EEI Conference C. John Wilder Chief Executive Officer November 7, 2006 Exhibit 99.1

Safe Harbor Statement
This presentation contains forward-looking statements, which are subject to various risks and uncertainties.
Discussion of risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from management's
current projections, forecasts, estimates and expectations is contained in the company's SEC filings.
Specifically, the company makes reference to the section entitled “Risk Factors” in its annual and quarterly
reports, particularly the risk factor relating to its new build program in Texas. In addition to the risks and
uncertainties set forth in the company's SEC filings, the forward-looking statements in this presentation could
be affected by actions of rating agencies, the ability of the company to attract and retain profitable
customers, changes in demand for electricity, the impact of weather, changes in wholesale electricity prices
or energy commodity prices, the company’s ability to hedge against changes in commodity prices and
market heat rates, the company’s ability to fund certain investments described herein, delays in approval of,
or failure to obtain, air and other environmental permits and the ability of the company to resolve the consent
decree issue regarding the new Sandow 5 unit, changes in competitive market rules, changes in
environmental laws or regulations, changes in electric generation and emissions control technologies,
changes in projected demand for electricity, the ability of the company and its contractors to attract and
retain skilled labor, at projected rates, for planning and building new generating units, changes in the cost
and availability of materials necessary for the planned new generation units, the ability of the company to
negotiate and finalize engineering, procurement and construction contracts for its reference plants in a
timely manner and at projected costs, the ability of the company to manage the significant construction
program to a timely conclusion with limited cost overruns, the ability of the company to implement the
initiatives that are part of its performance improvement program and growth strategy and the terms under
which the company executes those initiatives, and the decisions made and actions taken as a result of the
company’s financial and growth strategies, and with respect to the InfrastruX Energy joint venture, the
amount of time the PUC takes to review the transaction and the results of such review.

Today’s Agenda
Financial
Outlook
Short-term Financial Growth
Financial Sensitivities
Long-term Sources And Uses Of
Cash
Business Unit
Strategies
TXU Development/TXU Construction
TXU Power
TXU Wholesale
TXU Energy
TXU Electric Delivery
Generation
Growth Plan
America’s Power Challenge
The Texas Solution
A National Solution

TXU’s Long-Term Objectives…
1. Drive 3-5% annual improvement in reliability, efficiency, and
service
2. Meet Texas’ growing demand for power with 9 GW of new baseload
power generation
3. Maintain Texas residential market share by profitably gaining
customers and providing innovative products and services
4. Leverage superior baseload operations, construction expertise,
and structuring skills to build a 10 GW business in other
competitive US markets
5. Continue to enhance business through building strong
management and ensuring the financial risk profile is
commensurate with the business risk profile

…Will Be Executed By Businesses That Compete Across The
Entire Value Chain
Generation
TXU Power
2
nd
largest
deregulated
output
Low-cost lignite
reserves
63 TWh of
baseload
production in
gas on the
margin market
Industry-leading
performance
and reliability
Transmission
and
Distribution
TXU Electric
Delivery
6
th
largest T&D
company
Top quartile costs
and reliability
High growth region
Efficient capital
recovery
No commodity
exposure
No retail customers
Retail
TXU Energy
Large scale
competitive
retailer
Loyal
customers
Strong brand
recognition
Superior
service
Wholesale
TXU Wholesale
Access to
largest ERCOT
generation
fleet
Access to
largest ERCOT
retail position
Incumbent
regulatory
advocacy and
market design
expertise
Power
Development/
Construction
Company
9 GW active
development
program
Up to 3 GW per
year phase 2
development
program
Advantaged
construction
model
Active customer
solutions
business

TXU Power Development/Construction…
To become the
leading originator
and constructor of
baseload generation
throughout the US
Develop steady
pipeline of baseload
opportunities to add
3 GW of new capacity
annually
Construct baseload
generation 35%
cheaper and faster
and make 5% yearly
improvement
Originate long-term
off-take agreements
and equity sell
downs to ensure 30%
of construction is
sold forward
PJM Development
Program
Incumbent Customer
Solutions Strategy
Industrial Partnerships
National Advocacy
Initiative
Proprietary Construction
Whole System Approach
Advantaged Relationships
With Top Contractors And
Manufacturers
Low-cost Country, Scaled
Sourcing Program
Learning Curve Codification
Program
Muni/Co-op Solutions
Industrial Solutions
Equity Partnership
Solutions
Mission
Objectives
Strategies

