Exhibit 99.1

Tesco Corporation Reports Q1 2013 Results

For Immediate Release

Trading Symbol:
“TESO” on NASDAQ

May 6, 2013

Houston, Texas--Tesco Corporation (“TESCO” or the “Company”) today reported net income for the quarter ended March 31, 2013, of $8.8 million or $0.22 per diluted share. This compares to net income of $14.4 million, or $0.37 per diluted share, for the first quarter of 2012. Net income was $13.3 million, or $0.34 per diluted share, for the fourth quarter of 2012. Revenue was $127.1 million for the quarter ended March 31, 2013, compared to revenue of $152.4 million for the comparable period in 2012 and $137.6 million for the fourth quarter of 2012.

Commentary

Julio Quintana, TESCO's Chief Executive Officer, commented, “Despite challenges created by lower North America rig activity, we are satisfied with our result for the first quarter of 2013. Our Tubular Services business increased in the Asia Pacific region, North America, and Latin America for automated offerings. This has resulted in improvements in both revenue and operating income during the first quarter of 2013 as compared to the first and fourth quarters of 2012. However, our Top Drive business has been negatively impacted by the slowdown in North America. Our Top Drive strategy to shift our focus to international markets, especially to Russia, the Middle East, and Latin America, has partially offset the decline we experienced in North America. Today, our Top Drive backlog stands at 18 units. With the increased focus on our base businesses and continuous improvement in our operational efficiency, we are ready to meet the challenges and opportunities in 2013.”

TESCO CORPORATION
Summary of Results (Unaudited)
(in millions, except per share information)

	Quarter 1		Quarter 4
	2013	2012	2012
Segment revenue
Top Drives
Sales	$32.8	$50.4	$42.6
Rental services	29.7	34.6	28.7
After-market sales and service	13.1	16.8	15.4
	75.6	101.8	86.7
Tubular Services
Automated	40.2	32.6	39.0
Conventional	10.9	10.9	11.3
	51.1	43.5	50.3

Casing Drilling	0.4	7.1	0.6
Consolidated revenue	$127.1	$152.4	$137.6

Segment operating income (loss):
Top Drives	$15.0	$24.9	$21.3
Tubular Services	7.4	4.9	6.9
Casing Drilling	1.8	(0.9)	(0.5)
Research and Engineering	(2.0)	(2.5)	(2.7)
Corporate and other	(10.5)	(7.4)	(8.0)
Consolidated operating income	$11.7	$19.0	$17.0
Net income	$8.8	$14.4	$13.3
Earnings per share (diluted)	$0.22	$0.37	$0.34
Adjusted EBITDA(a) (as defined)	$22.3	$31.5	$32.8
________________________

(a)	See explanation of Non-GAAP measure below

Q1 2013 Financial and Operating Highlights

Top Drives Segment

•
Revenue from the Top Drive segment for Q1 2013 was $75.6 million, a decrease of 26% from revenue of $101.8 million in Q1 2012, primarily due to a decrease in the number of units sold and rental fleet operating days during Q1 2013.  Revenue for Q4 2012 was $86.7 million.

◦	Top Drive sales for Q1 2013 included 24 units (22 new and 2 used), compared to 30 units (28 new and 2 used) sold in Q4 2012 and 39 units sold in Q1 2012 (35 new and 4 used).

◦	Operating days for the Top Drive rental fleet were 5,827 for Q1 2013 compared to 5,843 in Q4 2012 and 6,987 for Q1 2012.

◦	Revenue from after-market sales and service for Q1 2013 was $13.1 million, a decrease from revenue of $15.4 million in Q4 2012. Revenue was $16.8 million in Q1 2012.

•	Our Top Drive operating margins were 20% in Q1 2013, a decrease from 25% in Q4 2012 and 24% in Q1 2012.

•
At March 31, 2013, Top Drive backlog was 20 units, with a total potential value of $28.9 million, compared to 28 units at December 31, 2012, with a potential value of $42.2 million.  This compares to a backlog of 57 units at March 31, 2012, with a potential value of $74.0 million.  Today, our backlog stands at 18 units.

Tubular Services Segment

•
Revenue from the Tubular Services segment for Q1 2013 was $51.1 million, an increase of 2% from revenue of $50.3 million in Q4 2012.  Revenue was $43.5 million in Q1 2012.  Revenue increased from prior periods due to increased demand in the Asia Pacific region, North America, and Latin America for automated offerings.

•	We performed 956 automated casing running jobs in Q1 2013 compared to 947 in Q4 2012 and 859 in Q1 2012.

•
Operating income in the Tubular Services segment for Q1 2013 was $7.4 million, compared to $6.9 million in Q4 2012 and $4.9 million in Q1 2012.  Our Tubular Services operating margins were 14% for both Q1 2013 and Q4 2012, up from 11% in Q1 2012. The increase from Q1 2012 was due to higher revenue discussed above, including higher MCLRSTM and CDSTM equipment sales revenue, which provide higher operating margins.

