Exhibit 99.1

UNITED STATES FEDERAL INCOME TAX CONSIDERATIONS

The following is a general summary of the material United States federal income tax considerations related to the election by Kilroy Realty Corporation, or the Company, to be taxed as a real estate investment trust, or REIT, and the United States federal income tax considerations anticipated to be material to holders of our capital stock. This summary is for general information only and is not tax advice.

The information in this summary is based on current law, including:

•	the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, or the Code;

•	current, temporary and proposed Treasury regulations promulgated under the Code;

•	the legislative history of the Code;

•	current administrative interpretations and practices of the Internal Revenue Service, or IRS; and

•	court decisions;

in each case, as of the date of this Current Report on Form 8-K, or Form 8-K. In addition, the administrative interpretations and practices of the IRS include its practices and policies as expressed in private letter rulings that are not binding on the IRS except with respect to the particular taxpayers who requested and received those rulings. Future legislation, Treasury regulations, administrative interpretations and practices and/or court decisions may adversely affect the tax considerations contained in this discussion. Any such change could apply retroactively to transactions preceding the date of the change.

We have not requested, and do not plan to request, any rulings from the IRS concerning our tax status as a REIT, and the statements in this Form 8-K are not binding on the IRS or any court. Thus, we can provide no assurance that the tax considerations contained in this summary will not be challenged by the IRS or will be sustained by a court if so challenged. This summary does not discuss any state, local or foreign tax considerations.

You are urged to consult your tax advisors regarding the tax consequences to you of:

•	the issuance of common stock or cash in exchange for common units of Kilroy Realty, L.P., or our operating partnership;

•	the acquisition, ownership and sale or other disposition of our capital stock, including the United States federal, state, local, foreign and other tax consequences;

•	our election to be taxed as a REIT for United States federal income tax purposes; and

•	potential changes in the applicable tax laws.

Taxation of the Company

General. We elected to be taxed as a REIT under Sections 856 through 860 of the Code, commencing with our taxable year ended December 31, 1997. We believe that we have been organized and have operated in a manner which will allow us to qualify for taxation as a REIT under the Code commencing with our taxable year ended December 31, 1997, and we intend to continue to be organized and operate in this manner. However, qualification and taxation as a REIT depend upon our ability to meet the various qualification tests imposed under the Code, including through actual annual operating results, asset composition, distribution levels and diversity of stock ownership. Accordingly, no assurance can be given that we have been organized and have operated, or will continue to be organized and operate, in a manner so as to qualify or remain qualified as a REIT. See “—Failure to Qualify.”

The sections of the Code and the corresponding Treasury regulations that relate to qualification and operation as a REIT are highly technical and complex. The following sets forth the material aspects of the sections of the Code that govern the United States federal income tax treatment of a REIT and its stockholders. This summary is qualified in its entirety by the applicable Code provisions, relevant rules and regulations promulgated under the Code, and administrative and judicial interpretations of the Code and these rules and regulations.

Latham & Watkins LLP has rendered an opinion to us to the effect that, commencing with our taxable year ended December 31, 1997, we have been organized and have operated in conformity with the requirements for qualification and taxation as a REIT, and that our proposed method of operation will enable us to continue to meet the requirements for qualification and taxation as a REIT, under the Code. It must be emphasized that this opinion was based on various assumptions and representations as to factual matters, including representations made by us in a factual certificate provided by one of our officers. Moreover, our qualification and taxation as a REIT depend upon our ability to meet the various qualification tests imposed under the Code which are discussed in more detail below, including through actual annual operating results, asset composition, distribution levels and diversity of stock ownership, the results of which have not been and will not be reviewed by Latham & Watkins LLP. Accordingly, no assurance can be given that our actual results of operation for any particular taxable year have satisfied or will satisfy those requirements. See “—Failure to Qualify” below. Further, the U.S. federal income tax consequences related to the acquisition, ownership and disposition of our capital stock described below may be changed, perhaps retroactively, by legislative, administrative or judicial action at any time. Latham & Watkins LLP has no obligation to update its opinion subsequent to its date.

Provided we qualify for taxation as a REIT, we generally will not be required to pay United States federal corporate income taxes on our net income that is currently distributed to our stockholders. This treatment substantially eliminates the “double taxation” that ordinarily results from investment in a C corporation. A C corporation is a corporation that is generally required to pay tax at the corporate-level. Double taxation generally means taxation that occurs once at the corporate level when income is earned and once again at the stockholder level when the income is distributed. We will be required to pay United States federal income tax, however, as follows:

•	We will be required to pay tax at regular corporate tax rates on any undistributed REIT taxable income, including undistributed net capital gains.

•	We may be required to pay the “alternative minimum tax” on our items of tax preference under some circumstances.

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If we have (1) net income from the sale or other disposition of “foreclosure property” which is held primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of business or (2) other nonqualifying income from foreclosure property, we will be required to pay tax at the highest corporate rate on this income. Foreclosure property is generally defined as property we acquired through foreclosure or after a default on a loan secured by the property or a lease of the property.

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We will be required to pay a 100% tax on any net income from prohibited transactions. Prohibited transactions are, in general, sales or other taxable dispositions of property, other than foreclosure property, held as inventory or primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of business.

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If we fail to satisfy the 75% gross income test or the 95% gross income test, as described below, but have otherwise maintained our qualification as a REIT because certain other requirements are met, we will be required to pay a tax equal to (1) the greater of (A) the amount by which 75% of our gross income exceeds the amount qualifying under the 75% gross income test, and (B) the amount by which 95% of our gross income exceeds the amount qualifying under the 95% gross income test, multiplied by (2) a fraction intended to reflect our profitability.

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If we fail to satisfy any of the REIT asset tests (other than a de minimis failure of the 5% and 10% asset tests), as described below, due to reasonable cause and we nonetheless maintain our REIT qualification because of specified cure provisions, we will be required to pay a tax equal to the greater of $50,000 or the highest corporate tax rate multiplied by the net income generated by the nonqualifying assets that caused us to fail such test.

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If we fail to satisfy any provision of the Code that would result in our failure to qualify as a REIT (other than a violation of the REIT gross income tests or certain violations of the asset tests described below) and the violation is due to reasonable cause, we may retain our REIT qualification but will be required to pay a penalty of $50,000 for each such failure.

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We will be required to pay a 4% excise tax to the extent we fail to distribute during each calendar year at least the sum of (1) 85% of our REIT ordinary income for the year, (2) 95% of our REIT capital gain net income for the year, and (3) any undistributed taxable income from prior periods.

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If we acquire any asset from a corporation which is or has been a C corporation in a transaction in which the basis of the asset in our hands is less than the fair market value of the asset, in each case determined at the time we acquired the asset, and we subsequently recognize gain on the disposition of the asset during the ten-year period beginning on the date on which we acquired the asset, then we will be required to pay tax at the highest regular corporate tax rate on this gain to the extent of the excess of (1) the fair market value of the asset over (2) our adjusted basis in the asset, in each case determined as of the date on which we acquired the asset. The results described in this paragraph with respect to the recognition of gain assume that the necessary parties make or refrain from making the appropriate elections under the applicable Treasury regulations then in effect. The IRS recently issued final Treasury regulations which exclude from the application of this built-in gains tax any gain from the sale of property acquired by us in an exchange under Section 1031 (a like kind exchange) or 1033 (an involuntary conversion) of the Code.

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We will be required to pay a 100% tax on any “redetermined rents,” “redetermined deductions” or “excess interest.” In general, redetermined rents are rents from real property that are overstated as a result of services furnished by a “taxable REIT subsidiary” of ours to any of our tenants. See “—Penalty Tax.” Redetermined deductions and excess interest generally represent amounts that are deducted by a taxable REIT subsidiary of ours for amounts paid to us that are in excess of the amounts that would have been deducted based on arm’s length negotiations.

We may be subject to a variety of taxes other than United States federal income tax, including payroll taxes and state, local and foreign income, property and other taxes on our assets and operations.

Requirements for Qualification as a Real Estate Investment Trust. The Code defines a REIT as a corporation, trust or association:

1)	that is managed by one or more trustees or directors;

2)	that issues transferable shares or transferable certificates to evidence its beneficial ownership;

3)	that would be taxable as a domestic corporation but for special Code provisions applicable to REITs;

4)	that is not a financial institution or an insurance company within the meaning of certain provisions of the Code;

5)	that is beneficially owned by 100 or more persons;

6)	not more than 50% in value of the outstanding stock of which is owned, actually or constructively, by five or fewer individuals, including specified entities, during the last half of each taxable year; and

7)	that meets other tests, described below, regarding the nature of its income and assets and the amount of its distributions.

