Lithia & Driveway (LAD) Reports Record First Quarter Revenue of $8.6 billion, 23% Increase
________________________________________________

Announces Dividend of $0.53 per Share for First Quarter

Medford, Oregon, April 24, 2024 - Lithia & Driveway (NYSE: LAD) today reported the highest first quarter revenue in company history.

First quarter 2024 revenue increased 23% to $8.6 billion from $7.0 billion in the first quarter of 2023.

First quarter 2024 net income attributable to LAD per diluted share was $5.89, a 29% decrease from $8.30 per diluted share reported in the first quarter of 2023. Adjusted first quarter 2024 net income attributable to LAD per diluted share was $6.11, a 28% decrease compared to $8.44 per diluted share in the same period of 2023. Unrealized foreign currency losses negatively impacted earnings per share by $0.15.

First quarter 2024 net income was $165 million, a 28% decrease compared to net income of $230 million in the same period of 2023. Adjusted first quarter 2024 net income was $171 million, a 27% decrease compared to adjusted net income of $233 million for the same period of 2023.

As shown in the attached non-GAAP reconciliation tables, the 2024 first quarter adjusted results exclude a $0.22 per diluted share impact resulting from non-core items, specifically acquisition expenses. The 2023 first quarter adjusted results exclude a $0.14 per diluted share impact resulting from non-core items, including one-time contract buyouts, acquisition expenses, investment loss, and insurance reserves, partially offset by a net gain on the sale of stores.

First Quarter-Over-Quarter Comparisons and First Quarter 2024 Performance Highlights:

•Total revenues increased 23%
•New vehicle same store units grew by 3.6%
•Total vehicle gross profit per unit of $4,346, down $1,239
•GreenCars monthly unique visitors (MUVs) increased by 71%
•Driveway Finance Corporation (DFC) originated approximately $493 million in loans
•Service, body, and parts revenues increased 24%
•Driveway and GreenCars burn-rate has been cut in half

“In the first quarter, our teams responded as the industry continued to normalize inventories and profitability. We are committed to driving improvements across our business,” said Bryan DeBoer, President and CEO. “Our model is diversified with our adjacencies maturing and on a path to profitability, as we continue to deliver the best experience for our customers. Responding to market conditions, we are rebalancing our capital allocation from acquisitions toward returns to our shareholders, with the long-term target of delivering $2 in EPS per billion in revenues.”

Corporate Development
During the first quarter, LAD completed the acquisition of Pendragon PLC’s Fleet Management and UK Motor Divisions in the United Kingdom and grew in the North Central region with the purchase of the Carousel Motor Group. Year-to-date, we have acquired over $5.4 billion in annualized revenues.

Balance Sheet Update
LAD ended the first quarter with approximately $1.3 billion in cash and cash equivalents, marketable securities, and availability on our revolving lines of credit. In addition, unfinanced real estate could provide additional liquidity of approximately $0.3 billion.

Dividend Payment and Share Repurchases
The Board of Directors approved a dividend of $0.53 per share related to first quarter 2024 financial results. The dividend is expected to be paid on May 24, 2024 to shareholders of record on May 10, 2024.

During April 2024, we repurchased approximately 58,000 shares at a weighted average price of $264.42. Under the current share repurchase authorization approximately $451.7 million remains available.

First Quarter Earnings Conference Call and Updated Presentation
The first quarter 2024 conference call may be accessed at 10:00 a.m. ET today by telephone at 877-407-8029. An updated presentation highlighting the first quarter 2024 results has been added to our investor relations website. To listen live on our website or for replay, visit investors.lithiadriveway.com and click on quarterly earnings.

About Lithia & Driveway (LAD)
Lithia & Driveway (NYSE: LAD) is one of the largest global automotive retailers providing a wide array of products and services throughout the vehicle ownership lifecycle. Simple, convenient, and transparent experiences are offered through our comprehensive network of physical locations, e-commerce platforms, captive finance solutions and other synergistic adjacencies. We deliver consistent, profitable growth in a massive and unconsolidated industry. Our highly diversified and competitively differentiated design provides us the flexibility and scale to pursue our vision to modernize personal transportation solutions wherever, whenever and however consumers desire.

