINGS

Interest income:
   Affiliate debentures                                                            $   19,185           $   19,184
   U.S. Government and agencies                                                           119                   71
                                                                                   ----------           ----------
Earnings                                                                           $   19,304           $   19,255
                                                                                   ==========           ==========






See Note to Condensed Financial Statements


MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING I, L.P.
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CHANGES IN PARTNERS' CAPITAL  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


                                                                                             FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                     ---------------------------------------

                                                                                    September 29, 2006   September 30, 2005
                                                                                    ------------------   ------------------
LIMITED PARTNER'S CAPITAL

Balance, beginning of period                                                        $  283,505           $  283,505
Net income allocated to limited partner                                                 16,479               16,479
Distributions                                                                          (10,986)             (16,479)
Distributions payable                                                                  ( 5,493)                   -
                                                                                    ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                                                 283,505              283,505
                                                                                    ----------           ----------


GENERAL PARTNER'S CAPITAL

Balance, beginning of period                                                            50,045               50,038
Net income allocated to general partner                                                  2,825                2,776
Distributions                                                                           (1,877)              (2,746)
Distributions payable                                                                     (902)                   -
                                                                                    ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                                                  50,091               50,068
                                                                                    ----------           ----------

TOTAL PARTNERS' CAPITAL                                                             $  333,596           $  333,573
                                                                                    ==========           ==========

See Note to Condensed Financial Statements


MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING I, L.P.
CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


                                                                                              FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                        ---------------------------------------

                                                                                        September 29, 2006   September 30, 2005
                                                                                        ------------------   ------------------
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Earnings                                                                             $  19,304            $  19,255
   Accretion of U.S. Government and agencies                                                 (119)                 (71)
   Interest recievable from affiliates                                                     (6,395)                   -
                                                                                        ---------            ---------
      Cash provided by operating activities                                                12,790               19,184
                                                                                        ---------            ---------

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
   Purchase of Investment Securities Earnings                                           $  (3,480)           $  (3,479)
   Maturities of Investment Securities                                                      3,553                3,520
                                                                                        ---------            ---------
      Cash provided by investing activities                                                    73                   41
                                                                                        ---------            ---------


CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Distributions to limited partner                                                       (10,986)             (16,479)
   Distributions to general partner                                                        (1,877)              (2,746)
                                                                                        ---------            ---------
      Cash used for financing activities                                                  (12,863)             (19,225)
                                                                                        ---------            ---------

NET CHANGE IN CASH                                                                              -                    -

CASH, BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                                                       -                    -
                                                                                        ---------            ---------
CASH, END OF PERIOD                                                                     $       -            $       -
                                                                                        =========            =========




SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOWS:

A distribution of $6,395 was accrued at September 29, 2006. No distribution
was accrued at September 30, 2005.



See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING I, L.P.
NOTE TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  (unaudited)
September 29, 2006
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

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

                               By: /s/ MARLENE DEBEL
                                   --------------------------------------------
                               Name:   MARLENE DEBEL
                               Title:  Regular Trustee


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



Date: November 8, 2006
----------------------

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