The Code provides that conditions (1) to (4), inclusive, must be met during the entire taxable year and that condition (5) must be met during at least 335 days of a taxable year of twelve months, or during a proportionate part of a taxable year of less than twelve months. Conditions (5) and (6) do not apply until after the first taxable year for which an election is made to be taxed as a REIT. For purposes of condition (6), the term “individual” generally includes a supplemental unemployment compensation benefit plan, a private foundation or a portion of a trust permanently set aside or used exclusively for charitable purposes, but does not include a qualified pension plan or profit sharing trust.

We believe that we have been organized, have operated and have issued sufficient shares of capital stock with sufficient diversity of ownership to allow us to satisfy conditions (1) through (7) inclusive, during the relevant time periods. In addition, our charter with respect to our common stock, and the articles supplementary with respect to preferred stock we may issue from time to time, provide for restrictions regarding the ownership and transfer of our shares which are intended to assist us in continuing to satisfy the share ownership requirements described in conditions (5) and (6) above. These stock ownership and transfer restrictions with respect to our common stock are described in Article IV of our charter. These restrictions, however, may not ensure that we will, in all cases, be able to satisfy the share ownership requirements described in conditions (5) and (6) above. If we fail to satisfy these share ownership requirements, except as provided in the next sentence, our status as a REIT will terminate. If, however, we comply with the rules contained in applicable Treasury regulations that require us to ascertain the actual ownership of our shares and we do not know, or would not have known through the exercise of reasonable diligence, that we failed to meet the requirement described in condition (6) above, we will be treated as having met this requirement. See “—Failure to Qualify.”

In addition, we may not maintain our status as a REIT unless our taxable year is the calendar year. We have and will continue to have a calendar taxable year.

Ownership of Interests in Partnerships, Limited Liability Companies and Qualified REIT Subsidiaries. We own and operate one or more properties through partnerships and limited liability companies. Treasury regulations generally provide that, in the case of a REIT which is a partner in a partnership or a member in a limited liability company that is treated as a partnership for United States federal income tax purposes, the REIT will be deemed to own its proportionate share of the assets of the partnership or limited liability company, as the case may be, based on its interest in partnership capital, subject to special rules relating to the 10% REIT asset test described below. Also, pursuant to Treasury regulations, the REIT will be deemed to be entitled to its proportionate share of the income of that entity. The assets and gross income of the partnership or limited liability company retain the same character in the hands of the REIT, including for purposes of satisfying the gross income tests and the asset tests. In addition, for these purposes, the assets and items of income of any partnership or limited liability company treated as a partnership or disregarded entity for United States federal income tax purposes in which we directly or indirectly own an interest include such entity’s share of assets and items of income of any partnership or limited liability company in which it owns an interest. We have included a brief summary of the rules governing the United States federal income taxation of partnerships and limited liability companies below in “—Tax Aspects of the Operating Partnership, the Subsidiary Partnerships and Limited Liability Companies.”

We have direct control of the operating partnership and certain subsidiary partnerships and limited liability companies and we intend to continue to operate them in a manner consistent with the requirements for our qualification as a REIT. From time to time, we may be a limited partner or non-managing member in certain partnerships and limited liability companies. If any such partnership or limited liability company were to take actions that could jeopardize our status as a REIT or require us to pay tax, we could be forced to dispose of our interest in such entity. In addition, it is possible that a partnership or limited liability company could take an action which could cause us to fail a REIT income or asset test, and that we would not become aware of such action in time to dispose of our interest in the partnership or limited liability company or take other corrective action on a timely basis. In that case, we could fail to qualify as a REIT unless we were entitled to relief, as described below. See “—Failure to Qualify” below.

We may from time to time own and operate certain properties through wholly owned subsidiaries that we intend to be treated as “qualified REIT subsidiaries” under the Code. A corporation will qualify as our qualified REIT subsidiary if we own 100% of the corporation’s outstanding stock and we do not elect with the corporation to treat it as a “taxable REIT subsidiary,” as described below. A qualified REIT subsidiary is not treated as a separate corporation, and all assets, liabilities and items of income, gain, loss, deduction and credit of our qualified REIT subsidiaries will be treated as our assets, liabilities and such items, for all purposes of the Code, including the REIT qualification tests. Thus, in applying the United States federal tax requirements described in this Form 8-K, any corporations in which we own a 100% interest (other than any taxable REIT subsidiaries) are ignored, and all assets, liabilities and items of income, gain, loss, deduction and credit of such corporations are treated as our assets, liabilities, and items of income, gain, loss, deduction and credit. A qualified REIT subsidiary is not required to pay United States federal income tax, and our ownership of the stock of a qualified REIT subsidiary does not violate the restrictions on ownership of securities, as described below under “—Asset Tests.”

Ownership of Interests in Taxable REIT Subsidiaries. A taxable REIT subsidiary of ours is a corporation other than a REIT in which we directly or indirectly hold stock and that has made a joint election with us to be treated as a taxable REIT subsidiary. A taxable REIT subsidiary also includes any corporation other than a REIT with respect to which a taxable REIT subsidiary owns securities possessing more than 35% of the total voting power or value of the outstanding securities of such corporation. Other than some activities relating to lodging and health care facilities, a taxable REIT subsidiary may generally engage in any business, including the provision of customary or non-customary services to tenants of its parent REIT. A taxable REIT subsidiary is subject to

income tax as a regular C corporation. In addition, a taxable REIT subsidiary of ours may be prevented from deducting interest on debt that we directly or indirectly fund if certain tests regarding the taxable REIT subsidiary’s debt-to-equity ratio and interest expense are satisfied. Our ownership of securities of our taxable REIT subsidiaries will not be subject to the 10% or 5% asset tests described below. See “—Asset Tests.” We currently own interests in Kilroy Realty TRS, Inc., and we have jointly elected with Kilroy Realty TRS, Inc. to have it be treated as a taxable REIT subsidiary. We may acquire interests in additional taxable REIT subsidiaries in the future.

Income Tests. We must satisfy two gross income requirements annually to maintain our qualification as a REIT. First, in each taxable year we must derive directly or indirectly at least 75% of our gross income, excluding gross income from prohibited transactions, certain hedging transactions entered into after July 30, 2008, and certain foreign currency gains recognized after July 30, 2008, from (a) investments relating to real property or mortgages on real property, including “rents from real property” and, in certain circumstances, interest, or (b) certain types of temporary investments. Second, in each taxable year we must derive at least 95% of our gross income, excluding gross income from prohibited transactions, certain hedging transactions entered into on or after January 1, 2005, and certain foreign currency gains recognized after July 30, 2008, from the real property investments described above or dividends, interest and gain from the sale or disposition of stock or securities, or from any combination of the foregoing.

For these purposes, the term “interest” generally does not include any amount received or accrued, directly or indirectly, if the determination of all or some of the amount depends in any way on the income or profits of any person. However, an amount received or accrued generally will not be excluded from the term “interest” solely by reason of being based on a fixed percentage or percentages of receipts or sales.

Rents we receive from a tenant will qualify as “rents from real property” for the purpose of satisfying the gross income requirements for a REIT described above only if all of the following conditions are met:

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The amount of rent must not be based in any way on the income or profits of any person. However, an amount we receive or accrue generally will not be excluded from the term “rents from real property” solely because it is based on a fixed percentage or percentages of receipts or sales;

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We, or an actual or constructive owner of 10% or more of our stock, must not actually or constructively own 10% or more of the interests in the tenant, or, if the tenant is a corporation, 10% or more of the voting power or value of all classes of stock of the tenant. Rents we receive from such a tenant that is a taxable REIT subsidiary of ours, however, will not be excluded from the definition of “rents from real property” as a result of this condition if at least 90% of the space at the property to which the rents relate is leased to third parties, and the rents paid by the taxable REIT subsidiary are substantially comparable to rents paid by our other tenants for substantially comparable space. Whether rents paid by our taxable REIT subsidiary are substantially comparable to rents paid by our other tenants is determined at the time the lease with the taxable REIT subsidiary is entered into, extended, and modified, if such modification increases the rents due under such lease. Notwithstanding the foregoing, however, if a lease with a “controlled taxable REIT subsidiary” is modified and such modification results in an increase in the rents payable by such taxable REIT subsidiary, any such increase will not qualify as “rents from real property.” For purposes of this rule, a “controlled taxable REIT subsidiary” is a taxable REIT subsidiary in which we own stock possessing more than 50% of the voting power or more than 50% of the total value of the outstanding stock of such taxable REIT subsidiary;

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Rent attributable to personal property, leased in connection with a lease of real property, is not greater than 15% of the total rent received under the lease. If this condition is not met, then the portion of the rent attributable to personal property will not qualify as “rents from real property”; and

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We generally must not operate or manage the property or furnish or render services to our tenants, subject to a 1% de minimis exception and except as provided below. We may, however, perform services that are “usually or customarily rendered” in connection with the rental of space for occupancy only and are not otherwise considered “rendered to the occupant” of the property. Examples of these services include the provision of light, heat, or other utilities, trash removal and general maintenance of common areas. In addition, we may employ an independent contractor from whom we derive no revenue to provide customary services, or a taxable REIT subsidiary, which may be wholly or partially owned by us, to provide both customary and non-customary services to our tenants without causing the rent we receive from those tenants to fail to qualify as “rents from real property.” Any amounts we receive from a taxable REIT subsidiary with respect to the taxable REIT subsidiary’s provision of non-customary services will, however, be nonqualifying income under the 75% gross income test and, except to the extent received through the payment of dividends, the 95% REIT gross income test.