Sites
www.lithia.com
investors.lithiadriveway.com
www.lithiacareers.com
www.driveway.com
www.greencars.com
www.drivewayfinancecorp.com

Lithia & Driveway on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/LithiaMotors
https://www.facebook.com/DrivewayHQ

Lithia & Driveway on Twitter
https://twitter.com/lithiamotors
https://twitter.com/DrivewayHQ
https://twitter.com/GreenCarsHQ

Contact:
Tina Miller
SVP and Chief Financial Officer
IR@lithia.com
(541) 864-1748

Forward-Looking Statements
Certain statements in this presentation, and at times made by our officers and representatives, constitute forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “Safe Harbor”provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Generally, you can identify forward-looking statements by terms such as “project,” “outlook,” “target,” “may,” “will,” “would,” “should,” “seek,” “expect,” “plan,” “intend,” “forecast,” “anticipate,” “believe,” “estimate,” “predict,” “potential,” “likely,” “goal,” “strategy,” “future,” “maintain,” and “continue” or the negative of these terms or other comparable terms. Examples of forward-looking statements in this presentation include, among others, statements regarding:

•Future market conditions, including anticipated car and other sales levels and the supply of inventory
•Our business strategy and plans, including our achieving our long-term EPS target
•The growth, expansion, make-up and success of our network, including our finding accretive acquisitions and acquiring additional stores
•Annualized revenues from acquired stores
•The growth and performance of our Driveway e-commerce home solution and Driveway Finance Corporation (DFC), their synergies and other impacts on our business and our ability to meet Driveway and DFC-related targets

•The impact of sustainable vehicles and other market and regulatory changes on our business
•Our capital allocations and uses and levels of capital expenditures in the future
•Expected operating results, such as improved store performance, continued improvement of selling, general and administrative expenses as a percentage of gross profit and any projections
•Our anticipated financial condition and liquidity, including from our cash and the future availability of our credit facilities, unfinanced real estate and other financing sources
•Our continuing to purchase shares under our share repurchase program
•Our compliance with financial and restrictive covenants in our credit facilities and other debt agreements
•Our programs and initiatives for employee recruitment, training, and retention
•Our strategies and targets for customer retention, growth, market position, operations, financial results and risk management

Because forward-looking statements relate to the future, they are subject to inherent uncertainties, risks and changes in circumstances that are difficult to predict and many of which are outside of our control. Forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance, and our actual results of operations, financial condition and liquidity and development of the industry in which we operate may differ materially from those made in or suggested by the forward-looking statements in this presentation. Therefore, you should not rely on any of these forward-looking statements. The risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from estimated or projected results include, without limitation:

•Future national and local economic and financial conditions, including as a result of regional or global public health issues, inflation and governmental programs, and spending
•The market for dealerships, including the availability of stores to us for an acceptable price
•Changes in customer demand, our relationship with, and the financial and operational stability of, OEMs and other suppliers
•Changes in the competitive landscape, including through technology and our ability to deliver new products, services and customer experiences and a portfolio of in-demand and available vehicles
•Risks associated with our indebtedness, including available borrowing capacity, interest rates, compliance with financial covenants and ability to refinance or repay indebtedness on favorable terms
•The adequacy of our cash flows and other conditions which may affect our ability to fund capital expenditures, obtain favorable financing and pay our quarterly dividend at planned levels
•Disruptions to our technology network including computer systems, as well as natural events such as severe weather or man-made or other disruptions of our operating systems, facilities or equipment
•Government regulations and legislation
•The risks set forth throughout “Part II, Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” and in “Part I, Item 1A. Risk Factors” of our most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K, and in “Part II, Item 1A. Risk Factors” of our Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q, and from time to time in our other filings with the SEC.

Any forward-looking statement made by us in this presentation is based only on information currently available to us and speaks only as of the date on which it is made. Except as required by law, we undertake no obligation to publicly update any forward-looking statement, whether written or oral, that may be made from time to time, whether as a result of new information, future developments or otherwise.