Other Segments and Expenses

•
Research and engineering costs for Q1 2013 were $2.0 million, compared to $2.7 million in Q4 2012 and $2.5 million in Q1 2012. The decrease from Q1 2012 was due primarily to the absence of Casing Drilling research and engineering after the sale of this business on June 4, 2012. We continue to invest in the development, commercialization, and enhancements of our proprietary technologies relating to our Top Drive and Tubular Services segments.

•
Corporate costs for Q1 2013 were $10.5 million, compared to $8.0 million for Q4 2012 and $7.4 million in Q1 2012. The increase from prior periods was due primarily to increased short term and long term incentive compensation and payroll and benefit expense from increased headcount for operations support personnel.

•
Our effective tax rate for Q1 2013 was 30% compared to 26% in Q4 2012 and 30% in Q1 2012. Our effective tax rate, which is income tax expense as a percentage of pre-tax earnings, fluctuates depending on the mix of pre-tax earnings in the various tax jurisdictions in which we operate around the world.

Financial Condition

•	At March 31, 2013, cash and cash equivalents were $25.2 million, compared to $22.0 million at December 31, 2012.

•
Total capital expenditures were $8.7 million in Q1 2013, compared to $13.6 million in Q4 2012 and $16.6 million in Q1 2012.  We project our total capital expenditures for 2013 to be between $30 million and $40 million, based on current market conditions.

Conference Call

The Company will conduct a conference call to discuss its results for the first quarter 2013 on May 6, 2013 at 9:00 a.m. Central Time.  Individuals who wish to participate in the conference call should dial US/Canada (877) 312-5422 or International (253) 237-1122 approximately five to ten minutes prior to the scheduled start time of the call. The conference ID for this call is 50884231.  The conference call and all questions and answers will be recorded and made available until June 6, 2013. To listen to the recording, call (855) 859-2056 or (404) 537-3406 and enter conference ID 50884231. The conference call will be webcast live as well as for on-demand listening at the Company's web site, www.tescocorp.com. Listeners may access the call through the “Conference Calls” link in the Investor Relations section of the site.

Tesco Corporation is a global leader in the design, manufacture and service of technology based solutions for the upstream energy industry. The Company's strategy is to change the way people drill wells by delivering safer and more efficient solutions that add real value by reducing the costs of drilling for and producing oil and natural gas. TESCO® is a registered trademark in the United States and Canada. Casing Drive System™, CDS™, Multiple Control Line Running System™ and MCLRS™ are trademarks in the United States and Canada.

For further information please contact:
Julio Quintana (713) 359-7000
Bob Kayl (713) 359-7000
Tesco Corporation

TESCO CORPORATION
Non-GAAP Measure - Adjusted EBITDA (as defined below)
 (in millions)

	Quarter 1		Quarter 4
	2013	2012	2012
Net income under U.S. GAAP	$8.8	$14.4	$13.3
Income tax expense	3.8	6.0	4.6
Depreciation and amortization	10.0	10.8	12.6
Net interest expense (income)	(0.5)	(0.4)	(0.1)
Stock compensation expense-non-cash	1.7	0.7	1.8
Gain on sale of Casing Drilling	(1.5)	—	0.6
Adjusted EBITDA	$22.3	$31.5	$32.8

Our management reports our financial statements in accordance with U.S. GAAP but evaluates our performance based on non-GAAP measures, of which a primary performance measure is Adjusted EBITDA. Adjusted EBITDA consists of earnings (net income or loss) available to common stockholders before interest expense, income tax expense, non-cash stock compensation, non-cash impairments, depreciation and amortization, gains or losses from merger and acquisition transactions and other non-cash items. This measure may not be comparable to similarly titled measures employed by other companies and is not a measure of performance calculated in accordance with GAAP. Adjusted EBITDA should not be considered in isolation or as substitutes for operating income, net income or loss, cash flows provided by operating, investing and financing activities, or other income or cash flow statement data prepared in accordance with GAAP.

We believe Adjusted EBITDA is useful to an investor in evaluating our operating performance because:

•
it is widely used by investors in our industry to measure a company's operating performance without regard to items such as net interest expense, depreciation and amortization, which can vary substantially from company to company depending upon accounting methods and book value of assets, financing methods, capital structure and the method by which assets were acquired;

•
it helps investors more meaningfully evaluate and compare the results of our operations from period to period by removing the impact of our capital structure (primarily interest), merger and acquisition transactions (primarily gains/losses on sale of a business), and asset base (primarily depreciation and amortization) and actions that do not affect liquidity (stock compensation expense and non-cash impairments) from our operating results; and

•
it helps investors identify items that are within our operational control. Depreciation and amortization charges, while a component of operating income, are fixed at the time of the asset purchase in accordance with the depreciable lives of the related asset and as such are not a directly controllable period operating charge.

