NovaStar Financial
(NYSE-NFI)

2007 Second Quarter Earnings

Conference Call

August 13, 2007

Safe Harbor Statement

This presentation contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, regarding management's
beliefs, estimates, projections, and assumptions with respect to, among other things, our future operations, business plans and strategies, as well as industry and market
conditions, all of which are subject to change at any time without notice. Actual results and operations for any future period may vary materially from those projected
herein and from past results. Some important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those anticipated include: our ability to manage and operate
our business during this difficult period for the subprime industry; our ability to consummate our recently announced transactions, including the rights offering and the
transactions contemplated by the Standby Purchase Agreement, on their current terms; our ability to generate and maintain sufficient liquidity on favorable terms; the
size, frequency and structure of our securitizations; our ability to originate and sell loans at a profit; impairments on our mortgage assets; increases in prepayment or
default rates on our mortgage assets; increases in loan repurchase requests; changes in the types of products we offer; inability of potential borrowers to meet our
underwriting guidelines; changes in assumptions regarding estimated loan losses and fair value amounts; our ability to improve and maintain effective internal control
over financial reporting and disclosure controls and procedures in the future; finalization of the amount and terms of any severance provided to terminated employees;
finalization of the accounting impact of  our previously announced reduction in workforce; events impacting the subprime mortgage industry in general, including events
impacting our competitors and liquidity available to the industry; the initiation of margin calls under our credit facilities; the ability of our servicing operations to
maintain high performance standards and maintain appropriate ratings from rating agencies; our ability to generate acceptable origination volume while maintaining an
acceptable level of overhead; residential property values; our continued status as a REIT and our compliance with laws and regulations applicable to REIT’s; interest rate
fluctuations on our assets that differ from our liabilities; our ability to acquire mortgage insurance at favorable prices or at all; the outcome of litigation or regulatory
actions pending against us or other legal contingencies; our compliance with applicable local, state and federal laws and regulations or opinions of counsel relating
thereto and the impact of new local, state or federal legislation or regulations or opinions of counsel relating thereto or court decisions on our operations; our ability to
adapt to and implement technological changes; compliance with new accounting pronouncements; our ability to successfully integrate acquired businesses or assets with
our existing business; the impact of general economic conditions; and the risks that are from time to time included in our filings with the SEC, including our Annual
Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2006, our quarterly report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended March 31, 2007, and our quarterly report on Form
10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2007. Other factors not presently identified may also cause actual results to differ. Words such as "believe," "expect," "anticipate,"
"promise," "plan," and other expressions or words of similar meanings, as well as future or conditional verbs such as "will," "would," "should," "could," or "may" are
generally intended to identify forward-looking statements. This presentation speaks only as of its date and we expressly disclaim any duty to update t
he information herein.

Q2 Earnings Review
Greg Metz, CFO

Key Metrics

Key Metrics

Portfolio Review

Residual Securities

$(23) mil impairment

Trading securities financed with CDO debt

$ (31) mil mark-to-market on assets

$ 23 mil mark-to-market on liabilities

$(8) net change

Trading securities (pre-CDO)

$(9) mil mark-to-market

On-balance sheet securitizations

2006-1 $(14) mil provision

2006-1MTA $(1) mil provision

2007-1 $(58) mil provision

Mortgage Portfolio
Management

Mortgage Lending

Loan Servicing

Convertible Preferred
Initial Investment

On July 16, 2007, MassMutual and Jefferies Capital Partners each
paid $24.4 million for 9% Series D-1 convertible preferred stock
with a total face value of $52.5 million

Convertible into 1.875 million shares of common at any time, at
the option of the holders, with initial conversion price of $28.00

After 3 years may be converted at NovaStar’s option under
specified circumstances

Mandatory conversion in 9 years

Shareholder Rights Offering
and Backstop

Proposed $101.2 million Rights Offering is expected to commence promptly after
there is an effective registration statement filed with the SEC with respect to the
offering

The Series D-2 Preferred shares will rank pari passu with the Series D-1
Preferred shares

Series D-2 convertible preferred shares initially will be convertible into 3.625
million shares with a $28.00 conversion price

Will be convertible into common at any time at option of the holders

After 3 years may be converted at NovaStar’s option under specified
circumstances

At the end of 9 years will mandatorily convert to common

The commencement of the contemplated Rights Offering is subject to certain conditions, principally the effectiveness of a registration statement filed with the
Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) with respect to the offered shares.

An overview of the process regarding the distribution and exercise of the Rights will be the subject of a separate presentation when the Company proceeds with
the Rights Offering, and the details will be the subject of a registration statement.  This presentation is not intended to constitute an offer to sell or any solicitation
of an offer to buy any security in the Rights Offering.  The Rights Offering will only be made by means of a prospectus pursuant to an effective registration
statement.

Shareholder Rights Offering
and Backstop

Common shareholders and Series D-1 will receive a non-
transferable Right to purchase their pro-rata share of Series D-2
preferred offered in the Rights Offering

Subscribers, other than MassMutual and Jefferies Capital Partners,
who exercise their Rights in full may oversubscribe

MassMutual and Jefferies Capital Partners entered into a standby
purchase agreement, subject to customary conditions, in which they
have agreed to  purchase any of the unsubscribed securities offered
to existing NovaStar shareholders in the Rights Offering, up to the
total of $101.2 million

Holders are expected to have at least 20 business days to exercise the Rights after commencement of the offering.

Mortgage Banking Review
Lance Anderson, President & COO

Origination Environment

Fewer competitors exist today as many have closed their
doors

Fewer products available to borrowers

Illiquid whole-loan market

Guidelines have tightened and rates are higher for most
originators

Expect lower origination activity in the third quarter

Production

Production
Channels

NovaStar Mortgage
Banking Outlook

Secondary markets have uncertainty

Expect third quarter volume substantially below that of the
second quarter

The wholesale channel will be affected more than the retail
channel

Cost to fund a loan will rise with lower volume

Questions

Exhibit 1