MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I (CIK 1027342)
Form 10-Q
period 2005-04-01
filed 2005-05-12

UNITED STATES
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549
                             ----------------------

                                    FORM 10-Q

(Mark One)
[X]     QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
        EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
        For the quarterly period ended April 1, 2005

[ ]     TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
        EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
        For the transition period from    to

COMMISSION FILE NO.: 1-7182-01

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

COMMISSION FILE NO.: 1-7182-02

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

Indicate by check mark whether the Registrants are accelerated filers (as defined in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act). Yes [ ] No [X]

As of May 12, 2005 no voting stock was held by non-affiliates of the
Registrants.
================================================================================

                         PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION
                         ------------------------------

ITEM 1.   FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (Unaudited)
          --------------------

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I
CONDENSED BALANCE SHEETS  (unaudited)
(dollars in thousands, except per security amounts)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



                                                                                      April 1, 2005   December 31, 2004
                                                                                      --------------  -----------------
ASSETS

Investment in affiliate partnership preferred securities                                  $  283,505         $  283,505
                                                                                          ----------         ----------
Total Assets                                                                              $  283,505         $  283,505
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

                                                                              FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                        -----------------------------------

                                                                        April 1, 2005        March 26, 2004
                                                                        --------------   ------------------
EARNINGS

Interest on affiliate partnership preferred securities                       $   5,493            $   5,493
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

                                                              April 1, 2005        March 26, 2004
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

                                                                                 April 1, 2005       March 26, 2004
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
                                                                                     =========            =========



SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOWS:

No distributions were accrued at April 1, 2005 and preferred and common
distributions of $5,328 and $165, respectively, were accrued at March 26, 2004.


See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED CAPITAL TRUST I
NOTE TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  (unaudited)
April 1, 2005
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


BASIS OF PRESENTATION

These unaudited condensed financial statements should be read in conjunction with the audited financial statements included in the Annual Report on Form 10-K of Merrill Lynch Preferred Capital Trust I (the "Trust") for the year ended December 31, 2004. The December 31, 2004 balance sheet information was derived from the audited financial statements. The interim condensed financial statements for the three-month periods are unaudited; however, in the opinion of the Regular Trustee of the Trust, all adjustments, consisting only of normal recurring accruals necessary for a fair statement of the results of operations, have been included.

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
(dollars in thousands)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



                                                                               April 1, 2005    DECEMBER 31, 2004
                                                                              --------------    -----------------
ASSETS

Investments:
   Affiliate debentures                                                           $  330,055          $  330,055
   U.S. Government and agencies                                                        3,508               3,488
                                                                                  ----------          ----------
   Total investments                                                                 333,563             333,543
                                                                                  ----------          ----------
Total Assets                                                                      $  333,563          $  333,543
                                                                                  ==========          ==========

PARTNERS' CAPITAL

 Partners' capital:
   Limited partnership interest                                                   $  283,505          $  283,505
   General partnership interest                                                       50,058              50,038
                                                                                  ----------          ----------
Total Partners' Capital                                                           $  333,563          $  333,543
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


                                                                 FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                            -----------------------------------

                                                             April 1, 2005       March 26, 2004
                                                            --------------       --------------
EARNINGS

Interest income:
   Affiliate debentures                                         $    6,395           $    6,395
   U.S. Government and agencies                                         20                    7
                                                                ----------           ----------
Earnings                                                        $    6,415           $    6,402
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


                                                                  FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                             -----------------------------------

                                                              April 1, 2005       March 26, 2004
                                                             --------------       --------------
LIMITED PARTNER'S CAPITAL

Balance, beginning of period                                     $  283,505           $  283,505
Net income allocated to limited partner                               5,493                5,493
Distributions                                                        (5,493)                   -
Distributions payable                                                     -               (5,493)
                                                                 ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                              283,505              283,505
                                                                 ----------           ----------


GENERAL PARTNER'S CAPITAL

Balance, beginning of period                                         50,038               50,033
Net income allocated to general partner                                 922                  909
Distributions                                                          (902)                   -
Distributions payable                                                     -                 (902)
                                                                 ----------           ----------
Balance, end of period                                               50,058               50,040
                                                                 ----------           ----------

TOTAL PARTNERS' CAPITAL                                          $  333,563           $  333,545
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


                                                                                     FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                -----------------------------------

                                                                                 April 1, 2005       March 26, 2004
                                                                                --------------       --------------

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Earnings                                                                          $   6,415            $   6,402
   Accretion of U.S. Government and agencies                                               (20)                  (7)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash provided by operating activities                                              6,395                6,395
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Distributions to limited partner                                                     (5,493)              (5,493)
   Distributions to general partner                                                       (902)                (902)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
      Cash used for financing activities                                                (6,395)              (6,395)
                                                                                     ---------            ---------

NET CHANGE IN CASH                                                                           -                    -

CASH, BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                                                    -                    -
                                                                                     ---------            ---------
CASH, END OF PERIOD                                                                  $       -            $       -
                                                                                     =========            =========


SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOWS:

No distributions were accrued at April 1, 2005 and distributions of $6,395 were
accrued at March 26, 2004.



See Note to Condensed Financial Statements

MERRILL LYNCH PREFERRED FUNDING I, L.P.
NOTE TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  (unaudited)
April 1, 2005
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BASIS OF PRESENTATION

These unaudited condensed financial statements should be read in conjunction with the audited financial statements included in the Annual Report on Form 10-K of Merrill Lynch Preferred Funding I, L.P. (the "Partnership") for the year ended December 31, 2004. The December 31, 2004 balance sheet information was derived from the audited financial statements. The interim condensed financial statements for the three-month periods are unaudited; however, in the opinion of the General Partner of the Partnership, all adjustments, consisting only of normal recurring accruals necessary for a fair statement of the results of operations, have been included.

INVESTMENTS

The Partnership's investment in affiliate debentures, which is recorded at cost, and its investment in U.S. Government and agencies, which are recorded at accreted cost and which mature within one year, are classified as
available-for-sale, which both approximate fair value.

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


ITEM 4.  CONTROLS AND PROCEDURES

The persons who function as the equivalent of the chief executive officer and chief financial officer of the Trust and the Partnership have evaluated the effectiveness of the Trust's and the Partnership's disclosure controls and procedures (as defined in Rule 13a-15(e) under the Securities Exchange Act of
1934) as of the end of the period covered by this Report. Based on that evaluation, the persons who function as the equivalent of the chief executive officer and chief financial officer of the Trust and the Partnership have concluded that the Trust's and the Partnership's disclosure controls and procedures were effective as of the end of the period covered by this Report.

In addition, no change in the Trust's and the Partnership's internal control over financial reporting (as defined in Rule 13a-15(f) under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934) occurred during the first fiscal quarter of 2005 that has materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially affect, the Trust's or the Partnership's internal control over financial reporting.

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


(





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

                               By: /s/ KATHLEEN SKERO
                                   ---------------------------------------------
                               Name:   Kathleen Skero
                               Title:  Controller, Merrill Lynch & Co., Inc.



Date: May 12, 2005
------------------

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