 Our management uses Adjusted EBITDA:

•
as a measure of operating performance because it assists us in comparing our performance on a consistent basis as it removes the impact of our capital structure and asset base from our operating results;

•	as one method we use to evaluate potential acquisitions;

•	in presentations to our Board of Directors to enable them to have the same consistent measurement basis of operating performance used by management;

•	to assess compliance with financial ratios and covenants included in our credit agreements; and

•	in communications with investors, analysts, lenders, and others concerning our financial performance.

Caution Regarding Forward-Looking Information; Risk Factors

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of Canadian and United States securities laws, including the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. From time to time, our public filings, press releases and other communications (such as conference calls and presentations) will contain forward-looking statements. Forward-looking information is often, but not always identified by the use of words such as “anticipate”, “believe”, “expect”, “plan”, “intend”, “forecast”, “target”, “project”, “may”, “will”, “should”, “could”, “estimate”, “predict” or similar words suggesting future outcomes or language suggesting an outlook. Forward-looking statements in this press release include, but are not limited to, statements with respect to expectations of our prospects, future revenue, earnings, activities and technical results.

Forward-looking statements and information are based on current beliefs as well as assumptions made by, and information currently available to, us concerning anticipated financial performance, business prospects, strategies and regulatory developments. Although management considers these assumptions to be reasonable based on information currently available to it, they may prove to be incorrect. The forward-looking statements in this press release are made as of the date it was issued and we do not undertake any obligation to update publicly or to revise any of the included forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise, except as required by applicable law.

By their very nature, forward-looking statements involve inherent risks and uncertainties, both general and specific, and risks that outcomes implied by forward-looking statements will not be achieved. We caution readers not to place undue reliance on these statements as a number of important factors could cause the actual results to differ materially from the beliefs, plans, objectives, expectations and anticipations, estimates and intentions expressed in such forward-looking statements.

These risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to, the impact of changes in oil and natural gas prices and worldwide and domestic economic conditions on drilling activity and demand for and pricing of our products and services, other risks inherent in the drilling services industry (e.g. operational risks, potential delays or changes in customers' exploration or development projects or capital expenditures, the uncertainty of estimates and projections relating to levels of rental activities, uncertainty of estimates and projections of costs and expenses, risks in conducting foreign operations, the consolidation of our customers, and intense competition in our industry),  risks, including litigation, associated with our intellectual property and with the performance of our technology. These risks and uncertainties may cause our actual results, levels of activity, performance or achievements to be materially different from those expressed or implied by any forward-looking statements. When relying on our forward-looking statements to make decisions, investors and others should carefully consider the foregoing factors and other uncertainties and potential events.

Copies of our Canadian public filings are available at www.tescocorp.com and on SEDAR at www.sedar.com. Our U.S. public filings are available at www.sec.gov and at www.tescocorp.com.

The risks included here are not exhaustive. Refer to “Part I, Item 1A - Risk Factors” in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2012 and “Part II, Item 1A - Risk Factors” in our Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q to be filed for the quarter ended March 31, 2013 for further discussion regarding our exposure to risks. Additionally, new risk factors emerge from time to time and it is not possible for us to predict all such factors, nor to assess the impact such factors might have on our business or the extent to which any factor or combination of factors may cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in any forward looking statements. Given these risks and uncertainties, investors should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements as a prediction of actual results.

TESCO CORPORATION
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Income
(in millions, except per share information)

	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2013	2012
	(Unaudited)

Revenue	$127.1	$152.4
Operating expenses
Cost of sales and services	102.1	119.8
Selling, general and administrative	12.8	11.1
(Gain) Loss on sale of CASING DRILLING	(1.5)	—
Research and engineering	2.0	2.5
	115.4	133.4
Operating income	11.7	19.0
Interest expense (income), net	(0.5)	(0.4)
Other expense (income), net	(0.4)	(1.1)
Income before income taxes	12.6	20.5
Income taxes	3.8	6.0
Net income	$8.8	$14.5
Earnings per share:
Basic	$0.23	$0.37
Diluted	$0.22	$0.37
Weighted average number of shares:
Basic	38.9	38.6
Diluted	39.4	39.1

TESCO CORPORATION
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets
(in millions)

	March 31, 2013	December 31, 2012

Assets
Current assets
Cash and cash equivalents	$25.2	$22.0
Accounts receivable, net	124.7	130.8
Inventories, net	126.1	124.5
Other current assets	53.9	48.9
Total current assets	329.9	326.2
Property, plant and equipment, net	208.6	209.9
Goodwill	32.7	32.7
Other assets	17.7	18.3
Total assets	$588.9	$587.1
Liabilities and Shareholders' Equity
Current liabilities
Current portion of long term debt	$0.1	$0.1
Accounts payable	37.5	43.6
Accrued and other current liabilities	55.3	56.0
Income taxes payable	5.4	6.9
Total current liabilities	98.3	106.6
Other liabilities	2.4	2.4
Long-term debt	0.1	0.1
Deferred income taxes	8.0	8.5
Shareholders' equity	480.1	469.5
Total liabilities and shareholders' equity	$588.9	$587.1