…Is Focused On Driving Advantages In Construction Costs
And Origination Channels
1,100
1,600
2,000
Recent
anecdotes
US average TXU target
Leveraging scale to redefine costs…
06E; $/KW
…and construction time…
06; Months
…following other successful build programs…
Kerr McGee Deepwater platform costs
96-04; Index=100
…and locking up forward Texas power sales
Incremental Municipal and Cooperative load
05-15E; Percent
31%
42%
27%
Active
negotiations
Targeted demand
Demand not
targeted
100% = 3.6 GW
0
25
50
75
100
96 97 98 99 00 01 02 03 04
30% learning
curve factor
50 50
32
Recent
antecdotes
US average TXU target

TXU Power…
To become the safest
and most productive
operator of baseload
generation in the US
Achieve industry
leading safety
performance
Achieve top decile
reliability and
operating cost
performance
Sustain year-over-
year real productivity
improvements of 5%
across all operations
Safety-first Attitude
Embedded In Culture
Comprehensive
Training Program
Safety Recognition And
Incentive Programs
Reliability Centered
Maintenance Program
Worldwide Supply Chain
Management
Reliability Optimization
Initiative
Power Optimization Center
Integration
TXU Operating
System Phase II
Industrial
Partnerships/ Global
Best Practices
TXU Academy
Mission
Objectives
Strategies

60
70
80
90
100
60 70 80 90 100
60
70
80
90
100
10 20 30 40 50
Top decile
03
05
08E
… Is Focused On Delivering Year-Over-Year Generation
Performance Improvement
Capacity factor vs non-fuel O&M
03-08E; Percent, $/KW-yr
0.07
0.00 0.00
EEI top
decile
05 YTD 06
…combined with superior coal operations…
Industry-leading safety performance…
…and a focus on continuous improvement …a top-performing nuclear operation…
3
2 2
1
7
Refining Steel Telecom TXU Power
(05-08E)
US Gen-
eration
Industry annual productivity improvements
83-03; Percent
Baseload plant lost time rate
05-06; Incidents/200k hrs
Top decile
03
05
08E
Capacity factor vs non-fuel O&M
2
03-08E; Percent, $/KW-yr
1 Average of EEI top decile fossil & nuclear lost time rate
2 Normalized for outages & non recurring expenses
1

TXU Wholesale…
Deliver best in class
energy management
services to internal
and external
customers
Optimize value and
manage risk across
TXU native assets
Develop and expand
wholesale market
presence
Provide proprietary
commodity insights
and perform market
advocacy
Retail Risk Mitigation
Initiative
Commodity Hedging
Program
Risk Management
Culture
Systems/Process
Initiative
Fundamentals And
Quantitative Analysis
Center
National Regulatory
Advocacy Program
National Commodities
Expansion Program
Ex-Texas Growth
Initiative
Large Customer
Solutions
Mission
Objectives
Strategies

Emissions and Weather
Natural Gas
…Is Focused On Managing Key Risks To Support TXU’s
Growth Objectives
0
25
50
75
100
125
150
0 20 40 60 80
PRB coal cost
03-06E; $/MMBtu
Ensuring competitive fuel sourcing… …and optimizing asset value…
…all leveraging proprietary market
fundamental perspectives
1.43
1.39
1.24
1.23
03 04 05 06E
Millions
tons of coal
6.4 7.8 9.0 9.4
…while actively managing key risks…
Generation Wholesale Retail
Selling excess power forward
Purchasing required shaped power
Dispatching power generation
Executing hedging transactions
Cumulative Capacity (GW)
Heat Rate
TXU Corp Net Natural Gas Economic Position
07-10; Million MMBtu
~(5) to 5
~0 to 10
~30 to 90
~95 to
175
07 08 09 10

TXU Energy…
To become the
national leader
in competitive
retail electricity
Achieve
industry-
leading
customer
service
Continue
developing
innovative
customer
solutions and
offerings
Achieve 40%
market share in
ERCOT
residential
retail market
Enter new
markets to
grow $50
million
business ex-
Texas
Worry-free Service
Positioning
Differential Care, Multi-
channel Strategies
Self-service
Technologies  Initiative
Customer Loyalty
Programs
Predictive Modeling
Churn Minimization
Products Strategies
Multi-Channel
Partnering Strategy
Mission
Objectives
Strategies
Long-Term
Commercial
Contract Strategy
Enhanced
Hedging Program
Strategic
Customer
Acquisition
Initiative
North Texas Three-
year Price
Protection
Value-Added
Offering Strategy
Proprietary
Technology
Development
Initiative