Non-GAAP Financial Measures
This presentation contains non-GAAP financial measures such as adjusted net income and diluted earnings per share, adjusted SG&A as a percentage of revenue and gross profit, adjusted operating margin, adjusted operating profit as a percentage of revenue and gross profit, adjusted pre-tax margin and net profit margin, EBITDA, adjusted EBITDA, leveraged EBITDA and adjusted total debt. Non-GAAP measures do not have definitions under GAAP and may be defined differently by and not comparable to similarly titled measures used by other companies. As a result, we review any non-GAAP financial measures in connection with a review of the most directly comparable measures calculated in accordance with GAAP. We caution you not to place undue reliance on such non-GAAP measures, but also to consider them with the most directly comparable GAAP measures. We present cash flows from operations in the attached tables, adjusted to include the change in non-trade floor plan debt to improve the visibility of cash flows related to vehicle financing. As required by SEC rules, we have reconciled these measures to the most directly comparable GAAP measures in the attachments to this release. We believe the non-GAAP financial measures we present improve the transparency of our disclosures; provide a meaningful presentation of our results from core business operations, because they exclude items not related to core business operations and other non-cash items; and improve the period-to-period comparability of our results from core business operations. These presentations should not be considered an alternative to GAAP measures.

LAD
Consolidated Statements of Operations (Unaudited)
(In millions except per share data)

	Three months ended March 31,		%
			Increase
	2024	2023	(Decrease)
Revenues:
New vehicle retail	$4,014.1	$3,278.9	22.4%
Used vehicle retail	2,800.8	2,227.5	25.7
Used vehicle wholesale	332.2	356.7	(6.9)
Finance and insurance	340.6	318.3	7.0
Service, body and parts	912.8	736.3	24.0
Fleet and other	155.9	56.1	177.9
Total revenues	8,556.4	6,973.8	22.7%
Cost of sales:
New vehicle retail	3,718.8	2,945.1	26.3
Used vehicle retail	2,598.6	2,061.8	26.0
Used vehicle wholesale	352.8	359.5	(1.9)
Service, body and parts	410.8	341.9	20.2
Fleet and other	140.2	54.0	159.6
Total cost of sales	7,221.2	5,762.3	25.3
Gross profit	1,335.2	1,211.5	10.2%

Financing operations loss	(1.7)	(20.8)	(91.8)%

SG&A expense	934.3	764.4	22.2
Depreciation and amortization	57.8	47.3	22.2
Income from operations	341.4	379.0	(9.9)%
Floor plan interest expense	(60.7)	(27.7)	119.1
Other interest expense	(63.6)	(39.0)	63.1
Other income (expense), net	3.5	2.0	NM
Income before income taxes	220.6	314.3	(29.8)%
Income tax expense	(55.6)	(84.7)	(34.4)
Income tax rate	25.2%	26.9%
Net income	$165.0	$229.6	(28.1)%
Net income attributable to non-controlling interests	(1.5)	(0.7)	114.3%
Net income attributable to redeemable non-controlling interest	(0.9)	(0.2)	350.0%
Net income attributable to LAD	$162.6	$228.7	(28.9)%

Diluted earnings per share attributable to LAD:
Net income per share	$5.89	$8.30	(29.0)%

Diluted shares outstanding	27.6	27.5	0.4%
NM - not meaningful

LAD
Key Performance Metrics (Unaudited)

	Three months ended March 31,		%
			Increase
	2024	2023	(Decrease)
Gross margin
New vehicle retail	7.4%	10.2%	(280)	bps
Used vehicle retail	7.2	7.4	(20)
Finance and insurance	100.0	100.0	—
Service, body and parts	55.0	53.6	140
Gross profit margin	15.6	17.4	(180)

Unit sales
New vehicle retail	85,683	67,796	26.4%
Used vehicle retail	102,436	78,142	31.1

Average selling price
New vehicle retail	$46,848	$48,364	(3.1)%
Used vehicle retail	27,342	28,506	(4.1)

Average gross profit per unit
New vehicle retail	$3,447	$4,924	(30.0)%
Used vehicle retail	1,974	2,120	(6.9)
Finance and insurance	1,811	2,181	(17.0)
Total vehicle(1)	4,346	5,585	(22.2)