We generally do not intend, and as a general partner of the operating partnership do not intend to permit the operating partnership, to take actions we believe will cause us to fail to satisfy the rental conditions described above. However, we may intentionally fail to satisfy some of these conditions to the extent such failure will not, based on the advice of our tax counsel, jeopardize our tax status as a REIT. In addition, with respect to the limitation on the rental of personal property, we have not obtained appraisals of the real property and personal property leased to tenants. Accordingly, there can be no assurance that the IRS will agree with our determinations of value.

Income we receive that is attributable to the rental of parking spaces at the properties will constitute rents from real property for purposes of the REIT gross income tests if certain services provided with respect to the parking facilities are performed by independent contractors from whom we derive no income, either directly or indirectly, or by a taxable REIT subsidiary, and certain other conditions are met. We believe that the income we receive that is attributable to parking facilities meets these tests and, accordingly, will constitute rents from real property for purposes of the REIT gross income tests.

From time to time, we may enter into hedging transactions with respect to one or more of our assets or liabilities. The term “hedging transaction” generally means any transaction we enter into in the normal course of our business primarily to manage risk of (1) interest rate changes or fluctuations with respect to borrowings made or to be made by us to acquire or carry real estate assets, or (2) for hedging transactions entered into after July 30, 2008, currency fluctuations with respect to an item of qualifying income under the 75% or 95% gross income test. The hedging activities may include entering into interest rate swaps, caps, and floors, options to purchase these items, and futures and forward contracts. Income we derive from a hedging transaction, including gain from the sale or disposition thereof, that is clearly identified as a hedging transaction as specified in the Code will not constitute gross income and thus will be exempt from the 95% gross income test to the extent such a hedging transaction is entered into on or after January 1, 2005, and will not constitute gross income and thus will be exempt from the 75% gross income test to the extent such hedging transaction is entered into after July 30, 2008.

Income and gain from a hedging transaction, including gain from the sale or disposition of such a transaction, entered into on or prior to July 30, 2008 will be treated as nonqualifying income for purposes of the 75% gross income test. Income and gain from a hedging transaction, including gain from the sale or disposition of such a transaction, entered into prior to January 1, 2005, will be qualifying income for purposes of the 95% gross income test. To the extent that we do not properly identify such transactions as hedges or we hedge with other types of financial instruments, the income from those transactions is not likely to be treated as qualifying income for purposes of the gross income tests. We intend to structure any hedging transactions in a manner that does not jeopardize our status as a REIT.

To the extent our taxable REIT subsidiary, Kilroy Realty TRS, Inc., pays dividends, we generally will derive our allocable share of such dividend income through our interest in the operating partnership. Such dividend income will qualify under the 95%, but not the 75%, REIT gross income test.

We will monitor the amount of the dividend and other income from our taxable REIT subsidiaries and will take actions intended to keep this income, and any other nonqualifying income, within the limitations of the REIT income tests. While we expect these actions will prevent a violation of the REIT income tests, we cannot guarantee that such actions will in all cases prevent such a violation. If we fail to satisfy one or both of the 75% or 95% gross income tests for any taxable year, we may nevertheless qualify as a REIT for the year if we are entitled to relief under certain provisions of the Code. We generally may avail ourselves of the relief provisions if:

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following our identification of the failure to meet the 75% or 95% gross income tests for any taxable year, we file a schedule with the IRS setting forth each item of our gross income for purposes of the 75% or 95% gross income tests for such taxable year in accordance with Treasury regulations to be issued; and

•	our failure to meet these tests was due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect.

It is not possible, however, to state whether in all circumstances we would be entitled to the benefit of these relief provisions. For example, if we fail to satisfy the gross income tests because nonqualifying income that we intentionally accrue or receive exceeds the limits on nonqualifying income, the IRS could conclude that our failure to satisfy the tests was not due to reasonable cause. If these relief provisions do not apply to a particular set of circumstances, we will not qualify as a REIT. As discussed above in “—Taxation of the Company—General,” even if these relief provisions apply, and we retain our status as a REIT, a tax would be imposed with respect to our nonqualifying income. We may not always be able to comply with the gross income tests for REIT qualification despite periodic monitoring of our income.

Prohibited Transaction Income. Any gain that we realize on the sale of property held as inventory or otherwise held primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of business, including our share of any such gain realized by the operating partnership, either directly or through its subsidiary partnerships and limited liability companies, will be treated as income from a prohibited transaction that is subject to a 100% penalty tax. This prohibited transaction income may also adversely affect our ability to satisfy the income tests for qualification as a REIT. Under existing law, whether property is held as inventory or primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of a trade or business is a question of fact that depends on all the facts and circumstances surrounding the particular transaction. We intend to hold our properties for investment with a view to long-term appreciation, to engage in the business of acquiring, developing and owning properties and to make occasional sales of the properties consistent with our investment objectives. We do not intend to enter into any sales that are prohibited transactions. However, the IRS may successfully contend that some or all of the sales made by us or by our subsidiary partnerships or limited liability companies are prohibited transactions. We would be required to pay the 100% penalty tax on our allocable share of the gains from any such sales.

Penalty Tax. Any redetermined rents, redetermined deductions or excess interest we generate will be subject to a 100% penalty tax. In general, redetermined rents are rents from real property that are overstated as a result of any services furnished to any of our tenants by one of our taxable REIT subsidiaries, and redetermined deductions and excess interest represent any amounts that are deducted by a taxable REIT subsidiary for amounts paid to us that are in excess of the amounts that would have been deducted based on arm’s length negotiations. Rents we receive will not constitute redetermined rents if they qualify for certain safe harbor provisions contained in the Code.

We believe that, in all instances in which Kilroy Realty TRS, Inc. provides services to our tenants, the fees paid to Kilroy Realty TRS, Inc. for such services are at arm’s-length rates, although the fees paid may not satisfy the safe-harbor provisions contained in the Code. These determinations are inherently factual, and the IRS has broad discretion to assert that amounts paid between related parties should be reallocated to clearly reflect their respective incomes. If the IRS successfully made such an assertion, we would be required to pay a 100% penalty tax on the excess of an arm’s-length fee for tenant services over the amount actually paid.

Asset Tests. At the close of each quarter of our taxable year, we must also satisfy four tests relating to the nature and diversification of our assets.

First, at least 75% of the value of our total assets, including assets held by our qualified REIT subsidiaries and our allocable share of the assets held by the operating partnership and its subsidiary partnerships and other entities treated as partnerships for United States federal income tax purposes, must be represented by real estate assets, cash, cash items and government securities. For purposes of this test, the term “real estate assets” generally means real property (including interests in real property and interests in mortgages on real property) and shares (or transferable certificates of beneficial interest) in other REITs, as well as any stock or debt instrument attributable to investment of the proceeds of a stock offering or a public offering of debt with a term of at least five years, but only for the one-year period beginning on the date we receive such proceeds.

Second, not more than 25% of the value of our total assets may be represented by securities, other than those securities includable in the 75% asset test.

Third, of the investments included in the 25% asset class, and except for investments in other REITs, our qualified REIT subsidiaries and our taxable REIT subsidiaries, the value of any one issuer’s securities may not exceed 5% of the value of our total assets and we may not own more than 10% of the total vote or value of the outstanding securities of any one issuer, except, in the case of the 10% value test, securities satisfying the “straight debt” safe-harbor. Certain types of securities we may own are disregarded as securities solely for purposes of the 10% value test, including but not limited to, any loan to an individual or an estate, any obligation to pay rents from real property and any security issued by a REIT. In addition, solely for purposes of the 10% value test, the determination of our interest in the assets of a partnership or limited liability company in which we own an interest will be based on our proportionate interest in any securities issued by the partnership or limited liability company, excluding for this purpose, certain securities described in the Code.

Fourth, not more than 25% (20% for taxable years beginning before January 1, 2009) of the value of our total assets may be represented by the securities of one or more taxable REIT subsidiaries.