…Is Focused On Creating An Industry-Leading Retail Model
Residential product offerings from AREP
Oct 06; Number
10
5 5
3
2
TXU RRI CPL WTU FC
Industry-leading customer satisfaction…
268
11 11
Average speed to answer
03-08E; seconds
Top decile
…with a set of innovative offerings…
…combine to support Texas load growth… …and provide for growth in new markets
26
22
4
11
06 10E
ERCOT residential load
06-10E; TWh
30
33
Out of
territory
In
territory
03
05
08E
Active competition
Potential competition

TXU Electric Delivery…
To become the most
economical and
reliable shipper of
electricity in the US
Achieve top-decile
reliability with SAIDI
of less than 60
minutes per year
Ensure operating
performance goals
while maintaining
top-quartile cost
performance
Achieve congestion
reductions of 50%
through grid
management and
investment
Asset Rehabilitation
And Modernization
Initiative
Distributed Smart
Grid Technologies
Broadband Over
Power Line Network
Infrastrux Energy
Services Strategic
Partnership
Self-healing Network Via
Smart Switches
Advanced Technology
Development Initiative
Grid Optimization
Though Wide Area
Visualization Program
Transmission Grid
Capacity Initiative
Processor-based
Protection Systems
Mission
Objectives
Strategies

… Is Focused On Cost-Efficient And Reliable Performance
70
1,570
2,770
05 08E 10E
Automated meter installations
05-10E; Cumulative (thousands)
Non-storm SAIDI
03-08E; Minutes
O&M and SG&A per customer
03-08E; $/customer
70
77
74
03 05 08E
Top decile
166
184 186
03 05 08E
Improving system reliability… …and cost structure…
… while focusing on technology… …and capital investment
283
293
407
600
731
81-90 91-95 96-00 01-04
06-11E
Average annual capex investment
81-11E; $ millions

Today’s Agenda
Financial
Outlook
Short-term Financial Growth
Financial Sensitivities
Long-term Sources And Uses Of
Cash
Business Unit
Strategies
TXU Development/TXU Construction
TXU Power
TXU Wholesale
TXU Energy
TXU Electric Delivery
Generation
Growth Plan
America’s Power Challenge
The Texas Solution
A National Solution

Key Challenges Facing United States Power Industry
Decreasing reliability caused by power demand growth and
generation permitting and construction challenges
1
3
Increasing electricity prices caused by high-priced natural
gas and utilization of less efficient generation capacity
4
Sub-optimal environmental performance caused by
continued use of aging, inefficient existing generation
2
Increasing reliance on imported energy caused by a 300 GW
buildout of gas capacity combined with decreasing US
reserves

Decreasing Reliability…
1
3,600
3,800
4,000
4,200
05 06 07E 08E 09E 10E
Sustained US power demand growth...
US electricity demand
05-10E;  TWh
8%
Minimum
reserve
margin
…and projected low reserve margins
07E-11E; GW
15
14
15
19
9
8
11
5
ERCOT MRO RFC WECC
07E
11E
Source: NERC
…combined with complex policy issues…
Breakeven power prices
06; $/MWh
180
86
73
60
50-53
Solar Wind Nuclear CCGT Coal
Not
dispatchable
…have created a supply-demand imbalance…
Incremental demand and supply growth
06-15E; GW
141
57
Demand Supply
Source: NERC
Incremental
demand exceeds
supply 2.5x

… With An Increasing Reliance On Natural Gas…
2
17
19
21
23
25
95 97 99 01 03 05 07E 09E
…causing a growing supply deficit…
US Natural gas supply and demand
95-10E; TCF
Supply
Demand
…has increased US demand for natural gas…
US natural gas demand
95-05; TCF
18
17
4
5
95 05
22
Other
29%
7%
Power
22
A massive natural gas generation buildout…
US generation development
95 - 06; GW
Nat Gas Renew Coal Hydro Other
13
9
7
2
296
Source: Energy Velocity
14
41
3
15
27
…and increasing reliance on foreign reserves
World natural gas reserves
05; Percent
Russia
Other
Qatar
Iran
U.S.
(100% = 6,338 TCF)