Revenue mix
New vehicle retail	46.9%	47.0%
Used vehicle retail	32.7	31.9
Used vehicle wholesale	3.9	5.1
Finance and insurance, net	4.0	4.6
Service, body and parts	10.7	10.6
Fleet and other	1.8	0.8

Gross Profit Mix
New vehicle retail	22.1%	27.6%
Used vehicle retail	15.1	13.7
Used vehicle wholesale	(1.5)	(0.2)
Finance and insurance, net	25.5	26.3
Service, body and parts	37.6	32.4
Fleet and other	1.2	0.2

	Adjusted		As reported
	Three months ended March 31,		Three months ended March 31,
Other metrics	2024	2023	2024	2023
SG&A as a % of revenue	10.8%	10.9%	10.9%	11.0%
SG&A as a % of gross profit	69.4	62.7	70.0	63.1
Operating profit as a % of revenue	4.1	5.5	4.0	5.4
Operating profit as a % of gross profit	26.1	31.6	25.6	31.3
Pretax margin	2.7	4.6	2.6	4.5
Net profit margin	2.0	3.3	1.9	3.3
(1)Includes the sales and gross profit related to new, used retail, used wholesale and finance and insurance and unit sales for new and used retail

LAD
Same Store Operating Highlights (Unaudited)

	Three months ended March 31,		%
			Increase
	2024	2023	(Decrease)
Revenues
New vehicle retail	$3,261.0	$3,188.7	2.3%
Used vehicle retail	2,039.6	2,148.0	(5.0)
Finance and insurance	297.7	312.7	(4.8)
Service, body and parts	740.2	717.5	3.2
Total revenues	6,639.8	6,771.1	(1.9)

Gross profit
New vehicle retail	$235.7	$323.5	(27.1)%
Used vehicle retail	152.6	160.6	(5.0)
Finance and insurance	297.7	312.7	(4.8)
Service, body and parts	409.7	384.4	6.6
Total gross profit	1,094.8	1,180.3	(7.2)

Gross margin
New vehicle retail	7.2%	10.1%	(290)	bps
Used vehicle retail	7.5	7.5	—
Finance and insurance	100.0	100.0	—
Service, body and parts	55.4	53.6	180
Gross profit margin	16.5	17.4	(90)

Unit sales
New vehicle retail	68,373	65,980	3.6%
Used vehicle retail	74,710	75,928	(1.6)

Average selling price
New vehicle retail	$47,695	$48,328	(1.3)%
Used vehicle retail	27,300	28,290	(3.5)

Average gross profit per unit
New vehicle retail	$3,448	$4,903	(29.7)%
Used vehicle retail	2,043	2,116	(3.4)
Finance and insurance	2,080	2,204	(5.6)
Total vehicle(1)	4,760	5,594	(14.9)
(1)Includes the sales and gross profit related to new, used retail, used wholesale and finance and insurance and unit sales for new and used retail

LAD
Other Highlights (Unaudited)

	Three months ended March 31,
	2024
Key Performance by Country	Total Revenue	Total Gross Profit
United States	79.0%	84.5%
United Kingdom	18.2%	13.0%
Canada	2.8%	2.5%

	As of
	March 31,	December 31,	March 31,
	2024	2023	2023
Days Supply(1)
New vehicle inventory	60	65	51
Used vehicle inventory	58	64	53
(1) Days supply calculated based on current inventory levels, including in-transit vehicles, and a 30-day historical cost of sales level.

Selected Financing Operations Financial Information

	Three months ended March 31,
($ in millions)	2024	% (1)	2023	% (1)
Interest margin:
Interest and fee income	$77.3	9.0	$49.3	8.1
Interest expense	(47.8)	(5.6)	(37.5)	(6.2)
Total interest margin	$29.5	3.5	$11.8	1.9
Lease income	22.4		4.6
Depreciation and amortization	(18.0)		(2.3)
Lease income, net	4.4		2.3
Selling, general and administrative	(10.6)		(8.6)
Provision expense	(25.0)	(2.9)	(26.3)	(4.3)
Financing operations loss	$(1.7)		$(20.8)