The operating partnership owns 100% of the outstanding stock of Kilroy Realty TRS, Inc. Kilroy Realty TRS, Inc. elected, together with us, to be treated as a taxable REIT subsidiary. So long as Kilroy Realty TRS, Inc. qualifies as our taxable REIT subsidiary, we will not be subject to the 5% asset test, the 10% voting securities limitation or the 10% value limitation with respect to our ownership of securities in Kilroy Realty TRS, Inc. We or Kilroy Realty TRS, Inc. may acquire securities in other taxable REIT subsidiaries in the future. We believe that the aggregate value of our taxable REIT subsidiaries will not exceed 25% (or 20% for

taxable years beginning before January 1, 2009) of the aggregate value of our gross assets. With respect to each issuer in which we currently own an interest that does not qualify as a REIT, a qualified REIT subsidiary or a taxable REIT subsidiary, we believe that our ownership of the securities of any such issuer has complied with the 5% asset test, the 10% voting securities limitation, 10% value limitation, and the 75% asset test. No independent appraisals have been obtained to support these conclusions. In addition, there can be no assurance that the IRS will not disagree with our determinations of value.

The asset tests described above must be satisfied at the close of each calendar quarter of our taxable year in which we (directly or through the operating partnership or our subsidiary partnerships and limited liability companies) acquire securities in the applicable issuer, and also at the close of each calendar quarter in which we increase our ownership of securities of such issuer (including as a result of increasing our interest in the operating partnership or in our subsidiary partnerships and limited liability companies). For example, our indirect ownership of securities of each issuer will increase as a result of our capital contributions to the operating partnership and as limited partners exercise their redemption/exchange rights. After initially meeting the asset tests at the close of any quarter, we will not lose our status as a REIT for failure to satisfy the asset tests at the end of a later quarter solely by reason of changes in asset values. If we fail to satisfy an asset test because we acquire securities or other property during a quarter (including as a result of an increase in our interests in the operating partnership or in our subsidiary partnerships and limited liability companies), we may cure this failure by disposing of sufficient nonqualifying assets within 30 days after the close of that quarter. We believe that we have maintained and intend to maintain adequate records of the value of our assets to ensure compliance with the asset tests. In addition, we intend to take such actions within 30 days after the close of any quarter as may be required to cure any noncompliance.

Certain relief provisions may be available to us if we fail to satisfy the asset tests described above after the 30 day cure period. Under these provisions, we will be deemed to have met the 5% and 10% REIT asset tests if the value of our nonqualifying assets (i) does not exceed the lesser of (a) 1% of the total value of our assets at the end of the applicable quarter or (b) $10,000,000, and (ii) we dispose of the nonqualifying assets or otherwise satisfy such asset tests within (a) six months after the last day of the quarter in which the failure to satisfy the asset tests is discovered or (b) the period of time prescribed by Treasury regulations to be issued. For violations of any of the asset tests due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect and that are, in the case of the 5% and 10% asset test, in excess of the de minimis exception described above, we may avoid disqualification as a REIT, after the 30 day cure period, by taking steps including (i) the disposition of sufficient nonqualifying assets, or the taking of other actions, which allow us to meet the asset tests within (a) six months after the last day of the quarter in which the failure to satisfy the asset tests is discovered or (b) the period of time prescribed by Treasury regulations to be issued, and (ii) disclosing certain information to the IRS. In such case, we will be required to pay a tax equal to the greater of (a) $50,000 or (b) the highest corporate tax rate multiplied by the net income generated by the nonqualifying assets.

Although we believe that we have satisfied the asset tests described above and plan to take steps to ensure that we satisfy such tests for any quarter with respect to which retesting is to occur, there can be no assurance that we will always be successful, or will not require a reduction in the operating partnership’s overall interest in an issuer (including in a taxable REIT subsidiary). If we fail to cure any noncompliance with the asset tests in a timely manner, and the relief provisions described above are not available, we would cease to qualify as a REIT. See “—Failure to Qualify” below.

Annual Distribution Requirements. To maintain our qualification as a REIT, we are required to distribute dividends, other than capital gain dividends, to our stockholders in an amount at least equal to the sum of:

•	90% of our “real estate investment trust taxable income”; and

•	90% of our after tax net income, if any, from foreclosure property; minus

•	the excess of the sum of certain items of non-cash income over 5% of the “real estate investment trust taxable income.”

For these purposes, our “real estate investment trust taxable income” is computed without regard to the dividends paid deduction and our net capital gain. In addition, for purposes of this test, non-cash income means income attributable to leveled stepped rents, original issue discount, cancellation of indebtedness or a like-kind exchange that is later determined to be taxable.

Also, our “REIT taxable income” will be reduced by any taxes we are required to pay on any gain we recognize from the disposition of any asset we acquired from a corporation which is or has been a C corporation in a transaction in which our basis in the asset is less than the fair market value of the asset, in each case determined at the time we acquired the asset, within the ten-year period following our acquisition of such asset. See “—General” above.

We generally must pay, or be treated as paying, the distributions described above in the taxable year to which they relate. At our election, a distribution for a taxable year may be declared before we timely file our tax return for such year and paid on or before the first regular dividend payment after such declaration, provided such payment is made during the twelve-month period following the close of such year. These distributions generally are taxable to our stockholders, other than tax-exempt entities, in the year in which paid. This is so even though these distributions relate to the prior year for purposes of the 90% distribution requirement. The amount distributed must not be preferential (i.e., every stockholder of the class of stock to which a distribution is made must be treated the same as every other stockholder of that class, and no class of stock may be treated other than in according to its dividend rights as a class). To the extent that we do not distribute all of our net capital gain or distribute at least 90%, but less than 100%, of our “real estate investment trust taxable income,” as adjusted, we will be required to pay tax on the undistributed amount at regular corporate tax rates. We believe we have made, and intend to continue to make, timely distributions sufficient to satisfy these annual distribution requirements and to minimize our corporate tax obligations. In this regard, the partnership agreement of the operating partnership authorizes us, as general partner of the operating partnership, to take such steps as may be necessary to cause the operating partnership to distribute to its partners an amount sufficient to permit us to meet these distribution requirements.

We expect that our real estate investment trust taxable income will be less than our cash flow because of depreciation and other non-cash charges included in computing real estate investment trust taxable income. Accordingly, we anticipate that we will generally have sufficient cash or liquid assets to enable us to satisfy the distribution requirements described above. However, from time to time, we may not have sufficient cash or other liquid assets to meet these distribution requirements due to timing differences between the actual receipt of income and actual payment of deductible expenses, and the inclusion of income and deduction of expenses in arriving at our taxable income. If these timing differences occur, we may be required to borrow funds to pay cash dividends or to pay dividends in the form of taxable stock dividends in order to meet the distribution requirements, while preserving our cash. In addition, we may decide to retain our cash, rather than distribute it, in order to repay debt or for other reasons.

Under some circumstances, we may be able to rectify an inadvertent failure to meet the 90% distribution requirement for a year by paying “deficiency dividends” to our stockholders in a later year, which may be included in our deduction for dividends paid for the earlier year. Thus, we may be able to avoid being taxed on amounts distributed as deficiency dividends, subject to the 4% excise tax described below. However, we will be required to pay interest to the IRS based upon the amount of any deduction claimed for deficiency dividends.

Furthermore, we will be required to pay a 4% excise tax to the extent we fail to distribute during each calendar year, at least the sum of 85% of our real estate investment trust ordinary income for such year, 95% of our real estate investment trust capital gain net income for the year and any undistributed taxable income from prior periods. Any real estate investment trust taxable income and net capital gain on which this excise tax is imposed for any year is treated as an amount distributed during that year for purposes of calculating such tax.

For purposes of the distribution requirements and excise tax described above, dividends declared during the last three months of the taxable year, payable to stockholders of record on a specified date during such period, and paid during January of the following year, will be treated as paid by us and received by our stockholders on December 31 of the year in which they are declared.

Like-Kind Exchanges. We have in the past disposed of properties in transactions intended to qualify as like-kind exchanges under the Code, and may continue this practice in the future. Such like-kind exchanges are intended to result in the deferral of gain for United States federal income tax purposes. The failure of any such transaction to qualify as a like-kind exchange could subject us to United States federal income tax, possibly including the 100% prohibited transaction tax, depending on the facts and circumstances surrounding the particular transaction.

Failure to Qualify

Specified cure provisions are available to us in the event that we discover a violation of a provision of the Code that would result in our failure to qualify as a REIT. Except with respect to violations of the REIT income tests and asset tests (for which the cure provisions are described above), and provided the violation is due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect, these cure provisions generally impose a $50,000 penalty for each violation in lieu of a loss of REIT status.