…Has Caused Increased Prices…
3
0
2
4
6
8
10
12
95 97 99 01 03 05 07 09
Higher natural gas costs…
95-10E; $/MMBtu
343%
1.7
4.5
2.0
2.5
3.1
3.5
…and growing demand across the US…
Increase in year over year peak demand by
NERC region
06; Percent
PJM ERCOT SPP CAISO ISO-NE NY-ISO
19
33
59
72
MD DE PA
IL
…with the expectation of higher prices
Impact on residential rates
06-07E; Percent increase
0
50
100
150
0 20 40 60 80
…is increasing heat rates…
ERCOT supply curve example
06; $/MWh @ $8/MMBtu gas
Cumulative Capacity (GW)
Peak demand
06 10E

…And Less Than Optimal Environmental Performance
…resulting in higher emissions
NO
X
emission rate
06;  lb/MMBtu
0.03
0.05
0.13
0.33
CCGT New coal Peaker
unit
Old coal
Increasing usage
with decreasing
reserve margins
4
…causing the US to rely on an aging fleet…
Age of US coal fleet
06; Percent
9%
1%
16%
8%
34%
32%
>50yrs
<10yrs
10-20yrs
21-30yrs
31-40yrs
41-50yrs
100% = 313 GW
Environmental performance has improved…
Electric demand vs. key emissions
80-05; Indexed to 1980 levels
0
50
100
150
200
80 85 90 95 00 05
Electric
usage
SO
2
NO
X
...but construction cycles remain long based
on permitting uncertainty…
06E; Months
120
72
45
24
CCGT PC IGCC Nuclear

TXU Started By Meeting These Challenges In Texas
Ensuring reliability and reducing reliance of natural gas
through a plan to bring on 9 GW of new capacity by 2010,
rebalancing the Texas supply stack and helping to maintain
adequate reserve margins through 2014
5
Lowering prices by leveraging a scale power generation
program to displace high cost generation and share savings
with our customers
6
Improving the environment through the largest ever
voluntary offset program and displacement of less efficient
generation capacity
7

9
7
5
3
12
12
11
15
16
17
29
26
30
23
16
0
10
20
30
40
00 03 06E 09E
TXU’s Program Will Help Ensure Reliability And Reduce
Reliance On Natural Gas In Texas…
Historical and projected ERCOT
reserve margins
00-11E; Percent
2000 – 2004
22 GW of natural gas fired
generation added;
adequate supplies
2005 – 2007
Rapid
demand
growth
eliminates
reserve
2008 – 2011+
Dangerously
low supplies
require 1.5 GW
per year
Source:  ERCOT, 10/1/05 and 6/19/06
19
17
12
Impact of TXU Power
Generation Program
5
65
58
42
42
58
35
US Texas 06E Texas 10E
77 GW
100%=
1,070 GW
Gas
Other
90 GW
Generation capacity by fuel type
06-10E; Percent
Reduction in gas
reliance and
volatility by shifting
the stack away from
gas towards solid
fuel

…Allowing TXU To Deliver Lower Cost Power To Its
Customers…
50-53
76-79 17
4
5
Decreased
capital costs
TXU
target
Decreased
fuel costs
Expectations
for subscale
builder
Without scale, it would be virtually impossible for TXU
to deliver needed cost savings to its customers
Breakeven power prices for TXU’s Power Generation Program
06E; $/MWh
Operational
advantages
1.7
Market savings
Total annual ERCOT market
savings
11E; $ billions
Forward power price
6

…While Continuing To Improve The Texas Environment…
TXU has committed to the largest voluntary emissions reduction in U.S. history
TXU’s plan will more than double its capacity in Texas while cutting key
emissions by 20% and its emission rates by 70%
0.0 12.1 0.0
Additional reductions from displacement of 3
party units
(20%) (20%) (20%) Reduction relative to 05 TXU emissions
.0005 8.4 54.6 Total TXU reductions
(30%) (82%) (63%) TXU emissions rates
1
relative to US average
.0020 33.7 218.5
Emissions after new development and
voluntary reductions
2
nd
1
st
1
st
US ranking
1
among 20 largest coal generators
.0025
Hg NO
X
SO
2
Estimated key emissions
Thousands of tons
273.1 42.1 2005 emissions (nine existing facilities)
7
1 TXU after new power generation development program and retrofits; relative to average US coal plant
rd

…And Investing To Ensure The Plants Are Ready For
Potential Future Regulations
7
…and being designed for potential future
carbon capture
Options for CO
2
storage
TXU
status
IEA
1
requirements to be
considered carbon
capture ready
Design studies on
potential separation
methodologies
Pre-investments
including plant siting
Sufficient space in
critical access locations
TXU is commercializing the most efficient coal plants and continues to ensure the plants
will be able to be retrofitted with carbon capture technology in the future
1,050 1,050
1,050
1,085 1,085
Building the most efficient plants in the country…
Coal plant steam outlet temperatures for plants
under construction
06E; Degrees Fahrenheit
Meet EPRI
advanced
supercritical
standard
TXU
reference
plant
Plant
A
Plant
B
Plant
C
Plant
D
1 International Energy Agency