Total average managed finance receivables	$3,436.6		$2,461.9

Ending funded managed receivables	$3,106.3		$2,247.9
% of ending managed receivables	88.1%		84.3%
(1)Annualized percentage of total average managed finance receivables

LAD
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets (Unaudited)
(In millions)

	March 31, 2024	December 31, 2023
Cash, restricted cash, and cash equivalents	$404.6	$941.4
Trade receivables, net	1,249.3	1,123.1
Inventories, net	5,861.9	4,753.9
Other current assets	217.4	136.8
Total current assets	$7,733.2	$6,955.2

Property and equipment, net	4,502.0	3,981.4
Finance receivables, net	3,412.5	3,242.3
Intangibles	4,619.7	4,332.8
Other non-current assets	1,912.6	1,120.8
Total assets	$22,180.0	$19,632.5

Floor plan notes payable	4,962.0	3,635.5
Other current liabilities	1,629.5	1,296.7
Total current liabilities	$6,591.5	$4,932.2

Long-term debt, less current maturities	5,662.4	5,483.7
Non-recourse notes payable, less current maturities	1,803.9	1,671.7
Other long-term liabilities and deferred revenue	1,700.6	1,262.0
Total liabilities	$15,758.4	$13,349.6

Redeemable non-controlling interest and equity	6,421.6	6,282.9
Total liabilities, redeemable non-controlling interest, and equity	$22,180.0	$19,632.5

LAD
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows (Unaudited)
(In millions)

	Three months ended March 31,
Cash flows from operating activities:	2024	2023
Net income	$165.0	$229.6
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash used in operating activities	127.0	82.3
Changes in:
Inventories	(183.3)	(56.9)
Finance receivables, net	(173.8)	(397.0)
Floor plan notes payable, net	327.7	38.9
Other operating activities	29.8	54.1
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities	292.4	(49.0)
Cash flows from investing activities:
Capital expenditures	(79.6)	(38.9)
Cash paid for acquisitions, net of cash acquired	(1,074.4)	(387.4)
Proceeds from sales of stores	6.4	22.7
Other investing activities	(118.3)	(10.3)
Net cash used in investing activities	(1,265.9)	(413.9)
Cash flows from financing activities:
Net borrowings on floor plan notes payable, non-trade	156.1	187.6
Net borrowings non-recourse notes payable	125.9	403.2
Net borrowings (repayments) of other debt and finance lease liabilities	201.8	(42.1)
Proceeds from issuance of common stock	5.7	6.1
Repurchase of common stock	(15.0)	(14.4)
Dividends paid	(13.8)	(11.5)
Other financing activity	(15.7)	(19.0)
Net cash provided by financing activities	445.0	509.9
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash and restricted cash	(3.0)	6.2
Change in cash, restricted cash, and cash equivalents	(531.5)	53.2
Cash, restricted cash, and cash equivalents at beginning of period	972.0	271.5
Cash, restricted cash, and cash equivalents at end of period	440.5	324.7

LAD
Reconciliation of Non-GAAP Cash Flow from Operations (Unaudited)
(In millions)

	Three months ended March 31,
Net cash provided by operating activities	2024	2023
As reported	$292.4	$(49.0)
Floor plan notes payable, non-trade, net	156.1	187.6
Adjust: finance receivables activity	173.8	397.0
Less: Borrowings on floor plan notes payable, non-trade associated with acquired new vehicle inventory	(71.7)	(3.7)
Adjusted	$550.6	$531.9

LAD
Reconciliation of Certain Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Unaudited)
(In millions, except for per share data)

	Three Months Ended March 31, 2024
	As reported	Acquisition expenses	Adjusted
Selling, general and administrative	$934.3	$(7.7)	$926.6
Operating income	341.4	7.7	349.1

Income before income taxes	220.6	7.7	228.3
Income tax provision	(55.6)	(1.6)	(57.2)
Net income	$165.0	$6.1	$171.1
Net income attributable to non-controlling interests	(1.5)	—	(1.5)
Net income attributable to redeemable non-controlling interest	(0.9)	—	(0.9)
Net income attributable to LAD	$162.6	$6.1	$168.7