If we fail to qualify for taxation as a REIT in any taxable year, and the relief provisions do not apply, we will be required to pay tax, including any applicable alternative minimum tax, on our taxable income at regular corporate rates. Distributions to stockholders

in any year in which we fail to qualify as a REIT will not be deductible by us, and we will not be required to distribute any amounts to our stockholders. As a result, we anticipate that our failure to qualify as a REIT would reduce the cash available for distribution by us to our stockholders. In addition, if we fail to qualify as a REIT, all distributions to stockholders will be taxable as regular corporate dividends to the extent of our current and accumulated earnings and profits. In this event, corporate distributees may be eligible for the dividends-received deduction. In addition, individuals may be eligible for the preferential rates on qualified dividend income. Unless entitled to relief under specific statutory provisions, we will also be disqualified from taxation as a REIT for the four taxable years following the year during which we lost our qualification. It is not possible to state whether in all circumstances we would be entitled to this statutory relief.

Tax Aspects of the Operating Partnership, the Subsidiary Partnerships and Limited Liability Companies

General. Substantially all of our investments are held indirectly through the operating partnership. In addition, the operating partnership holds certain of its investments indirectly through subsidiary partnerships and limited liability companies which we expect will be treated as partnerships or disregarded entities for United States federal income tax purposes. In general, entities that are classified as partnerships (or disregarded entities) for United States federal income tax purposes are “pass-through” entities which are not required to pay United States federal income tax. Rather, partners or members of such entities are allocated their shares of the items of income, gain, loss, deduction and credit of the entity, and are potentially required to pay tax on this income, without regard to whether the partners or members receive a distribution of cash from the entity. We will include in our income our proportionate share of the foregoing items for purposes of the various REIT income tests and in the computation of our real estate investment trust taxable income. Moreover, as described above under “—Asset Tests,” for purposes of the REIT asset tests, we will generally include our proportionate share of assets held by the operating partnership, including its share of assets held by its subsidiary partnerships and limited liability companies, based on our capital interests. See “—Taxation of the Company.”

Entity Classification. Our interests in the operating partnership and its subsidiary partnerships and limited liability companies involve special tax considerations, including the possibility that the IRS might challenge the status of any of these entities as a partnership (or disregarded entity), as opposed to an association taxable as a corporation for United States federal income tax purposes. If the operating partnership, a subsidiary partnership or a limited liability company were treated as an association, it would be taxable as a corporation and would be required to pay an entity-level tax on its income. In this situation, the character of our assets and items of gross income would change and could preclude us from satisfying the asset tests and possibly the income tests (see “—Taxation of the Company—Asset Tests” and “—Income Tests”). This, in turn, could prevent us from qualifying as a REIT. See “—Failure to Qualify” for a discussion of the effect of our failure to meet these tests for a taxable year. In addition, a change in the operating partnership’s, a subsidiary partnership’s or a subsidiary limited liability company’s status for tax purposes might be treated as a taxable event. If so, we might incur a tax liability without any related cash distributions.

The Company believes the operating partnership and each of its other partnerships and limited liability companies will be classified as partnerships or disregarded entities for United States federal income tax purposes.

Allocations of Income, Gain, Loss and Deduction. A partnership or limited liability company agreement will generally determine the allocation of income and losses among partners or members. These allocations, however, will be disregarded for tax purposes if they do not comply with the provisions of Section 704(b) of the Code and the related Treasury regulations. Generally, Section 704(b) of the Code and the related Treasury regulations require that partnership and limited liability company allocations respect the economic arrangement of the partners or members.

The Kilroy Realty, L.P. partnership agreement provides for preferred distributions of cash and preferred allocations of income to the holders of its preferred units. These units have been issued to us and to limited partners of the operating partnership. We will acquire additional preferred units from our limited partners upon any exchange of such units for shares of our preferred stock. In addition, upon our issuance of additional shares of preferred stock for cash or other consideration, we will contribute the net proceeds or other consideration from such issuance to the operating partnership in exchange for additional preferred units with similar terms. In general, all remaining items of income and loss will be allocated to the holders of common units in proportion to the number of common units held by each unit holder. See the discussion under “Description of Material Provisions of the Partnership Agreement of Kilroy Realty, L.P.—Allocations of Net Income and Net Losses to Partners” in our registration statement on Form S-3 filed March 1, 2011, describing the allocations of net income and net losses to partners required pursuant to the Kilroy Realty, L.P. partnership agreement. Some limited partners have agreed to guarantee debt of the operating partnership, either directly or indirectly through an agreement to make capital contributions to the operating partnership under limited circumstances. As a result, and notwithstanding the above discussion of allocations of income and loss to holders of common units, these limited partners could under limited circumstances be allocated a disproportionate amount of net loss of the operating partnership or a disproportionate amount of net income of the operating partnership to offset any such allocations of net loss.

If an allocation is not recognized by the IRS for United States federal income tax purposes, the item subject to the allocation will be reallocated in accordance with the partners’ or members’ interests in the partnership or limited liability company. This reallocation will be determined by taking into account all of the facts and circumstances relating to the economic arrangement of the partners or members with respect to such item. The operating partnership’s allocations of taxable income and loss are intended to comply with the requirements of Section 704(b) of the Code and the Treasury regulations promulgated thereunder.

Tax Allocations with Respect to the Properties. Under Section 704(c) of the Code, income, gain, loss and deduction attributable to appreciated or depreciated property that is contributed to a partnership or limited liability company in exchange for an interest in the partnership or limited liability company, must be allocated in a manner so that the contributing partner or member is charged with the unrealized gain, or benefits from the unrealized loss, associated with the property at the time of the contribution, as adjusted from time to time. The amount of the unrealized gain or unrealized loss is generally equal to the difference between the fair market value or book value and the adjusted tax basis of the property at the time of contribution. These allocations are solely for United States federal income tax purposes and do not affect the book capital accounts or other economic or legal arrangements among the partners or members. The operating partnership was formed by way of contributions of appreciated property (i.e., property having an adjusted tax basis less than its fair market value at the time of contribution). Moreover, subsequent to the formation of the operating partnership, additional appreciated property has been contributed to the operating partnership in exchange for interests in the operating partnership. The partnership agreement requires that these allocations be made in a manner consistent with Section 704(c) of the Code.

Treasury regulations issued under Section 704(c) of the Code provide partnerships and limited liability companies with a choice of several methods of accounting for book-tax differences, including retention of the “traditional method” or the election of certain methods which would permit any distortions caused by a book-tax difference to be entirely rectified on an annual basis or with respect to a specific taxable transaction such as a sale. We and the operating partnership have determined to use the “traditional method” for accounting for book-tax differences for the properties initially contributed to the operating partnership and for certain assets contributed subsequently. We and the operating partnership have not yet decided what method will be used to account for book-tax differences for properties acquired by the operating partnership in the future.

In general, the partners of the operating partnership who acquired their limited partnership interests through a contribution of appreciated property will be allocated depreciation deductions for tax purposes that are lower than such deductions would have been if they had been determined on a pro rata basis. In addition, in the event of the disposition of any of the contributed assets which have such a book-tax difference, all income attributable to such book-tax difference (as adjusted) generally will be allocated to the contributing partners. These allocations will tend to eliminate the book-tax difference over the life of the operating partnership. However, under the traditional method, the special allocation rules of Section 704(c) of the Code do not always entirely eliminate the book-tax difference on an annual basis or with respect to a specific taxable transaction such as a sale. Thus, the carryover basis of the contributed assets in the hands of the operating partnership may cause us or other partners to be allocated lower depreciation and other deductions, and possibly an amount of taxable income in the event of a sale of such contributed assets in excess of the economic or book income allocated to us or other partners as a result of the sale. Such an allocation might cause us or other partners to recognize taxable income in excess of cash proceeds, which might adversely affect our ability to comply with the REIT distribution requirements. See “—Taxation of the Company—Requirements for Qualification as a Real Estate Investment Trust” and “—Annual Distribution Requirements.”

Any property acquired by the operating partnership in a taxable transaction will initially have a tax basis equal to its fair market value, and Section 704(c) of the Code will not apply.

Tax Consequences of the Exercise of Exchange Rights

If you own common units of our operating partnership and exercise your right to require the operating partnership to acquire all or part of your common units, and we elect to acquire some or all of your common units in exchange for our common stock, the exchange will be a taxable transaction. You generally will recognize gain in an amount equal to the value of our common stock received, plus the amount of liabilities of our operating partnership allocable to your common units being exchanged, less your tax basis in those common units. In some circumstances, the tax liability resulting from the gain recognized on the exchange could exceed the fair market value of any shares of our common stock received in such exchange. The recognition of any loss is subject to a number of limitations set forth in the Code. The character of any gain or loss as capital or ordinary will depend on the nature of the assets of our operating partnership at the time of the exchange. The tax treatment of any acquisition of your common units by us in exchange for cash may be similar, depending on your circumstances. United States stockholders are advised to consult their tax advisors at the time of any such exchange, to determine the tax treatment of such exchange.