TXU’s Texas Program Is Progressing Well, Despite Market
Shifts In Cost And Regulatory Delay
Leveraged Kaizen events to design most economical advanced supercritical boiler
that is carbon capture and sequestration ready
Plant design
Uncovering opportunities for improvements to be used in next phase Supply chain
Successfully executed significant hedging transactions to support ability to project
finance
Hedging
Open book process continuing on schedule
Some labor pressure, but plants coming in on schedule
Construction
Reference plant draft permits issued - final permits expected 2Q07
Oak Grove delayed to January but no impact on critical path
Sandow consent decree pending resolution
Permitting
Gas weakened slightly
Reserve margin expectations continue to tighten
Market
environment
Active negotiations with over 1 GW of long-term demand
In discussions to sign up majority of long-term Texas demand
PPA’s
Obtained commitment for $11 billion non-recourse project financing
Continuing to evaluate optimal capital structure
Financing
LOI’s signed or in approval process for sale of 600 MW of Oak Grove and 50% of
another facility
Sell down process for equity participation in program underway
Equity
partnerships
Constructive negotiations with shippers based on size and dual rail access Rail and fuel
Remarks Grade Category
Low
High

TXU Is Now Focusing On Its National Plan
8
Establishing profitable market entry strategies across
markets to help customers meet their energy challenges
9
Redefining the performance potential of new build baseload
generation by taking advantage of the global supply
learning curve to drive down prices and increase returns
10
Advocating for tougher environmental standards and
investing in technologies to redefine the environmental
performance of new generation

Expanding The Portfolio Outside Of Texas…
8
Working to build a business in PJM…
…originating up to 10 GW of new generation…
7
14
35
Oil shale Tar sands Aluminum
…exploring the potential for long term
energy intensive industrial demand…
Potential incremental demand
20E; GW
…and designing a model for new coal to
economically replace existing coal
Designing a
model for
new coal to
compete in
coal on the
margin
markets
High
Low
7X24
prices
Final fuel plan
Key stakeholder
agreements
completed by end
of 06
Geo-technical
evaluation
3 GW of sites identified/
secured
Preliminary transmission
studies complete
Site engineering complete
Preliminary air modeling
complete
Permit levels identified
and discussed with states
Outstanding Completed
2.5 3
Letters of intent¹
3.5 4 Advanced discussions
4 5 Preliminary discussions
0 0 Definitive agreements
10 12 Total
GW Units Status
1
Letter of intent signed or in approval process.

…Redefining Performance To Deliver Lower Cost Power
And Open Up New Market Opportunities…
9
59
50
40
32
US average TXU today TXU future
target
Average
LCC
Power prices
06; $/MWh
…that could help TXU deliver lower costs…
Sourcing in Low Cost Countries (LCC)…
Sourced
in LCC
Coal plant component costs
06; $/KW
98
77
335
58 57
195
Boilers Turbines Balance of
plant
Sourced
in US
40% 26% 42%
600
1,000
1,400
1,800
2,200
7.5 8.0 8.5 9.0 9.5
…potentially creating a new market opportunity
Breakeven conditions to displace generation
06; $/KW of capital cost
Plant heat rate (MMBtu/MWh)
Displace existing gas
Displace old coal
Today
TXU vision
…implying a $300/KW advantage in the US…
540
80
850
230
Incremental
env. capital
LCC coal
plant
US
labor
US
normalized
Normalized LCC construction cost
06E; $/KW

…Advocating For Tougher Environmental Standards And
Investing To Improve Performance…
10
…and CO
2
emissions over the long term…
CO
2
emissions rate
20E; Tons/ MWh
0.80
0.54
0.42
0.96
Coal
today
Reduction
levers
Long-term
vision -
CCGT
Peaking
gas
(11 HR)
TXU is redefining environmental standards for
regulated emissions...
For every incremental 1 ton of emissions of
SO
2
, NO
X
, and Hg from new generation,
existing emissions in Texas must be
reduced by at least 1.2 tons
Fuel
Generation Demand
…while working to commercialize
technologies across the entire value chain…
Combustion
Gasification
Efficiency
Flue gas
removal
Customer
initiatives
• Coal
cleaning
• Waste to
energy
• Oxy-
firing
• R&D
partnership
•
Solid CO2
capture
• Chilled
NH3
• MEA
• Storage
study
• Time of
use retail
products
•
CO2 free
products
• Efficiency
solutions
…and starting an environmental ventures
fund to spur investment in this area
$200
million
fund
TXU
Bank
Venture
capital
Equipment
supplier
Advisory
Board

