                                                                    Exhibit 99.2

   NovaStar Financial, Inc. Intends to Request a Review of NYSE Determination
        That It Does Not Meet Applicable Listing Standards and Announces
                       Exploration of Alternative Markets

KANSAS CITY, Mo.,  October 17, 2007 - NovaStar  Financial,  Inc. (NYSE:  NFI), a
residential mortgage portfolio manager, today announced that it has been advised
by the staff of NYSE  Regulation,  Inc. that the company's  Common Stock (ticker
symbol: NFI) and its 8.90% Class C Cumulative Redeemable Preferred Stock (ticker
symbol:  NFI PR C) no longer meet applicable  standards for continued listing on
the  New  York  Stock  Exchange  due to a  previously  announced  change  in the
company's  corporate  structure.  NovaStar  intends  to request a review of this
determination  and will  explore  alternative  arrangements  for the  listing or
quoting of its common and preferred stock. The company's securities are expected
to continue  to trade on the NYSE  pending  review of the NYSE's  determination.
There can be no assurances  that the company will receive a favorable  review of
the staff's determination or, if its securities are delisted from the NYSE, that
they will  trade in another  securities  marketplace.

On September 17, 2007,  NovaStar  announced a decision not to declare a dividend
related to its 2006  taxable  income,  causing  the  company's  status as a Real
Estate  Investment  Trust (REIT) to terminate,  retroactive  to January 1, 2006.
NovaStar now operates as a C corporation, and this change in corporate structure
requires  the  Company  to  satisfy  the  criteria  for  original  listing  as a
corporation.  Given the current  market  capitalization  of  NovaStar  and other
factors,  the NYSE has advised the  company  that it does not meet the  original
listing requirements for a corporation.

Under NYSE  procedures,  a listed  company  has the right to a review of a staff
determination  by a Committee of the Board of Directors of NYSE. The request for
review must be filed in writing  within 10  business  days after  receiving  the
notice of the  staff's  determination.  The  company's  understanding  is that a
suspension  date will be announced by the NYSE if the company  fails to properly
request a review within the applicable 10-day period, if the Committee's  review
upholds  the  staff's  determination,  or if the  Company is  approved  to begin
trading in another securities  marketplace.  The NYSE has indicated that it may,
at any time,  suspend a security if it believes that  continued  dealings in the
security on the NYSE are not advisable.

About NovaStar

NovaStar Financial, Inc. (NYSE: NFI) is a specialty finance company that focuses
on  single-family  mortgage loans and  mortgage-backed  securities.  NovaStar is
headquartered in Kansas City, Missouri.

For    more     information,     please     reference     our     website     at
http://www.novastarmortgage.com.

This Press Release  contains  forward-looking  statements  within the meaning of
Section  21E of the  Securities  Exchange  Act of 1934,  as  amended,  regarding
management's beliefs, estimates,  projections,  and assumptions with respect to,
among other things,  our future  operations,  business

plans and strategies,  as well as industry and market  conditions,  all of which
are subject to change at any time without notice.  Actual results and operations
for any future period may vary materially  from those projected  herein and from
past results.  Some important  factors that could cause actual results to differ
materially from those anticipated include: our ability to consummate the sale of
substantially all of our mortgage servicing rights and servicing  advances;  our
ability to continue the operation of our mortgage servicing business pending the
sale  of  substantially  all of our  mortgage  servicing  rights  and  servicing
advances;  our ability to manage and operate our business  during this difficult
period  for the  subprime  industry;  our  ability  to  effectively  manage  our
portfolio and our brokering  business in light of recent changes to our business
and the subprime  industry;  our ability to continue as a "going  concern";  the
effect of our inability to consummate our recently  announced  transactions with
MassMutual  and Jefferies on our business;  our ability to generate and maintain
sufficient liquidity on favorable terms or at all; the impact of the loss of our
REIT status as of January 1, 2006,  on our financial  statements,  liquidity and
covenants  under  certain of our  financing  agreements;  our  ability to obtain
necessary  waivers of, or amendments  to,  covenants  contained in our financing
agreements;  the  impact  of the  sale  of our  mortgage  servicing  rights  and
servicing  advances on our financial  statements;  our ability to recommence our
wholesale  business or expand our retail business if market conditions  improve;
our  ability to remain  listed on the NYSE;  our ability to  originate  and sell
loans at a profit  and under  favorable  terms,  or at all,  under  the  current
circumstances;  impairments on our mortgage  assets;  increases in prepayment or
default rates on our mortgage assets; increases in loan repurchase requests; our
ability to use our net loss  carryforwards  and net unrealized  built-in losses;
changes in the types of products we offer;  inability of potential  borrowers to
meet our underwriting  guidelines;  changes in assumptions  regarding  estimated
loan  losses and fair  value  amounts;  our  ability  to  improve  and  maintain
effective internal control over financial  reporting and disclosure controls and
procedures  in the  future;  our ability to operate  effectively  with a reduced
workforce;  finalization  of the amount and terms of any  severance  provided to
terminated  employees;  finalization of the accounting  impact of our previously
announced  reductions  in  workforce;  events  impacting  the subprime  mortgage
industry in general,  including  events  impacting our competitors and liquidity
available  to the  industry;  the  initiation  of margin  calls under our credit
facilities; the ability of our servicing operations to maintain high performance
standards and maintain appropriate ratings from rating agencies;  our ability to
generate  acceptable  income while  maintaining an acceptable level of overhead;
residential  property  values;  interest  rate  fluctuations  on our assets that
differ from our  liabilities;  the outcome of litigation  or regulatory  actions
pending  against us or other legal  contingencies,  including the outcome of the
previously  disclosed  California  case; our compliance with  applicable  local,
state and federal laws and regulations or opinions of counsel  relating  thereto
and the impact of new local,  state or federal  legislation  or  regulations  or
opinions of counsel relating  thereto or court decisions on our operations;  our
ability to adapt to and implement  technological  changes;  compliance  with new
accounting  pronouncements;  the impact of general economic conditions;  and the
risks that are from time to time included in our filings with the SEC, including
our  Annual  Report on Form  10-K for the year  ended  December  31,  2006,  our
quarterly  reports on Form 10-Q for the periods  ending March 31, 2007, and June
30, 2007.  Other factors not presently  identified may also cause actual results
to differ. Words such as "believe," "expect,"  "anticipate,"  "promise," "plan,"
"intend" and other expressions or words of similar  meanings,  as well as future
or conditional  verbs such as "will," "would,"  "should,"  "could," or "may" are

generally intended to identify  forward-looking  statements.  This press release
speaks  only as of its date and we  expressly  disclaim  any duty to update  the
information herein.

Media Relations Contact
Richard M. Johnson
913.649.8885
Investor Relations Contact
Jeffrey A. Gentle
816.237.7424