Federal Income Tax Considerations for Holders of Our Capital Stock

The following summary describes the principal United States federal income tax consequences to you of acquiring, owning and disposing of our capital stock. You should consult your tax advisors concerning the application of United States federal income tax laws to your particular situation as well as any consequences of the acquisition, ownership and disposition of our capital stock arising under the laws of any state, local or foreign taxing jurisdiction.

This summary deals only with capital stock held as a “capital asset,” which is generally property held for investment within the meaning of Section 1221 of the Code. Your tax treatment will vary depending upon your particular situation, and this discussion does not address all the tax consequences that may be relevant to you in light of your particular circumstances. State, local and foreign income tax laws may differ substantially from the corresponding United States federal income tax laws, and this discussion does not purport to describe any aspect of the tax laws of any state, local or foreign jurisdiction. In addition, this discussion does not address the tax consequences relevant to persons who receive special treatment under the United States federal income tax law, except to the extent discussed under the headings “—Taxation of Tax Exempt Stockholders” and “—Taxation of Non-United States Stockholders.” Holders of capital stock receiving special treatment include, without limitation:

•	financial institutions, banks and thrifts;

•	insurance companies;

•	tax-exempt organizations;

•	“S” corporations;

•	traders in securities that elect to mark to market;

•	partnerships or other pass-through entities and persons holding our capital stock through a partnership or other pass-through entity;

•	holders subject to the alternative minimum tax;

•	regulated investment companies and REITs;

•	foreign corporations or partnerships, and persons who are not residents or citizens of the United States;

•	broker-dealers or dealers in securities or currencies;

•	United States expatriates;

•	persons holding our capital stock as a hedge against currency risks, as part of an integrated transaction, or as a position in a straddle; or

•	United States persons whose functional currency is not the United States dollar.

When we use the term “United States stockholder,” we mean a beneficial holder of shares of our capital stock who is, for United States federal income tax purposes:

•	an individual who is a citizen or resident of the United States;

•	a corporation or other entity created or organized under the laws of the United States, any state thereof, or the District of Columbia;

•	an estate, the income of which is subject to United States federal income tax regardless of its source; or

•

a trust whose administration is subject to the primary supervision of a United States court and which has one or more United States persons who have the authority to control all substantial decisions of the trust, or a trust that has a valid election in place to be treated as a United States person.

If you hold shares of our capital stock and are not a United States stockholder, you are a “non-United States stockholder.” See “—Taxation of Non-United States Stockholders” below.

Taxation of Taxable United States Stockholders Generally

Distributions Generally. Distributions out of our current or accumulated earnings and profits, other than capital gain dividends and certain amounts previously subject to corporate level taxation as discussed below, will constitute dividends taxable to our taxable United States stockholders as ordinary income when actually or constructively received. See “—Tax Rates” below. As long as we qualify as a REIT, these distributions will not be eligible for the dividends-received deduction in the case of United States stockholders that are corporations or, except to the extent provided in “—Tax Rates” below, the preferential rates on qualified dividend income applicable to individuals. For purposes of determining whether distributions to holders of our stock are out of current or accumulated earnings and profits, our earnings and profits will be allocated first to our outstanding preferred stock and then to our outstanding common stock.

To the extent that we make distributions on our capital stock in excess of our current and accumulated earnings and profits, these distributions will be treated first as a tax-free return of capital to a United States stockholder. This treatment will reduce the adjusted tax basis which the United States stockholder has in its shares of our capital stock by the amount of the distribution, but not below zero. Distributions in excess of our current and accumulated earnings and profits and in excess of a United States stockholder’s adjusted tax basis in its shares will be taxable as capital gain. Such gain will be taxable as long-term capital gain if the shares have been held for more than one year. Dividends we declare in October, November, or December of any year and which are payable to a stockholder of record on a specified date in any of these months will be treated as both paid by us and received by the stockholder on December 31 of that year, provided we actually pay the dividend on or before January 31 of the following year. United States stockholders may not include in their own income tax returns any of our net operating losses or capital losses.

United States stockholders who receive taxable stock dividends, as described above under “Taxation of the Company—Annual Distribution Requirements,” would be required to include the full amount of the dividend (i.e., the cash and the stock portion) as ordinary income (subject to limited exceptions) to the extent of our current and accumulated earnings and profits for United States federal income tax purposes, as described above. The value of any capital stock received as part of a distribution generally is equal to the amount of cash that could have been received instead of the capital stock. Depending on the circumstances of a United States stockholder, the tax on the distribution may exceed the amount of the distribution received in cash, in which case such a United States stockholder would have to pay the tax using cash from other sources. If a United States stockholder sells the capital stock it receives as a dividend in order to pay this tax and the sales proceeds are less than the amount required to be included in income with respect to the dividend, such United States stockholder could have a capital loss with respect to the capital stock sale that could not be used to offset such dividend income. A United States stockholder that receives capital stock pursuant to a distribution generally has a tax basis in such capital stock equal to the amount of cash that could have been received instead of such capital stock as described above, and has a holding period in such capital stock that begins on the day immediately following the payment date for the distribution.

Capital Gain Dividends. Dividends that we properly designate as capital gain dividends will be taxable to our taxable United States stockholders as a gain from the sale or disposition of a capital asset, to the extent that such gain does not exceed our actual net capital gain for the taxable year. If we properly designate any portion of a dividend as a capital gain dividend then, except as otherwise required by law, we presently intend to allocate a portion of the total capital gain dividends paid or made available to holders of all classes of our capital stock for the year to the holders of each class of our capital stock in proportion to the amount that our total dividends, as determined for United States federal income tax purposes, paid or made available to the holders of each such class of stock for the year bears to the total dividends, as determined for United States federal income tax purposes, paid or made available to holders of all classes of our capital stock for the year.

Retention of Net Capital Gains. We may elect to retain, rather than distribute as a capital gain dividend, all or a portion of our net capital gains. If we make this election, we would pay tax on our retained net capital gains. In addition, to the extent we so elect, a United States stockholder generally would:

•

include its pro rata share of our undistributed net capital gains in computing its long-term capital gains in its return for its taxable year in which the last day of our taxable year falls, subject to certain limitations as to the amount that is includable;

•	be deemed to have paid the capital gains tax imposed on us on the designated amounts included in the United States stockholder’s long-term capital gains;

•	receive a credit or refund for the amount of tax deemed paid by it;

•	increase the adjusted basis of its capital stock by the difference between the amount of includable gains and the tax deemed to have been paid by it; and

•	in the case of a United States stockholder that is a corporation, appropriately adjust its earnings and profits for the retained capital gains in accordance with Treasury regulations to be issued.

Passive Activity Losses and Investment Interest Limitations. Distributions we make and gain arising from the sale or exchange by a United States stockholder of our shares will not be treated as passive activity income. As a result, United States stockholders generally will not be able to apply any “passive losses” against this income or gain. A United States stockholder may elect to treat capital gain dividends, capital gains from the disposition of stock and qualified dividend income as investment income for purposes of computing the investment interest limitation, but in such case, the stockholder will be taxed at ordinary income rates on such amount. Other distributions made by us, to the extent they do not constitute a return of capital, generally will be treated as investment income for purposes of computing the investment interest limitation.

Dispositions of Our Capital Stock. If a United States stockholder sells or disposes of shares of capital stock to a person other than us, it will recognize gain or loss for United States federal income tax purposes in an amount equal to the difference between the amount of cash and the fair market value of any property received on the sale or other disposition and the holder’s adjusted tax basis in the shares for tax purposes. This gain or loss, except as provided below, will be long-term capital gain or loss if the holder has held the capital stock for more than one year at the time of such sale or disposition. However, if a United States stockholder recognizes loss upon the sale or other disposition of capital stock that it has held for six months or less, after applying certain holding period rules, the loss recognized will be treated as a long-term capital loss to the extent the United States stockholder received distributions from us which were required to be treated as long-term capital gains.

Redemption or Repurchase by Us. A redemption or repurchase of shares of our stock will be treated under Section 302 of the Code as a distribution taxable as a dividend to the extent of our current and accumulated earnings and profits at ordinary income rates unless the redemption or repurchase satisfies one of the tests set forth in Section 302(b) of the Code and is therefore treated as a sale or exchange of the redeemed or repurchased shares. The redemption or repurchase will be treated as a sale or exchange if it:

•	is “substantially disproportionate” with respect to the U.S. stockholder;

•	results in a “complete termination” of the U.S. stockholder’s stock interest in us; or

•	is “not essentially equivalent to a dividend” with respect to the U.S. stockholder,

all within the meaning of Section 302(b) of the Code.