TXU Is Positioning Itself To Be A Leader Over The
Long Term…
Proven track record of value creation, capital
allocation, and risk management
Valuation and risk
management
Internal group with development and nodal
modeling capabilities across multiple regions
Transmission expertise
Internal group of professionals with global
experience in multiple technology developments
Development expertise
Developing national capabilities to augment strong
Texas skill base
National advocacy
Proprietary Whole System Approach to
construction
Construction expertise
Successfully implemented global sourcing effort to
reduce construction cost and time
Global supply chain
management
Track record of best in class performance and
experience in fuel handling and blending
Baseload operational  and
fuel handling expertise
Developing national capabilities to augment strong
Texas skill base
National regulatory
expertise
Description TXU Key capability
Low
High

16-23
9
2-4
5-10
ERCOT Merchant
PJM
Customer
business
Total
…And Has Line Of Sight Around 17 GW Of New Generation
Development
…and TXU has line of sight around 17 GW of
development
06-20E; GW
TXU is in substantive negotiations to develop 8 GW outside of ERCOT
45
78
160
Total US growth
opportunity (06-20)
Advanced coal
replacing
existing gas
Advanced
coal replacing
existing coal
Incremental
growth
283
There is potentially an enormous
opportunity to add new generation…
06-20E; GW

Today’s Agenda
Financial
Outlook
Short-term Financial Growth
Financial Sensitivities
Long-term Sources And Uses Of
Cash
Business Unit
Strategies
TXU Development/TXU Construction
TXU Power
TXU Wholesale
TXU Energy
TXU Electric Delivery
Generation
Growth Plan
America’s Power Challenge
The Texas Solution
A National Solution

Commodity and Capital Allocation Impacts Have Reshaped
The Earnings Power
~(.45) 0
Sell-down reduces risk and improves
capital returns but reduces EPS
9.75-10.00
1
5.75
May 06 business plan
7.55-7.85 5.25-5.55 Current business plan
~(.50) ~(.15)
Increased growth investment, reduced
OCF, and higher share prices reduce the
# of share repurchased
~(1.20) ~(.20)
Lower wholesale power prices reduce
gross margins for TXU Power and
reduce TXU Energy’s gross margin
when they are passed on to customers;
PRB increases
11 07
Earning Power Impact
Commodities
Capital
Allocation
Sell-downs
TXU’s new build strategy enables a 5-year growth trajectory of 8-10%
1 2010 indicative earnings as of May 2006

TXU is investing in its core business while returning a significant amount of capital to
shareholders.  Over 06-11, > $1 bn is earmarked for additional growth investments
07E-11E
19-22
Core portfolio capex
Cash for investment/
distribution
OCF
Sources of cash
1
07E-11E (indicative); $ billions
07E-11E
Uses of cash
1
07E-11E (indicative); $ billions
Dividends
De-levering
Electric
Delivery debt
19-22
Through 2011 TXU Is Generating Significant Free Cash Flow
And Planning Very Significant Investments
16.5-18.0
1.5-2.0
1.0-2.0
8.5-9.5
3.5-4.0
1.5-2.0
5.5-6.5
New plant equity
sell-down
1 Excludes capital expenditures and operating cash flows for the 11 new ERCOT development units expected to be reimbursed from TXU
Power Development Company’s non-recourse financing.

TXU’s Risk Strategy Will Lock-In Substantial Value For The
New Build Projects…
New build program NPV distribution
06; Number of trials
1.0 0.5 1.0 1.0 New GW
$0.20-$0.25
Base exposure
Base exposure
1.6
30% reduction 65% reduction 30% reduction Gas exp.
$0.35-$0.45 $0.15-$0.20 $0.19-$0.24 Earnings (GW)
0% reduction 49% reduction 0% reduction Carbon exp.
4.2 2.4 1.6 PV/I
Merchant coal plant
-1000 0 1000
P(NPV<0)= 13%
1
Impact: Hedges/PPA’s
-1000 0 1000
Hedge volumes for debt
financing and sell forward
volumes above hold case
P(NPV<0)= 7%
2
-1000 0 1000
Impact: Sell downs
Sell down up to 49% equity
at prices at or above hold
case
P(NPV<0)= 3%
3
-1000 0 1000
Impact: Continued
build and performance
Continue to construct
capacity and ride down
learning curve
P(NPV<0)= 1.5%
4