Diluted earnings per share attributable to LAD	$5.89	$0.22	$6.11
Diluted share count	27.6

	Three Months Ended March 31, 2023
	As reported	Net disposal gain on sale of stores	Investment loss	Insurance reserves	Acquisition expenses	Contract buyouts	Adjusted
Selling, general and administrative	$764.4	$7.2	$—	$(0.1)	$(1.3)	$(10.1)	$760.1
Operating income	379.0	(7.2)	—	0.1	1.3	10.1	383.3
Other income (expense), net	2.0	—	0.5	—	—	—	2.5

Income before income taxes	314.3	(7.2)	0.5	0.1	1.3	10.1	319.1
Income tax (provision) benefit	(84.7)	1.9	—	—	(0.2)	(2.7)	(85.7)
Net income	$229.6	$(5.3)	$0.5	$0.1	$1.1	$7.4	$233.4
Net income attributable to non-controlling interests	(0.7)	—	—	—	—	—	(0.7)
Net income attributable to redeemable non-controlling interest	(0.2)	—	—	—	—	—	(0.2)
Net income attributable to LAD	$228.7	$(5.3)	$0.5	$0.1	$1.1	$7.4	$232.5

Diluted earnings per share attributable to LAD	$8.30	$(0.19)	$0.02	$—	$0.04	$0.27	$8.44
Diluted share count	27.5

LAD
Adjusted EBITDA and Net Debt to Adjusted EBITDA (Unaudited)
(In millions)

	Three months ended March 31,		%
			Increase
	2024	2023	(Decrease)
EBITDA and Adjusted EBITDA
Net income	$165.0	$229.6	(28.1)%
Flooring interest expense	60.7	27.7	119.1
Other interest expense	63.6	39.0	63.1
Financing operations interest expense	47.8	37.5	27.5
Income tax expense	55.6	84.7	(34.4)
Depreciation and amortization	57.8	47.3	22.2
Financing operations depreciation expense	18.0	2.3	682.6%
EBITDA	$468.5	$468.1	0.1%

Other adjustments:
Less: flooring interest expense	$(60.7)	$(27.7)	119.1
Less: financing operations interest expense	(47.8)	(37.5)	27.5
Less: used vehicle line of credit interest	(6.2)	(1.5)	313.3
Add: acquisition expenses	7.7	1.3	492.3
Less: loss (gain) on divestitures	—	(7.2)	NM
Add: investment loss	—	0.5	NM
Add: insurance reserves	—	0.1	NM
Add: contract buyouts	—	10.1	NM
Adjusted EBITDA	$361.5	$406.2	(11.0)%
NM - not meaningful

	As of				%
	March 31,				Increase
Net Debt to Adjusted EBITDA	2024		2023		(Decrease)
Floor plan notes payable: non-trade	$2,428.7		$1,664.9		45.9%
Floor plan notes payable	2,533.3		999.3		153.5
Used and service loaner vehicle inventory financing facility	912.7		843.6		8.2
Revolving lines of credit	1,610.5		1,012.4		59.1
Warehouse facilities	636.0		875.0		(27.3)
Non-recourse notes payable	1,831.5		825.4		121.9
4.625% Senior notes due 2027	400.0		400.0		—
4.375% Senior notes due 2031	550.0		550.0		—
3.875% Senior notes due 2029	800.0		800.0		—
Finance leases and other debt	880.6		651.5		35.2
Unamortized debt issuance costs	(30.2)		(30.6)		(1.3)
Total debt	$12,553.1		$8,591.5		46.1%

Less: Floor plan related debt	$(5,874.7)		$(3,507.8)		67.5%
Less: Financing operations related debt	(2,467.5)		(1,700.4)		45.1
Less: Unrestricted cash and cash equivalents	(264.4)		(184.9)		43.0
Less: Marketable securities	(49.9)		—		—
Less: Availability on used vehicle and service loaner financing facilities	(31.7)		(5.9)		437.3
Net Debt	$3,864.9		$3,192.5		21.1%

TTM Adjusted EBITDA	$1,721.4		$1,875.0		(8.2)%

Net debt to Adjusted EBITDA	2.25	x	1.70	x
NM - not meaningful