In determining whether any of these tests have been met, shares of capital stock, including common stock and other equity interests in us, considered to be owned by the United States stockholder by reason of certain constructive ownership rules set forth in the Code, as well as shares of our capital stock actually owned by the United States stockholder, must generally be taken into account. Because the determination as to whether any of the alternative tests of Section 302(b) of the Code will be satisfied with respect to the United States stockholder depends upon the facts and circumstances at the time that the determination must be made, United States stockholders are advised to consult their tax advisors to determine such tax treatment.

If a redemption or repurchase of shares of our stock is treated as a distribution taxable as a dividend, the amount of the distribution will be measured by the amount of cash and the fair market value of any property received. See “—Distributions Generally.” A United States stockholder’s adjusted basis in the redeemed or repurchased shares of the stock for tax purposes will be transferred to its remaining shares of our capital stock, if any. If a United States stockholder owns no other shares of our capital stock, such basis may, under certain circumstances, be transferred to a related person or it may be lost entirely. Proposed Treasury regulations issued in 2009, if enacted in their current form, would affect the basis recovery rules described above. It is not clear whether these proposed regulations will be enacted in their current form or at all. Prospective investors should consult their tax advisors regarding the federal income tax consequences of a redemption or repurchase of our capital stock.

If a redemption or repurchase of shares of our stock is not treated as a distribution taxable as a dividend, it will be treated as a taxable sale or exchange in the manner described under “—Dispositions of Our Capital Stock.”

Tax Rates. Beginning January 1, 2013, the maximum tax rate for non-corporate taxpayers for capital gains, including certain “capital gain dividends,” is generally 20% (although depending on the characteristics of the assets that produced these gains and on designations that we may make, certain capital gain dividends may be taxed at a 25% rate). Capital gain dividends will only be eligible for the rates describe above to the extent they are properly designated by the REIT as “capital gain dividends.” The maximum tax rate for non-corporate taxpayers for income that the REIT properly designates as “qualified dividend income” is generally 20%. However, dividends payable by REITs are not eligible for the 20% tax rate on qualified dividend income, except to the extent that certain holding requirements have been met and the REIT’s dividends are attributable to dividends received from taxable corporations (such as its taxable REIT subsidiaries) or to income that was subject to tax at the corporate/REIT level (for example, if the REIT distributed taxable income that it retained and paid tax on in the prior taxable year). In addition, United States stockholders that are corporations may be required to treat up to 20% of some capital gain dividends as ordinary income.

Medicare Tax on Unearned Income. Certain United States stockholders that are individuals, estates or trusts are required to pay an additional 3.8% tax on, among other things, dividends on and capital gains from the sale or other disposition of stock. United States stockholders should consult their tax advisors regarding the effect, if any, of these rules on their ownership and disposition of our capital stock.

Backup Withholding. We report to our United States stockholders and the IRS the amount of dividends paid during each calendar year, and the amount of any tax withheld. Under the backup withholding rules, a United States stockholder may be subject to backup withholding with respect to dividends paid unless the United States stockholder is a corporation or comes within certain other exempt categories and, when required, demonstrates this fact, or provides a taxpayer identification number, certifies as to no loss of exemption from backup withholding, and otherwise complies with applicable requirements of the backup withholding rules. A United States stockholder that does not provide us with its correct taxpayer identification number may also be subject to penalties imposed by the IRS. Backup withholding is not an additional tax. Any amount paid as backup withholding will be creditable against the United States stockholder’s United States federal income tax liability, provided the required information is timely furnished to the IRS. In addition, we may be required to withhold a portion of capital gain distributions to any stockholders who fail to certify their non-foreign status. See “—Taxation of Non-United States Stockholders.”

Foreign Accounts. Certain payments made to “foreign financial institutions” in respect of accounts of United States stockholders at such financial institutions may be subject to withholding at a rate of 30%. United States stockholders should consult their tax advisors regarding the effect, if any, of these withholding provisions on their ownership and disposition of our capital stock. See “—Taxation of Non-United States Stockholders—Foreign Accounts.”

Taxation of Tax Exempt Stockholders.

Dividend income from us and gain arising upon a sale of shares generally will not be unrelated business taxable income to a tax-exempt stockholder, except as described below. This income or gain will be unrelated business taxable income, however, if a tax-exempt stockholder holds its shares as “debt-financed property” within the meaning of the Code. Generally, debt-financed property is property, the acquisition or holding of which was financed through a borrowing by the tax-exempt stockholder.

For tax-exempt stockholders which are social clubs, voluntary employee benefit associations, supplemental unemployment benefit trusts, or qualified group legal services plans exempt from United States federal income taxation under Sections 501(c)(7), (c)(9), (c)(17) or (c)(20) of the Code, respectively, income from an investment in our shares will constitute unrelated business taxable income unless the organization is able to properly claim a deduction for amounts set aside or placed in reserve for specific purposes so as to offset the income generated by its investment in our shares. These prospective investors should consult their tax advisors concerning these “set aside” and reserve requirements.

Notwithstanding the above, however, a portion of the dividends paid by a “pension-held REIT” may be treated as unrelated business taxable income as to some trusts that hold more than 10%, by value, of the interests in the REIT. A REIT will not be a “pension-held REIT” if it is able to satisfy the “not closely held” requirement without relying on the “look-through” exception with respect to certain trusts, or if such REIT is not “predominantly held” by “qualified trusts.” As a result of limitations on the transfer and ownership of stock contained in our charter, we do not expect to be classified as a “pension-held REIT,” and as a result, the tax treatment described in this paragraph should be inapplicable to our stockholders. However, because our stock will be publicly traded, we cannot guarantee that this will always be the case.

Taxation of Non-United States Stockholders

The following discussion addresses the rules governing United States federal income taxation of the ownership and disposition of our capital stock by non-United States stockholders. These rules are complex, and no attempt is made herein to provide more than a brief summary of such rules. Accordingly, the discussion does not address all aspects of United States federal income taxation and does not address any state, local or foreign tax consequences that may be relevant to a non-United States stockholder in light of its particular circumstances. We urge non-United States stockholders to consult their tax advisors to determine the impact of United States federal, state, local and foreign income tax laws on the acquisition, ownership, and disposition of shares of our capital stock, including any reporting requirements.

Distributions Generally. Distributions that are neither attributable to gain from our sale or exchange of United States real property interests nor designated by us as capital gain dividends will be treated as dividends of ordinary income to the extent that they are made out of our current or accumulated earnings and profits. Such distributions ordinarily will be subject to withholding of United States federal income tax at a 30% rate or such lower rate as may be specified by an applicable income tax treaty unless the distributions are treated as effectively connected with the conduct by the non-United States stockholder of a United States trade or business. Under certain treaties, however, lower withholding rates generally applicable to dividends do not apply to dividends from a REIT. Certain certification and disclosure requirements must be satisfied to be exempt from withholding under the effectively connected income exemption. Dividends that are treated as effectively connected with such a trade or business will be subject to tax on a net basis at graduated rates, in the same manner as dividends paid to United States stockholders are subject to tax, and are generally not subject to withholding. Any such dividends received by a non-United States stockholder that is a corporation may also be subject to an additional branch profits tax at a 30% rate (applicable after deducting United States federal income taxes paid on such effectively connected income) or such lower rate as may be specified by an applicable income tax treaty.

For withholding purposes, we expect to treat all distributions as made out of our current or accumulated earnings and profits. As a result, except as otherwise provided below, we expect to withhold United States income tax at the rate of 30% on any distributions made to a non-United States stockholder unless:

•	a lower treaty rate applies and the non-United States stockholder files with us an IRS Form W-8BEN evidencing eligibility for that reduced treaty rate; or

•	the non-United States stockholder files an IRS Form W-8ECI with us claiming that the distribution is income effectively connected with the non-United States stockholder’s trade or business.

However, amounts withheld should generally be refundable if it is subsequently determined that the distribution was, in fact, in excess of our current and accumulated earnings and profits, provided that certain conditions are met.

Distributions in excess of our current and accumulated earnings and profits will not be taxable to a non-United States stockholder to the extent that such distributions do not exceed the non-United States stockholder’s adjusted basis in our capital stock, but rather will reduce the adjusted basis of such capital stock. To the extent that these distributions exceed a non-United States stockholder’s adjusted basis in our capital stock, they will give rise to gain from the sale or exchange of such stock. The tax treatment of this gain is described below.