3.0 4.0 5.0 6.0 7.0 8.0
Value of new build strategy to TXU
06
Levelized natural gas price
$/MMBtu
…While Helping To Build The Option To Capture Upside
A merchant model is
completely levered to gas
prices with the potential to
destroy value at low gas
prices
The combination of locking in value today through hedging, PPA’s and sell
downs and building the option to add capacity creates a robust business model
The combination of hedges,
and sell downs reduces gas
exposure and helps to
ensure value capture even in
downside cases
Developing the option to
build allows TXU to capture
significant upside in high
commodity environments
Option to
build
comes in
the
money

Expansion Opportunities Give TXU The Ability To Grow
Under Different Scenarios…
~30
~20
~9
GW added
by 2015
The backwardated gas curve, combined with
slow technology advances provides a limited
window over the next 10 years for coal to be
the winning new build technology
New coal is not advantaged enough to fully
displace existing coal
Advanced
coal on gas
opportunity
Improvements in new coal technology, costs,
efficiency, and environmental performance
allow it to displace existing, inefficient, high
emission generation
The 280 GW opportunity for new development
becomes economically available
Advanced
coal on
old coal
opportunity
Backwardated gas prices, severe greenhouse
gas regulations, slow technology
improvements, and/or regulatory barriers limit
the potential for coal outside of Texas
Texas only
Description Scenario

… And The Ability To Grow EBITDA In A Backwardated
Commodity Environment
11.2
2.5
2.5
6.2
0.5
1.0
~6.7
TXU
2011E
(including
ERCOT
new build)
Potential EBITDA
11E-15E; $ billions
Backwar-
dated
commodity
environment
Core business
performance
improvements
TXU 2015E
in Texas
only
scenario
Advanced
coal on gas
opportunity
Advanced
coal on coal
opportunity
2015E
potential
Successful execution of the build strategy could provide a solid long-term
EBITDA growth strategy overcoming the backwardated commodity environment
7-14%
CAGR

TXU: Competitively Positioned To Meet America’s Energy
Challenges
1. Competitively advantaged businesses across the value chain positioned for long-
term success
– Structurally advantaged low cost position difficult to replicate
– Industrial skill set focused on top decile operations
– Scale to drive waste out of the value chain
2. Business model to profitably meet America’s energy challenges
– Advantaged build model to help improve reliability, lower prices and improve the
environment
– Focus on driving new build construction costs to worldwide low cost levels
– Advocacy for tougher environmental standards to help remove inefficient existing
generation from service
– Investment in the next generation of technology to improve the environment
3. Balanced focus on rigorous capital allocation and organic growth that will overcome
the backwardated commodity environment
– Reduced 07E earnings based on a functioning competitive market and value
being returned to the customer
– 5-year earnings growth of ~8% to 10% based on the Texas new build program
– Continued long term EBITDA growth based on success of Ex-ERCOT strategy

Appendix – Regulation G Definitions

Financial Definitions
Cash provided by operating activities. Operating Cash Flow
(GAAP)
Operational Earnings Per Share (a non-GAAP measure) is defined as per share
(diluted) income from continuing operations, excluding special items. Beginning in
the fourth quarter of 2006, TXU also plans to exclude all effects of unrealized cash
flow hedging ineffectiveness and market-to-market gains or/and losses on positions
in its long- term hedging program from operational earnings because management
believes such presentation will more appropriately reflect the ongoing earnings of
the business. The effect is that only realized gains and losses on positions in the
long-term hedging program are reflected in operational earnings. TXU forecasts
earnings on such operational earnings basis and is unable to reconcile forecasted
operational earnings to a GAAP financial measure because forecasts of special
items and material non-recurring items or ineffectiveness or market-to-market gains
or losses on its long term hedging program are not practical. TXU relies on
operational earnings for evaluation of performance and believes that analysis of the
business by external users is enhanced by visibility to both reported GAAP earnings
and operational earnings.
Operational Earnings per
Share (non-GAAP)
Income from continuing operations before interest income, interest expense and
related charges, and income tax plus depreciation and amortization and special
items. EBITDA is a measure used by TXU to assess performance.
EBITDA (non-GAAP)
Capital expenditures. Capex
Definition
Measure

TXU Development: Solving America’s Energy
Challenges
1 2
3 4
TXU Power Development Is Focused On Developing A
Pipeline Of Origination Opportunities
To become the
leading originator
and constructor of
baseload generation
throughout the US
Develop steady
pipeline of baseload
opportunities to add
3 GW of new capacity
annually
Construct baseload
generation 35%
cheaper and faster
and make 5% annual
improvement
Originate long-term
off-take agreements
and equity sell
downs to ensure 30%
of construction is
sold forward
To become the
leading originator
and constructor of
baseload generation
throughout the US
Develop steady
pipeline of baseload
opportunities to add
3 GW of new capacity
annually
Construct baseload
generation 35%
cheaper and faster
and make 5% annual
improvement
Originate long-term
off-take agreements
and equity sell
downs to ensure 30%
of construction is
sold forward
PJM Development
Program
Incumbent Customer
Solutions Strategy
Industrial Partnerships
National Advocacy
Initiative
Proprietary Construction
Whole System Approach
Advantaged Relationships
With Top Contractors and
Manufacturers
Global Low-cost Country,
Scaled Sourcing Program
Learning Curve Codification
Muni/Co-op Solutions
Industrial Solutions
Equity Partnership
Solutions
Mission
Objectives
Strategies
Final fuel plan
Key
stakeholder
agreements
completed by
end of 2006
Geo-technical
evaluation
3 GW of sites
identified/secured
Preliminary
transmission
studies complete
Site engineering
complete
Preliminary air
modeling complete
Permit levels
identified and
discussed with
states
Outstanding Completed
Final fuel plan
Key
stakeholder
agreements
completed by
end of 2006
Geo-technical
evaluation
3 GW of sites
identified/secured
Preliminary
transmission
studies complete
Site engineering
complete
Preliminary air
modeling complete
Permit levels
identified and
discussed with
states
Outstanding Completed
TXU Has Focused Its Near-Term Ex-ERCOT Growth On The
Deregulated PJM and Northeast Markets
Northeast coal investment return analysis
06; IRR
Target entry zones Target entry zones
Low
High
Status of PJM development
effort
TXU Announced 9.1 GW of New Coal Capacity To Meet The
Future Power Needs Of Texas
Milam Lignite 581 Sandow 5
McLennan PRB 1,716 Tradinghouse 3, 4
Mitchell PRB 858 Morgan Creek 7
Rusk PRB 858 Martin Lake 4
Titus PRB 858 Monticello 4
Valley 4
Lake Creek 3
Big Brown 3
Oak Grove 1, 2
Unit
Robertson Lignite 1,634
Fannin PRB 858
McLennan PRB 858
PRB
Fuel
Freestone
County
858
Net
Capacity
MW
Milam Lignite 581 Sandow 5
McLennan PRB 1,716 Tradinghouse 3, 4
Mitchell PRB 858 Morgan Creek 7
Rusk PRB 858 Martin Lake 4
Titus PRB 858 Monticello 4
Valley 4
Lake Creek 3
Big Brown 3
Oak Grove 1, 2
Unit
Robertson Lignite 1,634
Fannin PRB 858
McLennan PRB 858
PRB
Fuel
Freestone
County
858
Net
Capacity
MW
TXU is using its current, advantaged sites to expand capacity in
ERCOT
Tradinghouse
Lake Creek
Morgan Creek
Valley
Monticello
Martin Lake
Big Brown
Oak Grove
Sandow
Tradinghouse
Lake Creek
Morgan Creek
Valley
Monticello
Martin Lake
Big Brown
Oak Grove
Sandow
TXU Is Also Working With Regulated Entities To Deliver New
Generation At Lower All -In Costs
TXU has had more than 10 unsolicited requests for development projects in
regulated markets
76-79
50-53
17
4
5
Increased
capital
costs
TXU
target
Increased
fuel costs
Regulated
cost
expecta -
tions
Breakeven power prices for TXU ’s Power
Generation Program
06E; $/MWh
Operational
disadvan -
tages
TXU ’s current origination efforts include up to
10 GW of new generation …
…to provide potential customers with long -
term, low -cost power
2.5 3 Letters of intent
1
3.5 4 Advanced discussions
4 5 Preliminary discussions
0 0 Definitive agreements
10 12 Total
GW Units Status
2.5 3 Letters of intent
1
3.5 4 Advanced discussions
4 5 Preliminary discussions
0 0 Definitive agreements
10 12 Total
GW Units Status
1 Letter of intent signed or in approval process.