Capital Gain Dividends and Distributions Attributable to a Sale or Exchange of United States Real Property Interests. Distributions to a non-United States stockholder that we properly designate as capital gain dividends, other than those arising from the disposition of a United States real property interest, generally should not be subject to United States federal income taxation, unless:

1)	the investment in our capital stock is treated as effectively connected with the non-United States stockholder’s United States trade or business, in which case the non-United States stockholder will be subject to the same treatment as United States stockholders with respect to such gain, except that a non-United States stockholder that is a foreign corporation may also be subject to the 30% branch profits tax, as discussed above; or

2)	the non-United States stockholder is a nonresident alien individual who is present in the United States for 183 days or more during the taxable year and certain other conditions are met, in which case the nonresident alien individual will be subject to a 30% tax on the individual’s capital gains.

Pursuant to the Foreign Investment in Real Property Tax Act, or FIRPTA, distributions to a non-United States stockholder that are attributable to gain from our sale or exchange of United States real property interests (whether or not designated as capital gain dividends) will cause the non-United States stockholder to be treated as recognizing such gain as income effectively connected with a United States trade or business. Non-United States stockholders would generally be taxed at the same rates applicable to United States stockholders. We also will be required to withhold and to remit to the IRS 35% (or 20% to the extent provided in Treasury regulations) of any distribution to non-United States stockholders to the extent attributable to gain from sales or exchanges by us of USRPIs. The amount withheld is creditable against the non-United States stockholder’s United States federal income tax liability. However, any distribution with respect to any class of stock which is regularly traded on an established securities market located in the United States is not subject to FIRPTA, and therefore, not subject to the 35% U.S. withholding tax described above, if the non-United States stockholder did not own more than 5% of such class of stock at any time during the one-year period ending on the date of the distribution. Instead, such distributions generally will be treated in the same manner as ordinary dividend distributions.

Retention of Net Capital Gains. Although the law is not clear on the matter, it appears that amounts we designate as retained capital gains in respect of the capital stock held by United States stockholders generally should be treated with respect to non-United States stockholders in the same manner as actual distributions by us of capital gain dividends. Under this approach, a non-United States stockholder would be able to offset as a credit against its United States federal income tax liability resulting from its proportionate share of the tax we pay on such retained capital gains, and to receive from the IRS a refund to the extent its proportionate share of such tax paid by us exceeds its actual United States federal income tax liability.

Sale of Our Capital Stock. Gain recognized by a non-United States stockholder upon the sale or exchange of our capital stock generally will not be subject to United States federal income taxation unless such stock constitutes a “United States real property interest” within the meaning of FIRPTA. Our capital stock will not constitute a “United States real property interest” so long as we are a “domestically-controlled qualified investment entity.” A “domestically-controlled qualified investment entity” includes a REIT in which at all times during a specified testing period less than 50% in value of its stock is held directly or indirectly by non-United States stockholders. We believe, but cannot guarantee, that we have been a “domestically-controlled qualified investment entity.” Even if we have been a “domestically-controlled qualified investment entity,” because our capital stock is publicly traded, no assurance can be given that we will continue to be a “domestically-controlled qualified investment entity.”

Notwithstanding the foregoing, gain from the sale or exchange of our capital stock not otherwise subject to FIRPTA will be taxable to a non-United States stockholder if either (1) the investment in our capital stock is treated as effectively connected with the non-United States stockholder’s United States trade or business or (2) the non-United States stockholder is a nonresident alien individual who is present in the United States for 183 days or more during the taxable year and certain other conditions are met. In addition, in general, even if we are a domestically controlled qualified investment entity, upon disposition of our capital stock, a non-United States stockholder may be treated as having gain from the sale or exchange of United States real property interest if the non-United States stockholder (or certain of its affiliate or related parties) (1) disposes of our capital stock within a 30-day period preceding the ex-dividend date of a distribution, any portion of which, but for the disposition, would have been treated as gain from the sale or exchange of a United States real property interest and (2) acquires, or enters into a contract or option to acquire, or is deemed to acquire, other shares of our capital stock during the 61-day period beginning with the first day of the 30-day period described in clause (1). The preceding sentence shall not apply to a non-United States stockholder if the non-United States stockholder did not own more than 5% of the stock at any time during the one-year period ending on the date of the distribution described in clause (1) of the preceding sentence and the class of stock as ‘‘regularly traded,’’ as defined by applicable Treasury regulations. Non-United States stockholders should contact their tax advisors regarding the tax consequences of any sale, exchange, or other taxable disposition of our capital stock.

Even if we do not qualify as a “domestically-controlled qualified investment entity” at the time a non-United States stockholder sells or exchanges our capital stock, gain arising from such a sale or exchange would not be subject to United States taxation under FIRPTA as a sale of a “United States real property interest” if:

1)	our capital stock is “regularly traded,” as defined by applicable Treasury regulations, on an established securities market such as the New York Stock Exchange; and

2)	such non-United States stockholder owned, actually and constructively, 5% or less of our capital stock throughout the applicable testing period.

If gain on the sale or exchange of our capital stock were subject to taxation under FIRPTA, the non-United States stockholder would be subject to regular United States federal income tax with respect to such gain in the same manner as a taxable United States stockholder. In addition, if the stock is not then traded on an established securities market, the purchaser of the capital stock would be required to withhold and remit to the IRS 10% of the purchase price. If amounts withheld on a sale, redemption, repurchase, or exchange of our capital stock exceed the holder’s substantive tax liability resulting from such disposition, such excess may be refunded or credited against such holder’s United States federal income tax liability, provided that the required information is provided to the IRS on a timely basis. Amounts withheld on any such sale, exchange or other taxable disposition of our capital stock may not satisfy a non-United States stockholder’s entire tax liability under FIRPTA, and such holder remains liable for the timely payment of any remaining tax liability.

Backup Withholding and Information Reporting. Generally, we must report annually to the IRS the amount of dividends paid to a non-United States stockholder, such stockholder’s name and address, and the amount of tax withheld, if any. A similar report is sent to the non-United States stockholder. Pursuant to tax treaties or other agreements, the IRS may make its reports available to tax authorities in the non-United States stockholder’s country of residence.

Payments of dividends or of proceeds from the disposition of stock made to a non-United States stockholder may be subject to information reporting and backup withholding unless such stockholder establishes an exemption, for example, by properly certifying its non-United States status on an IRS Form W-8BEN or another appropriate version of IRS Form W-8. Notwithstanding the foregoing, backup withholding and information reporting may apply if either the Company has or its paying agent has actual knowledge, or reason to know, that a holder is a United States person. Backup withholding is not an additional tax. Rather, the United States federal income tax liability of persons subject to backup withholding will be reduced by the amount of tax withheld. If withholding results in an overpayment of taxes, a refund or credit may be obtained, provided that the required information is timely furnished to the IRS.

Foreign Accounts. Withholding taxes may apply to certain types of payments made to “foreign financial institutions” (as defined in the Code) and certain other non-United States entities (including payments to United States stockholders who hold shares of our stock through such a foreign financial institution or non-U.S. entity). Specifically, a 30% withholding tax may be imposed on dividends on, and gross proceeds from the sale or other disposition of, our capital stock paid to a foreign financial institution or to a non-financial foreign entity, unless (1) the foreign financial institution undertakes certain diligence and reporting, (2) the non-financial foreign entity either certifies it does not have any substantial United States owners or furnishes identifying information regarding each substantial United States owner, or (3) the foreign financial institution or non-financial foreign entity otherwise qualifies for an exemption from these rules. If the payee is a foreign financial institution and is subject to the diligence and reporting requirements in clause (1) above, in order to avoid the imposition of such withholding, it generally must undertake to identify accounts held by certain United States persons or United States-owned foreign entities, annually report certain information about such accounts to the IRS (or, in some cases, local tax authorities), and withhold 30% on payments it makes to non-compliant foreign financial institutions and certain other account holders. Foreign financial institutions located in jurisdictions that have an intergovernmental agreement with the United States governing these withholding and reporting requirements may be subject to different rules.

The IRS has issued final Treasury regulations and additional guidance providing that the withholding provisions described above will generally apply to payments of dividends made on or after July 1, 2014 and to payments of gross proceeds from a sale or other disposition of capital stock on or after January 1, 2017. Because we may not know the extent to which a distribution is a dividend for United States federal income tax purposes at the time it is made, for purposes of these withholding rules we may treat the entire distribution as a dividend. Prospective investors should consult their tax advisors regarding these withholding provisions.

Other Tax Consequences

State, local and foreign income tax laws may differ substantially from the corresponding United States federal income tax laws, and this discussion does not purport to describe any aspect of the tax laws of any state, local or foreign jurisdiction. You should consult your tax advisors regarding the effect of state, local and foreign tax laws with respect to our tax treatment as a REIT and on an investment in our capital stock.